Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stripping Guard

Save your finger from getting burned or cut by line with this clever fly line stripping guard. Lycra® stripping guard slips onto your finger easily and prevents friction of line against your skin. 3 per pack. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stripping Guard
Review 1 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finger sleeves (stripping guard),
July 16, 2014
By: 14850marge
from Ithaca, NY
"These finger covers are excellent!
I had a knuckle replacement last fall and sometimes the finger gets a little cold. These sleeves keeps the finger warm and are very attractive as well. I know they are for fly casting but work well in my case as well!"
Review 2 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Tool,
June 16, 2014
By: Capkirk
from Midland, TX
"Keep the salt from cracking your fingers. Great tool."
Review 3 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves my fingers,
June 12, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I fish sinking lines for stripers and the line cuts my fingers. The stripping gaurds have prevented this from happening. love them."
Review 4 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save your fingers,
June 10, 2014
By: Outdoors110
from TN
"These finger guards will not gurantee fish but will make the experience more enjoyable when you are hooked up. I use all 3 guards each time I am in the bay or on the flats. Orvis continues to offer the smartest and best products."
Review 5 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Fingers!,
May 21, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Durable and comfy. Does a great job preventing repetitive line burns on finger(s). I use these primarily for saltwater fishing where you are constantly stripping line. My fingers are much happier with these."
Review 6 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
May 14, 2014
By: shortline
from Renton, Wa
"We found them very comfortable,durable and necessary. Stripping guard eliminates finger burn when stripping line."
Review 7 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finger saver,
May 6, 2014
By: TerryG
from Midwest
"If there's a better way to protect a finger from the predation of fishing line friction, then I don't know it. It saves index fingers ravaged by constant wetness, fish-hook jabs and filet knife indiscretions from distracting pain sensitivity."
Review 8 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer Time!!!!!,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I was feeling self-conscious and silly ordering these. But after using them I'm really glad I pulled the trigger. When you strip streamers all day you can split your finger and in my experience it takes forever to heal. These guards prevent that from happening. They are lycra and you'll forget they are there after about 5 minute"
Review 9 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Never thought I'd buy these, but I love em,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I always thought - why would anyone ever buy these? Why wouldn't you just where gloves? But I finally broke down and bought a set. It turns out, I love em. They are so light and strong, you forget you are wearing them. And anyone that has spent a day stripping streamers for big fish will tell you, you can burn your fingers up without protection. I also love the little case them come in - so that you don't lose them in your pack or vest."
Review 10 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't fish without,
February 6, 2014
By: 1234512345
from Naples fl.
"A must for saltwater. These save your finger from being ripped by the salt on your fly line."
Review 11 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need them more than you think,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"At first I thought it would be silly to buy these. But after even a few hours of stripping large streamers hard, this turn out to be a must."
Review 12 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple solution,
October 29, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"Throwing streamers all day wears leads to "burns" and cracked skin. This simple solution protects the skin, cleans the fly line as you strip, and makes for smoother retrieving strips. Inexpensive, simple solution. Great product"
Review 13 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save those fingers,
September 9, 2013
By: NoJags
from Banchory, UK
"If you are in a situation which requires constant line stripping these are the just the job to protect that sensitive finger skin."
Review 14 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
finger protection from line run,
July 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from south Korea
"it's good to protect finger but cause both edge of the tube is open cut, yarn is easy come and released from fabric edge.
it needs seam to improve ...
"
Review 15 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
May 1, 2013
By: Dddbl
"Purchased these for my son and I. He likes them when he fishes the Salmon River in NY.Really stops the burn when you hook into a salmon or steelhead. I like them also but in the smaller streams of New England. A great product my son and I have never seen else where."
Review 16 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Finger saver,
April 17, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Bristol, UK
"These fingers guards will definitely save your fingers from cuts and burns when playing powerful fish. They are particularly useful in saltwater where salt and sand can quickly make a mess of of your fingers. They are comfortable to wear. Only downside -- the lycra does lose its elasticity after a while."
Review 17 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
January 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Very durable and protects against burning your fingers with the fly line. I use them mainly for bass fishing as constant stripping leaves my fingers pretty raw after a few hours."
Review 18 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protecting your fingers,
December 28, 2012
By: Xenia
from Stratford, CT
"The stripping guards I purchased from Orvis are strictly for saltwater fly fishing and do a very nice job of protecting the fingers from both line burns when hooked into a massive Tarpon and also protect the fingers when they are wet and 'soft' and tying knots and leaders. Well worth the small investment to keep the hands at 100%"
Review 19 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition,
December 1, 2012
By: troutbum25
from Central, Pa
"I don't know why I didnt try these out earlier. They saved my fingers on multiple occasions. If you are striping flys a lot I highly recommend these"
Review 20 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat Customer,
October 29, 2012
By: Muzz
"I have been using these stripping guards successfully for several years. Great for stripping streamers but also provides a layer of finger protection when shooting without gloves."