Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School

If learning to fly fish or improving your casting technique seems like a daunting task, you just haven't met the right fishing instructors. Pick up a fly rod at the Orvis Manchester Fly Fishing School, situated in the heart of Vermont's Green Mountains, and you'll be casting like a seasoned angler in just two short days of classes. Our expert instructors help you with everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch. Fishing classes are held in our brand-new schoolhouse directly across from the Orvis Flagship Store, on our fully-stocked casting pond, and out on the famed Battenkill River.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience,
July 4, 2014
By: mrfly
from Manchester, VT
"An excellent 2 day intro to flyfishing. Attentive, knowledgeable, friendly instructors. Only suggestion would be to spend a little more time on the river the second day. Highly recommended ti learn the basics."
Review 2 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I hoped it would be,
July 2, 2014
By: Moe1272
from Manchester, VT
"I have had flyfishing on my to-do list for years and my family gave me your 2 day school for Christmas. As I was there at a fairly quiet time, it was like a private tutorial with Forrest. The 2 days flew by, Forrest was excellent and, to be taught by someone who is so dedicated, is a pleasure and far more productive. Bottom line: I enjoyed the whole experience and am grateful to my family and those at the Orvis School."
Review 3 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing class june 12-13,
June 18, 2014
By: lumpy7883
from Florida
"WOW, I did some fly fishing in Pa, but,I came to this class and learned so much more than I thought. Your guy Forrest, Where did you get this guy. he is 20yrs old but has the experince of a sixty yr old.I'm a golf pro and give lesson and deal with people every day and this guy gives a presentation and lessons like he has been doing this for years. DON,T loose this guy! I,m in Florida now and he help me with salt water fishing. My buddy and i both bought rods and reels. Love seeing the rod factory, those people there made me buy a great rod. Great work, I,m a turn orvis for Life. Thank you for the experince. good luck guys!"
Review 4 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
May 20, 2014
By: fboucher
from Manchester, VT
"I thoroughly enjoyed my two-day fly fishing course at the Orvis Manchester school. The team of instructors were very competent, enthusiastic, patient, and fun! Thanks to Ben, Peter, Forrest and Kim, and Head Fly Fishing Instructor Truel Myers, I learned quite a lot in those two days.
I particularly enjoyed their careful modeling of movements, and the mnemonics they provided, that were truly helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable and fruitful week-end!
Thank you so much!"
Review 5 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience at the 2 Day Fly Fishing School,
September 16, 2013
By: FlyFisherFanatic
from Manchester, VT
"I spent the last 2 days at the Orvis Fly Fishing School with Truel, Tom, and Forrest. I am not new to fly fishing, having spent many weekends fishing for brook trout with my father and my children, all passed down to us from my grandfather, but I am by no means an expert. While I know how to tie my own flies, knew the basics of stream entomology, and have long had a passion for the sport ... I was NOT good at it. My casting was atrocious! Nevertheless, I have always loved spending time chasing brookies on mountain streams.
After 2 days in Manchester I think learned more about trout fishing than I have in the previous 50 years. The instructors are very knowledgable and patient. We covered all the basics and I left with a re-kindled passion for fly fishing. I was also delighted to have caught a brookie on the Battenkill, set the hook, played him ... then lost slack and watched him roll off and swim away! In the past I would have jerked him over my shoulder about 10 yards behind me on the bank of the river! It was much more gratifying to hook him the way I did and play him for a little, then watch him swim away to be there for another angler on another day.
I am already planning my next trip to a nearby trout river for next Saturday morning. I am also practicing my casting in the backyard (much to my neighbor's amusement). I have a great deal of new information on trout fishing and can't wait to start on chapter 2 of my fly fishing story.
Thank you guys. I have wanted to do this for years, and I was not disappointed."
Review 6 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gotta love Fishin school !,
June 30, 2013
By: vtDocHop
from Shelburne, VT
"My son Max and I attended the course and couldn't have been happier with the outcome ! Truel, Kyle, and Forrest were informative and encouraging. We are planning our next fishing trip and dreaming of our next Orvis Fishing experience !"
Review 7 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Way to Get Started,
May 8, 2013
By: BrownTroutNYS
from Manchester, VT
"I just completed the Two-Day school in manchester, VT. It was worth every penny! Truel, Kyle, and Forrest were there and were excellent. They worked smoothly with each other, and had tons of patience. I made sure to learn the double haul, having borrowed Kyle's 9-wt Helios 2 for practice. They teach you all the basics and much more - casting, reading water, practical tips to avoid your (incorrect) natural tendencies, and how the gear all fits together.
