Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Adjustable Boxes

Customize your fly box with precision-fit tapered dividers that fit in slots on the sides of the box. Neoprene gasket in the cover protects your flies. The small box can be adjusted from three to nine compartments. The medium and large adjustable fly boxes can be adjusted from 3 compartments to 15.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
39 of 41(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Adjustable Boxes
Review 1 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly storage box on the market,
August 5, 2014
By: Rainman729
from Northwest Pennsylvania
"These boxes are the only ones I used for storing flies. They are solid, adjustable and have a built in gasket to keep out moisture. Best part is they easily fit into a vest or fanny pack for a day on the stream."
Review 2 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for your buck!,
June 26, 2014
By: Flyfox
from Rescue, CA.
"Almost 20 years ago I bought this Orvis adjustable fly box for my dry flies. After years and years of repetitive usage the latch finally broke. Best dry fly box I have ever owned, so I ordered 2 more of them and had Orvis put my name and phone number on them which I think is a great option.(if you have ever lost a fly box you know what I mean)"
Review 3 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent value,
June 3, 2014
By: Dodger69
from Swindon UK
"These boxes are simple but are solid, well made and with hinges that are made to last, the lid closes well and the compartment deviders fit perfectly.
I have now bought some, not for fishing but I know they will be handy to have around.
"
Review 4 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Boxes,
May 21, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I use these boxes mainly for my bass bugs. The flies with weed guards don't play well with slit foam, so these boxes work well. I also use them for my fly "warehouse" that I use to fill my boxes for river use. Good quality build and very durable."
Review 5 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Water Proof and good to your flies,
May 15, 2014
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I like these boxes and prefer them over foam slit ones as my flies which I tie with attention to detail do not suffer and don´t get squeezed by foam.
I like them a lot. No issues with them at all.
"
Review 6 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Great,
April 29, 2014
By: Hanapaa
from Montana
"I've used every manner of fly box on the planet but this is , for me, the Holy Grail of on stream fly boxes. I like being able to see what's in my box and reach in and grab a fly with hands shaking while surrounded by fish rising all around me. I do admire folks who can arrange their flies in neat orderly rows and pluck them from their little groves without creating a disaster. Unfortunately, I'm not one of those fisherman.These waterproof adjustable boxes are the essence of simplicity."
Review 7 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sturdy and flexible box,
February 14, 2014
By: Merker
"Can be used for several different sized flies. One of the few boxes around for larger flies."
Review 8 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What's working,
September 10, 2013
By: Karoondinha
from Spring Creek Country, PA
"Fly boxes come in may shapes and sizes but when you are on the stream you need a box that performs.
How much performance can a fly box offer?
A lot, IF it's the adjustable fly box.
A fly box that allows you to see what is in it on the first glance. A fly box that is light and easy to open. A fly box that stays shut and keeps water out when it takes that inevitable swim in your favorite stream.
This fly box keeps dry flies in perfect condition and doesn't smash hackle like foam boxes. we spend our time making beautiful flies with perfect hackle only to smash them against foam and ruin their effectiveness and buoyancy.
NO LONGER!
This box keeps our arsenal dry and looking good.
fishing bigger extended bodies? no fear! the adjustable fly box allows easy removal of dividers for perfect fitment of your favorite big flies.
I use the small size to keep all the life phases of my most used flies together. From emerger to spinner, I got them all in the same box for easy reference and access.
never miss matching a hatch again with his box."
Review 9 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite fly boxes,
July 5, 2013
By: wizardoforange
from Knoxville, TN
"Well, I finally broke one of these boxes after 20+ years, so I ordered four more of them to replace it. I'm very fond of these boxes, for several reasons:
1. Semi-waterproof, and they float.
2. Durable
3. Various sizes; and
4. Drop-in compartments
Most boxes wind up squashing my flies. These do not. I use several of the large boxes to warehouse and organize my flies, and i carry a small one with me on the creeks."
