Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Braided Line/Leader Connectors

Connect leaders or lead-head sections directly to your fly line with our Braided Line/Leader Connectors. Package of six braided loop-to-loop leader connections and nylon sleeves save you precious time while fly fishing. Instructions included. Braided leader connectors available in clear. (Use as strike indicator. Lets you detect subtle strikes.) Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
30 of 39(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Review 1 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
May 13, 2015
By: nhlier
from Florence, AL
"These leader connectors were great quality and super easy to use! Plus they arrived in a very timely manner right to my door."
Review 2 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Be Sure to read the Product Description,
May 11, 2015
By: CJay
from Grafton, WV
"I am a little embarassed to admit that I really did not thoroughly read the product description before ordering the Braided Line/Leader Connectors. My intended application of these connectors was for attaching my nymphing leader to my new Hydros-D fly line. I wanted the whole rig to look professional with braided loops & no knots to get hung up, even though I use special (very stiff) monofilamet flourescent line as my nymphing leader. I tried multiple times to properly attach the braided connector to the monofilament leader but could not get it to work right. The leader kept slipping out of the connector no matter how much or how little flame I used to fuse the attachment. Probably something I was doing wrong. I really like the concept of being able to attach braided loops to your leader and lines (mimicking the Bimini leader with tippets. I just couldn't get it to work right."
Review 3 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly fishing,
May 1, 2015
By: ogretaz
"these are realey good lines for fly fishing and be buying more in the furture."
Review 4 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
May 1, 2015
By: HenryvilleFlyfisher
"I have used the Orvis braided line/leader connectors for many years. They are lightweight, strong and have no effect of presentation. I have caught a thousand fish with them (at least) and have never had one fail."
Review 5 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst purchase I've ever made.,
April 27, 2015
By: bear66
from Raton, NM
"The shrink fit feature is completely useless. A waste of money!! I'm really disappointed."
Review 6 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good but frustrating to attach,
March 26, 2015
By: gehb
from MT
"This really seems to be a topnotch item - once you get it attached to your line. Orvis provides nothing by the way of instructions but there are some good Youtube videos for similar products.
Be careful when opening the packaging to not lose the collars used to seal these to your line.
Once in place for those of us with fat fingers and fading eyesight this is a great time saver and fish saver on the water."
Review 7 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Out of the Nail Knot Business,
December 8, 2014
By: Xmen28
from Connecticut
"Easy to use loop connectors for any of your lines. As advertised, converts line ends to loop connection in minutes. Many loops conectors in pack for low cost - so great value. You may want to use hair dryer vs lighter to seal to the line though."
Review 8 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
December 5, 2014
By: Rikk
from Kentucky.
"Ok.. I don't so reviews. But these connectors are amazing. After a bit getting the hang of inserting the line thru the braided tube (think Chinese finger trap) they held solid and tight. Less hangups n better cleaner casts. I'm adding them to all my fresh water lines. Great job!!"
Review 9 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
braided line/leader connectors,
June 18, 2014
By: theflyfishingfool
from Fishing the world
"I've used the Orvis line connectors on lines 2 through 15wt. Long lasting, no failures."
Review 10 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
no good,
June 3, 2014
By: Gissa
from AR
"THE PACK i RECEIVED WAS OLD BRITTLE ALL HAPPENED WAS LOOPS KEPT UNRAVELING CLIPED FLAT JUST TOUCH EEND UNRAVELS have used outher brands no problems!"
Review 11 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: Ferdinand
from Sao Paulo, Brazil
"Finally I've started using loop to connect my fly line and my "fishing life" changes completely, even if I'm 14.000 Kms far from US!!!!"
Review 12 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest accesory available,
May 1, 2014
By: bashfull
from Michigan
"This leader resist knots and tangles and saves you a fortune on tapered leaders. I have used the same one for over ten years. I just ordered another for a second rod & reel combo."
Review 13 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Shrink Tubes Don't Shrink!,
April 16, 2014
By: RickyRock
"The braided leaders are just fine, but I was disappointed in the plastic shrink tube sleeves. I couldn't get them to shrink properly for a tight fit to cover and protect the end of the braided leader. I ended up using some glue."
Review 14 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick and Easy,
April 3, 2014
By: ChrispyPockets
from Boston, MA
"I was a bit fearful at first, as a new fly fisherman, to venture this far into technical line rigging. Turns out its not that technical at all, took all but 5 minutes to set it up. Also, it definitely does make for more time on the water. If you get a rat's nest in your leader, or even down to your tippet, you can un-loop it, then tend to your mess. Absolutely essential for all flyfishing setups."
Review 15 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good, but could be improved,
January 3, 2014
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I bought these and have had good success. The instructions are suitable and straightforward.
My purchase may be old stock, but I only had 5 loops in my packet. Further, the welded tube that comes with them is RED, not green like the picture. The tube should be white or clear or some other neutral color. Trout, bluegills and bass strike at the red tube that is included and nothing is more frustrating than having your line be more interesting than your fly. Mine was the 2-5wt variety. I hope that the new stock they are getting in is green as pictured as that would be a major improvement."
Review 16 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor value,
November 11, 2013
By: davesl
from Durham
"Disappointed plastic sleeves not fitted on loops
Very small piece of plastic sleeve for you to cut up to make own sleeves. Even at sales price dissapointed
"
Review 17 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braided Loops,
October 25, 2013
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
"They do what's expected of them, the sleeve is tighter than on some other makes. This might seem worse when trying to fit them but a better fit when done."
Review 18 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Useful Loop-to-Loop Connectors,
September 16, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I still fish some older Orvis fly lines that do not have the welded loops. I have modified and improved these older lines with braided line-to-leader, loop-to-loop connectors. These connectors are easy to install, enable quick change of leaders and have worked without problem over many years’ fishing."
Review 19 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bad connector loops,
July 3, 2013
By: JCMontana
from Polson, MT
"I have used Orvis products for nearly 50 years and this is the first complaint I have had. I like to use the loop to loop to attach leaders to lines. With the last two connectors the loops have come apart requiring me to tie the leader to the now straight "loop" connector. I hope this was just an anomaly."
Review 20 for Braided Line/Leader Connectors
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Reliable Component,
May 17, 2013
By: jvcw
from UK
"I have used Orvis braided loops for as long as I can remember. Apart from being clever they are unremarkable except that they do their job and never cause trouble. Simply splendid."