Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate

If your dog is prone to chewing on wooden gates, this is the solution. Similar in design to our popular Wood Door Frame Gate, this wide metal dog gate is crafted in wrought iron for incredible strength and durability. Hinged locking door panel allows you to pass through easily. Friction mounted, it installs without tools. No drilling required. Use 5" extension (not shown) for openings wider than 40". Wide metal dog gate in black. Distance between spindles is 2½".
Average Customer Rating:
4.709 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (182 reviews)
5 stars
151
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
4
173 of 182(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Review 1 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog gate,
April 17, 2015
By: goram
from Palm Beach, Fl.
"This is a very good looking and well built gate. It's look great and works great. You can be installed in no time . Great item"
Review 2 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product,
April 6, 2015
By: angwilla
from Long Beach New York
"If you get as crazy as I do about how you home looks and need an easy way to assist with controlling your four legged friends this is a great solution. Out of the box this gate fit properly and not a blemish on it. Easy to set up and it fits right in."
Review 3 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fence,
April 1, 2015
By: lynneb
"Very easy to put up, easy to open and good looking! This is a great dog gate!"
Review 4 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate!,
March 23, 2015
By: Kim10
from Upstate, NY
"Bought this to keep my puppities corralled in our 1890's Victorian home. This gate is solid, easy to install, and looks great. We love that you can simply lift the latch and walk through, and neither my larger dog, nor my tiny one can get through it. Plus, it is so well made that my "could break a steel ball with a rubber hammer" teenagers can't break it, and we have had it installed for over a year. Such a huge upgrade from my prior gates."
Review 5 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Metal hallway gate,
March 18, 2015
By: Katheen1
"Excellent gate. Took it out of the box and easily adjusted it to fix the hallway opening. I have large dogs that need to be contained. I'm ordering another one to use downstairs."
Review 6 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gate Ever!,
March 5, 2015
By: WindyCityDogs
from Chicago, IL
"This gate was perfect right out of the box! Easy to mount. Easy to open/close gate. Beautiful to look at. My dogs don't chew or challenge a gate so the only thing I can think would be a problem is a dog that chews could chew the plastic wall mount discs."
Review 7 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At last! Beauty and function together,
March 5, 2015
By: QuipMC
from California
"I received this gate two days ago and installed it in moments. It's simply perfect. I use it near the bottom of my staircase to keep the dogs from coming upstairs when I need to work quietly and don't need the puppy trying to forage for interesting things to chew in my office.
In years past we'd used baby gates - ugly and flimsy - plus a very nice homebrew plexiglass barrier with a cross rod that was attractive and minimalist but required constant install/removal for each use and required that I step over it to go up and down the stairs...which was becoming annoying.
This gate is attractive, solid, and can stay in place because we can open and step through as needed and leave it open when appropriate. The latch mechanism is simpler and nicer than I realized from the photos. The only thing I would do to improve it - and I will be down to the hardware store to find the right thing to use - would be to add black sleeves over the exposed adjustable side bumper screw threads so that part looks more finished. Easy after-market fix, but it would be nice if Orvis asked the manufacturer to include something like that."
Review 8 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertized,
February 26, 2015
By: 2Jupiter
from New Jersey
"Leonberger puppy, a giant breed,so far has not pushed through the gate as he has with the others we installed. Thinking about ordering the hall gates also."
Review 9 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
February 4, 2015
By: raywri7801
from Colorado
"No Assembly required! Quality and perfect for the dogs."
Review 10 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
February 4, 2015
By: CathyW
from North Yorkshire. UK
"I bought the smaller door gate first and it's a great product. Well made, good quality product. I then went on to buy the slighter larger one for another room.
I have three large German Shepherds and I was having difficulty keeping them in one place, especially when they were wet after walks. The usual baby gates didn't appeal to me at all. My house is 400 yrs old and I wanted a gate that wouldn't look plasticky and flimsy.
