Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stripping Guard

Save your finger from getting burned or cut by line with this clever fly line stripping guard. Lycra® stripping guard slips onto your finger easily and prevents friction of line against your skin. 3 per pack. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 of 26(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stripping Guard
Review 1 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer Time!!!!!,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I was feeling self-conscious and silly ordering these. But after using them I'm really glad I pulled the trigger. When you strip streamers all day you can split your finger and in my experience it takes forever to heal. These guards prevent that from happening. They are lycra and you'll forget they are there after about 5 minute"
Review 2 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Never thought I'd buy these, but I love em,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I always thought - why would anyone ever buy these? Why wouldn't you just where gloves? But I finally broke down and bought a set. It turns out, I love em. They are so light and strong, you forget you are wearing them. And anyone that has spent a day stripping streamers for big fish will tell you, you can burn your fingers up without protection. I also love the little case them come in - so that you don't lose them in your pack or vest."
Review 3 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't fish without,
February 6, 2014
By: 1234512345
from Naples fl.
"A must for saltwater. These save your finger from being ripped by the salt on your fly line."
Review 4 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need them more than you think,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"At first I thought it would be silly to buy these. But after even a few hours of stripping large streamers hard, this turn out to be a must."
Review 5 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple solution,
October 29, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"Throwing streamers all day wears leads to "burns" and cracked skin. This simple solution protects the skin, cleans the fly line as you strip, and makes for smoother retrieving strips. Inexpensive, simple solution. Great product"
Review 6 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save those fingers,
September 9, 2013
By: NoJags
from Banchory, UK
"If you are in a situation which requires constant line stripping these are the just the job to protect that sensitive finger skin."
Review 7 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
finger protection from line run,
July 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from south Korea
"it's good to protect finger but cause both edge of the tube is open cut, yarn is easy come and released from fabric edge.
it needs seam to improve ...
"
Review 8 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
May 1, 2013
By: Dddbl
"Purchased these for my son and I. He likes them when he fishes the Salmon River in NY.Really stops the burn when you hook into a salmon or steelhead. I like them also but in the smaller streams of New England. A great product my son and I have never seen else where."
Review 9 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finger saver,
April 17, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Bristol, UK
"These fingers guards will definitely save your fingers from cuts and burns when playing powerful fish. They are particularly useful in saltwater where salt and sand can quickly make a mess of of your fingers. They are comfortable to wear. Only downside -- the lycra does lose its elasticity after a while."
Review 10 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Very durable and protects against burning your fingers with the fly line. I use them mainly for bass fishing as constant stripping leaves my fingers pretty raw after a few hours."
Review 11 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protecting your fingers,
December 28, 2012
By: Xenia
from Stratford, CT
"The stripping guards I purchased from Orvis are strictly for saltwater fly fishing and do a very nice job of protecting the fingers from both line burns when hooked into a massive Tarpon and also protect the fingers when they are wet and 'soft' and tying knots and leaders. Well worth the small investment to keep the hands at 100%"
Review 12 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition,
December 1, 2012
By: troutbum25
from Central, Pa
"I don't know why I didnt try these out earlier. They saved my fingers on multiple occasions. If you are striping flys a lot I highly recommend these"
Review 13 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat Customer,
October 29, 2012
By: Muzz
"I have been using these stripping guards successfully for several years. Great for stripping streamers but also provides a layer of finger protection when shooting without gloves."
Review 14 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stripping guards,
July 14, 2012
By: Philip1958
from London
"Had a worry that the guard would be hard to put on, as it happens they fit comfortably and were easy to put on."
Review 15 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Should do the job,
June 5, 2012
By: logic
"Bought these for fishing textured lines. Should provide the protection needed."
Review 16 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stop the bleeding,
May 14, 2012
By: jackyredz25
"buy this and never again flinch before stripsetting"
Review 17 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Buy!,
March 29, 2012
By: Mitchyboy
from Scotland
"I have been looking for a product like this for years!! It's a fantastic product if you are prone to line burns and fishing for a long period of time."
Review 18 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for any serious fisherman.,
January 31, 2012
By: bugsymalone
from West Yorkshire UK
"These stripping guards from "ORVIS"are absolutely FANTASTIC!!!
but not only the product, the price is also FANTASTIC. I have tried cheaper versions from other manufacturers but they don't come close to the ORVIS ones in my opinion. The Stripping Guards have
certainly protected my fingers and will certainly protect yours.
"
Review 19 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CONVENIENT,
September 6, 2011
By: STREAMERKING
from Midwest trout streams
"Fair protection for my secondary stripping finger. A little light for my primary stripping finger (my forefinger). I use leather on that finger for my very fast and long strips."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Stripping Guard
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 7 out of 7