Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School

If learning to fly fish or improving your casting technique seems like a daunting task, you just haven't met the right fishing instructors. Pick up a fly rod at the Orvis Manchester Fly Fishing School, situated in the heart of Vermont's Green Mountains, and you'll be casting like a seasoned angler in just two short days of classes. Our expert instructors help you with everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch. Fishing classes are held in our brand-new schoolhouse directly across from the Orvis Flagship Store, on our fully-stocked casting pond, and out on the famed Battenkill River.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 53(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Staff,
June 30, 2015
By: FirstTimeFlyGuy
from Manchester, VT
"The 2 day class was fantastic. As someone who had never touched a fly rod I was impressed at how easy the instructors made it to learn the basics. All of the equipment is top of the line and the instructors will let you try out any rod and reel you like.
The class delivers exactly what it advertises.
"
Review 2 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended...even if you're not a beginner,
June 22, 2015
By: aomoores
from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
"I've been fly fishing for freshwater species for 15 years. On a recent saltwater trip I realized quickly that my casting needed help, so I signed up for this school in Manchester. Halfway through the first day, with just a few small tweaks and guidance from our instructors (Forrest and Ben) my casting technique improved greatly. With these changes now engraved in my head, along with lots of practice, I'll be returning to the salt in the fall to go after held-up Tarpon....with a lot more confidence in my cast. Thanks guys."
Review 3 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Learning Experience,
June 18, 2015
By: Berg05262
from Manchester, VT
"The two day course was fun and a great learning experience. Our young teachers, Ben and Forrest had a wealth of knowledge to share and provided great training for everyone in the class, from those of us new to the sport to those who were looking to brush up on their skill. The variety of classroom and outdoor teaching, combined with lots of hands on opportunities made for active learning and there was never a dull moment."
Review 4 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great anniversary weekend,
June 15, 2015
By: Andy02852
from Manchester, VT
"My wife and I spent our 23rd wedding anniversary taking this course, and it was memorable. I am an experienced fisherman, but not so much in the fly-fishing department. Because my wife gets seasick, she is often left at the dock. We both figured standing in a stream may be a good way to share the joy of fishing together.
The course was comprehensive, while staying fun and engaging. Our instructors, Forest and Ben, were very knowledgeable and had a great way about them. The small class size really ensured we got a great deal of one-on-one attention.
The town of Manchester also made the weekend memorable. The scenery is simply stunning, and the local restaurant scene was great.
All in all a great romantic getaway, while learning skills that we can use on future trips together."
Review 5 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Learning Experience,
June 6, 2015
By: hirocwolf
from Manchester, Vt.
"Ben, Forrest, and Truil were amazingly helpful and extremely knowledgeable. The day after our two-day school, my husband caught 4 brown trout, and I caught my first and second brown trout ever on a fly. The two-day school was worth it just for the wading safety alone. Without this instruction, I would have easily been in the water and down for the count. Due to the class, we also paid attention to our surroundings and switched from a wet fly to a dry fly and caught rising fish in the early evening. Thanks for an awesome experience. We can't wait to go back to Manchester for more fly fishing lessons!"
Review 6 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous two days that will last a lifetime,
June 6, 2015
By: EricAdks
from Bolton Landing, NY
"I rarely use the word "awesome," and have never written a review for anything, but this class has me doing both! I've fly fished for years, but never really progressed, until now. The fishing school was a breakthrough experience, made so by the exceptional instructors! It was a learning and doing clinic in the fundamentals that everyone wanting to fly fish, or to just fish better, owes to themselves. It will make your time on the water much more rewarding and fun. I went straight from class to the beautiful Battenkill catching (and releasing) two feisty browns, one on a wet and one on a dry fly. A great and memorable finish to a tremendous two days. Thank you!"
Review 7 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Fly Fishing Experience Ever,
May 21, 2015
By: adavem
from Manchester VT
"I can't say enough great things about the school and the instructors. I have been fly fishing since 1980 but really needed some serious help with my casting. To sum it up, I learned more in 2 days than in the past 30 years!!!
Thank You Orvis!
"
Review 8 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two days toward fly fishing,
May 19, 2015
By: Basil518
from Manchester VT May 18-19
"Staff couldn't be better. Information top shelf and to the point.
Support for demo and practice casting excellent.
I took the course as TOTAL NON-FISHER to see if fly-fishing might be for me (retiree slowing down, 70+).
I learned that the basics are too complicated to do in 2 or even 20 days. I need to find a local mentor get out there and do it.
The time on Batten Kill was enough to show me casting techniques were over stressed for beginners. Got excellent direction on the river but would have appreciated more strategies for tight NE conditions before getting there.
I'm going home to try some fly fishing. Hopefully might even scare some trout.
Thanks for the 2 day introduction to fly fishing!