The trip to the Battenkill was excellent, where we learned methods for fishing nymphs, dries, wets, and streamers. You can go from "zero" to "confident" in two days, believe me. However, part of it is your work ethic. If you focus on your casting, to include the double haul, the value of this course goes through the roof. As they say, you have the rest of your life to fish. Here, you learn and cast.
Kicker - they recently increased the store discount, so when you show up there's a 20% off coupon waiting for you. If you're even considering it, do it.
"
Review 8 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great forinformation,
October 15, 2012
By: TRTSyr
from Syracuse, NY
"This was a great 2 day course for getting the basics. My friend and I had a super experience with the 2 instructors Forrest and Kyle. It helped my casting where I am just a novice , but did not feel that way with the instructors. Did not catch any fish, but more importantly learned how to cast on the Battenkill, or any river. Casting on the pond is different from the real thing, so pay attention to the roll cast as you will be using it a lot.
The people at Orvis who we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We also had the new social media person, Kathleen for Orvis in the class. She will be a great addition to the company. She has help us since the class with different kinds of info. The course is a good one to improve your casting along with the knowledge. We also got a tour of the rod factory which for us was interesting. The only thing there was a little down time which we felt could have been used in better ways or more casting. Great experience!
"
Review 9 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Hesitate..Go To School!,
October 9, 2012
By: McGlin
from Bucks County, PA
"I just finished a two day fly fishing school in Manchester, VT. I highly recommend the school. If you think you know everything..you don't! Highly educational, fundamental, and entertaining. Both Forrest and Kyle ( the instructors) were knowledgable and provided first class instruction. No fish were caught on the "Mighty Battenkill", however the experience was something I will never forget. October the water is a bit cold but the tips and advice I was given during instruction and casting immediately improved my fly fishing technique. I have fly fished for three years..mostly panfish, smallmouth bass. I plan on coming back to Vermont next spring and hiring a guide from Orvis for a day fishing the Battenkill! A wonderful 2 days of learning about something I love! Way to go Forrest & Kyle! Way to go Orvis!
Fran X. McGowan"
Review 10 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Course,
June 7, 2012
By: FishVT
from Manchester, VT
"I had dabbled in fly fishing with mediocre success, so I decided to take this class. In short, this class was outstanding. The instructiors were fun, very knowlegable, and had me casting in no time.
I should have taken this class years ago.
The only downside was that I stayed in the big historic hotel in town, and they surprised me with additional fees - the front desk was not helpful.
"
Review 11 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent course,
April 20, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Manchester, VT
"I cannot praise this course highly enough. My son and I attended the 2 day course, as fly fishing beginners. All of the instructors were knowledgeable and friendly. The course is organized so that you have roughly equal amounts of classroom time and practice time. All of the instructors had a good sense of humor, especially Antoine who had us in stitches during his entomological and fly fishing equipment presentations.
As a fly fishing newbie, I learnt more than enough to feel comfortable fly fishing with friends or a guide in the future. The individual video analysis of our fly casts was particularly helpful.
As an aside, for those that might be wondering about the lunch that is provided - it was surprisingly good."
Review 12 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
October 14, 2011
By: TonytheTiger
from Manchester, VT
"The class was superband well-planned with extremely experienced instructors. Highly recommended."
Review 13 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like nothing else in the world!,
September 20, 2011
By: phdezra
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is without doubt one of the greatest experiences you can give someone. While I've fished basic spinner/baitcasting reels over the years, I had never fly fished. I read some Internet articles, and eventually got referred to Orvis. My family graciously 'allowed' me to fulfill my wish by taking this two day course at the flagship location in Vermont.
In case you don't read the rest of my review, let me say this upfront: If you are even *thinking* about taking a fly fishing course with Orvis (and obviously you are since you are reading this review), you may as well sign up asap! It is everything you can imagine and then some.
In a word: STUNNING. The instruction and hands-on direction is of the highest quality in the world. There is actual classroom time (just a little) as well as multiple 45 minute sessions on the Orvis private pond for various casting instruction, Back cast, forward cast, false cast, etc.... even the double haul if you are brave enough to try it.
Within a few hours on Day One, I was casting quite nicely for someone who had ZERO experience at breakfast earlier the same day. On Day Two, we went for a fishing trip on the Battenkill River (see photo of me attached). Hello, does it get any better than this? Waders, rods (Helios!), everything was provided. Gunnar, Peter and Kyle (instructors) are all experts. Not just in their own ability to cast, but in their keen eye for gracefully helping us newbies along.
