Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers

This round dog bed cover replaces your original dog bed perfectly. Made from tough 1000-denier Cordura® nylon to resist even the most persistent of chewers. If you've got one of those rare dogs who can chew through this dog bed cover, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Washable. USA and Imported. Dimensions are approximate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.491 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
8
40 of 59(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Review 1 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Beds, Could be Tougher,
February 16, 2014
By: veritasliberat
"We had owned an original Orvis Dog's Nest and replaced the torn cover with this ToughChew version. In general, Orvis dog beds are great and the dog likes them. I would caution that, of course, nothing is truly chew proof, and therefore I am not particularly surprised that our dog was able to rip a hole about 3 inches in diameter in this cover within a few months of use, similar to the one that he tore in his non-ToughChew cover. Therefore, I would hesitate to say that this is worth the extra money, although it does hold up well to the other general wear and tear from his claws and our traveling with it. Qualitatively, I would also say that the material does appear sturdier than the standard cover. If it was a standard bed I would have given 4 stars, but it loses one for the hole in general and another for being advertised as "ultimate chew-resistant," costing more money, and still having the same end result as the standard cover. I should note that we purchased this cover in July 2012, and therefore it is possible that newer beds may have better results."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No more fluff on the floor,
November 27, 2012
By: lightdance
from Michigan
"The Orvis Tough-Chew dog bed is the best I have found. My cocker spaniel sucks on the fabric (yes, he's a little neurotic), so the bed has holes in it within the first week. The bed may not look terrific but since it has a tough inner liner, I don't have fluff all over the floor. The last one I purchased lasted about 6 9 months with a few patches before I had to replace it. My dog loves it."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough Chew,
October 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
"It's been 2 weeks and so far so good, no chewing, no holes, nothing. I think this bed will outlast anything we have tried so far."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
October 17, 2012
By: TayTay
"Our Lab is 3 yrs. old and has chewed through a number of beds. I ordered the tough chew a couple of weeks ago and she has not even tried to chew on this bed. I think she loves it too much! She weighs 70 lbs. so I ordered the X-large to give her plenty of room."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Tough Chewer's Dog Bed,
October 12, 2012
By: SleepingComfy
from Mercer Island, Washington
"This is the 3rd Orvis bed for my extremely strong chewing golden retriever over 12 years. These covers really are incredible. It takes him YEARS to chew through one of these beds, and, yes, their guarantee stands firm. They will replace the bed if it is destroyed by a chewer. This Orvis bed comes close to being indestructible, yet is beautiful and comfortable, at the same time. Truly a marvel. Thanks, Orvis!"
Review 6 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Product,
September 24, 2012
By: yellerpaws
from Lawrenceville, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is an excellent Dog bed cover and liner. This does NOT come filled with polyfill. It is just a cover and a durable liner that you will need to fill. You can but the polyfill from Orvis. I bought 8 bags and it is really full and my dogs love it!"
Review 7 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Chewr's Challenge,
July 30, 2012
By: Cheeze
from Hamilton Sq., NJ
"I have a 7 lb. Papillon who is a persistent chewer. This is a replacement purchase.
It took her more than a year to destroy the first bed. Other beds have lasted only a few days.
So far, she hasn't touched the new one in more than a week. Maybe she is mellowing at 3 yrs. old. I'm a happy camper."
Review 8 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Some simple adjustments,
July 2, 2012
By: BajoBear
from Seattle
"A larger zipper on the lining would have been helpful. It was not easy transferring those tiny beads from the old liner into the new with such small openings. Perhaps it's not advantageous due to the chewing issue. Also...on your personalized covers... You should embroider the name on the other side and "upside down" so that it can be flipped. We had a personalized cover for our last dog and I won't add that option anymore because our dogs are nesters and at some point we need to use the other side of the cover so the name is a waste. One more thing... the zipper on the outer tough chew cover makes it so only one side can be used. It would be nice to be able to use both side on that as well. BTW... it was stupid to have to come up with a nickname for this. Nearly everything is taken so whatever we come up with ..means nothing."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
June 22, 2012
By: BellaRose
from Sea Bright, NJ
"The dog is happy and I am happy. Will purchase another one before heading south for the winter."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ToughChew Cover,
June 21, 2012
By: DBDD
from Dallas, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the ToughChew cover because my 9 month old white lab demolished our Orvis bed that we had for our 8 year old chocolate lab. I saved the stuffing and thought I could save a few bucks by just ordering the cover.
