Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School

Nestled in the heart of upstate New York, Sandanona's famed sporting grounds beckon anglers with more than 400 acres of lush landscape and placid casting ponds. Experience isn't required as our expert staff of fly fishing school instructors helps you master everything from setting up the rod, to fly selection and knots, to how to safely release your catch. Fly fishing classes are held in comfortable classrooms and on the sporting grounds.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have been better.,
October 9, 2013
By: JeepMedic
from Westchester, New York
"I took advantage of the free fly fishing 101 class at my local Orvis retail store some time ago and decided that I needed to learn more. The two day Fly Fishing class at Sandanona was everything that I hoped it would be. Over the course of two days, our small group shared a great time, laughing and kidding and applauding each others success. John and Sig, our instructors were just what you would hope for; friendly, knowledgeable and genuinely interested in sharing their passion for the sport; hoping to encourage the same in us.
I thoroughly enjoyed my time in a truly wonderful setting. After talking with the staff at lunch, I plan to go back soon for the wing shooting school as well.
"
Review 2 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 24, 2013
By: Flal
from Brewster
"I recently attended the 2 day class, and thought it was a great experience. First the place is lovely, inside and out, and all the people staffed there were especially nice. I was also blessed with a small group, all beginners like me, and also good people and we shared some chatter and laughs. (hey guys if you ever see this!)
We had a different instructor each day. The older gentelman Bob is great. You can just see the experience oozing off him, and he is extremely interesting, helpful, and right about everything he said. If you listen to what he tells you instead of doing what I thought seemed natural, you suddenly see big improvements. He knows his stuff, and I was happy he was how I was introduced to the sport. The next day we had a younger guy Ben, who at such an early age had a remarkable knowledge of fly fishing. You can tell it is passion, and I very much enjoyed his company, and his tips when we got out on the stream. Despite a generation of age between them, both had an obvious love for what they do that enhanced the overall experience.
All in all I am very happy I did this and hope to be back one day for a guided tour.
PS - the food and snacks were pretty darn good too."
Review 3 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Instructor and first class facility.,
June 16, 2012
By: Sevilla257
from Sandanona Millbrook NY
"I was getting back into fly fishing after a long break from it, and I attended the two day class at Sandanona earlier this month mainly to brush up on my casting skills.
I enjoyed the 2 days I spent with my excellent Instructor, Bob Meyen. He spent a lot of time working with me to clean up my casting stroke while we were at the casting pond, and gave me some great advice when we on the stream fishing the next day. Wish we could have made it over to Wappingers Creek!
My lunches at the lodge both days, were great as well. Highly Recommended!
"
Review 4 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never knew how much I did Not Know,
May 15, 2012
By: MIKEC4W
from Sandonia
"I am 59 have been fly fishing since i was in Boy Scouts. I attended an Orvis School this year to hone my skills before I retire. I had NO idea what I did not know! I loved my 2 days at Orvis Fly Fishing School. I have since gone out at caught trout with a confidence I never thought I would ever have!! Thanks to Orvis and my instructor (Bob) I am now the Fly Fisherman I always thought I could be!!! Thank You!!!"
Review 5 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surpassed expectations,
May 28, 2011
By: grizzleigh
"An old friend and I attended the school last weekend and were treated to a wonderful experience. Across the board the program at Sandanona is topnotch--the grounds, the lodge and facilities, the staff, the lunch, the equipment, and of course, the instructors, all far surpassed my expectations. Bob and Mark, our instructors, possess all the qualities of effective teachers--passion, knowledge, preparedness, humor, and patience. My only gripe is that since returning, my output at work seems to have dropped off as time and again I glance at the fly rod leaning against the wall in my office and my mind catapults me back to teasing wild browns out of the stream."
Review 6 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
May 24, 2011
By: FishingAndBeachBum
from Boca Grande, FL and Ridgefield, CT
"Instruction was excellent and my skills definitely improved. Private casting pond and stream right on the property with the Wappinger's Creek also nearby. Great operation from start to finish. EVERYONE at the Sandanona facility was extremely pleasant and helpful, they love being there and it shows. Absolutely beautiful location & lodge. Even lunch exceeded my expectations, food was outstanding. Glad I went to this school and plan to return to the location to shoot clays... or maybe just for a great lunch! Highly recommend."
Review 7 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
May 13, 2010
By: Wantacastbetter
from San Francisco Calif.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My daughter who just turned 21 and I attended the school together and we had a great experience. We fish together in Canada for Salmon and this was a great introduction to fly fishing. The instructers were very knowledgable and patient and were able to get us out on the stream fishing on the second day of the class. I would recomend this class to anyone wants to learn how to fly fish."
Review 8 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superior experience,
May 10, 2008
By: Josephjay
"I attended the two day fly fishing class two weeks ago and cannot say enough good things about it. I have fly fished for a few years but it was not long before I was learning many new things.
my casting is simply much improved......so much so that last weekend's drift boat trip with orvis recommended lodge, West Branch Angler, was more successful than I had hoped.
Thanks"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.