Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.626 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
104
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
122 of 131(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
April 21, 2014
By: devil666
"this gate is perfect between kitchen and family room, looks nice opens easily and is a nice time out gate for our 55 lb. golden retriv. puppy"
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
April 19, 2014
By: Newpuppyowner
from Grand Blanc, MI
"This gate is perfect for helping keep our new puppy from roaming he house. It is also very handsome and well made. Hope it stands the test of a house with 4 kids and 3 dogs."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate by Far,
April 12, 2014
By: devlingirl
from San Francisco Bay Area
"We have had this gate for over a year now and I still love it for so many reasons. The daily easy of use is wonderful since the door swings both ways and the latch is so simple yet very effective. It is a strong, good looking gate that holds back our 300 lbs of dog! (1 Great Dane and 2 Ridgebacks). It is easy to install yet doesn't budge when the dogs jump on it or push against it. I will be buying another one in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful product!"
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gate,
April 11, 2014
By: Stacwilly
from Galloway NJ
"This gate is perfect and very nice looking. Love how it swings open both ways!!! Orvis is a great place to shop. And we received it very quick!! Also bought the extension that you can order separate and everything is just perfect about it!! Thanks :)"
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY!!,
April 1, 2014
By: HeatherE1970
"We have been searching for a substantial gate to contain our very jumpy and strong, Vizsla puppy. This is the first gate he respects and does not barrel right through. Even if he does jump on the gate, it is heavy enough that he can't budge it. Thank you ORVIS, worth every penny!"
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
March 17, 2014
By: ScottTEX
"The wrought-Iron construction makes for a very rigid gate. The adjusters on the ends are substantial and easily adjusted for a nice tight fit in the door or walk way."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
March 17, 2014
By: KCCooper
"Very happy with this gate. We have 2 golden retrievers & 1 is a pup and we need to keep them separate at times and this gate is doing it's job. They abuse it constantly trying to get to ea. other pushing with force on the gate and at times mouthing the bars and the gate stays in place and doesn't get scratched. Still looks good as new. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
February 18, 2014
By: Bdevaux
from Jacksonville, FL
"Product is a well made quality product. I knew it was perfect as I was pulling it out of the box. Does its job and looks nice!"
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect solution,
February 17, 2014
By: Snilloce
from Hot Springs, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I searched the internet for a gate to keep our Aussie puppy in the kitchen and office areas of our home. She chews wood and knocks down our current gates as they can't adjust properly because of our baseboards. This gate arrived in one day and is so great we are ordering another one. Definitely top rate gate!"
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made and an excellent fit,
February 17, 2014
By: Richlee
from Wisconsin
"This gate is very well made and fits our hallway perfectly, thanks to the adjustable sides. It looks nice and works very easy. I liked how simple it was to install, no tools needed!"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST Gate EVER!,
February 7, 2014
By: Lee23
from Great Barrington, MA
"This is the sturdiest, BEST gate we have EVER purchased! Our dog is a chewer, jumper and very strong weighing now at 60lbs. The gate comes ready to use and it took just a couple of minutes to put into place. Even when our dog runs and jumps at this gate full force it doesn't budge and it stays in place! We no longer have to worry about her chewing on this gate because it isn't made out of wood. I also love that we can swing it open both ways. I guess the saying, "You get what you pay for" is true. This gate is worth the money and is PRICELESS! We are beyond pleased and we highly recommmend this sturdy, out of the box ready to use attractive gate!"
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This gate is a sanity-saver,
January 6, 2014
By: 4dogrescue
from Chesterfield, MO
"When we moved to our new house, we decided to manage our three rambunctious dogs, who are fond of storming the front door whenever anyone knocks. We purchased two gates, which have allowed us to easily contain our German Shepherd, Golden Pyr, and Terrier Mix, and to separate them when necessary. Our dogs aren't the sort to push over gates, but I think these would be difficult to get through, in any case. I wish we hadn't waited so long to buy these, as we could have used them in our last house."
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gate,
January 3, 2014
By: burt00000
"we have a 84 lb German Shepard puppy and this gate works like a charm. If we need her to stay in one room she won't move this gate and she respect it.. had to get another one.. Its a god sent thank you try it out"
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong, effective gate,
January 3, 2014
By: RJRS
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Attractive appearance gate that is easy to install and yet strong enough to easily support dogs leaning weight. The open/close latch is easy to operate. Probably strength related is a base bar across the bottom that you can stump your toes on in the dark but overall this is an excellent product"
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Gate is Perfect!,
December 30, 2013
By: N1fromTTown
from Toledo, OH
"We have used several plastic gates in the past to keep our dogs confined to half the house. They have always been a hassle. Now that our family is expanding, and we have grand-dogs, we wanted something more stable. This is perfect. It is easy to fit into the door way, VERY stable, and very easy to open / shut the gate. No more hurling ourselves over. I will probably order another one sometime this year."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog gate for wider doors,
December 27, 2013
By: Pdxlady
"This gate works very well & looks good too. We have 2 dogs and love that we can have a strong nice looking gate to keep the critters in the kitchen area."
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Dog Gate,
December 23, 2013
By: Webster18
from Loudonville, NY
"This is a wonderful product. It is attractive, requires no assembly and adjusts to the door frame's width easily. The gate swings in and out and latches securely. The product is heavy and well-constructed. It may be a little costly but it's worth every penny. I wish I'd found this gate years ago."
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Dog Gate,
December 7, 2013
By: Snowden
"These gates are beautiful. I bought one and ended up buying two more. I also have an extension for one gate and two extensions for another. Every part of the gate is top quality and the door opens and swings easily. The only caveat I would offer is that the distance from the end of the gate to the wall, with the ends caps screwed all the way in, is 2.5 inches. If the gate needs to be extended more than 1/4 inch on each side, my 7 lb. yorkie/poodle can squeeze through between the sides and the wall. So, we ordered for tight fit, and the large gate with an extension was a half inch too big for the door jamb. However, we found we could cut 1/4 inch off of each rubber end piece to get a perfect fit and not ruin the integrity of the end pieces."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very sturdy Gate,
November 14, 2013
By: woodiesblue
from Epsom
"Ordered the Hallway Gate (extra wide) So easy to operate. and easily opens both ways. It is possible to open the gate whilst carrying things in your arms. Customer service is very friendly and quickly answers on the phone any quires. It is more expensive than most, but so sturdy. My dogs have broken the many gates with shear force, but this gate stands up to robust dogs."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong & attractive,
November 13, 2013
By: drmpp
from Midlothian, VA
"Gate fits nicely at the bottom of our stairwell and is quite strong."