Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (194 reviews)
5 stars
162
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
184 of 194(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good looking, quality suffers,
June 30, 2015
By: StevenE
from South Florida
"My wife recommend I purchase these because a friend had one and she loved it. I bought two and both came with a manufacturing defects. One had a lock handle that was broken and the other had misaligned threading which made attaching an extension a difficult endeavor.
With that said, Orvis is sending a replacement gate for the one with the broken lock handle so that's good.
I wanted to love these but simply can't given these inconveniences due to shabby manufacturing, especially at this price level.
"
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally! A sturdy gate!,
June 19, 2015
By: TallyN
from Coronado, Ca
"This gate has several great features. First, it is far more sturdy and nice looking then any gate you'll find at a pet store. Second, do to the Super thick / dense rubber pads and well crafted attaching mechanism it is unmovable once secured to the wall or doorway. Third, it works for both indoor and outdoor use."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution,
June 16, 2015
By: JackieJo
from Spring Branch, TX
"Having a young dog and training her to play with her toys in the home office has been made so much easier with this gate. The little dog can see out where the two older dogs are and also not feel alone when we have to leave the house. The gate is superior quality and very attractive, having a lift latch to pass through with ease. It is sturdy and easy to install without tools."
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate Ever,
June 16, 2015
By: BChesh
from Great Falls, VA
"The gate comes out of the box ready to install. I have a 42 inch opening so I needed the extension piece. The rubber pads that hold the gate to the frame are the best I have ever seen. We train dogs and I have gone through several gates, but this one will last."
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate ever,
June 15, 2015
By: LabgalMickey
from Indianapolis, IN
"One of my girlfriends has owned this dog gate for some time now. I am getting my home "puppy" ready again. I purchased two of the gates and love them. No stepping over or removing gates to accommodate people! They are very sturdy and attractive in any home. Thank You Orvis for another quality product."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect dog gate,
June 12, 2015
By: HappyCustomer85
from Kent
"Excellent quality and fantastic looking dog gate. Well worth spending the extra money, it's strong, blends in with our decor and is easy to open and close. It took minutes from opening the box, to having it in position. Great purchase! Thank you."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
June 5, 2015
By: K94pal
"Strudy, well made product that's easy to install, remove & re-install in standard doorways"
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
May 25, 2015
By: rrsin
from midwest
"Easy to install, attractive, and functional latch."
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical & looks great,
May 14, 2015
By: 369Heather14
from Berwick upon Tweed. GB
"The doorway gate was easy to fit, sturdy design, easy flip over latch to open and close, no fiddling with catches etc, and it has the bonus of looking great. I put it between my kitchen and dining room. Highly recommended."
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
May 4, 2015
By: lfalgo3
"Good looking and highly functional. Would recommend to any dog owner that has the need for it."
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Gate,
April 20, 2015
By: LBgrrr
from Peterborough, NH
"We have a custom built house with a lot of wrought iron. This is the third gate I have purchased from Orvis. The high price merely shows that the gate is of excellent quality. It is very easy to install after some assembly. No tools needed. We ordered the extensions due to our large hallways. They work great and the dogs get it."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog gate,
April 17, 2015
By: goram
from Palm Beach, Fl.
"This is a very good looking and well built gate. It's look great and works great. You can be installed in no time . Great item"
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product,
April 6, 2015
By: angwilla
from Long Beach New York
"If you get as crazy as I do about how you home looks and need an easy way to assist with controlling your four legged friends this is a great solution. Out of the box this gate fit properly and not a blemish on it. Easy to set up and it fits right in."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fence,
April 1, 2015
By: lynneb
"Very easy to put up, easy to open and good looking! This is a great dog gate!"
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate!,
March 23, 2015
By: Kim10
from Upstate, NY
"Bought this to keep my puppities corralled in our 1890's Victorian home. This gate is solid, easy to install, and looks great. We love that you can simply lift the latch and walk through, and neither my larger dog, nor my tiny one can get through it. Plus, it is so well made that my "could break a steel ball with a rubber hammer" teenagers can't break it, and we have had it installed for over a year. Such a huge upgrade from my prior gates."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Metal hallway gate,
March 18, 2015
By: Katheen1
"Excellent gate. Took it out of the box and easily adjusted it to fix the hallway opening. I have large dogs that need to be contained. I'm ordering another one to use downstairs."
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate Ever!,
March 5, 2015
By: WindyCityDogs
from Chicago, IL
"This gate was perfect right out of the box! Easy to mount. Easy to open/close gate. Beautiful to look at. My dogs don't chew or challenge a gate so the only thing I can think would be a problem is a dog that chews could chew the plastic wall mount discs."
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last! Beauty and function together,
March 5, 2015
By: QuipMC
from California
"I received this gate two days ago and installed it in moments. It's simply perfect. I use it near the bottom of my staircase to keep the dogs from coming upstairs when I need to work quietly and don't need the puppy trying to forage for interesting things to chew in my office.
In years past we'd used baby gates - ugly and flimsy - plus a very nice homebrew plexiglass barrier with a cross rod that was attractive and minimalist but required constant install/removal for each use and required that I step over it to go up and down the stairs...which was becoming annoying.
This gate is attractive, solid, and can stay in place because we can open and step through as needed and leave it open when appropriate. The latch mechanism is simpler and nicer than I realized from the photos. The only thing I would do to improve it - and I will be down to the hardware store to find the right thing to use - would be to add black sleeves over the exposed adjustable side bumper screw threads so that part looks more finished. Easy after-market fix, but it would be nice if Orvis asked the manufacturer to include something like that."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertized,
February 26, 2015
By: 2Jupiter
from New Jersey
"Leonberger puppy, a giant breed,so far has not pushed through the gate as he has with the others we installed. Thinking about ordering the hall gates also."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
February 4, 2015
By: raywri7801
from Colorado
"No Assembly required! Quality and perfect for the dogs."