Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.683 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (161 reviews)
5 stars
132
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
152 of 161(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Wrought-iron door frame gate,
November 12, 2014
By: ElizabethHB
from Richmond, VA
"I just adopted 2 golden doodles and I needed a way for them to stay in their part of the house so the cats could still have the upstairs for themselves. A friend mentioned the gate she got at Orvis and so I went online to look. I bought the Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate and I love it. It looks good and best of all, it keeps in the 2 golden doodles. I've already gotten my sister to buy one for her German Shepherd."
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gate,
November 11, 2014
By: CFCCFC
from Colorado
"Very well made and a wonderful addition to our home instead of the temporary movable gate we had been using"
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic product,
November 10, 2014
By: Dickensdog
"I purchased two gates to keep my Westie from going to areas of the house where I do not want him to go. The black metal looks fantastic and the gates are easy to open and close. The opening between the last bar and the walls on each side is wide enough for our cat to come and go as he pleases."
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond Delighted!,
October 30, 2014
By: AnnieMb2c
from Massachusetts
"After my 6 month old Cairn learned how to open the previous gate I needed a good solution and fast. I received this gate at my East Coast address 18 hours after my on line order. I installed the gate on a staircase in 90 seconds - seriously. This in spite of the complication of uneven molding. The gate is securely in place, it looks great and the locking mechanism is completely user friendly and uncomplicated. As a 30+ year dog and dog gate owner I highly recommned this product"
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style & functionality,
October 29, 2014
By: Gary89darlo
from England
"A very good quality gate, much sturdier than previous gates have owned. Closes/opens very quietly, good strong pressure mounts. Nice styling as well. If it's a quality gate your after, look no further."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality!,
October 28, 2014
By: Bnana
"I received the pet door recently and it is a very good looking piece. The quality is nice. Very well made iron door. The door is heavy so careful. My husband loves how great it looks with our house. We had to return the smaller door to get a longer size but we can't wait to install it. Note: returns are super easy."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ATTRACTIVE GATE,
October 28, 2014
By: BRETTS
from CA
"BETTER THAN ANY OTHER PET GATES IN THE DECOR CATEGORY, IT HAS A CLEAN, MINIMALISTIC LOOK, THAT WILL WORK WITH MANY DECORS,
EASY LATCH TO OPEN/CLOSE REALLY WORKS AT EASE. MY SMALLER DOG HAS TRIED TO PUT HER HEAD THRU THE BARS, NO LUCK. THE BEST PART NO NEED TO DRILL PERMANENT HOLES, CON BE MOVED FRO ONE LOCATION TO THE NEXT.
"
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made well gate,
October 28, 2014
By: Toots10
from Sun City West, Az
"We r very pleased with the purchase of the dog gate. It is very sturdy and has solved our problem. We have two Labs and when we are not home they had free rome of the house. This was a problem if one of the dogs came down with the doggie flu. Now they are contained in the one room with tile floors. Deffinately would recommend this product."
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for dogs,
October 21, 2014
By: puppymomintexas
from The Woodlands, TX
"Excellent. We have a lab puppy and it works very well and looks very nice."
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Heavy Duty gate,
October 10, 2014
By: ButchC
from Raleigh, NC
"Good product, easy to install and attractive appearance."
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
September 29, 2014
By: Pallavi
from Upstate NY
"The quality is fantastic and it's a very sturdy, secure fit to our walls. So much better than the makeshift fence we've had for many months now. And it looks so so nice!
I would recommend this to anyone (unless you have a really large dog who can jump over it). I love it!
"
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 23, 2014
By: Coqui2
from Coral Gables, FL
"This is a very handsome gate, very solid and very easy to install. Door opens and closes very quietly. Would strongly recommend it. I'm very happy to have found it!"
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate.....ever!,
September 16, 2014
By: Aeade
"We have two Cairn Terriers that should not be in the guest room are of my home. One of the Cairns will climb over a traditional wooden gate or will chew it up trying. This is the second of these I have bought from Orvis (the first was for another area of the house) and we use them both daily. This is the best looking gate I have ever seen, easy for the grandchildren to use and is also quiet (no metal clanking noise)."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
September 13, 2014
By: willie1938
from Nottingham, Pa.
"So far my dog has not figured out the opening of my gate. I have heard him giving it his try."
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great find!,
September 1, 2014
By: GSPParents
from Lamoille, NV
"This is our second gate of the same style. Our stair rails are wood rails with iron rungs so the styling is great to match our décor. It fit the stairways perfectly with the extension insert. We like Orvis as a company too. Have purchased the indestructible dog beds, that our GSP "destructed" and it was promptly replaces."
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased!,
August 8, 2014
By: redwoodboxers
from Western North Carolina
"Read the other reviews before purchasing and found that all the positive comments were well warranted. Two energetic Boxers have know been contained at our office. Super quick shipping!"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dog gate,
August 8, 2014
By: Terriermomma
"This is our third, and I think, last dog gate. The first one did not attach to the walls (on purpose). The dogs learned to move it. The second one was a slider, except the dogs learned to slide it and get through, so we fastened the slider. It broke after being tripped over too many times. This gate has a wonderful, easy door to step through and is unmovable. Finally, a dog gate I can live with. Wish I had bought it first....except it wasn't available back then. Recommended at the price, which granted is high, but it works well and won't break!"
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best looking gate I could find.,
August 6, 2014
By: Puz48
"Well made, good looking, easy to install, easy to operate. I love it. My Tibetan Terrier can open the dishwasher, cabinet drawers..even the freezer...but so far, so good."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 30, 2014
By: David1947
"I bought this gate to replace a plastic child gate we used to keep our new dog in the kitchen. Product was as described in catalog. Easily installed and great looking easy to operate. We are considering ordering a second one for our vacation home."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great.,
July 27, 2014
By: Zeus07
"We were so impresessed with the way it looks and works that we ended up getting 3 of them"