Review 10 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Frills, Great Value,
May 22, 2013
By: Manopuhi
from Missoula, MT
"By far the best value for a waterproof fly box anywhere. The adjustable compartments and tough, clear plastic box are just what the doctor ordered for those of us who do not like the tedium of trying to place small flies in a tiny foam slit.
I organize my boxes by season and they are stackable! I have never been more organized.
"
Review 11 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Organizer,
May 21, 2013
By: RichardCali
from CA
"Box is strong, and the adjustable dividers make it easier to store flies of different lengths. Heard about it on Tom's Podcast. His recommendation for dry fly storage was solid... this is the right box to keep them from getting crushed."
Review 12 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plenty of Room,
April 20, 2013
By: LandDG
from Kansas City
"This is a large, deep fly box. Adjustable compartments fit the big dry flies. Very heavy duty plastic."
Review 13 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
March 4, 2013
By: Stripes53
from Canada
"I purchased the medium size, holds an excellent amount of flies, is nice and thin, two would fit in the same vest pocket. Adjustability is good, having a few more dividers would have been nice.
Shipping was excellent and timely"
Review 14 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great box, but not watertight,
February 3, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I like this box and may buy one more. I use it to store my extra streamers. For this purpose, it is ideal. The compartments are adjustable (up to 15 in the medium size box I bought). so, you can arrange them to fit the length of your fly. I created 9 equal sized compartments, all almost an inch deep that are perfect for storing several size 8 or so woolly buggers, muddlers or whatever in each compartment. The box is also clear. So, you can see what is inside without the need to open the lid.
The one negative and reason for a one star deduction is how the medium (and I believe large size too) lids close. There is only one clip in the middle of the lid. This allows the edges of the plastic lid to flex. While it does close completely and securely, one corner of my medium size box lid does not quite come into contact with the rubber gasket that is meant to seal it and keep the water out. The lid has a lip that does extend below the edge of the box. So it IS quite secure. I would assume the small size box may not have this problem because the lid is shorter. This problem could easily be fixed by adding a second clamp on the larger sizes that would reduce the distance from the clip to the edge of the lid and prevent the it from flexing as much.
This is a great box that is very useful. It could and probably should be watertight, but isn't. Aside from the lid flex, this box appears to be well made and up to Orvis' quality standards. As long as you are comfortable with this, you should like this box as much as I do."
Review 15 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box,
January 28, 2013
By: DrRed
from Denver, CO
"I have used these boxes for years. I find them very flexible and easy to use. They also help keep my flies dry when I take a swim."
Review 16 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Box,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"I have a few of these boxes. They act as my fly "warehouse" that I pull from before I hit the water for the day and it also holds my bass flies. These boxes are the best for flies with weed guards on them since it doesn't bend the guard like a foam fly box would when you stick the hook in it."
Review 17 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT,
January 13, 2013
By: Dugie
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I have 5 large and 7 small boxes. These are great for dry flies especially when you have 1/2 doz or more of the same pattern and size. They can be configured for a particular stream, lake or river by patters and by size. Order extra because you will use them."
Review 18 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical & Economical,
January 3, 2013
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Got one of these in my christmas stocking, The compartments are a good size so it stores plenty of flies without damaging the wings and hackles.
As the box is transparent it means I can check the contents beore opening it (less chance of losing any of the stock)."
Review 19 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLY BOX,
July 23, 2012
By: Retired08
from AZ
"Fine quality, makes a great thank you gift or personal fly box"
Review 20 for Adjustable Boxes
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
LEAKY FLY BOX,
June 19, 2012
By: homeinmontana
"The Bad: These fly boxes apperar to be a bargin, but due to a single lid latch the lids soon warp and will leak dispite the lid's O ring gasket. Considering how old the design is, Ovis should redisign the boxes for two lid latches. The Good: Oris will replace these, but you will have to pay the shipping charges."