Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School

If learning to fly fish or improving your casting technique seems like a daunting task, you just haven't met the right fishing instructors. Pick up a fly rod at the Orvis Manchester Fly Fishing School, situated in the heart of Vermont's Green Mountains, and you'll be casting like a seasoned angler in just two short days of classes. Our expert instructors help you with everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch. Fishing classes are held in our brand-new schoolhouse directly across from the Orvis Flagship Store, on our fully-stocked casting pond, and out on the famed Battenkill River.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Fly Fishing Experience Ever,
May 21, 2015
By: adavem
from Manchester VT
"I can't say enough great things about the school and the instructors. I have been fly fishing since 1980 but really needed some serious help with my casting. To sum it up, I learned more in 2 days than in the past 30 years!!!
Thank You Orvis!
"
Review 2 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two days toward fly fishing,
May 19, 2015
By: Basil518
from Manchester VT May 18-19
"Staff couldn't be better. Information top shelf and to the point.
Support for demo and practice casting excellent.
I took the course as TOTAL NON-FISHER to see if fly-fishing might be for me (retiree slowing down, 70+).
I learned that the basics are too complicated to do in 2 or even 20 days. I need to find a local mentor get out there and do it.
The time on Batten Kill was enough to show me casting techniques were over stressed for beginners. Got excellent direction on the river but would have appreciated more strategies for tight NE conditions before getting there.
I'm going home to try some fly fishing. Hopefully might even scare some trout.
Thanks for the 2 day introduction to fly fishing!
"
Review 3 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Class!,
May 18, 2015
By: ColinT
from Manchester, VT
"Peter and Kyle were excellent instructors. I quickly re-learned how to fly cast after being away from it for 30 years or so. Overall, it was a great refresher class, in a comfortable modern facility, taught by a couple of first class individuals."
Review 4 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
May 14, 2015
By: Petergrnbkr
from Wallingford, CT
"I have been fly fishing for about 4 years and needed help with casting and entomology, this class was great for both! The three instructors, Kyle, Forrest and Ben, were very knowledgeable in all aspects of fly fishing. When addressing a certain casting or fly questions they were supportive, never critical or demeaning in their approach.
Our class had beginners through novice and they adjusted the instruction to the experience level. The casting video was probably the best tool in the class, I picked up a lot from all the videos not just my own.
Looking at other posts here you see all five star ratings, that is a tribute to the instructors.
I highly recommend this class to any beginners or if you need help with any part of fly fishing.
Make sure to go on the rod shop tour!
"
Review 5 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Next Level,
May 13, 2015
By: Mucksie
from White Plains, NY
"I took the 2 day course May 9 &10. It was a small group (just me and 2 other guys) but very well done.
Our instructor Ben was great. Despite his young age (22), Ben did a great job mixing just the right amount of technical, fly fishing jargon, with simple hints delivered in practical laymen terms (often with visual analogies that stuck in my head.
I came away with a much better set of fly fishing skills and some new knowledge about handling fish, reading the hatch, and respecting the sport and the environment.
That, coupled with a first class facility and equipment, comfy chairs during classroom sessions, and a good catered lunch, made this a great experience."
Review 6 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 day fly fishing school,
May 10, 2015
By: Buzz8333
from Manchester,VT
"I just finished attending the 2 day fly fishing school. I had a great time from start to finish. The instructors were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. we learned everything from picking the right equipment to reading a stream. Their encouragement and confidence building was fantastic. In 2 days I've gained the knowledge that would have taken me years to learn on my own."
Review 7 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginner who learned a lot,
April 24, 2015
By: mgutch21
from Manchester,VT
"I have fished for many years but never fly fished. So both my wife and I took the course last weekend and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Our teachers Kyle & Peter were patient and knowledgeable guides. There were other experienced anglers their that got a lot out of it too. I wish I had taken notes, since my only suggestion is that in addition to the book you receive at the end, was that all the great tips and hints that Kyle and Peter gave to us that aren't in the book, where given to us on a sheet of paper at the end. It was a great time. Thanks Mike"
Review 8 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great school,
April 22, 2015
By: BobCT
from Manchester, VT
"This was one of the best schools I've ever taken, anywhere and on any subject. Terrific facilities and materials and the instructors, Kyle and Forest were totally knowledgible, helpful and friendly. Despite less than perfect weather, I'd say this was a perfect learning experience."
