Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Collapsible Dog Travel Crate

Leave this dog crate folded in your vehicle's cargo area—it's sturdy enough to pile groceries and sports equipment on top. When you need it, just unfold it. This folding dog crate features a hinged door on each end, a flip-up top door, and a large swing-up garage-type side door that slides back under the top. The heavy-gauge plastic top holds up to 100 lbs.; plastic sides and bottom feature rounded corners to protect vehicle and home interiors. Curved solid-steel grid doors. Built-in wheels and handle. Fits in most station wagons, SUVs, and minivans. Includes fleece/nylon crate pad and carrying bag. Folding dog crate in sage. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
56 of 64(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Review 1 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super product,
April 16, 2014
By: JimMac17
from North Carolina
"Very pleased with this dog crate. The small size is perfect for our Min Pin. Excellent construction. Some older reviews mentioned plastic clips; my model has two medal clips per door. Bedding pad is a plus. Should provide many years of use."
Review 2 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would not buy again,
April 13, 2014
By: Gracy
from Minnesota
"It very heavy and difficult to put up. Would not recommend as a portable dog kennel. It's meant to be a stationary kennel. Disappointed"
Review 3 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Travel Crate,
April 10, 2014
By: rphoto
from Mt. Juliet , Tn.
"Initial use I have been very pleased with the travel crate , I like the many openings to place the dog in the crate . It also allows fresh air to flow easily through the crate . The only negative so far is the rattles that it has when traveling . I plan on taking care of that before a long road trip ."
Review 4 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this crate,
March 28, 2014
By: SaltyGirl
from Cape Cod
"This is a great travel crate. Sturdy and goes together quickly. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is the bed it comes with. The bed is very thin and not of the same quality as the crate. I had to put a pad under the bed to make it softer."
Review 5 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collapsible dog travel crate,
March 11, 2014
By: JBfloridian
from Sarasota , Florida
"I love this crate! It is very well made..easy to fold up , configure , and carry around. The wheels come in very handy in the airport. My dog Cody seems to enjoy sitting in it in my car and the openness and ease of access make it a dream to use. I highly recommend this crate for anyone who loves their dog!"
Review 6 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Collapsible Dog Bed,
March 6, 2014
By: KPaauw
"The bed was great quality and was easily assembled. Lots of windows for dog to see out on all sides and the pad was comfortable and fit well. The only issue for me was that it was heavier than expected."
Review 7 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crate for our New Puppy,
January 28, 2014
By: DBF1
from Oak Ridge, TN
"Although we do not have our puppy yet, the crate is assembled and ready to welcome him home! It is undoubtedly the nicest looking crate we have purchased. Crate fairly easy to assemble and looking forward to taking on trips."
Review 8 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 24, 2014
By: LoveMyBeagle
from Montvale, NJ
"this product was easy to assemble and fits in my truck perfectly. my beagle is very cozy in it!"
Review 9 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great crate!,
January 16, 2014
By: NorthByNorthwest
from Seattle, WA
"This is a great item. Durable and lightweight, and it breaks down easily for traveling. A must have!!"
Review 10 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic dog crate,
September 25, 2013
By: DebiDiamond
from Windham, Maine
"This is a fantastic dog crate! All the doors are wonderful, it makes it easy to put my dog in and take her out. I only wish the company that makes this would change the tabs to a stronger material and I would like it in other colors! I do not have anything in green. What I would like to see is a slate gray and off white to go with other items for travel that I have purchased! Please, please I BEG YOU!!!"
Review 11 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy, Good looking crate,
September 24, 2013
By: DCCapitalDog
"I purchased this crate because I needed something sturdy, but portable for traveling. This fits the bill. It is also good looking so I don't mind having it in my living-room when we have company overnight. It does appear to be well-constructed with the exception of the plastic clips, which prevent a 5-star rating. Given the cost, the clips should be metal.
It is heavy, but the wheels really make this a non-issue. Measure both the rear of your car and your dog. I got the medium the first time I ordered and it fit the jeep but my 55lb Vizsla did not fit comfortably. I ended up returning it and ordering the large. The large is probably too big, but he is more comfortable and it still fits in the Jeep."
Review 12 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality, a little heavy,
September 17, 2013
By: ClaireA
from Oxfordshire
"The crate is sturdy and well made, but check the weight out before you buy. It does have wheels, though.
I found it a little too heavy for occasional use and so, despite having disposed of the packaging, returned it. I have to say that the customer service was unsurpassed."
Review 13 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
September 13, 2013
By: SchnauzLover
from Plano, TX
"This is our second one of these crates. On the first one, the plastic clips that secure the doors broke. Orvis was very accommodating in replacing the entire crate with a new one. However, with the second crate, the door is difficult to slide in and out and is frustrating.
I really like the color and the component of the crate and hope the clips last on this one. At least now I know that Orvis can replace the clips if they break!"
Review 14 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
questionable lifespan,
August 13, 2013
By: Sofi
"Looks nice, receives compliments "nice crate!!....", but I question it's longevity. Key to it's operation are little plastic parts that look to be easily broken. Pretty expensive to have everything depend on a small plastic piece! I bought it so I could transport and set up myself, rather than the big one we have that takes two to move. Difficult to set up and take down, poor instructions. May get easier with practice, but a real disappointment for now... I rate it four not because it is awesome, but simply because it is sturdier than those made of mere mesh that a dog could easily escape, but it could be better... and should be for the money!"
Review 15 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 18, 2013
By: KeikiLouise
"So far so good with this crate! We are using it to travel with our new puppy and have set the crate up and folded it down 4 or 5 times already. It gets easier the more you use it. The directions aren't the best, but once you figure out the sequence on set up and reverse for collapse, it worked great."
Review 16 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Crate,
May 13, 2013
By: mencasey
from Albuquerque, NM
"I normally do not write reviews but this crate deserves a review. It is so easy to set up. It almost did it by itself. The small crate is going to be large enough when the 3 month old puppy grows up. Morgie loves to curl up in it now and take a nap."
Review 17 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Quality Produce,
April 10, 2013
By: Lanci
from Topsail Island N.C.
"This is the most versitile dog crate I've ever owned or have seen.
The portability and quality of construction is superior. I also find the flexability of the multiple assess doors to be a big plus
"
Review 18 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent, but...,
February 26, 2013
By: Cebula
from Bloomington, IN
"Excellent travel crate, high quality except for the nine clips, which need to be made sturdier. We have an 85-lb English labrador retriever; dog fits, but snugly. The largest crate would not fit in our vehicle; this one will work for us. Dog likes it. The wheels are a nice feature. We just hope that none of the nine clips break. And I'm very satisfied with Orvis."
Review 19 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Collapsible dog crate,
February 6, 2013
By: Doggie12
"Easily assembled,good features; two openings, wheels and solid top and carrying case. Bought this for new puppy. Wish manufacturer made divider to utilize for house training."
Review 20 for Collapsible Dog Travel Crate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect For My Needs,
February 5, 2013
By: madamemonique
from Albuquerque
"I really like your "Collapsible Dog Travel Crate." When I placed it in the back seat of my truck however, the gates really rattled against the plastic frame. Suggestion, at the openings where the gates meet the plastic frames that you install (from the factory) felt to keep the squeaky noise away. I applied aftermarket felt stips with one side that stuck to the frame and now that bed is perfect for my needs."