Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Adjustable Boxes

Customize your fly box with precision-fit tapered dividers that fit in slots on the sides of the box. Neoprene gasket in the cover protects your flies. The small box can be adjusted from three to nine compartments. The medium and large adjustable fly boxes can be adjusted from 3 compartments to 15.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adjustable Boxes
Review 1 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sturdy and flexible box,
February 14, 2014
By: Merker
"Can be used for several different sized flies. One of the few boxes around for larger flies."
Review 2 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's working,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"Fly boxes come in may shapes and sizes but when you are on the stream you need a box that performs.
How much performance can a fly box offer?
A lot, IF it's the adjustable fly box.
A fly box that allows you to see what is in it on the first glance. A fly box that is light and easy to open. A fly box that stays shut and keeps water out when it takes that inevitable swim in your favorite stream.
This fly box keeps dry flies in perfect condition and doesn't smash hackle like foam boxes. we spend our time making beautiful flies with perfect hackle only to smash them against foam and ruin their effectiveness and buoyancy.
NO LONGER!
This box keeps our arsenal dry and looking good.
fishing bigger extended bodies? no fear! the adjustable fly box allows easy removal of dividers for perfect fitment of your favorite big flies.
I use the small size to keep all the life phases of my most used flies together. From emerger to spinner, I got them all in the same box for easy reference and access.
never miss matching a hatch again with his box."
Review 3 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite fly boxes,
July 5, 2013
By: wizardoforange
from Knoxville, TN
"Well, I finally broke one of these boxes after 20+ years, so I ordered four more of them to replace it. I'm very fond of these boxes, for several reasons:
1. Semi-waterproof, and they float.
2. Durable
3. Various sizes; and
4. Drop-in compartments
Most boxes wind up squashing my flies. These do not. I use several of the large boxes to warehouse and organize my flies, and i carry a small one with me on the creeks."
Review 4 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Frills, Great Value,
May 22, 2013
By: Manopuhi
from Missoula, MT
"By far the best value for a waterproof fly box anywhere. The adjustable compartments and tough, clear plastic box are just what the doctor ordered for those of us who do not like the tedium of trying to place small flies in a tiny foam slit.
I organize my boxes by season and they are stackable! I have never been more organized.
"
Review 5 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Organizer,
May 21, 2013
By: RichardCali
from CA
"Box is strong, and the adjustable dividers make it easier to store flies of different lengths. Heard about it on Tom's Podcast. His recommendation for dry fly storage was solid... this is the right box to keep them from getting crushed."
Review 6 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plenty of Room,
April 20, 2013
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"This is a large, deep fly box. Adjustable compartments fit the big dry flies. Very heavy duty plastic."
Review 7 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 4, 2013
By: Stripes53
from Canada
"I purchased the medium size, holds an excellent amount of flies, is nice and thin, two would fit in the same vest pocket. Adjustability is good, having a few more dividers would have been nice.
Shipping was excellent and timely"
Review 8 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great box, but not watertight,
February 3, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I like this box and may buy one more. I use it to store my extra streamers. For this purpose, it is ideal. The compartments are adjustable (up to 15 in the medium size box I bought). so, you can arrange them to fit the length of your fly. I created 9 equal sized compartments, all almost an inch deep that are perfect for storing several size 8 or so woolly buggers, muddlers or whatever in each compartment. The box is also clear. So, you can see what is inside without the need to open the lid.
The one negative and reason for a one star deduction is how the medium (and I believe large size too) lids close. There is only one clip in the middle of the lid. This allows the edges of the plastic lid to flex. While it does close completely and securely, one corner of my medium size box lid does not quite come into contact with the rubber gasket that is meant to seal it and keep the water out. The lid has a lip that does extend below the edge of the box. So it IS quite secure. I would assume the small size box may not have this problem because the lid is shorter. This problem could easily be fixed by adding a second clamp on the larger sizes that would reduce the distance from the clip to the edge of the lid and prevent the it from flexing as much.
This is a great box that is very useful. It could and probably should be watertight, but isn't. Aside from the lid flex, this box appears to be well made and up to Orvis' quality standards. As long as you are comfortable with this, you should like this box as much as I do."
Review 9 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box,
January 28, 2013
By: DrRed
from Denver, CO
"I have used these boxes for years. I find them very flexible and easy to use. They also help keep my flies dry when I take a swim."
Review 10 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Box,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I have a few of these boxes. They act as my fly "warehouse" that I pull from before I hit the water for the day and it also holds my bass flies. These boxes are the best for flies with weed guards on them since it doesn't bend the guard like a foam fly box would when you stick the hook in it."
Review 11 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT,
January 13, 2013
By: Dugie
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I have 5 large and 7 small boxes. These are great for dry flies especially when you have 1/2 doz or more of the same pattern and size. They can be configured for a particular stream, lake or river by patters and by size. Order extra because you will use them."
Review 12 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical & Economical,
January 3, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Got one of these in my christmas stocking, The compartments are a good size so it stores plenty of flies without damaging the wings and hackles.
As the box is transparent it means I can check the contents beore opening it (less chance of losing any of the stock)."
Review 13 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLY BOX,
July 23, 2012
By: Retired08
from AZ
"Fine quality, makes a great thank you gift or personal fly box"
Review 14 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LEAKY FLY BOX,
June 19, 2012
By: homeinmontana
"The Bad: These fly boxes apperar to be a bargin, but due to a single lid latch the lids soon warp and will leak dispite the lid's O ring gasket. Considering how old the design is, Ovis should redisign the boxes for two lid latches. The Good: Oris will replace these, but you will have to pay the shipping charges."
Review 15 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Economical and practical,
June 16, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"A very economical box. Love the water proof seal and adjustable compartments. Very light weight. I use it when wading. I just pick a few choice dires, nymphs and streamers from my other boxes so that I only have to carry one box. Also love the see through design."
Review 16 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very practical,
May 31, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"The transparency is a major plus. Great for flies but I use the large model for lures too. Good value, considering the strong construction."
Review 17 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great fly box!,
January 13, 2012
By: DaveR
from Des Moines IA
"This is the second one of these that I have purchased. For holding your hackled dry flys they are the best. And I also like the fact that you can adjust the compartments to adapt to the size of flys you need to carry. I have also used this box as a "minimalist" for those days when I don't need to carry multiple fly boxes."
Review 18 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
November 2, 2011
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"I purchased the large version of this box, I mainly use it for storing flys, and top up my fly box from it. It has a water proof seal that works well and the flys stay in the section you put them in. this is a good quality box for this price so i purchased another one."
Review 19 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointing,
October 20, 2011
By: chuckyjack
"The box is heavy and the latch much inferior.Being waterproof (maybe) counts for little unless you are terribly clumsy.The old Rust-Proof series was superior.Cheaper boxes serve just as well."
Review 20 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
so much more practical,
September 30, 2011
By: CWat
"If you can't see through the lid of a fly box you'll always be riffling feverishly through a collection of them wondering which one contains your favourite fly for this situation. These boxes are so practical because they are durable (unlike many transparent boxes) and you can adjust the compartment size to cope with all sizes of fly. Plus they are waterproof. And inexpensive."