Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School

If you've ever had the desire to raise a fine, handcrafted shotgun to your cheek and fire a perfect shot, look no further than the Classic Sandanona Two-Day NY Wingshooting School. Situated in the scenic upstate New York town of Millbrook, Sandanona encompasses more than 400 acres of meticulously-manicured upland hunting grounds. Spend two full days shooting at the Sandanona Grounds, including an afternoon on the world-class sporting clays course accompanied by experienced Orvis shotgun shooting instructors. From first-timers to accomplished wingshooters, everyone is welcome at the Orvis Sandanona shotgun shooting school.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Review 1 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a bang-up weekend,
December 3, 2014
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"My daughter and I walked around Gamefair for a day this past September (highly recommended); she had a chance to shoot clays under the watchful eye of Jack Neubauer. Returned the next weekend for two days of instruction with Jack and Joe. The birds back home evidently never received the news, and the first two to flush, when I returned to my home fields, went into my bag as a "double." Never was there so sweet a compliment as when Jack said "Nice shootin'" on my having run a stand. Thanks, fellers."
Review 2 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing treat!,
October 10, 2013
By: WorthingtonJohn
from Millbrook, NY
"My daughter and I spent this past weekend at a two day class in Millbrook. Despite a rainy start to Sunday, we had an absolutely amazing time there. We started the weekend with a video and by the end of the second day, we were veterans looking forward to our next Orvis school. Kudos to everyone there! Until the next time!"
Review 3 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior shooting instruction,
October 10, 2012
By: Nado
from Sandanona
"My son and I attended the 2-day wingshooting school at Sandanona this past weekend and not only had a great time, but we greatly improved our shooting skills. We have both shot quite a bit but learned and practiced a lot of bad habits. The excellent instructors picked up on those bad habits and improved our skills. We learned that our poor mounting technique was why we had sore shoulders, for one. Better technique not only resulted in no more sore shoulders, but improved our results in hitting the targets.
The instructors took the time to work on our individual skills. True professionals - hats off to Joe, and Kevin, who came up from the MIssissippi Orvis location, to run us through the sporting clays course. We had two instructors for our group of four, so there was no shortage of instructors to perfect our technique and abilities.
The facility was immaculate, well groomed grounds and top notch, Everyone was helpful and caring.
A complimentary gun fitting was included - need to get my custom Orvis gun before I return for more next time.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day at Sandanona!,
November 4, 2011
By: cdnands
from Toronto, Canada
"I recently attended a one day wing shooting school at the Millbrook NY location. I found the instruction to be very practical and useful. Realtime feedback on my shooting style allowed for immediate adjustments and improvements. This was evident a few weeks later while on a pheasant hunt. There was a big improvement in my shooting ability. i.e. more birds in the bag!
Highly recommended!
"
Review 5 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great investment for wing & clay shooters.,
November 2, 2011
By: JRB2
from Millbrook, NY
"I took a one day class at Millbrook in August, 2011, and once several years prior. I twice did the two day school in Manchester back in the early/mid 1990's.
Every time my skill level has markedly improved, and I've had a good time. But I strongly recommend a 2 day class to deeper ingrain the skills. (Yeah, my wife has me on a budget too!)
In either case, by far the single best advice I can give you is to be sure to get out and shoot again ASAP after your class -- practice, practice, practice -- to ingrain what you learned!!! I had planned to, but Hurricane Irene ruined my plans. Nonetheless, shooting with the CT Travelers 1 & 2 months later, my match scores noticeably improved (even tho' I felt very rusty).
The proportionate improvement in my accuracy on upland game, pheasant, is better than on clays, and birds are my primary interest -- clays are practice (but fun!), and I don't shoot enough of either.
JRB"
Review 6 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best shooting course ever,
August 15, 2011
By: TVCarpenter
from Rockville Centre, NY
"I took the two day wing shooting course, and hands down it was the best investment I ever made to improve my shooting abilities. I had the good fortune to train with James Ross, the top Orvis instructor. James was outstanding! He is a natural instructor, and an unbelievable shooter. I am so impressed with this course that I am planning to take it again to raise my profiency to the next level!"
Review 7 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learned a LOT,
July 19, 2011
By: Bubs
from Arlington, VA
"I just wanted to drop the Sandanona folks a note to tell them how much I enjoyed the two-day wingshooting school. Though I'd handled a shotgun before, and had received instruction on shooting one in a law enforcement/military setting, this was the first time I'd ever really been taught to shoot a shotgun for sporting purposes. It was a real eye-opener.
Just as revealing was the info about proper shotgun fit. I didn't really get the importance of fitting until I snapped the fitting shotgun up for that first shot with James - it felt so natural and quick to point, it was almost effortless.
Great work to instructors Bob and Joe, lead instructor James, and to all of the Orvis Sandanona staff. The grounds are superb, the clays course challenging, and food and store very good. I just wish I lived closer to the shooting grounds!"
Review 8 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Passion,
November 13, 2010
By: WestchesterShooter
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'v been wanting to learn to Upland Hunt for years, so a friend and I took the 1 day shooting course on Veteran's Day of 2010. Wow! From start to finish, beyond expectations. First,.the grounds are stunning. The staff welcoming, professional, and endlessly patient. The lunch was also great, a welcome respite. Then back out to make more noise and break things! What could be more fun? Now we've got the bug, bought guns and joined. No way to beat that!"
Review 9 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!!,
October 27, 2010
By: Prince
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My daughter (28 yrs old) and I attended the Wingshooting School at Sandanona in Oct. of 2010. My daughter who is an accomplished African game hunter, had never shot a shotgun in her life! Before the end of the day she was consistently breaking doubles. While apprehensive at first about going to the school, her parting words were "I cannot wait to come back". We both had a great experience and will return in the Spring. I highly recommend the school for beginners as well as experienced shooters seeking to fine tune their shooting.Thanks, Orvis"
Review 10 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandanona Shooting School,
April 13, 2009
By: Anonymous
from Chappaqua, New York
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Not cheap, but a marvelous introduction to shotgun shooting, safety & gun maintenance. Our instructor, Joe Waasi was first-rate."
Review 11 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience,
January 19, 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend JW and I took advantage of the school. It was my 1st time with a gun, he has a bit more experience (his Father-in-Law is from South Carolina!) and in the end we both got more out of the day then we expected. It was sub 0 in terms of temperature, and we wanted to go past the 4:00 end time which is a testament to it all.
Larry, our instructor, was a true teacher (and a great guy all around). Patience, experience and genuine interest in us learning are what he brought. Some times I thought he was as excited as I was when I hit the 'bird'. Cant say enough about him . . . and actually were both buying shotguns and planning our next trip back.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Millbrook, New York 2-Day Wingshooting School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandanona: A Perfect Weekend,
October 8, 2007
By: pfrench
from San Antonio, Texas
"I asked my father to take us to Sandanona for my 30th birthday. It was a fantastic way to spend a weekend as a father-son, and I only wish we'd started the tradition when I was 10. Whether you are a life-long shooter or a novice, the Sandanona experience should not be missed. The instruction given will improve your shooting, your confidence in the field, and your shooting experience. Gun mount, gun fit, and proper stance, are just a few of the key elements of the program. And to top it all off, the Hudson River valley and club grounds are beautiful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.