Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (203 reviews)
5 stars
170
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
4
193 of 203(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Functional Pet Gate,
August 30, 2015
By: DoggieDrB
from Scottsdale, AZ
"I already had one of these gates in my home for over 2 years now. I absolutely love it. I needed a second one to block off my new dog from another part of my house. Unfortunately I didn't realize that even though the smaller gate would expand to fit this second area, it left too big of a gap so my Maltese could squeeze through. I have to return it for the bigger size, which is a pain since now I have to wait even longer to get my new gate. I highly recommend this gate! It's beautiful and it'sl so nice to just be able to walk right through it rather than have to step over it or slide it out of the way like other gates."
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sturdy decorative gate,
August 27, 2015
By: APfromDenver
from Denver, CO
"I bought this gate to keep my elderly mother from going up the stairs to minimize her fall risk. Coupled with the 5" extension leaf, it was able to bridge across my stairway. The tension screws are good but I used a couple of fasteners in each rubber pads to secure the gates properly. You can also add a hasp lock for additional locking."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
August 14, 2015
By: Puppygate
from Highlands Ranch, CO
"Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate is not only attractive, it is sturdy and both easy to install and move from place to place. One of its best features is that it opens in either direction. It can be used indoors or out and looks like it is part of the wrought iron railing on my deck. Pricey, but worth it!"
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
August 3, 2015
By: LindaJolicoeurD1217
from Waterford, MI
"I saw this gate at a friends house and thought they were much better than the baby gates I had been using. Dogs can't knock it down and it is easy to get in and out without having to take down the entire gate."
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
July 28, 2015
By: Angie59
from Charlotte,NC
"Very stylish for a pet gate and robust using outdoors for a walk way on a covered deck."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gate ever,
July 16, 2015
By: Alisonandmydogs
from West Sussex, UK
"I wanted a gate that looked smart yet provided total security for my dogs. This gate does both 100%. Not only does the gate look solid but it feels solid, and the rubber screw knobs provide the best tension fitting I've ever come across. The ability to open the gate either way is a fabulous bonus. Everyone comments on how smart it looks and how easy it is to open/close, unlike some that fall down in the process. I can't express how over-the-moon I am with this buy. The best money I've ever spent."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works!!!,
July 16, 2015
By: OwnedbyaGSD
from Arlington VA
"We recently moved to a new rental and our kitchen opens directly to the driveway and road. the kitchen door open is while cooking and is also most used entry into the house. We needed a gate which would be easy to open and keep her inside + be sturdy.
The couple of days we have used the gate - this is THE gate for the house.
I think the money spent has been worth the
I just have 1 ask: the rubber tabs holding the gate to wall should come in two colors- black and white (most common doorways colors)
PS: We will see how this holds up to in the cold weather."
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best pet gate,
July 15, 2015
By: Lor8888
"Heavy duty, sturdy and reliable gate. Does not hurt your walls when installed in doorway. Gate has wide opening for exit. Simple and elegantly styled."
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Door Frame Gate,
July 8, 2015
By: gunnersmom
from Monterey California
"Door is very attractive and easy to install. Was up within five minutes of coming out of the box. Was worth every penny to get my livingroom back! This IS my best purchase ever!"
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Good looking, quality suffers,
June 30, 2015
By: StevenE
from South Florida
"My wife recommend I purchase these because a friend had one and she loved it. I bought two and both came with a manufacturing defects. One had a lock handle that was broken and the other had misaligned threading which made attaching an extension a difficult endeavor.
With that said, Orvis is sending a replacement gate for the one with the broken lock handle so that's good.
I wanted to love these but simply can't given these inconveniences due to shabby manufacturing, especially at this price level.
"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally! A sturdy gate!,
June 19, 2015
By: TallyN
from Coronado, Ca
"This gate has several great features. First, it is far more sturdy and nice looking then any gate you'll find at a pet store. Second, do to the Super thick / dense rubber pads and well crafted attaching mechanism it is unmovable once secured to the wall or doorway. Third, it works for both indoor and outdoor use."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution,
June 16, 2015
By: JackieJo
from Spring Branch, TX
"Having a young dog and training her to play with her toys in the home office has been made so much easier with this gate. The little dog can see out where the two older dogs are and also not feel alone when we have to leave the house. The gate is superior quality and very attractive, having a lift latch to pass through with ease. It is sturdy and easy to install without tools."
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate Ever,
June 16, 2015
By: BChesh
from Great Falls, VA
"The gate comes out of the box ready to install. I have a 42 inch opening so I needed the extension piece. The rubber pads that hold the gate to the frame are the best I have ever seen. We train dogs and I have gone through several gates, but this one will last."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate ever,
June 15, 2015
By: LabgalMickey
from Indianapolis, IN
"One of my girlfriends has owned this dog gate for some time now. I am getting my home "puppy" ready again. I purchased two of the gates and love them. No stepping over or removing gates to accommodate people! They are very sturdy and attractive in any home. Thank You Orvis for another quality product."
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect dog gate,
June 12, 2015
By: HappyCustomer85
from Kent
"Excellent quality and fantastic looking dog gate. Well worth spending the extra money, it's strong, blends in with our decor and is easy to open and close. It took minutes from opening the box, to having it in position. Great purchase! Thank you."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the cost,
June 5, 2015
By: K94pal
"Strudy, well made product that's easy to install, remove & re-install in standard doorways"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
May 25, 2015
By: rrsin
from midwest
"Easy to install, attractive, and functional latch."
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practical & looks great,
May 14, 2015
By: 369Heather14
from Berwick upon Tweed. GB
"The doorway gate was easy to fit, sturdy design, easy flip over latch to open and close, no fiddling with catches etc, and it has the bonus of looking great. I put it between my kitchen and dining room. Highly recommended."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
May 4, 2015
By: lfalgo3
"Good looking and highly functional. Would recommend to any dog owner that has the need for it."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Gate,
April 20, 2015
By: LBgrrr
from Peterborough, NH
"We have a custom built house with a lot of wrought iron. This is the third gate I have purchased from Orvis. The high price merely shows that the gate is of excellent quality. It is very easy to install after some assembly. No tools needed. We ordered the extensions due to our large hallways. They work great and the dogs get it."