Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 letters and/or numbers, including spaces; medium and large with up to 24 letters and/or numbers, including spaces. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (318 reviews)
5 stars
224
4 stars
52
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 star
9
282 of 318(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar of choice.,
August 25, 2015
By: ladywithdogs
from Midland, TX
"As an owner of 8 dogs, these are the only collars they wear. Love the collar and embroidery combination options."
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingdale Collar,
August 23, 2015
By: AvieW
"I think it works great and looks good! Very roomy."
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Collars,
August 7, 2015
By: DebbyS
"I have 6 labs and each one has their own personalized Martingale collar. It's comfortable for them but is a humane choker when I need it. I love that I can have their names and my telephone # on them for identification purposes; it makes me feel better. They look great and are strong as well. I only wish they came in more pattern options - like a pink camo! :)"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moving Insurance,
August 5, 2015
By: dogmover
from FL, NC, SC
"My Labradoodle has 3 different home bases right now so I just purchased his 5th collar in his 6 years! I buy them color coded so I don't need to even check the embroidered info to be sure he is correctly identified for his current location. These are great collars and the size distribution has worked well for him and our late Elkhound."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Needs Another Ring,
August 4, 2015
By: DonHoll
from Longmeadow, MA
"This product could be improved by adding an additional ring for hanging tags, such as the dog's license. Presently, there is only one ring for attaching both the tags and the leash. Otherwise, this is a good product."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
finders keepers,
July 30, 2015
By: WarmWhimsy
from Kansas
"Many times my dog's martingale collar and leash are "hard to find" at day care. By having his name printed on the collar, it is easier to find."
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Collar,
July 29, 2015
By: Fieldgirls
from Chicago, IL
"I do a lot with my dogs and some sports don't allow tags for safety reasons. I can still have contact info clearly visible without a tag that can get caught up. I have collars from a previous order so this is not my first purchase. The collars are a good quality and hold up well over time. I'm sure I will order others in the future."
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good but do not monogram,
July 24, 2015
By: austin571
"The large is 1 inch as advertised. Nice collar. Monograming is left aligned instead of right and the slide that adjusts the collar length could go over your monograming. Easy fix to right align the text, but Orvis left aligns it."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Collar w name,
July 22, 2015
By: Debbie65
from Houston, TX
"I bought martingale collars for my two dogs. I purchased the correct size collars but because they are adjustable the embroidered name is not in the best position. The size M is especially difficult because I need that size but on the smallest adjustment. The names are still visible and readable, but have hardware over them."
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just perfect!,
July 8, 2015
By: Snetter
from New Haven, Ct
"The dog collar is made well and is embroidered perfectly. I love it!"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as I expected!,
July 2, 2015
By: Dondi76
from Minnesota
"Anytime I order from Orvis, I know I will be getting top quality merchandise, This order was no exception. Fits perfectly and looks nice."
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Collar,
June 18, 2015
By: Charcharca
from Silicon Valley, CA
"We like these collars for our dogs. We take them with us always. Knowing that we have their collars with our info makes us feel twice as safe-our animals are chipped as well."
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quaility martingale,
June 16, 2015
By: Cheryl11dogs
from Tijeras, New Mexico
"I have bought two martingale collars from Orvis and have been 100% pleased with the products. The quality is exceptional, and when I need another collar for one of my other dogs, I will definitely return to Orvis to purchase them/it."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martingale collar,
June 11, 2015
By: hemimopar
from piscataway n. j.
"the collar works great and does not harm the dogs throat like a choker chain collar"
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely satisfied,
May 27, 2015
By: Greyhoundmom06
"Getting new collars for our rescued greyhound was painless. The color choices made it fun and the ease of ordering and quick delivery made it simple."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
May 24, 2015
By: Bettyjune
from IN
"This is the second set of martingale collars I have purchased for my dogs. They are excellent and I appreciate the ability to have a personalized name & number embroidered. The previous two (about 3-4years old) are in excellent condition; I am just paranoid & think such items should be replaced every few years."
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality and nice colors,
May 19, 2015
By: SGDemeria
from Richmond VA
"This is a great collar, very well made, good fit, and great color choices. My dog seems to like wearing it and while it does the job to help stop the pulling, it doesn't make her uncomfortable or hurt her. Definitely recommend it!"
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ND TIME AROUND,
May 12, 2015
By: oldcopjim
from Downingtown, PA
"The martindale dog collars I purchased are my 2nd set of collars.
They are excellent in their intent and purpose and I believe they are very comfortable for our "girls" to wear.
The ONLY reason I ordered a 2nd set of collars is that the 1st set are now faded and "a bit" dirty."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
April 29, 2015
By: luvmeluvmydog
from Horseheads, NY
"Works like a charm to control your dog and keep them safe!"
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boxer mom in control II,
April 29, 2015
By: boxermomincontrol
from West Manchester,OH
"Came back for another Martingale collar. Love them! Able to control 90# pup with no problem."