Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos

The seaside has its own sense of time—and priorities. We've created our 7.2-oz. midweight pure cotton Surfwashed Twill Chino pants for men to help you find that same relaxed feeling any time. A special dye-and-surfwash process results in the vintage look of clothing that has already seen seasons of sun, sand, and relaxation. Exclusive striped pocket lining and subtle Orvis embroidery. Stenciled Orvis logo on interior waistband. 100% cotton chino pants for men. Washable. Imported. Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
11
118 of 141(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Review 1 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
October 8, 2013
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"Outstanding mid weight casual pants. Material is soft, resistant to excessive wrinkling, durable with a unique patina...not dull nor shiny, but distinctive. Dress them up with a sport coat or down with a T shirt. Much better than your average khakis. I purchased the Sahara Tan; a little brighter than a British Tan with more character."
Review 2 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Favorite!,
September 14, 2013
By: Shapian
"I have many pairs of these trousers and will buy more. Very comfortable, excellent material and great fit."
Review 3 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
August 21, 2013
By: Francotel
from Haute Vienne, France.
"Arrived here in France just days after ordering and have surpassed my expectations. A perfect fit and
feel good factor.
"
Review 4 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pleased,
July 3, 2013
By: slender
from dorset. uk.
"after some fuss sorting the correct size I settled on 40 waist. there is variation as a pair tried in the shop were perfect at 38 (different colour). I do my own length finishing to get it as needed. I'm very pleased with these. I think the large rear belt loop helps avoid the "hooked up" look that I've seen on some centre loops. high street brands look cheaper but have a tiny rise, skimpy fabric and tight legs. these are perfect for me. they would be too heavy for over 80 deg.f. but feel just right for uk. no hesitation in recommending fully."
Review 5 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worst purchase,
July 2, 2013
By: hambone74
from Houston, Tx
"I ordered waist size 34, based upon an earlier mail order from you
and from similar pants I tried on in your store.
These pants were so tight, that I took them to a tailor used locally by Orvis. The pants were basically ruined by his adding in a section to the waist!
I will definitely not purchase any more pants from you that are not in the store!"
Review 6 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Pants,
June 19, 2013
By: cluff2
from Los Angeles, Ca.
"I bought two pair of shorts, liked them so much I purchased two pair of the pants. Very comfortable, size very accurate."
Review 7 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
soft, surf washed Chino,
June 14, 2013
By: MikeCMN
"The surf washed chino is a comfortable, casual pant. The cotton was thicker than I expected and expect these to last a long time. They wash out nice. After 3 washings they feel even softer. I would consider these surf-washed chinos a regular fit. Not relaxed or baggy and certainly not slim-fit. Ample room in the seat and thigh without looking sloppy or baggy. I really like the option that Orvis will finish the inseam on these. I am between a 32-33" length and many times a chino is only offered in a 32" or a 34" inseam. Sometimes the 32 is a tad short especially after washing a 100% cotton chino and a 34" will drag drag on the ground. The 32 1/2" inseam I ordered in this pant was perfect and Orvis finished them right on. I don't feel hesitant to fully dry them and worry about shrinkage.
The only thing I don't care for on this pant is the middle belt loop on the back of the chinos is extra-wide. All other loops are standard. I simply wish all of the loops were standard size or similar to the 'orvis ultimate chino'. That certainly does not take away from the quality of the pant but just my opinion. I am confident these will last a long time and only look and feel better with age.
"
Review 8 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really great pair of pants,
June 5, 2013
By: armyguy
from Cheboygan, MI
"I purchased two pair of these pants and received them in a timely matter. Orvis had a reduced price on them which made the purchase even better. Thanks Orvis"
Review 9 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart, Pleasing Purchase,
May 31, 2013
By: alcaeus
from UK
"Very pleased with the chinos. Well finished, strong zip & well fastened button. Generous sizing around waist, be aware when ordering."
Review 10 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
May 29, 2013
By: PeteK
from NYC and Austin, Texas
"Well made, great fabric. If you dry clean them, they hold their shape over several days of air travel and look good. Regular wash for a more casual look. Great deal"
Review 11 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really good product,
May 28, 2013
By: pebe
from Oxfordshire
"These days, it is hard to find good quality white trousers constructed from sailcloth or similar. These are certainly the answer: well made, well styled and offering good value for money. If they could in the future somehow offer elasticated waist, they would be even better."
Review 12 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice pants,
May 23, 2013
By: Juanavista
from Chicago, IL
"I really like the Surfwashed chinos, with one caveat. - I have a 35 inch waist and the Surfwashed chinos are only offered in even waist sizes. Consequently, it is necessary to have the 36 inch waist size tailored to 35 inches. I wish Orvis would offer these pants in odd waist sizes. Orvis would sell a lot more pants, if odd waist sizes are available.."
Review 13 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pants,
May 7, 2013
By: drdppc
from PArk City, UT
"Fit is excellent. They clean up and iron nicely. Are comfortable to wear. Have a nice hefty feel, which means they should last."
Review 14 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor sizing,
April 29, 2013
By: ukresi
from Louth, UK
"Orvis's boast of roomy comfortable clothing does not hold good here. These were listed under "summer clothing" but the cloth is heavy and stiff. Worse, the sizing is far less generous than the ultimate Khakis I purchased a few days before. A normally comfortable 36 felt tight at the waist and the thigh and leg room was limited to say the least. Two pairs on the way back, at my expense of course."
Review 15 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality product,
April 10, 2013
By: Persie
from Scotland
"* Soft and warm material.
* Colour excellent with tinges of pink making the SPICE colour more interesting and attractive
* well cut and a good fit
Overall an excellent product - it may seem expensive but it is worth it."
Review 16 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Work and play,
March 29, 2013
By: Petrus
from UK and Australia
"Arrived just in time to put in my case before a business trip and used for business casual, site seeing and a ball game. A great all rounder."
Review 17 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
prettty good,
March 25, 2013
By: Belisarius
from Wales
"I bought two pairs of these trousers. One is about an inch bigger in the waist than the other, and in addition, on the smaller pair the stitching on the waist button had gone before I even wore them.
However, other than that they are as least as good as expected. More weight to the cloth than I expected, the stitching looks excellent apart from one button, and the cut is just what I hoped.
I am going to have to stitch on the button again, I'll move it half an inch and they'll be OK, so I won't send it back."
Review 18 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants!,
March 20, 2013
By: Oz45
from GA
"In fact, I am wearing them as I write this. They are comfortable, very well-made, and look great. I will be purchasing these in other colors in the future. Keep the good products coming."
Review 19 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
March 19, 2013
By: babyblue
from Toronto, Canada
"The surf washed cotton chinos were exactly as advertised, soft, medium weight, comfortable and a perfect fit from the outset. I hope they make a lightweight version soon."
Review 20 for Surfwashed Pure Cotton Twill Chinos
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAIST BOTTONS,
March 18, 2013
By: Kiffer
"I will only buy pants that have a button closure at the waist; I do not like the metal clip things. I have bought two pair of these paints because of the button."