Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

DogProof Throw

Supreme softness and comfort—combined with protection against dirt, water, and claws—sets this throw blanket apart from the rest. The tightly woven, soft chenille weave features a diamond-quilt pattern and is backed with 300-thread count cotton; a high-tech water-resistant membrane keeps your furniture or bedding dry, while still allowing it to breathe and stay fresh. Throw blankets for dogs in fern green, goldenrod, mocha, blue mist. Cotton/polyester blend. Washable. Tumble dry low heat. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DogProof Throw
Review 1 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more dry-cleaning bills!!!!,
August 13, 2012
By: Burschi
from Ontario
"Burschi is a small dog who in the mornings likes to be picked up for a snooze at the bottom of my bed. Up to now there have been lots of dry-cleaning bills for my expensive bedspread and duvet. No more! Burschi is fussy about what he chooses to lie on, but he really likes this throw, and I don't have to worry anymore about the extra time he spends lying on it. Ithe generous size of the throw covers the third of the bed very adequately, and it is a handsome addition to the bedroom furnishings. Burschi sends a wag of his tail!"
Review 2 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dissapointed,
July 13, 2012
By: Aly32284
from Boston, MA
"I was so excited to get this blanket because we have light colored couches and I thought this was the perfect way to allow my dog up with us without getting the couch dirty. We own a big, playful dog who is frequently getting into dirt and grass. As a result this blanket became dirty quickly and I washed it often (once every 2 weeks). After a couple months the edges began to tear and come apart. I am so disappointing because I love Orvis but now I am beginning to question the quality of their products. If you are still going to purchase this product would recommend buying a dark color and not washing it often."
Review 3 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can I have my chair back please?!,
May 30, 2012
By: toadoftownhead
from aberdeenshire,scotland
"when the dog throw arrived we thought it might be too small but it was fine!It looks lovely,washes easily and is much easier to rearrange than our previous set up,what's more the Dog gives me a dirty look whenever I sit on it as she always wants to lie there!"
Review 4 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product, better if tad wider,
April 30, 2012
By: NewfLady
from Westchester County, NY
"We actually bought the dog proof throw to cat proof our couches. The product is attractive, sturdy and waterproof. It would be a five star item if it were a tad wider (length is good), to better cover the back of the couch to the edge of the seat. As it is, if I drape it to just cover the top of the couch back, and crease it where the back meets the seat, the throw just barely covers the seat of the couch. It would be a more versatile product if it were about 6-8 inches wider. Note that the throw washes nicely.
As always, Orvis offers excellent product quality.
"
Review 5 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
April 24, 2012
By: KeithT
from St. Louis, MO
"We reviewed many pet throws to see what best met our needs and finally took a chance on this one. It was by far the most attractive, went best with our decor, and didn't have the drawbacks of the others; but it cost more. The quality and functionality met and even exceeded our expectations. Since our puppy has "put it to the test", we know it launders very well!"
Review 6 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Doesn't Hold Its Color,
April 6, 2012
By: RescueMom
from Burr Ridge, IL
"Overall the blanket does what you would expect a blanket to do and provides a barrier between your companion and your furniture. However the blanket did not hold up to washings and faded noticeably. It remained stitched together and in that way is good quality, but the coloring just didn't look good over time."
Review 7 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great but strange size,
April 2, 2012
By: josee
"for a rhodesian ridgeback on the coach...
too long and not wide enough to cover everything..
I had to cut it and sew it so that it is more of a square..
great quality!
"
Review 8 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Proof Throw,
March 29, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Alexandria VA
"I really like this dog proof throw. I got the large size to use on my king size bed. I picked this over the dog proof coverlet because I wanted to be sure that I could wash it in my front loading washer. It is the usual Orvis high quality product. It is heavy and stays in place. It looks great on the bed too."
Review 9 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but not quite what I expected,
February 21, 2012
By: hbot
"From looking at the picture of the product, you'd think this was a nice soft blanket. But in fact, it's fairly heavy and somewhat stiff. It can take dog scratching and chewing really well and not look worse for the wear, but that ruggedness comes at a cost to the comfort and softness of the blanket. You can also feel the layer of plastic in the middle. It protects my couch but isn't all that good as a soft throw. This would probably be better suited for a car than a couch."
Review 10 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
better than expected,
February 16, 2012
By: blueemerald
"This is a nice, fairly heavy blanket pad. Certainly more substantial than just a throw. It is just the right size on a queen bed to cover the dog sleeping area thereby providing accident-safety in the key area."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth it,
December 17, 2011
By: PinkGreta
"This is my 1st purchase from Orvis... but well worth it. I bought this to put on the end of our bed where our dog sleeps, just in case she gets sick; she did. It protected our bedding and we only had to wash this throw. My only wish is that I could buy a size in between the two offered... this is a bit too small to cover the width of the bed (queen), but the other is much too large. Yes, I know this is sized for a chair, but I liked the waterproof aspect of it & didn't want a full size comforter-type."
Review 12 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft Enough for All,
November 20, 2011
By: 4labs
from The Ranch, California
"Dog Proof Throw is strong enough to survive an wet dog, yet soft enough for snuggling."
Review 13 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice cover,
September 27, 2011
By: WJC12196
from Upstate NY
"We have an older dog who sometimes has accidents when she's sleeping. We used to cover the seat cushion of her favorite leather chair with a blanket, which was comfy for her but didn't really protect the chair cushion from getting wet. After the last accident we bought this cover. So far, so good, although (thankfully) we haven't actually had to test the waterproof properties yet. It looks much nicer (much less obvious) on the chair than the blankets we used to use."
Review 14 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dogs love it,
June 6, 2011
By: sadie54
from hungtington beach, ca
"this fit perfectly in the back of my pilot. little bit of cushion for comfort, my dogs love it!"
Review 15 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pricey - but worth it!,
February 28, 2011
By: mother22
"Wonderful addition to my bed since dogs have decided to sleep with me! Very well made and hopefully I won't have to find out if it is 'water' proof."
Review 16 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive, but worth it,
November 1, 2010
By: YankInGA
from Marietta, GA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have an elderly dog who has started occasionally peeing on his dog bed. I'm trying to modify the behavior, but in the mean time, this throw is the best solution I've found.
You can't really tell from the photograph, but these things are really quite substantial (thick and heavy). I can just toss one over my dog's usual (latex foam) bed, and it stays in place perfectly. The dog bed now stays absolutely dry and clean!
I've laundered both of mine probably a dozen times, and they look like new.
I'm not truly wild about the available colors, but that's a minor quibble. Overall, this is a great product."
Review 17 for DogProof Throw
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great at protecting furniture,
February 18, 2010
By: Nonie
from Florida
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this throw to keep my dogs from scratching or digging on a leather chair. The throw has made this chair their favorite place to sit or sleep. It is durable and looks good.
It will slip off of a leather chair if the dogs jump around on it, so it might be helpful to have ties to secure it to the chair. That probably is not a problem with a non-leather chair.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for DogProof Throw
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1