Review 9 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing 2 day fly fishing school,
April 22, 2015
By: Kbutt2014
from Syracuse,NY
"The school was an amazing time to learn new aspects of fly fishing and to brush up on some previously learned skills with the help of top-notch instructors Peter Kutzer and Kyle Leard. They took time to indivually work with each student to improve their casting ability. The classroom presentation on entomology and fly selection, coupled with the streamside instruction is key to having a successful day fly fishing ."
Review 10 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great time,
April 20, 2015
By: dgutch
from Manchester VT
"A great, fun class! The instructors were knowledgeable, patient and encouraging. I got plenty of individualized instruction as did all the other students in the class despite a varied skill level amongst us. Plenty of time to practice fly fishing skills. The instructors shared their great enthusiasm for
fly fishing and paced the class to our needs!
"
Review 11 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthwhile Two Days (and fun),
April 19, 2015
By: DRubin
from Manchester, VT
"I had two wonderful days at Orvis. Old skills were remembered and new ones learned. The instruction was spot on and we moved according to our abilities. I would recommend this to anybody from the novice to the experienced."
Review 12 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 16, 2014
By: WillisR
from Manchester
"Everything I hoped for and more as far as an introduction to fly fishing. Forrest was an excellent teacher. His passion and ability to break everything down into the basics is the best kind of encouragement for a beginner to pursue this sport."
Review 13 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
October 11, 2014
By: Birdman1948
from Manchester VT
"Loved the whole experience.Great crew and facilities.My cast improved .ten fold.Would recommend to new and experienced anglers. JL"
Review 14 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Day Fly Fishing School,
October 6, 2014
By: CaptTomsCharters
from Manchester, VT
"After the two-days of schooling, I left feeling confident to go on any fly fishing adventure possible. Truel and Forrest were Great Teachers! Come on down to Nantucket and coming fishing with us at Capt Tom Charters when your free! Thanks again!"
Review 15 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic !,
September 1, 2014
By: karikonrad
from Manchester, VT
"Forrest and Tom were absolutely fantastic ! I really enjoyed both two days of training. Fishing school facility, top notch equipment and last but not least the instructors I had surpassed my expectations, I strongly recommend this program to anyone - very well worth it."
Review 16 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific experience,
August 13, 2014
By: fgoogs
from Manchester, VT
"Attended the two day school with my two sons. We were all beginners. Found the course was a great introduction to the sport. Forest was a terrific instructor and was able to instill in us his love of fly fishing. Learned all the basics of fly fishing that we can now grow on. Would recommend this school to everyone interest in fly fishing"
Review 17 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience,
July 4, 2014
By: mrfly
from Manchester, VT
"An excellent 2 day intro to flyfishing. Attentive, knowledgeable, friendly instructors. Only suggestion would be to spend a little more time on the river the second day. Highly recommended ti learn the basics."
Review 18 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I hoped it would be,
July 2, 2014
By: Moe1272
from Manchester, VT
"I have had flyfishing on my to-do list for years and my family gave me your 2 day school for Christmas. As I was there at a fairly quiet time, it was like a private tutorial with Forrest. The 2 days flew by, Forrest was excellent and, to be taught by someone who is so dedicated, is a pleasure and far more productive. Bottom line: I enjoyed the whole experience and am grateful to my family and those at the Orvis School."
Review 19 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing class june 12-13,
June 18, 2014
By: lumpy7883
from Florida
"WOW, I did some fly fishing in Pa, but,I came to this class and learned so much more than I thought. Your guy Forrest, Where did you get this guy. he is 20yrs old but has the experince of a sixty yr old.I'm a golf pro and give lesson and deal with people every day and this guy gives a presentation and lessons like he has been doing this for years. DON,T loose this guy! I,m in Florida now and he help me with salt water fishing. My buddy and i both bought rods and reels. Love seeing the rod factory, those people there made me buy a great rod. Great work, I,m a turn orvis for Life. Thank you for the experince. good luck guys!"
Review 20 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
May 20, 2014
By: fboucher
from Manchester, VT
"I thoroughly enjoyed my two-day fly fishing course at the Orvis Manchester school. The team of instructors were very competent, enthusiastic, patient, and fun! Thanks to Ben, Peter, Forrest and Kim, and Head Fly Fishing Instructor Truel Myers, I learned quite a lot in those two days.
I particularly enjoyed their careful modeling of movements, and the mnemonics they provided, that were truly helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable and fruitful week-end!
Thank you so much!"