Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rugged Stream Thermometer

This fishing thermometer measures both Fahrenheit and Celsius. Durable enough for stream, brook, and river fly fishing. An important fly-fishing tool and a must have accessory for any fly-fishing pack, chest pack or vest. The perfect gift for any fly fisherman.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 of 31(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Review 1 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thermometer,
May 11, 2015
By: Sandra48
from London
"Excellent value for money. Easy to read numbers. Overall a better quality than some well known makers of fishing thermomerters"
Review 2 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Functional,
April 14, 2015
By: troutskiwny
"After reading both good and bad reviews, I decided on giving this product try. My biggest concern was accuracy. I compared it to a calibrated thermometer at work and the Orvis thermometer read just under 20 C and the calibrated thermometer read at 19.4 C. Pretty good. The housing is a thin metal. To alleviate the screw cap issue I've read about in other reviews, Orvis has glued it down (at least on mine). This does not bother me. However, I think Orvis allowed a 2nd grader to glue the cap on because I can see 4 or 5 spots where the glue was smudged on the housing and on the thermometer itself. All in all, the product works but I would only recommend it as a dipping thermometer."
Review 3 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
with me every time i am on the water,
February 23, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"I was reading the reviews of this thermometer and was genuinely perplexed. Mine lives in the little pocket on my vest, and has resided there for years. W/R/T the complaints that it can fall apart, I had to remove it from its slot and look it over to see if we were talking about the same instrument. I never knew it could be disassembled, and had never had a reason to try to do so. (I also think the casing of mine is metal, not plastic, as some of the negative reviews have suggested.) Has been a helpful and uncomplaining fishing companion for nearly twenty years, I would guess."
Review 4 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful and sturdy,
November 14, 2014
By: Pedro5754
"Good thermometer, well designed, and able to handle being cast out and retrieved."
Review 5 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
temperatures at all levels,
October 7, 2014
By: greenfieldfsh
"This thermometer can give accurate surface temperatures and you can attach it to your line for readings at different levels which is the best attribute. It is rugged but definitely not indestructible."
Review 6 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Acceptable but not great,
October 7, 2014
By: Blackrockminerson
"I am very pro Orvis so I was a little surprised that the shell surrounding the thermometer was not quite up to the high standards that I have come to expect from Orvis products. Specifically there were some visible machining inconsistencies and finish blemishes. In addition the celcius side of the thermometer was more readable in the site window than the fahrenheit scale. Overall functional but not an exceptional Orvis product."
Review 7 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Up to Orvis Standard,
August 25, 2014
By: TroutBuddy
from LaCrosse WI
"I was disappointed --- metal sheath that protects the thermometer has a screw top that unscrews on its own when attached to a the tether. I got lucky as a client saw it drop off the first time but the second time I wasn't as fortunate.
Based on other reviews with similar issues I should have skipped Orvis this time but I didn't even bother reading them as it's such a simple item.
My fault... But this is a product that I don't believe lives up to the Orvis standard."
Review 8 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 24, 2014
By: ProfessorFly
from New Jersey
"So far, so good. Tested it out in my fridge and glass of ice water. Seems to work fine."
Review 9 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it should,
July 10, 2014
By: FishInPhilly
from Philadelphia, pa
"Simple, rugged looking and accurate...just takes a bit to get to temp. Overall...its a thermometer."
Review 10 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Thermometer,
May 12, 2014
By: montanafreak
from Great Falls MT
"This little thermometer is both stylish and functional. Lightweiht, rugged and easy to read. I have an older thermometer but wanted to update it. This thing is dead on accurate. A must for matching the stream conditions to your fly."
Review 11 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Thermometer,
May 2, 2014
By: Lutz7000
from Knife River Flies, Knox, IN
"In a sturdy case, easy to read, accurate and fast. Great buy for the money. Don't fish for trout without it."
Review 12 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Value,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This thermometer seems pretty well constructed. The price point really sweetened the deal and I think it is an excellent value. I put a tiny dab of blue loctite on the threads and that should help prevent any unwanted loosening of the aluminum housing of the thermometer."
Review 13 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
March 31, 2014
By: Darren1234
from The Driftless
"It doesn't weigh much, but it's rugged enough that I don't have to worry about it breaking in my vest."
Review 14 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged Stream Thermomter,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Solid and well built. Accurate and dependable. Works as advertised."
Review 15 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
December 7, 2013
By: chief2
from Canyon Lake, Texas
"worked as expected, matched the the thermoater of fish hatchery on a recent trout stocking."
Review 16 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Stream Thermometer,
August 7, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This is a good thermometer that allows me to quickly and accurately measure the water temperature and make appropriate fishing decisions, especially during the hot summer months. Despite its metal construction and “rugged” descriptive title, others have noted durability problems with the thermometer’s sheath and cap. However, I have experience no problems by storing the thermometer in the dedicated sleeve of my Tac-L-Pak vest. To avoid problems, I suggest not hanging this thermometer on an external zinger or lanyard, but rather storing it in a pack, shirt or vest pocket when not in use. All-in-all, this is a useful fishing tool at a reasonable price."
Review 17 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You get what you pay for...,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"Had an issue with the cap and the thermometer turning also. Easy fix was to flatten the threads with a file then hold the thermometer while tightening the cap. Works beautifully and I bought it because of the price point."
Review 18 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Impressions,
December 30, 2012
By: Marknews
from Bangor, Maine
"Cold and blowing snow outside, but the Rugged Stream Thermometer brought thoughts of warm, still evenings and the shift in water temperatures from spring to summer. It is as advertised: designed to be easy to use and read while constantly protected by a sturdy sheath. No case to remove (and drop in the water--I had one of those!), and comes with the option to attach to vest with clip or ring. Thanks."
Review 19 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Thermometer,
October 11, 2012
By: BRFATMID
"Very accurate. Two small drops of super glue on seam and item is set to go, no problems."
Review 20 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Workmanship,
September 24, 2012
By: flychick
from Northern NJ
"Like another reviewer here, I had the thermometer attached to my vest for a whole 48 hours before the metal housing unscrewed or something and the bottom fell off. It was pure luck I was able to see the thermometer it stuck in the vest fabric, Now this is a $13 paperweight. Big disappointment. :("