Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Midge Buddy Fly Box

A new, slimmer version of Pocket Buddy fly box made specifically to hold midge patterns. One-handed operation for quick, easy-open on stream. Saves time fiddling so you fish more. Spring-loaded, the lid eases open with a push of a button so you get at that urgent selection faster. Lid locks back in place with a click, so you know it's shut. Durable ABS plastic and stainless-steel hinge. Ultra-lightweight. Buoyant. Fly box in ripple/ripple foam. Dimensions: 4⅝"L x 3⅜"W x 7/8"D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Review 1 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Decent small fly box,
January 13, 2012
By: essdawg
from Janesville, WI
"I like the size and profile of the Midge Buddy box. The clasp and hinges seem sturdy. The dark foam makes it easy to see the flies. The foam doesn't do a great job of holding the little flies that one would expect to place in a midge box. The #16 to #22 flies in my box are dislodged a little too easily."
Review 2 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice to have,
December 29, 2011
By: Minidriver
"I used this immediately. I am a spinner fisherman by trade and am just getting into fly fishing and I love the size of this compared to a big tackle box. I can carry this in my pocket, open it with one hand and see and get the right fly quickly."
Review 3 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Little Fly Box,
December 15, 2011
By: MNFF
from Minnesota
"Gave this a part of a birthday gift to a friend and it was a hit. She was delighted with its small size, light weight and textured surface. She immediately loaded it with a collection of her favorite small flies and it's ready to go."
Review 4 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works fine,
October 17, 2011
By: lespaul
from CT
"Nice little box that fits in zippered shirts. Nothing fancy but gets the job done"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I HAVE 5,
August 29, 2011
By: NHNH
from LACONIA NH
"THIS IS A GREAT LITTLE BOX, I ALREADY HAVE 5
OF THESE, AND WILL PROBABLY BUY MORE
"
Review 6 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
June 20, 2011
By: Apples18
from London, UK
"Another great product from Orvis. Perfect dry fly box for a day's river fishing"
Review 7 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for me,
August 20, 2010
By: flyfishinggal
from Louisiana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Perfect for the fly fishing gal. Fits in my pocket. Will use often."
Review 8 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Purchase,
August 19, 2010
By: AlanR
from Miami, FL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really like the Midge Buddy, which is very compact. It so easy to open with one hand. Makes changing flys (and lures) so easy. I had some issues with others brands, but not this one. Very convenient! I am going back to get a spare."
Review 9 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midge Buddy Fly Box,
March 22, 2010
By: Humpy
from Utah
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent value. The perfect size to fit in the pocket of my wading jacket. I fumble a bit with the latch but I am a klutz. Like all Orvis products I have purchased, it is a well designed quality product that will not disappoint."
Review 10 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great box, but could be improved,
July 20, 2009
By: Rick
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is a very good box that performs as advertised. I love the way it opens easily in a single hand. This box, and its companion, the Pocket Buddy, could be improved by using white foam rather than charcoal colored foam, thus providing greater background contrast for most flies. Once loaded with flies, it becomes more difficult to distinguish nuances in some classes of flies than would be the case with a white background, especially among midege sizes. A second improvement would be the addition of a tab with a tether hole."
Review 11 for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only box you need,
July 16, 2009
By: flytyingman5000
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I used this fly box the first time and i got to say its great for all types of flies,dry,wet,even a couple of streamers. I know it says in the description only midges well it is not. Remember when you had 3 fly boxes for every kind of fly. Well not anymore with this box it will be the only one you need, so if your tearing you hair out looking for another fly box like me look no further, here it is! And for those who like to travel light it is perfect. I like it the best because it is a super easy opener and easy to get flies out of. The spring loaded part was an excelent
addition it makes it super easy. The lid lid locks very nice and easy and it look very nice. The slimness of it makes you able to store it anywhere. And you know how the description says it is buoyant it really is, I dropped it in a lake and it floated it dosn't say that it is waterproof but not a single fly in the box got wet amazing! It wasn't a waste of money was totally worth it. So if I were you i'd go buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Midge Buddy Fly Box
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1