Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Yearling Elk

Fine hair with even tips. For small caddis, parachutes and René Harrop's Hairwing Dun series. Elk hair in natural, dark brown, dun, olive, black, and bleached. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yearling Elk
Review 1 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Hair,
September 1, 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Orvis tying hair (elk, deer, etc) has always been high quality. This is very nice Yearling Elk, which will go on a hook easily and floats very well."
Review 2 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very High Quality,
August 29, 2014
By: Powderhound
from Vail, CO
"I was looking for a fine and very stackable material, to form the upper body and tail of the Humpy. My old Elk material was too course and wouldn't lay down properly.
I am very pleased with this purchase.
"
Review 3 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes!!,
May 17, 2014
By: LoyalhannaDave
from East of Pittsburgh Pa
"I tied a batch of Elk Wing Caddis using this new-to-me from Orvis. Nice to work with and it makes my fly's look like a pro did them."
Review 4 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yearling Elk Hair,
July 21, 2013
By: FireFly2
"Yearling elk hair has become my favorite material for mayfly tails. Makes the fly ride high and absorbs floatant well."
Review 5 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not dun,
April 12, 2013
By: deffler
"color is dark brown with no hint of grey. Either it was mislabeled or was not bleached well."
Review 6 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent though small,
February 27, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"The dark Brown piece I recived has a resonably aggressive sheen to the dye; I am interested to see how it looks on the finished fly.
These are nice enough pieces of material though they are small. I would hazard about 2"x1 1/2". The material will certainly tie up into a fair number of flys; but I would not call the ammount generous."
Review 7 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost,
July 5, 2012
By: AceCurry
from Charleston, West Virginia
"Almost what I was looking for. Would like it to be bleached a little more"
Review 8 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
April 24, 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"This is very nice healing Elk, recommended. will buy again"
Review 9 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice color,
January 17, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"I like this for its color but it is a bit coarse for a yearling"
Review 10 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice,
December 11, 2010
By: flyfisher101
from Charlotte, NC
"This is a great item to have in your fly kit. It is really easy to use and the pack comes with a tun of it. Great color to use for fall/ winter fishing. I would like to get some more soon!"
Review 11 for Yearling Elk
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ANOTHER FINE PC. OF FUR,
November 18, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I TEND TO BE A CREATURE OF HABBIT SO I ALMOST ALWAYS USE ORVIS AND ALMOST ALWAYS USE NATURAL COLORS IN MY DRIES,WETS,EMERGERS,STREAMERS,ETC,BUT AGAIN ORVIS HAS DEFINATELY GOT THEIR HANDS ON SOME NICE ELK YEARLING HIDE,FIBERS ARE RIGHT AROUND AN INCH LONG,VERY FULL PC,NICE UNDERFUR,WHICH I SAVE FOR DUBBING.AND ITS PRICED ALRIGHT SO DONT PASS THIS UP,CHECK OUT PICTURE BELOW"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Yearling Elk
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2