Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.699 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
164 of 173(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertized,
February 26, 2015
By: 2Jupiter
from New Jersey
"Leonberger puppy, a giant breed,so far has not pushed through the gate as he has with the others we installed. Thinking about ordering the hall gates also."
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
February 4, 2015
By: raywri7801
from Colorado
"No Assembly required! Quality and perfect for the dogs."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
February 4, 2015
By: CathyW
from North Yorkshire. UK
"I bought the smaller door gate first and it's a great product. Well made, good quality product. I then went on to buy the slighter larger one for another room.
I have three large German Shepherds and I was having difficulty keeping them in one place, especially when they were wet after walks. The usual baby gates didn't appeal to me at all. My house is 400 yrs old and I wanted a gate that wouldn't look plasticky and flimsy.
These gates do an excellent job and contain my dogs as necessary. They also look very nice, they're substantial and attractive at the same time. They are very easy to install and very easy to move. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
"
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wrought-Iron Pet Gate,
February 3, 2015
By: collieluvJoann
from San Mateo, CA
"We received this gate a week ago. It was easy to install and it looks very attractive. Our last gate was made of wood. When our dogs were puppies they would chew on the wood gate and destroy it. So, when we got our latest new collie puppy, we wanted to find a nice looking metal gate for our home. This gate is fantastic!! We are very pleased with this purchase."
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GATE THAT WORKS,
February 1, 2015
By: Dairyqueen
from Jackson Hole,Wyoming
"AT LAST A GATE THAT THE DOGS CANNOT GET THROUGH FOUND AT ORVIS!ALL I HAVE TO DO IS FLIP THE LATCH AND i AM OUT BUT DOGS IN AND NO WAY OUT TILL i OPEN LATCH."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too narrow,
January 26, 2015
By: Lucile123
from Georgia
"I had trouble getting this gate to fit my door opening which was 33 3/4 wide. It left too much space so that my dogs could get their heads through the sides. I returned and reordered the hall size which actually is a tiny bit too wide for my opening. I am waiting for my husband to get home from out of town to see if he can figure how we can use it. I really like the gate though. It is ver attractive. Just sizing is the issue..."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only gate I'd recommend!,
January 14, 2015
By: desinkL
from Charlottesville, VA
"After purchasing 3 baby gates locally I ordered this pet gate from Orvis. It is expensive, but it's solid, easy to install, easy to pass through, attractive, and most important, keeps my dog in place! I love it and wish I hadn't wasted my time looking for something more cost effective."
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
corralling the canines,
January 5, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"We purchased two gates and two sets of the extensions to go across the bottom steps of two (wide) runs of stairs in our house. Very effective, but plan to spend a few more minutes than you might expect making the necessary adjustments for width, swing, gap, et c. Once properly placed, however, they have not needed to be moved"
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made-Just what I was looking for,
January 2, 2015
By: karenh9
from San Antonio,TX
"We use this gate to block the stairs.
The gate attaches to the walls and the baseboards with ease using extendable rubber coated pressure mounts. The actual gate is a easy to open and close.
"
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Gates,
December 30, 2014
By: Happypuppy
from Golden, CO
"These gates are easy to set-up and very attractive. They are well worth the money! The walk through door is great in a busy house!"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Gate that looks great, too!,
December 14, 2014
By: bansith
from Eagle, Idaho
"I've used this gate for three golden retrievers and one cat as well as four foster kittens and three foster dogs. It's a bit wide between the rungs for the kittens, so i wove ribbon through the gate on the bottom few inches for this purpose, but it only stays there when we foster. It's sturdy, attractive, and fits in doorways or (with the extension) at the top of the stairs. An excellent purchase!"
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect solution,
December 14, 2014
By: ragsandscraps3
from Wales, UK
"Bought this gate with extension to partition breakfast room from kitchen this muddy weather, so dogs don't spread mud everywhere. It was easy to fit, no drilling, sturdy and most important neither my small munsterlander, her son or her grandson have worked out how to open it, unlike other gates I've bought. It is good value for money because it does the job. I intend to buy another in the new year for another location."
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Wrought-iron door frame gate,
November 12, 2014
By: ElizabethHB
from Richmond, VA
"I just adopted 2 golden doodles and I needed a way for them to stay in their part of the house so the cats could still have the upstairs for themselves. A friend mentioned the gate she got at Orvis and so I went online to look. I bought the Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate and I love it. It looks good and best of all, it keeps in the 2 golden doodles. I've already gotten my sister to buy one for her German Shepherd."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gate,
November 11, 2014
By: CFCCFC
from Colorado
"Very well made and a wonderful addition to our home instead of the temporary movable gate we had been using"
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
November 10, 2014
By: Dickensdog
"I purchased two gates to keep my Westie from going to areas of the house where I do not want him to go. The black metal looks fantastic and the gates are easy to open and close. The opening between the last bar and the walls on each side is wide enough for our cat to come and go as he pleases."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond Delighted!,
October 30, 2014
By: AnnieMb2c
from Massachusetts
"After my 6 month old Cairn learned how to open the previous gate I needed a good solution and fast. I received this gate at my East Coast address 18 hours after my on line order. I installed the gate on a staircase in 90 seconds - seriously. This in spite of the complication of uneven molding. The gate is securely in place, it looks great and the locking mechanism is completely user friendly and uncomplicated. As a 30+ year dog and dog gate owner I highly recommned this product"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style & functionality,
October 29, 2014
By: Gary89darlo
from England
"A very good quality gate, much sturdier than previous gates have owned. Closes/opens very quietly, good strong pressure mounts. Nice styling as well. If it's a quality gate your after, look no further."
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bnana
"I received the pet door recently and it is a very good looking piece. The quality is nice. Very well made iron door. The door is heavy so careful. My husband loves how great it looks with our house. We had to return the smaller door to get a longer size but we can't wait to install it. Note: returns are super easy."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ATTRACTIVE GATE,
October 28, 2014
By: BRETTS
from CA
"BETTER THAN ANY OTHER PET GATES IN THE DECOR CATEGORY, IT HAS A CLEAN, MINIMALISTIC LOOK, THAT WILL WORK WITH MANY DECORS,
EASY LATCH TO OPEN/CLOSE REALLY WORKS AT EASE. MY SMALLER DOG HAS TRIED TO PUT HER HEAD THRU THE BARS, NO LUCK. THE BEST PART NO NEED TO DRILL PERMANENT HOLES, CON BE MOVED FRO ONE LOCATION TO THE NEXT.
"
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made well gate,
October 28, 2014
By: Toots10
from Sun City West, Az
"We r very pleased with the purchase of the dog gate. It is very sturdy and has solved our problem. We have two Labs and when we are not home they had free rome of the house. This was a problem if one of the dogs came down with the doggie flu. Now they are contained in the one room with tile floors. Deffinately would recommend this product."