"
Review 9 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Class!,
May 18, 2015
By: ColinT
from Manchester, VT
"Peter and Kyle were excellent instructors. I quickly re-learned how to fly cast after being away from it for 30 years or so. Overall, it was a great refresher class, in a comfortable modern facility, taught by a couple of first class individuals."
Review 10 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
May 14, 2015
By: Petergrnbkr
from Wallingford, CT
"I have been fly fishing for about 4 years and needed help with casting and entomology, this class was great for both! The three instructors, Kyle, Forrest and Ben, were very knowledgeable in all aspects of fly fishing. When addressing a certain casting or fly questions they were supportive, never critical or demeaning in their approach.
Our class had beginners through novice and they adjusted the instruction to the experience level. The casting video was probably the best tool in the class, I picked up a lot from all the videos not just my own.
Looking at other posts here you see all five star ratings, that is a tribute to the instructors.
I highly recommend this class to any beginners or if you need help with any part of fly fishing.
Make sure to go on the rod shop tour!
"
Review 11 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Next Level,
May 13, 2015
By: Mucksie
from White Plains, NY
"I took the 2 day course May 9 &10. It was a small group (just me and 2 other guys) but very well done.
Our instructor Ben was great. Despite his young age (22), Ben did a great job mixing just the right amount of technical, fly fishing jargon, with simple hints delivered in practical laymen terms (often with visual analogies that stuck in my head.
I came away with a much better set of fly fishing skills and some new knowledge about handling fish, reading the hatch, and respecting the sport and the environment.
That, coupled with a first class facility and equipment, comfy chairs during classroom sessions, and a good catered lunch, made this a great experience."
Review 12 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 day fly fishing school,
May 10, 2015
By: Buzz8333
from Manchester,VT
"I just finished attending the 2 day fly fishing school. I had a great time from start to finish. The instructors were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. we learned everything from picking the right equipment to reading a stream. Their encouragement and confidence building was fantastic. In 2 days I've gained the knowledge that would have taken me years to learn on my own."
Review 13 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginner who learned a lot,
April 24, 2015
By: mgutch21
from Manchester,VT
"I have fished for many years but never fly fished. So both my wife and I took the course last weekend and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Our teachers Kyle & Peter were patient and knowledgeable guides. There were other experienced anglers their that got a lot out of it too. I wish I had taken notes, since my only suggestion is that in addition to the book you receive at the end, was that all the great tips and hints that Kyle and Peter gave to us that aren't in the book, where given to us on a sheet of paper at the end. It was a great time. Thanks Mike"
Review 14 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great school,
April 22, 2015
By: BobCT
from Manchester, VT
"This was one of the best schools I've ever taken, anywhere and on any subject. Terrific facilities and materials and the instructors, Kyle and Forest were totally knowledgible, helpful and friendly. Despite less than perfect weather, I'd say this was a perfect learning experience."
Review 15 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing 2 day fly fishing school,
April 22, 2015
By: Kbutt2014
from Syracuse,NY
"The school was an amazing time to learn new aspects of fly fishing and to brush up on some previously learned skills with the help of top-notch instructors Peter Kutzer and Kyle Leard. They took time to indivually work with each student to improve their casting ability. The classroom presentation on entomology and fly selection, coupled with the streamside instruction is key to having a successful day fly fishing ."
Review 16 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great time,
April 20, 2015
By: dgutch
from Manchester VT
"A great, fun class! The instructors were knowledgeable, patient and encouraging. I got plenty of individualized instruction as did all the other students in the class despite a varied skill level amongst us. Plenty of time to practice fly fishing skills. The instructors shared their great enthusiasm for
fly fishing and paced the class to our needs!
"
Review 17 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthwhile Two Days (and fun),
April 19, 2015
By: DRubin
from Manchester, VT
"I had two wonderful days at Orvis. Old skills were remembered and new ones learned. The instruction was spot on and we moved according to our abilities. I would recommend this to anybody from the novice to the experienced."
Review 18 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 16, 2014
By: WillisR
from Manchester
"Everything I hoped for and more as far as an introduction to fly fishing. Forrest was an excellent teacher. His passion and ability to break everything down into the basics is the best kind of encouragement for a beginner to pursue this sport."
Review 19 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
October 11, 2014
By: Birdman1948
from Manchester VT
"Loved the whole experience.Great crew and facilities.My cast improved .ten fold.Would recommend to new and experienced anglers. JL"
Review 20 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Day Fly Fishing School,
October 6, 2014
By: CaptTomsCharters
from Manchester, VT
"After the two-days of schooling, I left feeling confident to go on any fly fishing adventure possible. Truel and Forrest were Great Teachers! Come on down to Nantucket and coming fishing with us at Capt Tom Charters when your free! Thanks again!"