Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School

Learn the art of wingshooting in a traditional Old South setting. Located just 30 minutes east of Tallahassee, these historic shotgun shooting grounds feature fully-automated traps, a high tower, and a quail walk. The expert instructors at Mays Pond place particular emphasis on pass shooting instruction for quail, dove, and waterfowl hunting. Wingshooting school and shotgun shooting classes are held in a beautifully restored one-room Georgia schoolhouse where catered lunches are served daily.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Review 1 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second trip better than the first,
November 15, 2014
By: JohnRoss
from Albany, GA
"Just returned from my second trip to Mays Pond and couldn't be happier. Bruce Bowlen, Truel Myers, and Todd Rogers are great teachers and I really like the fact that the school is progressive - that is they teach to your individual skill level with the aim of taking you to the next. Thank you to all three of you.
The atmosphere is great - casual and laid back in true Southern style, From the classroom in the old school house to every shooting stand to the wobble trap and quail walk, it's a great learning experience. Lots of shooting and lots of fun. It's a beautiful place location worthy of such a fine shooting experience.
Topping it all off is a great lunch each day. Thanks Suzanne.
I will be back - and soon."
Review 2 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded even great expectations,
November 12, 2014
By: UncleBuckAL
from Mays Pond, FL
"Only 24 hours removed from the serene, if not occasionally shotgun noisy, setting of Mays Pond I wanted to write this review while our experience was fresh on my mind. First a special thank you to Bruce, Todd and Truel both for their expertise and their engaging personalities. We could not have been made to feel more welcome and our continued progress was their first and foremost objective. My wife was an absolute beginner. Both her progress and enthusiasm were amazing. She was thrilled when our group included two other couples as she had feared being the "odd girl" at the guys shooting event. We made great new friends and encouraged each other's progress.
The "system" so to speak is natural and easy to understand. We were able to learn as much by listening to Bruce, Todd and Truel instruct our group mates as from our own actual shooting. When you hear the words system or technique there is often the fear that we are talking cookie-cutter application. Nothing could have been further from the truth. While they would not and did not deviate from the fundamentals of instinctive shooting they were quick to accurately interpret our individual quirks, old habits, and physical limitations and then provided solutions tailor made for each of us. That is the definition of a good instructor and all three of ours were exceptional. Regrets? Only that I did not do this 40 years ago. I could have paid for it many times over in wasted shells and missed birds for the table. I expect many less disbelieving looks of disgust from our setter this season.
We are going to practice and continue to return for a refresher course from time to time. We commend the school and our gifted instructors to anyone who loves wing shooting and wants to be better."
Review 3 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great experience,
March 29, 2014
By: bobalouie
"I am planning my sixth trip to Mays Pond and my ? eighth trip to an Orvis school and I thought I should update my 2011 review.
First, Bruce Bowlen and Truel Myers are simply brilliant instructors. As a pediatric cardiac surgeon I have had to learn a little of this and that in my life and Bruce and Truel are simply the most accomplished and patient teachers ever. I brought my 12 year old this November and their work with him was world class...especially since he is a brilliant shot already.
The grounds are fantastic. The quail walk is worth the trip. The tower and the wobbler are awesome.
Finally the whole atmosphere and ambience are fantastic.From the wonderful drive out to the Spanish moss on trees. The schoolhouse has an authentic rustic charm that cannot be duplicated. It is the Old South personified with no pretenses or frills whatsoever. Immaculately clean and organized we all look forward to Suzanne's lunch. Or the fire in early morning with the coffee brewing. It's not Vail but thank God for that!!"
Review 4 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shooting school,
November 18, 2013
By: grandpapa
from Mays Pond
"Grand Dads
Want to do something special for and with your grandchildren? Take them to shooting school and go through the course with them.I have been 3 times with 2 grandkids each time, boys and girls,14 to 15 years old, starting in '98. I am scheduling trip #4 for 2014.If coming by air Tallahassee is very close, also excellent accommodations in Thomasville GA 20 min. from school.
Many thanks to Bruce Bowlen and staff for their
special attention to the grandkids.
"
Review 5 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 16, 2013
By: JohnRoss
from Albany, GA
"My sincere thanks to Bruce Bowlen and Truel Myers for providing a great shooting experience. Even though the school is a group event, the individual attention they give students is tops! I've got a new favorite shotgun, a new confidence, and a much improved shooting technique thanks to great instruction. Both Bruce and Truel have a great eye for helping students improve their shooting - all provided in a fantastic wingshooting environment. The Quail Walk was fantastic! I will be back."
Review 6 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mays Pond,
November 7, 2011
By: skimsu
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"The three of us (females) just returned. I want to say how much we enjoyed our class. All the instructors, Bruce, Truel, Don and Todd we excellent. We have all shot before and our passion is upland game behind our goldens. All of us improved and can't wait to get back in the field. Mays Pond is a special place"
Review 7 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience Brilliant Instruction,
November 6, 2011
By: bobalouie
"I returned for the second year in a row to Mays Pond. Bruce and Truel are simply brilliant instructors and consummate gentlemen. Progress in technique, style, and results were palpable for all involved. I highly recommend this school for all levels of shooters from frank novice to the experienced. You will not be disappointed."
Review 8 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic experience,
November 21, 2010
By: KillerBee
from Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A buddy and I attended the May's Pond school 13-14 November 2010. I can't say enough good things about our instructors (Bruce, Don and Truel) or the coaching we received. We both improved tremendously and had a lot of fun. We did a 2 day quail hunt right after the school and not many birds got away! Thanks Orvis!"
Review 9 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lady Graduate-November 2009,
December 9, 2009
By: paintlady
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! Great instructors! I had never held a shotgun before and was a little anxious...but with the expert instruction, I was hitting more targets than I missed on the first morning, and feeling comfortable and confident...Mays Pond is beautiful, quiet and serene...I am looking forward to attending class again NEXT year...(Fellows, bring your Lady to this school; she will love it! The school was a "special time" for me and my Beau!)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mays Pond, Florida 1- or 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shooting school,
November 25, 2009
By: EfrenO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Highly recomended, first time that a professional shooter shows me what I am doing wrong and gets me to shoot straight!
Excellent instructors, thank you Bruce!
Efren
"