Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Mini Nipper

A great value for high-quality nippers. This fly fishing tool has precision-ground hardened stainless-steel cutting jaws, molded into a compact housing. Handy, durable, precise.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
15 of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mini Nipper
Review 1 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They get the job done,
December 31, 2012
By: JustCARF
from Chicago, IL
"These mini nippers are perfect, and get the job done. They don't have an eye clearing pick, but I haven't ever had a need for one."
Review 2 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
December 25, 2012
By: caseyfinn
from dunnellon,fl
"bought for husband,he is thrilled its more compact and lighter than his previous one"
Review 3 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compact, easy to hang onto,
October 23, 2012
By: STill
from Endicott, NY
"Compact, yet right there when you need them. Priced right keep 2 or 3 in your pack!"
Review 4 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OK, but not the best,
October 19, 2012
By: Minidriver
from Wheaton, IL
"I got these with my fully loaded pack. I thought, great I wouldn't have to buy a nipper for a while. I tried them and didn't like them because you have to press really hard to cut the line with the plastic casing. Get a good nipper made of all medal, it's worth the extra few dollars."
Review 5 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Terrible,
October 18, 2012
By: DevonTX
from Dallas, TX
"I read the bad reviews, but I figured for $5 I'd give it a try. Waste of money. Do yourself a favor, and buy the Ergonomic Snips instead."
Review 6 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
to snip or not to snip,
October 5, 2012
By: RIKEB
from Hull Yorkshire. England
"Shocking nippers, no way my kids (nippers) could use these, it take me all my strength to nip properly.
Bad product Orvis"
Review 7 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Garbage,
September 16, 2012
By: Gothamist
from New York City
"Gave up using these after a couple of weeks. Couldn't squeeze them hard enough and smoothly enough to make an accurate cut."
Review 8 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mini nipper,
July 14, 2012
By: Philip1958
from London
"Well made BUT the spring is very strong, so, if like me you have arthritic hands you may be better off buying Snips?"
Review 9 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
June 16, 2012
By: CARF
from Chicago, IL
"These mini nippers are perfect, and get the job done. They don't have an eye clearing pick, but I haven't ever had a need for one."
Review 10 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift,
December 31, 2011
By: MimiSapp
from Hartwell, GA
"I ordered several of these for stocking stuffers for the fishermen in the family. they all thought they were great!"
Review 11 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Stocking filler,
December 13, 2011
By: Mummsie
from Highlands of Scotland
"I purchased this item as a stocking filler for my husband - it is great and he will find it very useful whilst fishing and no more fishy tales as to how big the fish was."
Review 12 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
mini nippers o.k. but not great.,
December 10, 2011
By: Garry1000
from Rector Arkansas
"I have a pair of mini nips that I have used on a few fly fishing trips. They will do the job.... but It took awhile for me to get use to them. They are small and it does take s bit of pressure to get them to cut even 6x tippet. After useing them awhile I got better at useing them. They are o.k. on a lanyard being small and light. But I will buy a different size of Orvis nippers next time."
Review 13 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hard to Use,
September 18, 2011
By: Vlad
from Rochester NY
"I do not like these nippers. I can not get a good cut with them. I have to press too hard to get them to cut all the way through. I am a large man, with strong hands. I do not know how a child could use them. Based on the other reviews maybe I got a lemon. Maybe mine are made differently. I am going to throw mine away."
Review 14 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nippers,
July 7, 2011
By: CLDEsq
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I bought two pairs of these nippers; one for my 9 year old son, who is learning to fish; and one for my Mountain Guide Lanyard. They are some of the best nippers I've owned -- a perfect size for the lanyard, and for my son's small fingers. Best of all, they are very economical. Tip: You don't need a zinger for these nippers if you're using them on a lanyard."
Review 15 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very handy,
June 15, 2011
By: seamonkey
from Westchester NY
"very handy little nipper, keep in mind though it has no eye clearing pick on it."
Review 16 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
June 14, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I purchased these along with a mini zinger to attach to my safe passage sling pack. The design is very ergonomic and easier to grip then other nippers I've owned. I also appreciate the small size as they've never gotten in the way or flopped around. My only complaint, and I'm not sure if it's a bad thing, is the action is a bit stiff. That said, it's gotten better wish use and is certainly preferred to a flimsy feeling.
Happy with this purchase."
Review 17 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap (+ Nasty) Snips,
July 19, 2010
By: Limey
from Bath, UK
"Fiddly to use. Plastic body creaks & groans (like I did when I first used them). No needle to clear varnish from hook eyes. Spend the extra money & buy the excellent fly fishers snips instead."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and for use in future product refinements. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all their purchases.
Review 18 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Find me a better pair of snips for $4.95...,
October 17, 2009
By: PoleBrookWulff
from Adirondacks
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For less than $5.00, these make for a great backup pair of snips on your vest or lanyard. Yes, they are small, but they are easy to use and stay sharp. I have no problems cutting the toenails off of those Adirondack hog browns that I'm use to catching!"
Review 19 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 9, 2009
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm not sure just what the other reviewer expected of a five dollar nipper, but I couldn't be happier. The blades cut my tippet (up to 15lb test ... didn't try higher) wonderfully, and the wide pads fit my fingers well. The small size is unobtrusive and remains out of the way when on my vest. Ordering two more for friends."
Review 20 for Mini Nipper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste,
June 16, 2009
By: Georgi
from Park City, UT
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It takes a great deal of pressure to clip.Too small to handle, even for a lady. Spend a little more and go for the real deal. Don't waste your money on this item."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 29, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that they had a hard time using this product. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback as we are constantly tying to find ways to improve our items. Orvis fowarded this feedback to the product developer for review. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.