Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Shetland Wool Sweater Vest

A classic button-front sweater vest, made of warm Shetland wool. Two front patch pockets, ribbed trim, and points at the front hem. Pure Shetland wool. Hand wash or dry clean. Imported.Sizes: L(14-16); about 25" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.679 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
5
19 of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Review 1 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hummmmm,
January 11, 2013
By: RevRosebud
from Knoxville, TN
"I love the sweater vest. Wool is nice, not itchy and soft. Only one disappointment: it did not fall as long on my hips as I imagined from the picture. I wear it and like it very much. Length is only negative"
Review 2 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm vest,
January 3, 2013
By: TravelinShoes7
"This wool vest is well shaped, very comfortable and warm . I have worn it frequently."
Review 3 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looked like my old flannel jammies,
December 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Philadelphia suburbs
"I pulled the vest out of the plastic shipping envelope, took one look at the awful fabric and sent it back. It honestly reminded me of an old pair of flannel pajamas.
For what it's worth, the tailoring seemed high quality . . ."
Review 4 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sent it back,
December 29, 2012
By: Alwayssjk
from St. Louis, MO
"I wasn't going to review this as I don't like to write a negative report. Then I read someone else had the same experience with a vest that was scratchy. The wool was hard and had a terrible smell. I loved the style and fit but couldn't tolerate the material.
I wish I would have gotten one of the soft ones that the other reviewers raved about.
"
Review 5 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice,
December 26, 2012
By: sandytoughyoudontlike
from Centreville, MD
"excatly the fine quality I expected. Workmanship & fit are perfect."
Review 6 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snuggly vest,
December 8, 2012
By: ThursdayNext
"Best vest ever! It keeps me warm at work or at more casual events."
Review 7 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good winter vest,
November 28, 2012
By: Westcott
from Cleveland, OH
"I already had a beige version of this vest and liked it so much, I ordered it in red."
Review 8 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest!,
October 23, 2012
By: Farmingmomfive
from Alberta, Canada
"This is a beautiful vest. It looks terrific under a jacket. The perfect layering piece."
Review 9 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dry, strong odor,
August 30, 2012
By: tngal
from tenn
"I'd bought the XL which was soft and lovely but cut a bit large, so ordered the L. It feels like totally differnet wool, dry, scratchy, and with a very strong odor. Will keep the XL as the material is a much better quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical with touch of extra warmth,
August 28, 2012
By: Scotchterrierwalker
from St. Joseph, MO
"I own three of these sweater vests in different colors. They add extra warmth without bulk especially under coats."
Review 11 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
August 27, 2012
By: pasqualina
"The sweater vest is perfect. It is true to size, has a wonderful texture, and the color is just magnificent.
I look forward to wearing it with many outfits."
Review 12 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's from Orvis, Therefore Not a Surprise,
August 20, 2012
By: PrettyFeral
from Wichita, KS
"I knew I'd love this vest, but what was unexpected was the deep, rich color of the fabric. Kudos to Orvis, once again!"
Review 13 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
July 3, 2012
By: Puddleduck
from Dorset
"Colour attractive, fit perfect, armholes very comfortable. I wish that it was available in a wider range of colours."
Review 14 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
February 9, 2012
By: rivahgirl
from Goode, VA
"A very flattering vest! Runs a bit large - but looks great w/skirts, slacks, or jeans."
Review 15 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
attractive, functional..just what I needed/wanted,
January 13, 2012
By: FrugalFlatlander
"Thanks for a beautiful, functional classic sweater vest. I know I will enjoy it for years to come."
Review 16 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a winner for me!,
December 30, 2011
By: SusanL
from Dallas Texas
"The wool was very rough and scratchy. Although a small, it felt like a medium. Surely not what I expected from Orvis where the quality of the yarn and the cut of the garment are usually great."
Review 17 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value for the money,
December 30, 2011
By: duck001
"my wife thoroughly enjoyed the shetland wool sweater. she wore it to a party the other night and received many nice comments."
Review 18 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect autumn layer,
November 3, 2011
By: supergran
from W. Sussex
"Great to wear now over a shirt or lightweight tee, and in cold weather over a polo or roll neck sweater. Plus, , the cheerful colour makes you feel warmer and lifts your spirits!"
Review 19 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty and Comfortable,
September 14, 2011
By: Gennavette
from North Florida
"Color is a nice, warm, cheerful red. Goes with almost everything. Almost all I need for winter warmth here in North Florida."
Review 20 for Shetland Wool Sweater Vest
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
February 17, 2011
By: SEASCW
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Although I like the classic style and the fact that it is a natural fiber, I am returning this sweater vest because the quality of that fiber is thin and so stiff - as in scratchy. It does not, to me anyway, represent the quality I have come to associate with Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 3, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sweater vest. We offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. Orvis has also forwarded her comments to the buyers of the product so they can be aware of the feedback.