Standing in the Battenkill River on day two was like nothing I have ever experienced. (I'm a city slicker from Manhattan--so take it with a grain of salt.)
I highly recommend this to everyone to do in their lifetime... at least once. And, hey, I caught a Rainbow Trout... is there more one could wish for? Five stars!"
Review 14 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a wonderful time!,
August 16, 2011
By: Flieger83
from Mesa, AZ
"WOW!
I don't know a better way to say it: WOW! I was in the school August 8/9 and worked with Kyle Leard and Gunnar Johnson. They are two of the most talented instructors and fly-fisherman that I have ever met!
They took me aside, assessed my skills (or lack thereof) and then in less than an hour had me "shooting" line over 60 feet, and accurately! That just amazed me. I've tried this for more than 30 years...never could do it. And in such a short time, under their tutelage...I'm almost daring myself to go bonefishing!
Take the time, spend the money; go visit Truel Myers and his team in Manchester...you will come away with skills you don't know you have and a MUCH better appreciation for the sport!!!
Now...on to Key West and Truel's promise to help me catch my first "bone!""
Review 15 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing school @ Manchester, VY,
July 8, 2011
By: jdsail
from Summers in SE CT/winters in SE FL
"I came home from the two day fly fishing school on Manchester and told all my friends, and others who would listen, want a great experience it was. I haven't done any fly fishing in over 40 years and I just wanted to see if I really wanted to try again.
The school was an esoteric experience. If I never set foot in a stream it was an experience of far greater value than the cost. It was an overview that gave me the confidence and knowledge to take fly fishing up again.
We have an avid fly fisherman of over 60 years of experience in the class as well as a virtual beginner like me. We all learned and got along well. The instructors kept us going and at no point was anyone left out or behind.
I recommend this school to anyone who does or is thinking of doing fly fishing."
Review 16 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very satisfied customer!,
July 7, 2011
By: CtStudent
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I attended the Manchester Vt fly fishing shool over a weekend in June. It had been on my list of "to do's" for a long time and I was very excited to go. I selected Orvis as I have long considered them the "Mercedes" of schools and I was right! The instructors were amazing; so knowledgeable, patient and interested in every student. As a woman I felt totally comfortable the entire time; safe and in very good hands. I am a small person and the current was very strong the day we fished in the Battenkill. The instructor made sure that I was safe and kept track of my movements at all times. I feel that I now have a basis that I can build on in the future. Great Job, Orvis!"
Review 17 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
June 20, 2011
By: Upstream
from Amherst, MA
"I am a relatively new angler and after attending the 2 day school I feel ready to head out fishing on my own or with other anglers. I really feel that the instructors provided me with a foundation that I can build on for years to come. I can't wait to head out and catch some fish. In addition to what I learned, it was just an all around great time with a great group of people. Thank you Truel, Peter, Kyle, and Gunner!"
Review 18 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Training,
June 3, 2011
By: JerryFromTroy
from Upstate New York
"This was the best designed training I have ever had. Course design was excellent and instructors were very knowledgable and great communicators. I've taken many lessons of various types and many have been unsuccessfull. Many instructors are excellent on the subject matter that is being taught but don't have the ability to communicate the how to. I have never learned something so quickly and that is because of the instructors. And they make the students very comfortable. Do not miss out on this exceptional training. You will not be disappointed."
Review 19 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time,
December 29, 2010
By: Flyforce1
from saratoga ny
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My father, uncle and I all attended the one day school and had a blast. The facilities were top notch as well as the instructors. Both Antoine and Pete helped me improve my cast. Coming in I was somewhat clueless, however i left feeling confident in my ability to double haul. (Prior to their instruction I never knew such a thing existed) They had a great lunch prepared for us and even showed us a nice spot on the Battenkill later that afternoon. Wish we spent a bit more time stream side but it was just the one day class. Pros- Too many to list. Cons-They don't hand out flies on the casting ponds. haha can't blame them. The fish in there only eat pellets anyways. I was up a few months ago and found a bug near the pond, Threw it in and the fish just laughed showing no interest what so ever. Thanks Pete and Antoine I'm Hooked!"
Review 20 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really helped a lot,
October 20, 2010
By: WyoTroutBum
from Wyoming
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fly fishing for several years and seem to catch my share. However, I've always known I could use some improvment in my casting. The instructors at the school spent some one on one time with me on ironing out my 'wrinkles' and helped me achieve better results with less effort. The school is definitely worth the time & money."