Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Collapsible Dog Travel Crate

Leave this dog crate folded in your vehicle's cargo area—it's sturdy enough to pile groceries and sports equipment on top. When you need it, just unfold it. This folding dog crate features a hinged door on each end, a flip-up top door, and a large swing-up garage-type side door that slides back under the top. The heavy-gauge plastic top holds up to 100 lbs.; plastic sides and bottom feature rounded corners to protect vehicle and home interiors. Curved solid-steel grid doors. Built-in wheels and handle. Fits in most station wagons, SUVs, and minivans. Includes fleece/nylon crate pad and carrying bag. Folding dog crate in sage. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.32 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
67 of 75(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Review 1 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for purpose, a little wobbly,
July 17, 2015
By: JoanneZ
from Houston, TX
"I bought this crate because our puppy is getting bigger. She is about to outgrow our existing puppy crate, and we need a full size crate for both daily use and emergency hurricane evacuations or potentially vacation travel.
This crate (Medium size) has nice features, so let's start with the positives. It folds up and is nicer than a wire cage. It does include a carry bag and has wheels, also very important for someone with a small frame (such as me) to handle in transport. It does have multiple doors on the crate, so two small doors and one large slide up door. This is an awesome feature and I love it for when I just let her drift in and out of the crate during the day. Padded pull handle is also an awesome feature. The crate also includes the bed liner, which was a pleasant surprise to me since I missed that in the description. The design and functionality of the crate is well thought out, kudos to the designers.
However, it's not the perfect crate and there are some items they could improve. The design allows for a bit of wobble in the crate itself due to the design, number, and location of the secure clips. The design itself could be more robust with some simple design modifications, but that would require additional cost on the manufacturing part for additional clasps to keep the crate squared up. The instructions indicate that the crate is not designed for aggressive dogs or dogs that have excessive chewing. I suspect it is due to the wobble. I didn't notice either of those disclaimers in the description, but that might be a serious limitation for some dog owners. Lucky for me, my 3 month old Samoyed pup is not in those categories. The door locks are difficult to manage. In fact, It takes both hands for me to have the coordination to open the locks. I think this lock is acceptable on the large swing up door, as you shouldn't use it as frequently, but on the side doors this is difficult to manage daily. I have gotten to the point that I just slide the lock part way (enough to keep the door pushed to), but not actually engage the locking mechanism. The swing-up door is really awesome, but doesn't run smooth on the track. When I operate the swing up door, one side sticks a bit in the open / close function. Design could incorporate an aluminum track with bearings to provide smooth operation, but of course this adds weight (even if were talking ounces) to a crate that already weighs 30-ish pounds empty.
Overall, I am happy with my purchase and anticipate using this crate for an extended period of time, both regular daily use and during emergency situations. I have highlighted the areas where I think Orvis could improve the crate, but overall for the cost and design tradeoffs to meet the portability functional requirements, this is an outstanding option. For me, it seems to be worth the cost."
Review 2 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solution!,
June 30, 2015
By: Protection
from Maine
"Easy to set-up and take down. Love it at home (we have two). Travels well in the SUV, and easy to move to/from hotel rooms."
Review 3 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel crate,
December 5, 2014
By: CFMarlo
"Our irish setter/ golden retriever LOVED this crate. I would be tempted to use it daily if we didn't already have a crate. It was easy to move and very sturdy!"
Review 4 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog crate,
November 16, 2014
By: catbsmigs
"have had several crates over the years and none as durable and "easy"as this"
Review 5 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 14, 2014
By: Spicy
from South west
"I am a Lhasa apso and my name is Bear. I love my Orvis collapsible crate! Especially when my mum rewards me with a biscuit just for asking me to go in it! I feel safe, warm and comfortable in it! Also as it easily collapses it can be taken everywhere, so I get to travel too! I thoroughly recommend it and wish all dogs could be as lucky as me!"
Review 6 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish dog luxury house,
November 13, 2014
By: Borisandbumble10
"Luxury collapsible unique and portable dog housing solution we took our puppy to dog friendly cottage and she was so comfortable in her home from home"
Review 7 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy kennel,
November 10, 2014
By: hanz
"I found this item to be worth the additional cost when compared to kennels I have purchased in the past. The sturdy molded plastic material, large swing doors and heavy duty door hinges will likely outlast those crates I've disposed of after only using two or three hunting seasons."
Review 8 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for traveling the dog,
August 29, 2014
By: 1hound
"Nicest feature is not that the crate is collapsible but that it has a side entry door. The side entry allows for easy access when crate is being used in an SUV's luggage area when all seats in the vehicle are employed. Nice to have purchased it."
Review 9 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made and sporty looking,
June 30, 2014
By: TaraC
"While it was a tad heavy as mentioned by others it is still a quality crate and packs up nicely. Has wheels to help you move it once set up. Would recommend this crate."
Review 10 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sturdy dog crate,
June 19, 2014
By: jfiavarone3629
"Have tried several travel dog crates for large dogs this one seems to work well."
Review 11 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crate,
May 19, 2014
By: OSUNuke
"Worked great in our 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit. Our 100lb GSD fits great!"
Review 12 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super product,
April 16, 2014
By: JimMac17
from North Carolina
"Very pleased with this dog crate. The small size is perfect for our Min Pin. Excellent construction. Some older reviews mentioned plastic clips; my model has two medal clips per door. Bedding pad is a plus. Should provide many years of use."
Review 13 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would not buy again,
April 13, 2014
By: Gracy
from Minnesota
"It very heavy and difficult to put up. Would not recommend as a portable dog kennel. It's meant to be a stationary kennel. Disappointed"
Review 14 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Travel Crate,
April 10, 2014
By: rphoto
from Mt. Juliet , Tn.
"Initial use I have been very pleased with the travel crate , I like the many openings to place the dog in the crate . It also allows fresh air to flow easily through the crate . The only negative so far is the rattles that it has when traveling . I plan on taking care of that before a long road trip ."
Review 15 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this crate,
March 28, 2014
By: SaltyGirl
from Cape Cod
"This is a great travel crate. Sturdy and goes together quickly. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is the bed it comes with. The bed is very thin and not of the same quality as the crate. I had to put a pad under the bed to make it softer."
Review 16 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collapsible dog travel crate,
March 11, 2014
By: JBfloridian
from Sarasota , Florida
"I love this crate! It is very well made..easy to fold up , configure , and carry around. The wheels come in very handy in the airport. My dog Cody seems to enjoy sitting in it in my car and the openness and ease of access make it a dream to use. I highly recommend this crate for anyone who loves their dog!"
Review 17 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Collapsible Dog Bed,
March 6, 2014
By: KPaauw
"The bed was great quality and was easily assembled. Lots of windows for dog to see out on all sides and the pad was comfortable and fit well. The only issue for me was that it was heavier than expected."
Review 18 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crate for our New Puppy,
January 28, 2014
By: DBF1
from Oak Ridge, TN
"Although we do not have our puppy yet, the crate is assembled and ready to welcome him home! It is undoubtedly the nicest looking crate we have purchased. Crate fairly easy to assemble and looking forward to taking on trips."
Review 19 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 24, 2014
By: LoveMyBeagle
from Montvale, NJ
"this product was easy to assemble and fits in my truck perfectly. my beagle is very cozy in it!"
Review 20 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great crate!,
January 16, 2014
By: NorthByNorthwest
from Seattle, WA
"This is a great item. Durable and lightweight, and it breaks down easily for traveling. A must have!!"