Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School

A world-class fly fishing school with Northwoods beauty and classic elegance converge on the banks of mighty Lake Michigan. With the famed Manistee, Boardman, and Platte Rivers beckoning nearby, there's no shortage of places to wet a fly at this Orvis fly fishing school. Professional instructors welcome both beginners and seasoned anglers, and cover everything from setting up your fly rod, to fly selection and knots, and how to safely release your catch.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
August 19, 2014
By: BarArby
from Lansing, Mi
"I'd like to start by stating "I was not a fly guy". I worked many years as a trip coordinator for an outdoor production company. I dealt with many A+ outfitters all around the world from Jaco to Ciaro. The attention and enthusiasm I received from our guide was among the best in the World. I have now grown into a "river rat" and I blame Michael every weekend I leave to "slay some trout"!! I would recommend Streamside to any level flier. Two thumbs up! Thanks again for burning a passion!"
Review 2 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Introduction to FF,
May 17, 2014
By: TorchLakeTom
from Torch Lake, MI
"Instructors Mike and Greg were very articulate instructors and clearly passionate about fly fishing. I was a total novice to the sport before the class. I HIGHLY recommend buying and reading Tom Rosenbauer's "The Orvis Fly-fishing Guide" before taking the course. The Homestead is a terrific location with some phenomenal restaurants very close by. I live nearby and will definitely be hiring these guys as guides as I get to learn the local rivers."
Review 3 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
couldn't B better,
October 15, 2013
By: farmal
from Glen Arbor MI
"I had done a "little" FF in the past and dedcided to get serious. This was the right school to do that. All instructor, Dave, Jim and Craig were very helpful to keep me on the right track and practice what I had learned. Their knowledge is superior . This school(Glen Arbor) is a must for anyone thinking of trying FF. I have already recommended the school and Dave to serveral friends and have no reservations in doing so."
Review 4 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 16, 2013
By: JonnyG
"I just completed the two day fly fishing school with Streamside Orvis in Traverse City, Michigan. I had an amazing time! Dave is a wonderful instructor. He is so passionate about the sport and so patient with his students. He took great care in teaching me not only the basics - about which I feel MUCH more comfortable now - but also the particularized techniques he judged that I need for the type of fly fishing travel I intend to do and my particular skill set. The curriculum was great, the lessons learned were great, and the care Dave and his staff took with my class was great. I absolutely recommend the experience - I have been dinking around for months with fly fishing, unsuccessfully, and finally feel like I have a future in this sport!"
Review 5 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
May 28, 2013
By: Jaynkay
"Just returned from the two day fly fishing school in Glen Arbor, MI.
I highly recommend this school to anyone. Dave and Jim are truly passionate about fly fishing and their passion is contagious. The instruction is well organised and there is alot of indivdual attention. If I were doing this again the only thing I would change would be to add a few days of guided fishing after the School. The Glen Arbor, Traverse City area is a beautiful vibrant area with great trout streams and also plenty to do -great restaurants, wineries and micro- breweries to visit when you get off the river. This would make a great vacation.
"
Review 6 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's Hatching Dude?,
May 7, 2013
By: CharminCharlie
from Michigan
"My wife and I participated in the 2 day school offered by Streamside Orvis and we could not have been more pleased. Dave and Jim are obsessed with Fly Fishing and it is contagious! They stuck to the basics and gave us just enough to be informative yet fun. Even if you never wet a line on your own you will enjoy this school and the beautiful Northern Michigan location. CharminCharlie"
Review 7 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun, Outstanding Instruction,
May 6, 2013
By: TVCFly
"I have wanted to learn how to fly fish for over two years. Due to a busy schedule and true lack of confidence in what I was doing out there, I hadn't given the sport any time or energy. That all changed last weekend when I took the 2 day course through Streamside Orvis In Traverse City. The instructors are fantastic in all aspects and will equip you with the tools and the know-how to develop your new hobby or to tweak your current skillset. Most importantly, you will leave with the confidence to go out and attempt to master this complex sport. The equipment is great, the surroundings are beautiful, and if nothing else, it is a great vacation experience (even if you're a local). Thanks to Dave, Jim, and Kelly for all that you've done!"