It arrived on schedule and it looked great. I was impressed with the durability. It came with a new liner that was made from the same material. I was very impressed that the zipper was extra thick and on the bottom of the bed. That was the entry point on the last bed that was chewed up. So I was very pleased.
However, my pup maybe more of a chewer than any bed could handle. He chewed a round hole on the top within a few days. I was heart broken to see this, but he is tough on every toy he has. One good thing was the liner held up and there was not stuffing everywhere like the last bed.
I think this is a good quality product and if your dog is a mild chewer than you will be fine. I love Orvis and all their products and I know they will refund me the money, but I have not had time to contact them yet."
Review 11 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and Long-Lasting Quality,
June 14, 2012
By: BarbR
"This is my second purchase of this bed cover. It wears extremely well--the colors stay fresh and the fabric doesn't wear through. Definitely the strongest bed cover I've ever purchased. The prints offered are especially attractive."
Review 12 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lasts forever,
May 27, 2012
By: SusyB
from Virginia
"I'm on the third one of these in 20 years. One finally died and one is still going. Now we have a new one for the outside. deck. Nothing defeats them, and keeping them clean whether washed or vacuumed is really easy. Definitely recommend, ( I do miss the old "middle ages type animal print in green)"
Review 13 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Nest Cover,
March 19, 2012
By: jzk64
from Chagrin Falls, OH
"The replacement cover is high quality and sturdy fabric. Didn't realize that it ships with a new liner as well. Awesome!"
Review 14 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Expensive!!,
February 23, 2012
By: dmharms
from Cross Plains, WI.
"This was a nice replacement for my old dog bed cover (same toughchew material and pattern). The old one was more of a dull colored heavy cotton and this is a shinier material so hope it lasts as long? I do think the price is SO TOO high for what you get!"
Review 15 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
February 23, 2012
By: mmkchicago
from Chicago, IL
"This is the second ToughChew bed cover I have purchased. My dog has two beds and the second bed we skimped and bought a competitor's cover. Two years later, we are replacing it with the ToughChew. My dog is not a chewer, but loves to use his nails to "make his bed" every night, which wore down the other cover quickly. The ToughChew will last the dog's lifetime!"
Review 16 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough chew,
February 18, 2012
By: Hopsing
from Watertown SD
"I should have named my Drahthaar Jaws. He is a hard mouthed hunting machine. Unsupervised he managed to chew a few holes in the product when he was a growing pup. Now he is well behaved, I replaced the cover and we are both happy. Will buy another one for his new girl friend."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised,
February 18, 2012
By: MrTillett
"The Tough Chew cover does exactly what it claims, it resists damage caused by dogs chewing at it. My wife's Manchester terrier absolutely destroyed the cover on my old cotton cover in short order. He is not chewing the Tough Chew cover at all. My Curly Coated Retriever, however, is not as compelled to spend as much time on the new cover. Must be a texture thing as the Tough Chew cover is no where near as soft as the old one."
Review 18 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kind of chewproof,
January 16, 2012
By: Zookersmom
from Dassel, MN
"As many Lab puppy owners have already noted, this cover is not chewproof. Our 8-month-old made a 2-inch hole in about 20 minutes. However, the cover is made of a very tough material, as is the lining. The zipper is heavy-duty, and placed on the bottom, so as not to give Puppy something to get started on. Our puppy has left the cover alone since her first chew--discouraged, maybe?-- and I think that it will last long enough to be worthwhile. It's certainly the toughest thing out there."
Review 19 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough, but not Tough Enough,
January 13, 2012
By: Lucy2
"While this is the most durable dog bed I've found so far, it still didn't stop my dog chewers from chewing a small hole through the cover & lining within the first week. The cover is still usable."
Review 20 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® Round Covers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so tough,
January 10, 2012
By: hautechakalaka
from Houston, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a herringbone pattern dog nest that lasted two years with my Brittany Spaniel. The old one had several small holes chewed, so thought I would upgrade to two new (we have two dogs) Tough Chew Red Tartan dog nests, thinking the tough chew would last even longer. It lasted a week before he chewed a 6-inch hole in one of them. He did not get to the stuffing, and Orvis is graciousness replacing it. The other bed is fine so far, so maybe the replacement will make it."