Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School

If learning to fly fish or improving your casting technique seems like a daunting task, you just haven't met the right fishing instructors. Pick up a fly rod at the Orvis Manchester Fly Fishing School, situated in the heart of Vermont's Green Mountains, and you'll be casting like a seasoned angler in just two short days of classes. Our expert instructors help you with everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch. Fishing classes are held in our brand-new schoolhouse directly across from the Orvis Flagship Store, on our fully-stocked casting pond, and out on the famed Battenkill River.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginner who learned a lot,
April 24, 2015
By: mgutch21
from Manchester,VT
"I have fished for many years but never fly fished. So both my wife and I took the course last weekend and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Our teachers Kyle & Peter were patient and knowledgeable guides. There were other experienced anglers their that got a lot out of it too. I wish I had taken notes, since my only suggestion is that in addition to the book you receive at the end, was that all the great tips and hints that Kyle and Peter gave to us that aren't in the book, where given to us on a sheet of paper at the end. It was a great time. Thanks Mike"
Review 2 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really great school,
April 22, 2015
By: BobCT
from Manchester, VT
"This was one of the best schools I've ever taken, anywhere and on any subject. Terrific facilities and materials and the instructors, Kyle and Forest were totally knowledgible, helpful and friendly. Despite less than perfect weather, I'd say this was a perfect learning experience."
Review 3 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing 2 day fly fishing school,
April 22, 2015
By: Kbutt2014
from Syracuse,NY
"The school was an amazing time to learn new aspects of fly fishing and to brush up on some previously learned skills with the help of top-notch instructors Peter Kutzer and Kyle Leard. They took time to indivually work with each student to improve their casting ability. The classroom presentation on entomology and fly selection, coupled with the streamside instruction is key to having a successful day fly fishing ."
Review 4 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great time,
April 20, 2015
By: dgutch
from Manchester VT
"A great, fun class! The instructors were knowledgeable, patient and encouraging. I got plenty of individualized instruction as did all the other students in the class despite a varied skill level amongst us. Plenty of time to practice fly fishing skills. The instructors shared their great enthusiasm for
fly fishing and paced the class to our needs!
"
Review 5 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A worthwhile Two Days (and fun),
April 19, 2015
By: DRubin
from Manchester, VT
"I had two wonderful days at Orvis. Old skills were remembered and new ones learned. The instruction was spot on and we moved according to our abilities. I would recommend this to anybody from the novice to the experienced."
Review 6 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 16, 2014
By: WillisR
from Manchester
"Everything I hoped for and more as far as an introduction to fly fishing. Forrest was an excellent teacher. His passion and ability to break everything down into the basics is the best kind of encouragement for a beginner to pursue this sport."
Review 7 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
October 11, 2014
By: Birdman1948
from Manchester VT
"Loved the whole experience.Great crew and facilities.My cast improved .ten fold.Would recommend to new and experienced anglers. JL"
Review 8 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Day Fly Fishing School,
October 6, 2014
By: CaptTomsCharters
from Manchester, VT
"After the two-days of schooling, I left feeling confident to go on any fly fishing adventure possible. Truel and Forrest were Great Teachers! Come on down to Nantucket and coming fishing with us at Capt Tom Charters when your free! Thanks again!"
Review 9 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic !,
September 1, 2014
By: karikonrad
from Manchester, VT
"Forrest and Tom were absolutely fantastic ! I really enjoyed both two days of training. Fishing school facility, top notch equipment and last but not least the instructors I had surpassed my expectations, I strongly recommend this program to anyone - very well worth it."
Review 10 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific experience,
August 13, 2014
By: fgoogs
from Manchester, VT
"Attended the two day school with my two sons. We were all beginners. Found the course was a great introduction to the sport. Forest was a terrific instructor and was able to instill in us his love of fly fishing. Learned all the basics of fly fishing that we can now grow on. Would recommend this school to everyone interest in fly fishing"
Review 11 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience,
July 4, 2014
By: mrfly
from Manchester, VT
"An excellent 2 day intro to flyfishing. Attentive, knowledgeable, friendly instructors. Only suggestion would be to spend a little more time on the river the second day. Highly recommended ti learn the basics."
Review 12 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything I hoped it would be,
July 2, 2014
By: Moe1272
from Manchester, VT
"I have had flyfishing on my to-do list for years and my family gave me your 2 day school for Christmas. As I was there at a fairly quiet time, it was like a private tutorial with Forrest. The 2 days flew by, Forrest was excellent and, to be taught by someone who is so dedicated, is a pleasure and far more productive. Bottom line: I enjoyed the whole experience and am grateful to my family and those at the Orvis School."
Review 13 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing class june 12-13,
June 18, 2014
By: lumpy7883
from Florida
"WOW, I did some fly fishing in Pa, but,I came to this class and learned so much more than I thought. Your guy Forrest, Where did you get this guy. he is 20yrs old but has the experince of a sixty yr old.I'm a golf pro and give lesson and deal with people every day and this guy gives a presentation and lessons like he has been doing this for years. DON,T loose this guy! I,m in Florida now and he help me with salt water fishing. My buddy and i both bought rods and reels. Love seeing the rod factory, those people there made me buy a great rod. Great work, I,m a turn orvis for Life. Thank you for the experince. good luck guys!"
