Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rugged Stream Thermometer

This fishing thermometer measures both Fahrenheit and Celsius. Durable enough for stream, brook, and river fly fishing. An important fly-fishing tool and a must have accessory for any fly-fishing pack, chest pack or vest. The perfect gift for any fly fisherman.
Average Customer Rating:
4.045 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
19 of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Review 1 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
does what it should,
July 10, 2014
By: FishInPhilly
from Philadelphia, pa
"Simple, rugged looking and accurate...just takes a bit to get to temp. Overall...its a thermometer."
Review 2 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Thermometer,
May 12, 2014
By: montanafreak
from Great Falls MT
"This little thermometer is both stylish and functional. Lightweiht, rugged and easy to read. I have an older thermometer but wanted to update it. This thing is dead on accurate. A must for matching the stream conditions to your fly."
Review 3 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Thermometer,
May 2, 2014
By: Lutz7000
from Knife River Flies, Knox, IN
"In a sturdy case, easy to read, accurate and fast. Great buy for the money. Don't fish for trout without it."
Review 4 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Value,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This thermometer seems pretty well constructed. The price point really sweetened the deal and I think it is an excellent value. I put a tiny dab of blue loctite on the threads and that should help prevent any unwanted loosening of the aluminum housing of the thermometer."
Review 5 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
March 31, 2014
By: Darren1234
from The Driftless
"It doesn't weigh much, but it's rugged enough that I don't have to worry about it breaking in my vest."
Review 6 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rugged Stream Thermomter,
January 7, 2014
By: KLCE
"Solid and well built. Accurate and dependable. Works as advertised."
Review 7 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best purchase,
December 7, 2013
By: chief2
from Canyon Lake, Texas
"worked as expected, matched the the thermoater of fish hatchery on a recent trout stocking."
Review 8 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Stream Thermometer,
August 7, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This is a good thermometer that allows me to quickly and accurately measure the water temperature and make appropriate fishing decisions, especially during the hot summer months. Despite its metal construction and “rugged” descriptive title, others have noted durability problems with the thermometer’s sheath and cap. However, I have experience no problems by storing the thermometer in the dedicated sleeve of my Tac-L-Pak vest. To avoid problems, I suggest not hanging this thermometer on an external zinger or lanyard, but rather storing it in a pack, shirt or vest pocket when not in use. All-in-all, this is a useful fishing tool at a reasonable price."
Review 9 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You get what you pay for...,
May 16, 2013
By: Neanderthal
from Puyallup, WA
"Had an issue with the cap and the thermometer turning also. Easy fix was to flatten the threads with a file then hold the thermometer while tightening the cap. Works beautifully and I bought it because of the price point."
Review 10 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Impressions,
December 30, 2012
By: Marknews
from Bangor, Maine
"Cold and blowing snow outside, but the Rugged Stream Thermometer brought thoughts of warm, still evenings and the shift in water temperatures from spring to summer. It is as advertised: designed to be easy to use and read while constantly protected by a sturdy sheath. No case to remove (and drop in the water--I had one of those!), and comes with the option to attach to vest with clip or ring. Thanks."
Review 11 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Thermometer,
October 11, 2012
By: BRFATMID
"Very accurate. Two small drops of super glue on seam and item is set to go, no problems."
Review 12 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Workmanship,
September 24, 2012
By: flychick
from Northern NJ
"Like another reviewer here, I had the thermometer attached to my vest for a whole 48 hours before the metal housing unscrewed or something and the bottom fell off. It was pure luck I was able to see the thermometer it stuck in the vest fabric, Now this is a $13 paperweight. Big disappointment. :("
Review 13 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No brainer,
May 7, 2012
By: Kaycheese
"A true no brainer. Gave me the information I needed and then got out of my way."
Review 14 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap Import,
February 8, 2012
By: FellforIt
from Northern Illinois
"I was (and am) singularly UNIMPRESSED with this item. Frankly, all I needed was a thermometer, essentially ANY "stick" thermometer would have met my needs.
But, I wanted a GOOD one so I took the time to drive to a local Orvis store. The service in the store was VERY GOOD, but the product itself is exactly as my title above states.
The glass "stick" thermometer has a plastic guard (sheath) around the glass stick. The guard is threaded so it can attach to the thermometer "cap." The problem is that when the guard is threaded SNUG to the cap the opening in the guard is rotated around and partially obscures the thermometer scale, making the thermometer very much less than useful.
Accordingly, to use the thermometer I have to keep the guard slightly LESS THAN properly snug and risk the guard rattling or further unscrewing.
I expected better from Orvis. That's why I took the time to seek out your store."
Review 15 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Useful gadget,
July 21, 2011
By: Paddler
"I use this to determine underwater temperature where I kayak and thus decide what the appropriate clothing will be as the water temperature changes. I like it very much but it would be nice if the gauge was larger so the unit of degree tick-marks would be easier to read."
Review 16 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Thermometer But...,
September 25, 2010
By: bivisible
from Bend OR
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am sure this is a great thermometer but I wish Orvis would restock their dial thermometer. I lost mine and was disappointed to discover that Orvis no longer stocks the dial version, which was like a minature meat thermometer, and was quick reading and very legible to the eye. I include an old photo of the one I lost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
September 16, 2009
By: 5446
from lehigh valley, pa
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Lost the metal protective shield from around the thermometer after hanging from my pack for only a few days. While it certainly fulfilled the duty of a stream thermometer, the model I had didn't fulfill it long enough before it fell apart. Not planning on replacing it with a similar unit."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the protective shield has fallen off of the thermometer. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our items. We forwarded these comments to the product developer for review. Customer Service also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 18 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The importance of water temp,
August 26, 2009
By: ZFisher
from Newtown, CT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been carrying this thermometer for about four years now and I use it far more often than I thought I would. I'm not one of those compulsive note takers but every so often knowing stream temp is important. Just the other night I was wondering if fishing a small stream would be okay and the temp reading of 72 degrees F told me it was best to let the trout rest till things cooled off. A simple, lightweight, inexpensive must have."
Review 19 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't guess,
October 21, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"I've been trying to figure out a particular Northern Ontario river for a few seasons by keeping notes on: water flow, water conditions, weather and of course the temperature. This past June, when history suggested that Specks should be passing through, I caught none at all. A quick check of the thermometer showed why: the water was 80F! Unusually hot weather had warmed the river beyond any trout's ability to survive. Easy to carry and quick to pull out, this thermometer gives readings FAST. A useful tool"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rugged Stream Thermometer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's rugged,
October 14, 2007
By: SuperFineSteven
from Mercer, PA.
"I wet wade alot with my orvis wading sandals and i allways wonder what the temp. of the water is with this rugged stream thermometer you can tell easily. plus it fits perfect in my tac l pac vest because that made a pocket just for this. orvis thinks of stuff like that!"