Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife

NEW FOR 2014! The Orvis Mississippi Fly Fishing School is located at Prairie Wildlife in West Point. A conservation-driven sporting estate in the unique Black Prairie of Mississippi, Prairie Wildlife offers great fishing opportunities on Horseshoe Pond, as well as other activities including the Land Rover Driving Experience and shotgun sports. The focus is on fishing for bass and panfish, however, the casting techniques taught in the school can be used for trout and saltwater species as well. The school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection and how to safely release fish. Students can stay at Bryan Lodge at Prairie Wildlife and will be treated to beautiful spacious rooms with private baths and gourmet dinners.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
 out of 
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Review 1 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Into into Flyfishing & 5 Star Lodging,
July 1, 2015
By: JoshR
from Birmingham, AL
"This was the perfect way to get introduced to the sport of fly fishing while staying at a 5 star lodge. The staff of both the lodge and school could not have been any better. Several activities to do besides fish and the food is phenomenal."
Review 2 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Exceptional,
May 26, 2015
By: Dave19
from West Point, MS
"The Orvis 2-day fly-fishing school at Prairie Wildlife is exceptional in every way!
The accommodations are first class and the staff is as helpful as anyone could want. Harry and his assistants, Miss Jennifer and Miss Casey were wonderful. The meals they prepared and served would not have been out of palace at any five-star restaurant. In addition to the quality of the food, the service was also beyond compare. Every need any of us had was met with a smile.
The lodge is very comfortable and well appointed. Rooms are spacious and private.
Our instructor, Chris Edlin was great! He explained things clearly and happily took the time to answer our many simple questions. He made class fun and even though he is clearly a master, did not make you feel “less than” for knowing nothing. He is one of those teachers that can see the smallest details of your movement, and then suggest subtle changes that yield tremendous results. It really was a joy to be in his class.
I would recommend this school to anyone I know who is interested in fly fishing…or not. I told my wife when I got home that I thought she would have enjoyed the lodge and the rest of the preserve, not to mention the service and wonderful food. If you have an interest in fly fishing, of even if you just like the outdoors and are looking for something to do, this experience would be a truly exceptional choice!"
Review 3 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome all around experience!,
May 18, 2015
By: Tbutler
from Madison, MS
"My 16 yr old son and I attended the 2 day fly fishing school at Prairie Wildlife in West Point, MS...and the entire experience exceeded my expectations. Chris Edlin provided great instruction that helped both of us tremendously with our casting and was a pleasure to hang out with as well. Harry Was a wonderful host at the lodge and the food and service provided by he and his team were exceptional. The grounds, property and lodge are beautiful and very comfortable. It was an overall great experience that I would highly recommend to anyone."
Review 4 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Time Ever Highly Recommend,
May 4, 2015
By: Kravitzfamily
from Prairie Wildlife West Point MS
"I took my 3 sons to Prairie Wildlife
Harry Pasisis the lodge manager was the best and put together the best trip for us with his outstanding team including Mary Rogers Bridgforth who was also great et al.
The scenery and location were beautiful, the lodging luxurious, the food gourmet and the best time ever. I was exhausted and Harry played go fish with my kids. They brought in Chris Edlin from Orvis for a fly fishing class for us that was completely first rate. Chris is the best. We caught fish and Harry had them cooked up for us. Then Harry put together Quail hunting for us with Mr. Xavier Fairley . It was the best combination of gun safety and hunting i could ever hope for and Xavier the consummate guide. We shot some doves and they sent them home to us for cooking(they would have prepared them for us but we had to be on our way right after hunting. They made everything a breeze and assisted us in every way possible.
It was the best combination of a luxury hunting lodge with a warm inviting feeling. We can't wait to go again"
Review 5 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Anniversary Trip!,
April 27, 2015
By: Bowhatchie
from Memphis,TN.
"This adventure turned out to be all we had hoped for! The lodge is beautiful and is located in a scenic and tranquil setting. The hospitality is truly "southern" and everyone involved goes above and beyond to ensure an enjoyable time. Harry is indeed a wonderful host and a most accomplished chef... the food was beyond fantastic! Chris ( our instructor) was top notch.. he made the instruction enjoyable and more importantly worth while.
He is indeed an accomplished fly fisherman as well as educated instructor. A great experience all around.. In summary:
Accommodations..THE BEST
Food........................ FANTASTIC
Two day course.....WONDERFUL
Had to come home!!!
