Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
125
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
144 of 153(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for dogs,
October 21, 2014
By: puppymomintexas
from The Woodlands, TX
"Excellent. We have a lab puppy and it works very well and looks very nice."
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Heavy Duty gate,
October 10, 2014
By: ButchC
from Raleigh, NC
"Good product, easy to install and attractive appearance."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
September 29, 2014
By: Pallavi
from Upstate NY
"The quality is fantastic and it's a very sturdy, secure fit to our walls. So much better than the makeshift fence we've had for many months now. And it looks so so nice!
I would recommend this to anyone (unless you have a really large dog who can jump over it). I love it!
"
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 23, 2014
By: Coqui2
from Coral Gables, FL
"This is a very handsome gate, very solid and very easy to install. Door opens and closes very quietly. Would strongly recommend it. I'm very happy to have found it!"
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate.....ever!,
September 16, 2014
By: Aeade
"We have two Cairn Terriers that should not be in the guest room are of my home. One of the Cairns will climb over a traditional wooden gate or will chew it up trying. This is the second of these I have bought from Orvis (the first was for another area of the house) and we use them both daily. This is the best looking gate I have ever seen, easy for the grandchildren to use and is also quiet (no metal clanking noise)."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog Gate,
September 13, 2014
By: willie1938
from Nottingham, Pa.
"So far my dog has not figured out the opening of my gate. I have heard him giving it his try."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great find!,
September 1, 2014
By: GSPParents
from Lamoille, NV
"This is our second gate of the same style. Our stair rails are wood rails with iron rungs so the styling is great to match our décor. It fit the stairways perfectly with the extension insert. We like Orvis as a company too. Have purchased the indestructible dog beds, that our GSP "destructed" and it was promptly replaces."
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased!,
August 8, 2014
By: redwoodboxers
from Western North Carolina
"Read the other reviews before purchasing and found that all the positive comments were well warranted. Two energetic Boxers have know been contained at our office. Super quick shipping!"
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dog gate,
August 8, 2014
By: Terriermomma
"This is our third, and I think, last dog gate. The first one did not attach to the walls (on purpose). The dogs learned to move it. The second one was a slider, except the dogs learned to slide it and get through, so we fastened the slider. It broke after being tripped over too many times. This gate has a wonderful, easy door to step through and is unmovable. Finally, a dog gate I can live with. Wish I had bought it first....except it wasn't available back then. Recommended at the price, which granted is high, but it works well and won't break!"
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best looking gate I could find.,
August 6, 2014
By: Puz48
"Well made, good looking, easy to install, easy to operate. I love it. My Tibetan Terrier can open the dishwasher, cabinet drawers..even the freezer...but so far, so good."
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 30, 2014
By: David1947
"I bought this gate to replace a plastic child gate we used to keep our new dog in the kitchen. Product was as described in catalog. Easily installed and great looking easy to operate. We are considering ordering a second one for our vacation home."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great.,
July 27, 2014
By: Zeus07
"We were so impresessed with the way it looks and works that we ended up getting 3 of them"
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding quality and design,
July 22, 2014
By: dogstayout
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"This dog gate is the best quality I can imagine. The latch is wonderful and the entire gate is sturdy and indestructible. I think my grand kids will be using this gate to keep their dogs in check."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Walk-Through Gate,
July 15, 2014
By: Lizzie1
from College Station, TX
"We like these iron-door gates and now have two of them. The gate is heavy, sturdy, easy to put up, and works nicely. The door opens and closes easily for humans and the gate keeps the dogs (three, each 50 pounds) where they belong. Plus, the gate is easy on the eyes!"
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best "puppy" gate ever!,
July 15, 2014
By: sallybrown
"The wrought iron gate is perfect! We purchased it to keep our Corgi in our mudroom at night or when we are out of the house. It is sturdy, "chew-proof", and looks great! Definitely recommend!"
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Doggie Gate,
June 12, 2014
By: Abenaki
from Central NH.
"This is simply a VERY well engineered and VERY well made dog gate.
At first I was concerned that it could hold back our rambunctious golden retriever but the friction pads can be adjusted to fit very securely against opposing wall surfaces. I find this system far superior to have to drill holes for mounting brackets and what's more, it makes it "portable" if you wish to use it elsewhere in your home without have to move brackets and leave behind screw holes.
It is also very attractive and shouldn't be an eyesore at all in most homes.
Overall, I am exceptionally pleased with this gate. It more than met my expectations in all regards."
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 11, 2014
By: Zeus07
"Great quality. Very impressed with the gates. They look very nice and are very easy to use"
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very impressed!,
June 5, 2014
By: akmm
from Westport, CT
"This is our first purchase from Orvis. We were impressed at how quickly we received the gate and even more impressed with the quality of the product. IT is exactly as described. Will definitely recommend to family and friends."
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 20, 2014
By: MRedWI
from Wisconsin
"Heavy duty gate that looks nice. I installed it in a bedroom doorway and you can place it so you are still able to close the door with the gate in place. Very easy to install."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product,
May 16, 2014
By: TyeSonney
"We bought this product to keep the dogs out of our bedrooms. It appears to be a very well constructed product that was quite easy to assemble. We are very happy with our purchase."