Review 8 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Instructor/Great Time,
September 5, 2012
By: TwinBranchSteelheader
from Northern Indiana
"Just completed the Flyfishing School at Traverse City, Mi, 25-26 Aug 12. Great time, and only 3 in class. Lots of personal attention and correction when needed. It was well worth the time and money spent. Nice area at Sleeping Bear, Homestead Resort was great also. Plan to go up again for Steelhead and Salmon with reccomended guide. Orvis fly shop very helpfull in selection rod/reel package for the Steelhead. Thanks everyone. Jeff"
Review 9 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Too Old To Learn,
September 9, 2009
By: Doug
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I was in my 20s and 30s I thoroughly enjoyed fly fishing. For whatever reason, I laid my stick down. Now in retirement, I am again enjoying the sport immensely. I have been considering taking the Orvis fly fishing course in Glen Arbor for several years now. I knew that I needed additional help to refine my casting technique. Proper knot selection, knot tying, and entomology were also not my strongest “suits”. This past Thursday I conducted a live chat with Orvis, and Dan was able to get me registered for the class that started on Saturday in Glen Arbor.
The Homestead is the perfect resort for conducting such a class. The surroundings, as well as all presentations, were very professional. The teacher to student ratio was low. Every question that I had going into the class was answered. Casey made the class easy to understand, and it was fun to learn. There is no way that I would have been able to “grow into” the sport more effectively or more rapidly than by taking this class. Dave (at Orvis Streamside in Traverse City) is a most gracious host and will do all within his power to make sure that your needs are fully met.
My only regret is that I waited so long to take the class.
Dave – Casey: Thank you!"
Review 10 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
June 2, 2009
By: WalledLake
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What a wonderful two days.
Casey, Greg, and Mike were very patient and
focused on making sure we were improving our skills and knowledge as we progressed over our two day learning adventure.
Dave, as always. is very entertaining.
We are looking forward to our next "guided" adventure
in beautiful Northern Michigan.
"
Review 11 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing School 1st class of 2008,
April 30, 2008
By: Kenneth4
from kalamazoo, Michigan
"I very much enjoyed the school given by Dave and Casey of Orvis in Traverse City Michigan. They had a great understanding of the sport of fly fishing and were able to easily communicate and teach the basics of fly fishing to the group. They were entertaining, catering, and overall professional in their instruction. I am certain this gave me a good fundamental base to the sport. I look forward to bugging them in the future for great spots to fish in the area and for continuing advice on products and techniques as my skills improve. I would not hesitate in the least to recommend their course. Good fishing my friends."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing School,
November 20, 2007
By: Anonymous
"The fly fishing school (2 day) program is outstanding... add to that a great resort to stay at The Homestead Resort, Glen Arobot Michigan, it doesn't get much better.."
Review 13 for Glen Arbor, Michigan 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shouldn't be missed!!!,
September 13, 2007
By: GRDH
"I am new to the sport of fly fishing and I left the 2 day class with the confidence and desire to head to the river to try everything that I had learned. You could not find two better people to instruct a class than Josh and Casey. Their passion for the sport, patience to instruct, and desire to share the sport were far beyond any expectation that I had entering the class. The group and one-on-one instruction were well balanced and I could not have learned what I took away from this 2 day experience in literally years of self instruction. My only wish would be to have an extra day or two to spend more time on the river with two great instructors and two great people to be around. I would highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to fly fish or is already fly fishing! My thanks go out to Josh, Casey, and Dave (at the store) for a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, a great learning experience, and introducing me to the world of fly fishing. This sport is everything I wanted it to be and more. It is also worth noting that this a great area to bring your family for a weekend while you go off to learn fly fishing with the best - my wife and daughter had a great time exploring this beautiful corner of Michigan and the Homestead was a great base to work from!
G.H."