Review 14 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
May 20, 2014
By: fboucher
from Manchester, VT
"I thoroughly enjoyed my two-day fly fishing course at the Orvis Manchester school. The team of instructors were very competent, enthusiastic, patient, and fun! Thanks to Ben, Peter, Forrest and Kim, and Head Fly Fishing Instructor Truel Myers, I learned quite a lot in those two days.
I particularly enjoyed their careful modeling of movements, and the mnemonics they provided, that were truly helpful.
A thoroughly enjoyable and fruitful week-end!
Thank you so much!"
Review 15 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience at the 2 Day Fly Fishing School,
September 16, 2013
By: FlyFisherFanatic
from Manchester, VT
"I spent the last 2 days at the Orvis Fly Fishing School with Truel, Tom, and Forrest. I am not new to fly fishing, having spent many weekends fishing for brook trout with my father and my children, all passed down to us from my grandfather, but I am by no means an expert. While I know how to tie my own flies, knew the basics of stream entomology, and have long had a passion for the sport ... I was NOT good at it. My casting was atrocious! Nevertheless, I have always loved spending time chasing brookies on mountain streams.
After 2 days in Manchester I think learned more about trout fishing than I have in the previous 50 years. The instructors are very knowledgable and patient. We covered all the basics and I left with a re-kindled passion for fly fishing. I was also delighted to have caught a brookie on the Battenkill, set the hook, played him ... then lost slack and watched him roll off and swim away! In the past I would have jerked him over my shoulder about 10 yards behind me on the bank of the river! It was much more gratifying to hook him the way I did and play him for a little, then watch him swim away to be there for another angler on another day.
I am already planning my next trip to a nearby trout river for next Saturday morning. I am also practicing my casting in the backyard (much to my neighbor's amusement). I have a great deal of new information on trout fishing and can't wait to start on chapter 2 of my fly fishing story.
Thank you guys. I have wanted to do this for years, and I was not disappointed."
Review 16 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gotta love Fishin school !,
June 30, 2013
By: vtDocHop
from Shelburne, VT
"My son Max and I attended the course and couldn't have been happier with the outcome ! Truel, Kyle, and Forrest were informative and encouraging. We are planning our next fishing trip and dreaming of our next Orvis Fishing experience !"
Review 17 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Way to Get Started,
May 8, 2013
By: BrownTroutNYS
from Manchester, VT
"I just completed the Two-Day school in manchester, VT. It was worth every penny! Truel, Kyle, and Forrest were there and were excellent. They worked smoothly with each other, and had tons of patience. I made sure to learn the double haul, having borrowed Kyle's 9-wt Helios 2 for practice. They teach you all the basics and much more - casting, reading water, practical tips to avoid your (incorrect) natural tendencies, and how the gear all fits together.
The trip to the Battenkill was excellent, where we learned methods for fishing nymphs, dries, wets, and streamers. You can go from "zero" to "confident" in two days, believe me. However, part of it is your work ethic. If you focus on your casting, to include the double haul, the value of this course goes through the roof. As they say, you have the rest of your life to fish. Here, you learn and cast.
Kicker - they recently increased the store discount, so when you show up there's a 20% off coupon waiting for you. If you're even considering it, do it.
"
Review 18 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great forinformation,
October 15, 2012
By: TRTSyr
from Syracuse, NY
"This was a great 2 day course for getting the basics. My friend and I had a super experience with the 2 instructors Forrest and Kyle. It helped my casting where I am just a novice , but did not feel that way with the instructors. Did not catch any fish, but more importantly learned how to cast on the Battenkill, or any river. Casting on the pond is different from the real thing, so pay attention to the roll cast as you will be using it a lot.
The people at Orvis who we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We also had the new social media person, Kathleen for Orvis in the class. She will be a great addition to the company. She has help us since the class with different kinds of info. The course is a good one to improve your casting along with the knowledge. We also got a tour of the rod factory which for us was interesting. The only thing there was a little down time which we felt could have been used in better ways or more casting. Great experience!
"
Review 19 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't Hesitate..Go To School!,
October 9, 2012
By: McGlin
from Bucks County, PA
"I just finished a two day fly fishing school in Manchester, VT. I highly recommend the school. If you think you know everything..you don't! Highly educational, fundamental, and entertaining. Both Forrest and Kyle ( the instructors) were knowledgable and provided first class instruction. No fish were caught on the "Mighty Battenkill", however the experience was something I will never forget. October the water is a bit cold but the tips and advice I was given during instruction and casting immediately improved my fly fishing technique. I have fly fished for three years..mostly panfish, smallmouth bass. I plan on coming back to Vermont next spring and hiring a guide from Orvis for a day fishing the Battenkill! A wonderful 2 days of learning about something I love! Way to go Forrest & Kyle! Way to go Orvis!
Fran X. McGowan"
Review 20 for Manchester, Vermont 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Course,
June 7, 2012
By: FishVT
from Manchester, VT
"I had dabbled in fly fishing with mediocre success, so I decided to take this class. In short, this class was outstanding. The instructiors were fun, very knowlegable, and had me casting in no time.
I should have taken this class years ago.
The only downside was that I stayed in the big historic hotel in town, and they surprised me with additional fees - the front desk was not helpful.
"