Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stripping Guard

Save your finger from getting burned or cut by line with this clever fly line stripping guard. Lycra® stripping guard slips onto your finger easily and prevents friction of line against your skin. 3 per pack. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stripping Guard
Review 1 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
December 17, 2014
By: MtLabmom
from Montana
"If you like to fish, this is the purchase for you!
This is an excellent addition, for any fishing enthusiast!!!
"
Review 2 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
happy to have,
December 8, 2014
By: Fishermanswifetrish
from Folsom, CA
"I bought these for my husband, he always has sore fingers from the ones that got away. He says they really help, but the fish still get away . Honestly its a small gift but they do work, worth the money"
Review 3 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
November 13, 2014
By: salbro
from Stoke-on-Trent
"Has saved my finger from line burn every time I fish, very happy now:-)"
Review 4 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strip guard- great accessory,
September 16, 2014
By: Raypan
"This is the perfect product for protecting the crease on your index finger when striping or when a bonefish makes a fast run."
Review 5 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Save my fingers,
September 15, 2014
By: Joce01
from Matane, Canada
"Since the arrival textured fly line when I retreive my line, I get hurt hand and now the problem is resolved.
Very useful"
Review 6 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stripping Guards,
July 28, 2014
By: iamdave1234
from St John USVI
"Haven't tried these in the flats yet, but the strip guards seem to really fit well and I'm hoping they will be exactly what I need to protect my fingers on those long mornings on the flats. I'm glad they come with an extra as I'm hoping to wear them out in August !"
Review 7 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finger sleeves (stripping guard),
July 16, 2014
By: 14850marge
from Ithaca, NY
"These finger covers are excellent!
I had a knuckle replacement last fall and sometimes the finger gets a little cold. These sleeves keeps the finger warm and are very attractive as well. I know they are for fly casting but work well in my case as well!"
Review 8 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Tool,
June 16, 2014
By: Capkirk
from Midland, TX
"Keep the salt from cracking your fingers. Great tool."
Review 9 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saves my fingers,
June 12, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I fish sinking lines for stripers and the line cuts my fingers. The stripping gaurds have prevented this from happening. love them."
Review 10 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Save your fingers,
June 10, 2014
By: Outdoors110
from TN
"These finger guards will not gurantee fish but will make the experience more enjoyable when you are hooked up. I use all 3 guards each time I am in the bay or on the flats. Orvis continues to offer the smartest and best products."
Review 11 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Fingers!,
May 21, 2014
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Durable and comfy. Does a great job preventing repetitive line burns on finger(s). I use these primarily for saltwater fishing where you are constantly stripping line. My fingers are much happier with these."
Review 12 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding,
May 14, 2014
By: shortline
from Renton, Wa
"We found them very comfortable,durable and necessary. Stripping guard eliminates finger burn when stripping line."
Review 13 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finger saver,
May 6, 2014
By: TerryG
from Midwest
"If there's a better way to protect a finger from the predation of fishing line friction, then I don't know it. It saves index fingers ravaged by constant wetness, fish-hook jabs and filet knife indiscretions from distracting pain sensitivity."
Review 14 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamer Time!!!!!,
April 9, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"I was feeling self-conscious and silly ordering these. But after using them I'm really glad I pulled the trigger. When you strip streamers all day you can split your finger and in my experience it takes forever to heal. These guards prevent that from happening. They are lycra and you'll forget they are there after about 5 minute"
Review 15 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Never thought I'd buy these, but I love em,
March 22, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I always thought - why would anyone ever buy these? Why wouldn't you just where gloves? But I finally broke down and bought a set. It turns out, I love em. They are so light and strong, you forget you are wearing them. And anyone that has spent a day stripping streamers for big fish will tell you, you can burn your fingers up without protection. I also love the little case them come in - so that you don't lose them in your pack or vest."
Review 16 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't fish without,
February 6, 2014
By: 1234512345
from Naples fl.
"A must for saltwater. These save your finger from being ripped by the salt on your fly line."
Review 17 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need them more than you think,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"At first I thought it would be silly to buy these. But after even a few hours of stripping large streamers hard, this turn out to be a must."
Review 18 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple solution,
October 29, 2013
By: eturner
from Little Rock, AR
"Throwing streamers all day wears leads to "burns" and cracked skin. This simple solution protects the skin, cleans the fly line as you strip, and makes for smoother retrieving strips. Inexpensive, simple solution. Great product"
Review 19 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
save those fingers,
September 9, 2013
By: NoJags
from Banchory, UK
"If you are in a situation which requires constant line stripping these are the just the job to protect that sensitive finger skin."
Review 20 for Stripping Guard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
finger protection from line run,
July 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
from south Korea
"it's good to protect finger but cause both edge of the tube is open cut, yarn is easy come and released from fabric edge.
it needs seam to improve ...
"