Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt

Just right for breezy afternoons or your morning walk, our hearty sweatshirt feels more like a jacket with a concealed zip-front placket, a stand collar, and stretchy cuffs. Two side pockets, taped interior details. Made of our cotton-rich Signature Fleece, this style has been pigment dyed for a rich depth of color. Cotton/polyester. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(10-12); about 24" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color,
September 26, 2012
By: DMWM
from VA
"I bought this sweatshirt specifically because of the color shown in the picture. It looked like a beautiful shade of orange. Unfortunately, the actual product was more of a brownish-orange. I never even took it out of the packaging becuase it was so unattractive. The fit and fabric might have been good, but that really doesn't matter when the color is so ugly."
Review 2 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
September 21, 2012
By: Duffeer
from Idaho
"Sweatshirt is accurately depicted.
One caution: the owner is advised
to wash it separately & to line dry it.This is to preserve the color dye.
I decided it is worth the extra care.
"
Review 3 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
September 10, 2012
By: bapete
from New York
"After the first wash to remove excess dye it feels like it has been worn for years--so comfortable and soft. Love it!"
Review 4 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 20, 2012
By: Rambling
"I love the long sleeves, the weight, the neckline, the casual clean look, style without fuss. You can't beat the price. I would order another."
Review 5 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cozy sweatshirt,
March 28, 2012
By: Lynnes
from California
"The sweatshirt is cozy and warm, although the sleeves are a wee bit short. The washing instructions are odd, however. The dye from the sweatshirt came off on everything washed with it.. It's inconvenient to have to wash this sweatshirt separately."
Review 6 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
washing challenge,
March 7, 2012
By: Marge1
from Chicago IL
"I love it but wished it didn't bleed when washing."
Review 7 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality,
February 28, 2012
By: Rikki
"Everything I have purchased from Orvis has been of good quality. If it wasn't, I would no longer order anything. The hidden-placket sweatshirt was delivered quickly and was as it was discribedin the catalog. Warm and sturdy."
Review 8 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
February 14, 2012
By: mec715
from Kentucky
"I just love my jacket it fit great. I would have liked the red but you were out."
Review 9 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect like all Orvis Products,
January 17, 2012
By: Contessa7070
from Nashua, NH
"This is very smart and warm - I enjoy wearing them as they are comfortable and still look well dressed. Not sloppy. I have found that most of the time I cannot go wrong with clothes from Orvis"
Review 10 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Amateurish,
January 15, 2012
By: Bergster
"The dye work on this top was very disappointing. The color was uneven. Edges appeared too saturated and I worried that the dye would run in my laundry. I hope that Orvis will inspect and reject items of this quality in the future instead of stuffing a disclaimer in the package as they did. This item would be embarrassing to wear."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The warm comfortable top I was looking for,
January 13, 2012
By: Koekedoeks
from Courtenay BC
"I love everything about this sweater - the faded colour, the soft lining and the design. I have very long arms and wish that the sleeves were just a touch longer!"
Review 12 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice product but not nice shaping,
January 10, 2012
By: lfpalmer
"Excellent construction, great fabric, nice color, neck is nice, has pockets. I don't care for the way this particular sweatshirt-type jacket bulges out at the waist rather than hanging straight or falling into the waist. It comes from wide cut/lack of tapering at waist combined with tapering-in at the hip/bottom inset. It un-does any figure I might have. It's neither a "hip" look nor flattering. I'm returning it for this reason. It may work better for differently sized/shaped people."
Review 13 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Xmas gift,
December 29, 2011
By: Nady
from Naperville, IL
"Got this for my wife and she was very pleased. Fit was perfect, color was great, and the weight was just right. She is usually hard to please, but this one was perfect."
Review 14 for Hidden-Placket Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not up to snuff,
November 7, 2011
By: 1General
"The sweatshirt was made of a stiff material and did not feel soft. Also the color was not as vibrant as I expected, hence this was not the sweatshirt that I would reach for before any other, and that's why I returned it!"