Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Braided Line/Leader Connectors

Connect leaders or lead-head sections directly to your fly line with our Braided Line/Leader Connectors. Package of six braided loop-to-loop leader connections and nylon sleeves save you precious time while fly fishing. Instructions included. Braided leader connectors available in clear. (Use as strike indicator. Lets you detect subtle strikes.) Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Review 1 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
braided line/leader connectors,
June 18, 2014
By: theflyfishingfool
from Fishing the world
"I've used the Orvis line connectors on lines 2 through 15wt. Long lasting, no failures."
Review 2 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
no good,
June 3, 2014
By: Gissa
from AR
"THE PACK i RECEIVED WAS OLD BRITTLE ALL HAPPENED WAS LOOPS KEPT UNRAVELING CLIPED FLAT JUST TOUCH EEND UNRAVELS have used outher brands no problems!"
Review 3 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: Ferdinand
from Sao Paulo, Brazil
"Finally I've started using loop to connect my fly line and my "fishing life" changes completely, even if I'm 14.000 Kms far from US!!!!"
Review 4 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest accesory available,
May 1, 2014
By: bashfull
from Michigan
"This leader resist knots and tangles and saves you a fortune on tapered leaders. I have used the same one for over ten years. I just ordered another for a second rod & reel combo."
Review 5 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shrink Tubes Don't Shrink!,
April 16, 2014
By: RickyRock
"The braided leaders are just fine, but I was disappointed in the plastic shrink tube sleeves. I couldn't get them to shrink properly for a tight fit to cover and protect the end of the braided leader. I ended up using some glue."
Review 6 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick and Easy,
April 3, 2014
By: ChrispyPockets
from Boston, MA
"I was a bit fearful at first, as a new fly fisherman, to venture this far into technical line rigging. Turns out its not that technical at all, took all but 5 minutes to set it up. Also, it definitely does make for more time on the water. If you get a rat's nest in your leader, or even down to your tippet, you can un-loop it, then tend to your mess. Absolutely essential for all flyfishing setups."
Review 7 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but could be improved,
January 3, 2014
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I bought these and have had good success. The instructions are suitable and straightforward.
My purchase may be old stock, but I only had 5 loops in my packet. Further, the welded tube that comes with them is RED, not green like the picture. The tube should be white or clear or some other neutral color. Trout, bluegills and bass strike at the red tube that is included and nothing is more frustrating than having your line be more interesting than your fly. Mine was the 2-5wt variety. I hope that the new stock they are getting in is green as pictured as that would be a major improvement."
Review 8 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor value,
November 11, 2013
By: davesl
from Durham
"Disappointed plastic sleeves not fitted on loops
Very small piece of plastic sleeve for you to cut up to make own sleeves. Even at sales price dissapointed
"
Review 9 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Loops,
October 25, 2013
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"They do what's expected of them, the sleeve is tighter than on some other makes. This might seem worse when trying to fit them but a better fit when done."
Review 10 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful Loop-to-Loop Connectors,
September 16, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I still fish some older Orvis fly lines that do not have the welded loops. I have modified and improved these older lines with braided line-to-leader, loop-to-loop connectors. These connectors are easy to install, enable quick change of leaders and have worked without problem over many years’ fishing."
Review 11 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad connector loops,
July 3, 2013
By: JCMontana
from Polson, MT
"I have used Orvis products for nearly 50 years and this is the first complaint I have had. I like to use the loop to loop to attach leaders to lines. With the last two connectors the loops have come apart requiring me to tie the leader to the now straight "loop" connector. I hope this was just an anomaly."
Review 12 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Reliable Component,
May 17, 2013
By: jvcw
from UK
"I have used Orvis braided loops for as long as I can remember. Apart from being clever they are unremarkable except that they do their job and never cause trouble. Simply splendid."
Review 13 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Braided Loop,
April 16, 2013
By: Smervis
from Long Beach, CA
"Would only recommend using heat shrink tubing to secure the braid to fly line on small fish. Last summer I lost my entire leader to a bonita using heat shrink such as this. Wish I had secured with nail knots instead. I do now."
Review 14 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Quite Right,
March 25, 2013
By: JohnJA
from California
"The braided loop works fine, but the heat-shrink has a tendency to get hung up on the the tip top when I am lining up or on those occasions when I have only leader past the tip top. (I suppose if I were a better fly fisher, that wouldn't happen.) I always use a loop to loop to attach my leaders, so for my old lines, I use these things. They don't compare to a line with a welded loop."
Review 15 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Connectors,
February 28, 2013
By: Rjoiner001
"This is a great product and is very simple to use. I would recommend it to anyone"
Review 16 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 16, 2013
By: TroutBumApprentice
from Lincoln Park, Michigan
"A friend of mine got started in fly fishing and had the line and leaders without loops. After we installed the braided connector and tied perfection loops in the leaders he was happy to see that changing leaders is so easy."
Review 17 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor product,
May 24, 2012
By: Anonymous
"The leaders were minus their sleeves in a packet that was already open. The leaders themselves were kinked and bent. Although Orvis did replace them without any fuss they were only replaced with a product in exactly the same condition."
Review 18 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Joy of Braided Loops,
May 5, 2012
By: John508051
"Fly fishing is an art and a skill which requires a considerable amount of knowledge about weather and insect life let alone fish! To use a little piece of equipment which does exactly what it claims to do adds to the joy of fishing. It makes changing tippett and flies a lot easier and quicker as well as improving turn over. It is enables you to more quickly adjust to the demand of the moment, and that fish!"
Review 19 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does what it says,
April 17, 2012
By: SwiftHalf
from Warwickshire, UK
"Appears to have made a good connection to my new 6-weight line. Took a while to start feeding the braid onto the line (frayed the end of the braid on my first couple of attempts). Once started, easy to slide along. Heated shrink tube with nearby candle flame (tried hair dryer but not hot enough). More expensive than some others, but appears good quality"
Review 20 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work great,
January 1, 2011
By: fjfarias
from Bristol RI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Be patient and with a little luck these will slide on. I found that sticking a needle or bodkin into the sleeve first to open it up worked best. Careful heating the plastic once on, recommend using a 100 watt light bulb as opposed to a lighter."