Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Maui Jim® Sunglasses

Created to help fishermen see more above and in the water, incredibly lightweight, Maui Jim polarized sunglasses offer unbeatable UV protection, quality, and style. Patented PolarizedPlus®2 multilayer lens design allows more usable light to reach the eye, providing unrivaled acuity, contrast, and color transmission. Ho'okipa models feature a polycarbonate injection-molded frame—perfect for intense sports—with comfortable, lightweight construction and impact resistance. Innovative Reader models incorporate an inset reading glasses lens (specify 1.5X, 2.0X, or 2.5X), making switching glasses a thing of the past. Case and cleaning cloth are included with these men's polarized fishing glasses. USA/Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Review 1 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Likeable,
March 4, 2014
By: WaltMM317
"These sunglasses are very comfortable. My eye doctor strongly recommended Maui Jim sunglasses for flyfishing."
Review 2 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
July 3, 2013
By: Peddler
from North Carolina
"Maui Jim's are sunglasses made right. For those of us who fly fish and play on the water they've always made good sunglasses targeted at that. This they do by using their hydrophobic finish and playing with light transmission properties so they bring out what needs to be seen and downplays glare and colors that hinder good, clear vision.
The reader section is just perfect for tying on flies yet is not so large as to hamper safe wading.
I've owned and used Maui's going on two decades. These glasses just set the course for another long stint with them.
"
Review 3 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handy purchase,
June 28, 2013
By: James5000
from Lincoln, Ca
"Very helpful when using phone or reading in sunlight. Excellent Maui Jim sunglasses--very lightweight, good optics. Takes a while to get used to readers."
Review 4 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the best!,
June 17, 2013
By: BroncoBri
from Canandaigua, NY
"These are the best ever sunglasses ever that I've owned. They have outstanding polarization that aids my fishing.
Recently I lost a pair overboard and I was crushed emotionally. However, in less that 12 hours I order another pair."
Review 5 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sun Specs,
May 1, 2013
By: Gino2
from Florida
"Not a replacement for your regular reading glasses, but perfect for the beach and other outdoor activities which require some reading (labels, directions, magazines, etc.)"
Review 6 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent all around,
March 18, 2013
By: PeteK
from NYC and Austin, Texas
"For those of us who sit on the beach with sunglasses and reading glasses perched on our nose, these glasses are the best since sliced bread!
No more looking like the resort's number one nerd just so you can read the latest Tom Clancy offering while enjoying the beach
Product wise, the lens are excellent. Lightweight while the frames are flexible but sturdy. These are staying in the beach bag."
Review 7 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sunglass Readers,
January 27, 2013
By: Hirise
"I like the look and feel of the sunglasses. However, the reader portion is too small and positioned too low to be of much help unless your head is tilted pretty far back."
Review 8 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I needed!,
July 27, 2012
By: Sargeant
from Toledo, OH
"I have a pair of good quality polarized sunglasses however, when wading I constantly had to take them off and switch to my reading glasses to change flies. The Maui Jim bifocal readers are perfect for my needs. They are comfortable to wear and the bifocal is well placed on the lens.
Recently took a beach vacation and they are great for reading a good book on the beach or by the pool as well.
"
Review 9 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy on the eyes.,
June 30, 2012
By: lv2travel
"Gave them to my husband during a trip up the California coast. He found them easy on the eyes and comfortable to wear. Great for driving and map reading. Would recommend to anyone in the market for a combo of readers and shades. He especially appreciated the polarization."
Review 10 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Combo,
May 7, 2012
By: Aitch3
from Connecticut
"Adding readers to already excellent Maui Jim's really ups the useful quotient. Best polarization and low weight mean all-day comfort. Design of nose and temple pieces keep them firmly in position on face."
Review 11 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On my 2nd pair!,
April 23, 2012
By: rkdoc
from Wichita, Kansas
"When the 1st pair was seen, I hesitated a bit due to price & my "pickyness" for GOOD, polarized, lightweight sunglasses. The 2.5x is perfect for my presbyopia...so flies can be tied, lines can be tied, & checks can be signed (with bankers receiving a brief comment about why I'm wearing sunglasses...so they can relax!), and basically everyday UV protection (that all eyes need!). Maui Jim did it again! THANKS!"
Review 12 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sunglasses with readers,
October 2, 2011
By: Anonymous
"I have several pairs of sunglasses, for example Persole and Revo, but the Maui Jim readers are superior. They are extremely lightweight but durable and the lens stay clean longer than other sunglasses I've had. A plus is they have readers incorporated into the lenses, which is great for the beach or other outside activities."
Review 13 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good solid product,
May 27, 2011
By: MidwestDude
from Iowa
"Lightweight, yet are pretty durable (with a little flexibility), overall I think its a good quality product. I think they are priced about right for quality. I wear about a 7 1/8 to 7 1/4 hat size. These glasses fit my headsize really well. The polarized lenses are great for water and I also like them in bright snow glare. I wear these boating and with contact lenses, these sunglasses do a pretty good job of keeping wind off my eyes (full coverage) Lenses are holding up great. This is my 2nd pair. I actually still wear my first pair, but wanted to make sure I could find these (if and when I drop my first pair in the water)"
Review 14 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice sunglasses poor readers,
September 22, 2010
By: SteveMD
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I thought this was a great idea but the area of magnification is so small and low it makes it hard to use as readers."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 14, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. We expressed our regret that these sunglasses were not satisfactory. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund any purchase.
Review 15 for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maui Wow Wee!,
April 16, 2010
By: spitter
from Naperville, IL
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took delivery of these Maui Jim sunglasses approximately a month or so ago. I bought the tortoise with rose colored polarized lenses and these glasses are unbelievable.
They weigh next to nothing and the quality of their manufacture is apparent. I can easily forget I have them on my face!
The rose lens color is phenomenal in bringing out other color and the polarization is second to none. In my opinion, while the Maui Jim's command a premium price, after having worn them for some time, they offer a very good value.
Quality, Clarity and Lightweight - Maui Wow Wee!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maui Jim® Sunglasses
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3