Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Sunbuster Hat

Get outdoors without worrying about harmful rays with this men's straw cowboy hat. This traditional twisted natural straw hat has a high-tech Teflon® coating to resist stains, oils, and even water. The result is a hat that will stay handsome looking through years of faithful service. Laminated crown and brim for extra durability and protection. Leather band. CoolMax® interior sweatband. 4"-wide brim with glare-reducing khaki liner. Men's cowboy hat in straw. 100% straw. Made in USA.Sizes: XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 29(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunbuster Hat
Review 1 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hat in years,
July 8, 2013
By: jmitch
from Gardnerville NV
"This is one of the best made straw hats I've purchased in years. I had been using a Stetson for years. They are now much cheaper made. This Orvis hat is heavy duty, well made and fits perfectly."
Review 2 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
August 30, 2012
By: Mike3008
from Alabama
"Very well made and comfortable. A great hat for shade in the hot summers we have here in Alabama. The feel of the Teflon coating is good. It should protect the hat not only from dirt but from wear & tear. I haven't had the opportunity to test it, but it should do well even in a light rain. My only caution is that the 4" brim is a bit wide for getting into and out of cars (3.5" would be better) but out of doors it's great."
Review 3 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat!,
August 14, 2012
By: ratdogvarmitt
from Colorado
"Looked at several hats before finding this one in a local Tackle shop here in Colorado. They didn't have my size, went to your web-site and found what I needed. The fit is great! The hat is very well made. I imagine it will last me a lifetime!"
Review 4 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I've been looking for.,
August 2, 2012
By: buckeyeguy
"After looking for a very long time for a hat that would shade my shiny head, yet not look dopey, I have found it! I love this hat, and have worn it steadily since it arrived (a week earlier than expected since it was on backorder.) Great for both working in the yard and appearing in public. A great hat."
Review 5 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2012
By: BasicFunguist
from Mesquite, Nevada
"Hat a perfect wardrobe addition for anyone enjoying the benefits under the Witness Protection Program.
All kidding aside, hat is extremely well crafted (in the USA!) of tightly weaved Ecuadorean straw.
I'm retired here in rural Nevada and the hat is this "hat guy's" best ever!"
Review 6 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunburn Protection,
June 4, 2012
By: ArtJ
from Fresno, CA
"This hat came exactly as advertised. I spend a lot of time outside and needed a hat to keep my head protected. This hat fit the bill exactly.
The only thing I would ask for differently is to have the color a little darker to hide the dirt.
"
Review 7 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Product,
June 4, 2012
By: Nelson13
from Valdosta, GA
"I received my hat very quickly (4 days) after ordering it. My head size is 7 5/8. After reading reviews that this hat ran a little small I decided to go with the bigger size. Glad I did however I hope it doesn't stretch because it fits just right now. The one thing I wish this hat had was a string. The brim is so big that the wind took it off my head this morning. Great hat, looks good, keeps sun off head and ears. I just hope I don't lose it in the middle of lake because there is no string."
Review 8 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thrilled,
May 12, 2012
By: Lazzy
from London UK
"I am thrilled with this hat it is the usual Orvis quality now just waiting for the sun to shine so I can enjoy my new purchase."
Review 9 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hat,
May 3, 2012
By: Shocker
from KS
"This hat is just right for sun protection. One of the only I have found with a 4 inch brim. I have a 7 3/4 hat size so the xxl was still a little small but a hat stretcher took care of that."
Review 10 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
serves purpose,
March 28, 2012
By: sunwalker
from southeast Alabama
"I wanted a LARGE brimmed hat that would provide sun protection, fit nicely and lood good--I found it!"
Review 11 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Hat,
March 6, 2012
By: DWPJR
from Hopewell, VA
"It's light, a great fit and with the wide brim blocks the sun from my face, ears, and neck. Very stylish and exactly what i was looking for in a sun hat."
Review 12 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Straw Hat!,
November 3, 2011
By: dimitri56
"This hat of great quality comes handy
in the Texas Sun! BUT I also wear it going out at night, I removed the small leather band & iadorned it with a Hawaian flowery band, Goes great with my Hawaian Shirts & Parrothead Partys. My first hat was a pressent from a friend lasted 6 years & 2 Hurricanes of constant use.
"
Review 13 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 24, 2011
By: Inspector
"Great hat but needs a chin strap to make it top notch.."
Review 14 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Wide Brim,
August 17, 2011
By: witinthepinteum
from Near Yosemite in California
"I looked all over for a quality straw had with a brim more than the standard 3 inches. This hat has a 4 inch brim and will be perfect for wearing on the lake once I finish the canoe I am building. The head band is a little too stiff, but I'm certain it will soften with wear. I also wish it had a chin strap as I don't want to lose it in the wind on the lake."
Review 15 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made To Create Shade,
July 21, 2011
By: Outsider
from Virginia
"What a good hat for sunny cnditions. I wear it fishing, hiking, and even mowing the lawn. Sizing not a problem after consulting the measuring guide in the catalog. I did need to reshape it to accomodate my oval shape and after failing to find a local hat store that could help me I made my own stretcher. The straw is tough enough to stand up to most of my needs although with the 4" brim it is a little tough to keep on top if you are crashing through the woods down to the stream. If I wear this one out I would be please to order another one."
Review 16 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sun Protection,
July 21, 2011
By: Tunie
from MO
"We now own two Orvis straw hats!! They really keep the sun out of your face and eyes. My husband is a real outdoorsman. Unfortunately, the sun has been very damaging to his skin. Sun block products don't always work due to perspiration. These hats really block the sun completely! Thnks Orvis!"
Review 17 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am styling in this Panama Hat!,
July 16, 2011
By: Slobberdog
from Austin, TX
"I was concerned about this purchase, given some of the reviews on hat size problems. But this one is exactly what I expected. It came shaped for a round head and my head is a long-oval. After wearing it a couple of days, the hat conformed very nicely to my head shape. The hat is well made with quality materials. Living in the Texas heat, this hat has quickly become my favorite!"
Review 18 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldhead's Good Friend,
July 11, 2011
By: Wolfhound
"Every follicly deprived gentleman should seriously consider purchasing this hat and the light skinned lady or gent as well."
Review 19 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Control,
June 20, 2011
By: Heater
"I'm an Orvis guy no doubt about it but on occasion I get products that I don't think anyone has looked at or gone over. This hat is excellent but a couple of things are wrong. This sizing is incorrect. I saw this on a previous review and ordered a size larger than I normally would and the hat fits nicely. Secondly, there needs to be a pad placed on the inside crown of the hat. This is where the straw was begun to spin. Without the pad, there are fine pieces of sharp straw that stick you in the top of the head. You'll see this on the better quality hats. This is the first Orvis hat I've purchased that doesn't have this. It is a must. I had to glue one in myself."
Review 20 for Sunbuster Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sparviero,
June 11, 2011
By: Sparviero
"Beautiful, well made and very funtional hat. Completely mis-sized! Returned."