Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (140 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
131 of 140(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Walk-Through Gate,
July 15, 2014
By: Lizzie1
from College Station, TX
"We like these iron-door gates and now have two of them. The gate is heavy, sturdy, easy to put up, and works nicely. The door opens and closes easily for humans and the gate keeps the dogs (three, each 50 pounds) where they belong. Plus, the gate is easy on the eyes!"
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best "puppy" gate ever!,
July 15, 2014
By: sallybrown
"The wrought iron gate is perfect! We purchased it to keep our Corgi in our mudroom at night or when we are out of the house. It is sturdy, "chew-proof", and looks great! Definitely recommend!"
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Doggie Gate,
June 12, 2014
By: Abenaki
from Central NH.
"This is simply a VERY well engineered and VERY well made dog gate.
At first I was concerned that it could hold back our rambunctious golden retriever but the friction pads can be adjusted to fit very securely against opposing wall surfaces. I find this system far superior to have to drill holes for mounting brackets and what's more, it makes it "portable" if you wish to use it elsewhere in your home without have to move brackets and leave behind screw holes.
It is also very attractive and shouldn't be an eyesore at all in most homes.
Overall, I am exceptionally pleased with this gate. It more than met my expectations in all regards."
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 11, 2014
By: Zeus07
"Great quality. Very impressed with the gates. They look very nice and are very easy to use"
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed!,
June 5, 2014
By: akmm
from Westport, CT
"This is our first purchase from Orvis. We were impressed at how quickly we received the gate and even more impressed with the quality of the product. IT is exactly as described. Will definitely recommend to family and friends."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: MRedWI
from Wisconsin
"Heavy duty gate that looks nice. I installed it in a bedroom doorway and you can place it so you are still able to close the door with the gate in place. Very easy to install."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
May 16, 2014
By: TyeSonney
"We bought this product to keep the dogs out of our bedrooms. It appears to be a very well constructed product that was quite easy to assemble. We are very happy with our purchase."
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
April 29, 2014
By: ScottTEX
from Texas
"This is the second one of these dog gates we have purchased. This one is the door width one. They are very well made and well finished. The mounting process wedges the gates in the doorway tightly and securely without marring the finish on the woodwork."
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
April 29, 2014
By: kel80mak
from Dallas, TX
"This gate is SUPER heavy duty and exactly what we were looking for to contain 3 mischievous scottish terriers. There is no damage to our walls, easy assembly, and no complaints at all."
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate,
April 21, 2014
By: devil666
"this gate is perfect between kitchen and family room, looks nice opens easily and is a nice time out gate for our 55 lb. golden retriv. puppy"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made,
April 19, 2014
By: Newpuppyowner
from Grand Blanc, MI
"This gate is perfect for helping keep our new puppy from roaming he house. It is also very handsome and well made. Hope it stands the test of a house with 4 kids and 3 dogs."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate by Far,
April 12, 2014
By: devlingirl
from San Francisco Bay Area
"We have had this gate for over a year now and I still love it for so many reasons. The daily easy of use is wonderful since the door swings both ways and the latch is so simple yet very effective. It is a strong, good looking gate that holds back our 300 lbs of dog! (1 Great Dane and 2 Ridgebacks). It is easy to install yet doesn't budge when the dogs jump on it or push against it. I will be buying another one in the near future. Thank you for a wonderful product!"
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gate,
April 11, 2014
By: Stacwilly
from Galloway NJ
"This gate is perfect and very nice looking. Love how it swings open both ways!!! Orvis is a great place to shop. And we received it very quick!! Also bought the extension that you can order separate and everything is just perfect about it!! Thanks :)"
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINALLY!!,
April 1, 2014
By: HeatherE1970
"We have been searching for a substantial gate to contain our very jumpy and strong, Vizsla puppy. This is the first gate he respects and does not barrel right through. Even if he does jump on the gate, it is heavy enough that he can't budge it. Thank you ORVIS, worth every penny!"
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
March 17, 2014
By: ScottTEX
"The wrought-Iron construction makes for a very rigid gate. The adjusters on the ends are substantial and easily adjusted for a nice tight fit in the door or walk way."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
March 17, 2014
By: KCCooper
"Very happy with this gate. We have 2 golden retrievers & 1 is a pup and we need to keep them separate at times and this gate is doing it's job. They abuse it constantly trying to get to ea. other pushing with force on the gate and at times mouthing the bars and the gate stays in place and doesn't get scratched. Still looks good as new. Thank you Orvis!"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
February 18, 2014
By: Bdevaux
from Jacksonville, FL
"Product is a well made quality product. I knew it was perfect as I was pulling it out of the box. Does its job and looks nice!"
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The perfect solution,
February 17, 2014
By: Snilloce
from Hot Springs, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I searched the internet for a gate to keep our Aussie puppy in the kitchen and office areas of our home. She chews wood and knocks down our current gates as they can't adjust properly because of our baseboards. This gate arrived in one day and is so great we are ordering another one. Definitely top rate gate!"
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made and an excellent fit,
February 17, 2014
By: Richlee
from Wisconsin
"This gate is very well made and fits our hallway perfectly, thanks to the adjustable sides. It looks nice and works very easy. I liked how simple it was to install, no tools needed!"
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST Gate EVER!,
February 7, 2014
By: Lee23
from Great Barrington, MA
"This is the sturdiest, BEST gate we have EVER purchased! Our dog is a chewer, jumper and very strong weighing now at 60lbs. The gate comes ready to use and it took just a couple of minutes to put into place. Even when our dog runs and jumps at this gate full force it doesn't budge and it stays in place! We no longer have to worry about her chewing on this gate because it isn't made out of wood. I also love that we can swing it open both ways. I guess the saying, "You get what you pay for" is true. This gate is worth the money and is PRICELESS! We are beyond pleased and we highly recommmend this sturdy, out of the box ready to use attractive gate!"