Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
137 of 146(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased!,
August 8, 2014
By: redwoodboxers
from Western North Carolina
"Read the other reviews before purchasing and found that all the positive comments were well warranted. Two energetic Boxers have know been contained at our office. Super quick shipping!"
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dog gate,
August 8, 2014
By: Terriermomma
"This is our third, and I think, last dog gate. The first one did not attach to the walls (on purpose). The dogs learned to move it. The second one was a slider, except the dogs learned to slide it and get through, so we fastened the slider. It broke after being tripped over too many times. This gate has a wonderful, easy door to step through and is unmovable. Finally, a dog gate I can live with. Wish I had bought it first....except it wasn't available back then. Recommended at the price, which granted is high, but it works well and won't break!"
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best looking gate I could find.,
August 6, 2014
By: Puz48
"Well made, good looking, easy to install, easy to operate. I love it. My Tibetan Terrier can open the dishwasher, cabinet drawers..even the freezer...but so far, so good."
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 30, 2014
By: David1947
"I bought this gate to replace a plastic child gate we used to keep our new dog in the kitchen. Product was as described in catalog. Easily installed and great looking easy to operate. We are considering ordering a second one for our vacation home."
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great.,
July 27, 2014
By: Zeus07
"We were so impresessed with the way it looks and works that we ended up getting 3 of them"
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding quality and design,
July 22, 2014
By: dogstayout
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"This dog gate is the best quality I can imagine. The latch is wonderful and the entire gate is sturdy and indestructible. I think my grand kids will be using this gate to keep their dogs in check."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Walk-Through Gate,
July 15, 2014
By: Lizzie1
from College Station, TX
"We like these iron-door gates and now have two of them. The gate is heavy, sturdy, easy to put up, and works nicely. The door opens and closes easily for humans and the gate keeps the dogs (three, each 50 pounds) where they belong. Plus, the gate is easy on the eyes!"
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best "puppy" gate ever!,
July 15, 2014
By: sallybrown
"The wrought iron gate is perfect! We purchased it to keep our Corgi in our mudroom at night or when we are out of the house. It is sturdy, "chew-proof", and looks great! Definitely recommend!"
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Doggie Gate,
June 12, 2014
By: Abenaki
from Central NH.
"This is simply a VERY well engineered and VERY well made dog gate.
At first I was concerned that it could hold back our rambunctious golden retriever but the friction pads can be adjusted to fit very securely against opposing wall surfaces. I find this system far superior to have to drill holes for mounting brackets and what's more, it makes it "portable" if you wish to use it elsewhere in your home without have to move brackets and leave behind screw holes.
It is also very attractive and shouldn't be an eyesore at all in most homes.
Overall, I am exceptionally pleased with this gate. It more than met my expectations in all regards."
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 11, 2014
By: Zeus07
"Great quality. Very impressed with the gates. They look very nice and are very easy to use"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed!,
June 5, 2014
By: akmm
from Westport, CT
"This is our first purchase from Orvis. We were impressed at how quickly we received the gate and even more impressed with the quality of the product. IT is exactly as described. Will definitely recommend to family and friends."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: MRedWI
from Wisconsin
"Heavy duty gate that looks nice. I installed it in a bedroom doorway and you can place it so you are still able to close the door with the gate in place. Very easy to install."
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
May 16, 2014
By: TyeSonney
"We bought this product to keep the dogs out of our bedrooms. It appears to be a very well constructed product that was quite easy to assemble. We are very happy with our purchase."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
April 29, 2014
By: ScottTEX
from Texas
"This is the second one of these dog gates we have purchased. This one is the door width one. They are very well made and well finished. The mounting process wedges the gates in the doorway tightly and securely without marring the finish on the woodwork."
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
April 29, 2014
By: kel80mak
from Dallas, TX
"This gate is SUPER heavy duty and exactly what we were looking for to contain 3 mischievous scottish terriers. There is no damage to our walls, easy assembly, and no complaints at all."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
April 21, 2014
By: devil666
"this gate is perfect between kitchen and family room, looks nice opens easily and is a nice time out gate for our 55 lb. golden retriv. puppy"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
April 19, 2014
By: Newpuppyowner
from Grand Blanc, MI
"This gate is perfect for helping keep our new puppy from roaming he house. It is also very handsome and well made. Hope it stands the test of a house with 4 kids and 3 dogs."
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate by Far,
April 12, 2014
By: devlingirl
from San Francisco Bay Area
"We have had this gate for over a year now and I still love it for so many reasons. The daily easy of use is wonderful since the door swings both ways and the latch is so simple yet very effective. It is a strong, good looking gate that holds back our 300 lbs of dog! (1 Great Dane and 2 Ridgebacks). It is easy to install yet doesn't budge when the dogs jump on it or push against it. I will be buying another one in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful product!"
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gate,
April 11, 2014
By: Stacwilly
from Galloway NJ
"This gate is perfect and very nice looking. Love how it swings open both ways!!! Orvis is a great place to shop. And we received it very quick!! Also bought the extension that you can order separate and everything is just perfect about it!! Thanks :)"
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY!!,
April 1, 2014
By: HeatherE1970
"We have been searching for a substantial gate to contain our very jumpy and strong, Vizsla puppy. This is the first gate he respects and does not barrel right through. Even if he does jump on the gate, it is heavy enough that he can't budge it. Thank you ORVIS, worth every penny!"