Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School

Learn the art of wingshooting in a traditional Old South setting. Located just 30 minutes east of Tallahassee, these historic shotgun shooting grounds feature fully-automated traps, a high tower, and a quail walk. The expert instructors at Mays Pond place particular emphasis on pass shooting instruction for quail, dove, and waterfowl hunting. Wingshooting school and shotgun shooting classes are held in a beautifully restored one-room Georgia schoolhouse where catered lunches are served daily.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Review 1 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great experience,
March 29, 2014
By: bobalouie
"I am planning my sixth trip to Mays Pond and my ? eighth trip to an Orvis school and I thought I should update my 2011 review.
First, Bruce Bowlen and Truel Myers are simply brilliant instructors. As a pediatric cardiac surgeon I have had to learn a little of this and that in my life and Bruce and Truel are simply the most accomplished and patient teachers ever. I brought my 12 year old this November and their work with him was world class...especially since he is a brilliant shot already.
The grounds are fantastic. The quail walk is worth the trip. The tower and the wobbler are awesome.
Finally the whole atmosphere and ambience are fantastic.From the wonderful drive out to the Spanish moss on trees. The schoolhouse has an authentic rustic charm that cannot be duplicated. It is the Old South personified with no pretenses or frills whatsoever. Immaculately clean and organized we all look forward to Suzanne's lunch. Or the fire in early morning with the coffee brewing. It's not Vail but thank God for that!!"
Review 2 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shooting school,
November 18, 2013
By: grandpapa
from Mays Pond
"Grand Dads
Want to do something special for and with your grandchildren? Take them to shooting school and go through the course with them.I have been 3 times with 2 grandkids each time, boys and girls,14 to 15 years old, starting in '98. I am scheduling trip #4 for 2014.If coming by air Tallahassee is very close, also excellent accommodations in Thomasville GA 20 min. from school.
Many thanks to Bruce Bowlen and staff for their
special attention to the grandkids.
"
Review 3 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 16, 2013
By: JohnRoss
from Albany, GA
"My sincere thanks to Bruce Bowlen and Truel Myers for providing a great shooting experience. Even though the school is a group event, the individual attention they give students is tops! I've got a new favorite shotgun, a new confidence, and a much improved shooting technique thanks to great instruction. Both Bruce and Truel have a great eye for helping students improve their shooting - all provided in a fantastic wingshooting environment. The Quail Walk was fantastic! I will be back."
Review 4 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mays Pond,
November 7, 2011
By: skimsu
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"The three of us (females) just returned. I want to say how much we enjoyed our class. All the instructors, Bruce, Truel, Don and Todd we excellent. We have all shot before and our passion is upland game behind our goldens. All of us improved and can't wait to get back in the field. Mays Pond is a special place"
Review 5 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience Brilliant Instruction,
November 6, 2011
By: bobalouie
"I returned for the second year in a row to Mays Pond. Bruce and Truel are simply brilliant instructors and consummate gentlemen. Progress in technique, style, and results were palpable for all involved. I highly recommend this school for all levels of shooters from frank novice to the experienced. You will not be disappointed."
Review 6 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic experience,
November 21, 2010
By: KillerBee
from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A buddy and I attended the May's Pond school 13-14 November 2010. I can't say enough good things about our instructors (Bruce, Don and Truel) or the coaching we received. We both improved tremendously and had a lot of fun. We did a 2 day quail hunt right after the school and not many birds got away! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 7 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lady Graduate-November 2009,
December 9, 2009
By: paintlady
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! Great instructors! I had never held a shotgun before and was a little anxious...but with the expert instruction, I was hitting more targets than I missed on the first morning, and feeling comfortable and confident...Mays Pond is beautiful, quiet and serene...I am looking forward to attending class again NEXT year...(Fellows, bring your Lady to this school; she will love it! The school was a "special time" for me and my Beau!)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shooting school,
November 25, 2009
By: EfrenO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Highly recomended, first time that a professional shooter shows me what I am doing wrong and gets me to shoot straight!
Excellent instructors, thank you Bruce!
Efren
"