Review 6 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money Well Spent,
April 11, 2015
By: Stones12X5
from Corinth, Mississippi
"After 40+ years of fishing with a fly rod I finally learned the basics that I should have learned when I started. Mr. Edlin was patient and enthusiastic as an instructor and corrected many of the faults that I had accumulated over time. Mr. Edlin's professionalism and knowledge made the class invaluable to one that fishes for enjoyment using a fly rod. The facility, Bryan Lodge at Prairie Wildlife, located near West Point, Ms, is top notch and managed by Harry Pasisis. One couldn't ask for a more hospitable host and fantastic cook. For fly fishing enthusiasts wishing to improve I could not recommend a better place to hone ones' skills and improve in such a positive environment."
Review 7 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Valentine Day gift Ever!,
March 31, 2015
By: Mottandbenjie
from South Georgia
"My husband gave me the Orvis fly-fishing school in West Point, MS. for Valentine's Day.....the best Valentine's Day gift I've ever received! Harry and his staff are the best.....great food, wonderful hospitality, and, as we were there on a cold weekend.....a roaring fire in the fireplace at all times!
Chris (Jackson Orvis) and Dylan (Memphis Orvis) were our instructors, and I could not have asked for better. They were full of knowledge, humor, and made these first time fly fisherman feel special! I would recommend this Orvis fly fishing school to anyone.....it was a great weekend, and we now have some new friends in West Point, MS!
Review 8 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Instructors,
October 1, 2014
By: PrairieWildlifeFan
from West Point, Ms
"I booked the 2 day school to improve my fly fishing skills and spend quality time with my daughter and her husband. I accomplished both.
Chris is an excellent and enthusiastic instructor. He works in the Jackson,Ms store and is now my go to for all things fly fishing. May joined Chris as the second instructor. May was very knowledgeable and also a good instructor--just not as much experience in the teaching role.
Prairie Wildlife is a great place. Mr Bryan is the consummate host who joined us for meals. Harry is an accomplished and experienced Chef who also likes to fish. He always makes things special.
If you have not been to Prairie Wildlife it is worth going for the Orvis fly fishing or wingshooting school or just a special time."
Review 9 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 29, 2014
By: PapaDobles
from West Point, MS
"DON'T DO IT! If you do, you will be in danger of leaving your wife, putting your children in an orphanage, and abandoning your dog. You will only think of fishing. All the time. you will lose your job. You will take that devil rod and hit the road, looking everywhere for a trout stream, or a bass pond. you will be a trout bum, heart and soul, sleeping in your truck at the end of some deserted road, crawling out at sunup to look for water, any water deep enough to hold a fish. And blame that no-good Chris Edlin, because he's the one who taught you well enough to catch the smart ones, the ones who hide in faraway streams, the ones who make your pulse quicken and make you give up everything you used to think was important. And that scoundrel Harry Pasisis, for making you feel so much like family that you dont want to leave Prairie Wildlife for fear you can't get your room back later. Stay away from these two. they are monsters. Save yourself!"
Review 10 for West Point, Mississippi 2-Day Fly Fishing School at Prairie Wildlife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learn to Fly Fish in Style,
May 26, 2014
By: CaptD
from Mississippi Gulf Coast
"If your on the fence about the Orvis Fly fishing school, DO IT!
When I saw that they opened one in my state of MS, I booked right away. Chris was the head instructor. Not only was he an excellent teacher who Loves to fish, in the short time the school has been open he has built a great relationship with the team at Prairie Wildlife. He is also the GoTo man at Orvis in Jackson,MS.
From the easy booking to arrival and checkin I felt welcome.All my questions were answered promptly by Mr. Garcia and Harry from Prairie Wildlife.You will want to stay at Prairie Wildlife. Harry and his team go above and beyond from day one. You feel like family!
Day one is work but its fun. Chris uses the Orvis method and you build on your success with each part. What I valued most was learning how to identify my own faults and methods to correct them. Truly it was the best money I spent. You learn on the top of the line rods and outfits.
Day two was really exciting as seemingly overnight my cast started to come together and I felt more confident and was integrating more complex actions into my rhythm.
The water at the lodge is busting with healthy Bass and Brim. We had plenty of time for "practice."
The Tour of the property is a true Must See, and the FOOD was outstanding. I had a small dietary restriction and they accommodated me in most excellent fashion.
I met with one of the wing shooting instructor Xaiver and like Chris both have the heart of a teacher and true enthusiasm.
This gem is sure to make a name as a prime Orvis school in no time.
Mr. Bryant and his team, Orvis and their instructors proved to be a First Class partnership. I am ready to book a family trip to Prairie Wildlife.
One last note on that, If your going to school but want to include the family in the trip, they have a bunch of activities from horseback rides, Land rover driving experiences and Hunts and clay shooting. Perfect for the outdoor lifestyle family adventure.