These gates do an excellent job and contain my dogs as necessary. They also look very nice, they're substantial and attractive at the same time. They are very easy to install and very easy to move. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
"
Review 11 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wrought-Iron Pet Gate,
February 3, 2015
By: collieluvJoann
from San Mateo, CA
"We received this gate a week ago. It was easy to install and it looks very attractive. Our last gate was made of wood. When our dogs were puppies they would chew on the wood gate and destroy it. So, when we got our latest new collie puppy, we wanted to find a nice looking metal gate for our home. This gate is fantastic!! We are very pleased with this purchase."
Review 12 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A GATE THAT WORKS,
February 1, 2015
By: Dairyqueen
from Jackson Hole,Wyoming
"AT LAST A GATE THAT THE DOGS CANNOT GET THROUGH FOUND AT ORVIS!ALL I HAVE TO DO IS FLIP THE LATCH AND i AM OUT BUT DOGS IN AND NO WAY OUT TILL i OPEN LATCH."
Review 13 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too narrow,
January 26, 2015
By: Lucile123
from Georgia
"I had trouble getting this gate to fit my door opening which was 33 3/4 wide. It left too much space so that my dogs could get their heads through the sides. I returned and reordered the hall size which actually is a tiny bit too wide for my opening. I am waiting for my husband to get home from out of town to see if he can figure how we can use it. I really like the gate though. It is ver attractive. Just sizing is the issue..."
Review 14 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only gate I'd recommend!,
January 14, 2015
By: desinkL
from Charlottesville, VA
"After purchasing 3 baby gates locally I ordered this pet gate from Orvis. It is expensive, but it's solid, easy to install, easy to pass through, attractive, and most important, keeps my dog in place! I love it and wish I hadn't wasted my time looking for something more cost effective."
Review 15 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
corralling the canines,
January 5, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"We purchased two gates and two sets of the extensions to go across the bottom steps of two (wide) runs of stairs in our house. Very effective, but plan to spend a few more minutes than you might expect making the necessary adjustments for width, swing, gap, et c. Once properly placed, however, they have not needed to be moved"
Review 16 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made-Just what I was looking for,
January 2, 2015
By: karenh9
from San Antonio,TX
"We use this gate to block the stairs.
The gate attaches to the walls and the baseboards with ease using extendable rubber coated pressure mounts. The actual gate is a easy to open and close.
"
Review 17 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Gates,
December 30, 2014
By: Happypuppy
from Golden, CO
"These gates are easy to set-up and very attractive. They are well worth the money! The walk through door is great in a busy house!"
Review 18 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Gate that looks great, too!,
December 14, 2014
By: bansith
from Eagle, Idaho
"I've used this gate for three golden retrievers and one cat as well as four foster kittens and three foster dogs. It's a bit wide between the rungs for the kittens, so i wove ribbon through the gate on the bottom few inches for this purpose, but it only stays there when we foster. It's sturdy, attractive, and fits in doorways or (with the extension) at the top of the stairs. An excellent purchase!"
Review 19 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect solution,
December 14, 2014
By: ragsandscraps3
from Wales, UK
"Bought this gate with extension to partition breakfast room from kitchen this muddy weather, so dogs don't spread mud everywhere. It was easy to fit, no drilling, sturdy and most important neither my small munsterlander, her son or her grandson have worked out how to open it, unlike other gates I've bought. It is good value for money because it does the job. I intend to buy another in the new year for another location."
Review 20 for Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the Wrought-iron door frame gate,
November 12, 2014
By: ElizabethHB
from Richmond, VA
"I just adopted 2 golden doodles and I needed a way for them to stay in their part of the house so the cats could still have the upstairs for themselves. A friend mentioned the gate she got at Orvis and so I went online to look. I bought the Wrought-Iron Door Frame Gate and I love it. It looks good and best of all, it keeps in the 2 golden doodles. I've already gotten my sister to buy one for her German Shepherd."