Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mini Pop Popper

Bluegills and small bass will eat this fly pattern up. Big eyes and plenty of tail and rubber legs make this one buggy looking critter sitting on top of the water. A few quick strips and then let it sit a while and then strip it again and the pan fish will come running. There's nothing better than deep fried panfish filets, and this fly will fill the pan.Size: 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mini Pop Popper
Review 1 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
August 3, 2015
By: Copperjohn16
from Wallingford, KY
"This fly was not at all what I was expecting. It sunk almost as soon as it hit the water, and I had to keep my rod tip almost straight up to get the desired action during retrieval.
Also, it seemed to roll over either on its side or all the way over during retrieval. I've never seen a pan fish fly do that.
"
Review 2 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigger Bluegill Popper,
July 15, 2015
By: MNTenkaraNinja
"I purchased this popper along with the bluegill bug. Both bring in the bluegill like crazy. I like this one a little better because it is bigger and filters out some of the little guys."
Review 3 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good,
June 18, 2015
By: Steve10
from Ohio
"I like the quality of this product but went to fish it the other night and it struggled to float compared to my other poppers. I'm going to look into getting some floatant so hopefully that helps."
Review 4 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly effective on bass and panfish,
May 18, 2015
By: LuisL
from Fairborn, OH
"Anytime things get slow in the Spring and Summer I tie this popper on and hit the shallows near the cattails and watch the water fly. It's a nearly foolproof way to lure panfish and bass to the surface for an exciting topwater strike. One of my favorites."
Review 5 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis my new number 1 web site,
February 3, 2015
By: Oldgray
from Bunkie,La.
"Great detailed information on each and every item. After reading reviews on this Mini Pop Popper
I was confident I would receive a quality product. I have many other poppers from well know suppliers.
After examining the poppers side by side it was obvious this Mini Pop Popper from orvis was of a higher standard in color,tieing and body material
"
Review 6 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for bass,
October 28, 2014
By: BFouss
from Newtown, PA
"I used this the day after it arrived for some late season fly fishing. I caught a small mouth bass and 3 bluegills in about an hour! One of my best fishing days. This is great for warm water panfish."
Review 7 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effective in my local Pond.,
August 28, 2013
By: BronxFlyAngler
from Bronx, NY
"Effective as advertised on small Bass and Panfish. The fly is a little heavy and rides lower in the surface than expected."
Review 8 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 6, 2013
By: croakeronthefly
from Virginia
"I've had this fly's bigger brother for a while, and figured I'd give this one a try. Its just small enough to cast on my 3 wt, and it is a great time catching bass and sunfish with this fly. The fly is a little pricey ($4.25), but it is sure to produce."
Review 9 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
September 8, 2011
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Love this mini popper! Will be slaying them for sure with this one."
Review 10 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a fish-magnet,
August 30, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I'd like to claim I'm a good fisherman but alas...I'm not.
I've tried a lot of different things with pretty poor luck over the years. The one thing that seems idiot-proof is this fly in chartreuse.
No matter what I do, no matter how bad the presentation, bass and panfish go absolutely crazy for this popper fly. I've caught more fish with this fly than any other fly by 20:1.
Yep, it's that good under that many conditions on that many different kinds of fish."
Review 11 for Mini Pop Popper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gets Fish,
August 1, 2009
By: litefoot
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You have to pay attention I have caught more fish on the fly landing than on any other fly. Large Blue Gill, small and large mouth bass. Caught a 16 in. large mouth in a subdivision pond. Works great in moving water or ponds/lakes"