Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 characters; medium and large with up to 24 characters. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (260 reviews)
5 stars
174
4 stars
46
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
8
225 of 260(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST ORVIS PURCHASE !!!!,
October 22, 2014
By: janisseward
from Akron, Ohio
"Of the many quality products I have bought from Orvis, THIS ONE is (by FAR) the very best!!!!!!
A soft "choke collar" is a lovely oxymoron!!!!!
I have purchased these for all of my many rescue dogs and nothing works better!
Being able to add the name and contact phone number is the icing on the cake. If tags fall off, the identity remains!
Janis"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything perfect for "Luke",
October 17, 2014
By: GROSMUTE
from Sycamore, Il
"We ordered a collar for our Lab:
the name & phone number and fit for his collar was just we ordered
Thanks
"
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome collar,
October 14, 2014
By: reeves414
from Boston, MA
"My dog loves her new Martingale collar...I did the white stitching on the black collar and it came out very nice. I have a small dog so the thinner collar works well for her. I wish it was just made a little more clear that there is no plastic clip release on the collar. But love it!"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
October 8, 2014
By: caadam4
from Truckee, CA
"The collar fits perfect, works as good as chain choke collar with the added security of name & number."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Collar,
October 3, 2014
By: newyorker185
from Grosse Pointe Farms,MI.
"I really like the collar for the way it works and providing a strong hold on the dog. I don't really use it as a training tool but is very useful for reinforcement.
The personalization with name and phone number is the best part of all.
"
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great training tool,
September 28, 2014
By: Treybyrd
from Anderson , SC
"This collar is great because it will only tighten so far on my labs neck..I feel it is safer than a choke chain..she does not get short of breath with this new design on her neck..."
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
September 25, 2014
By: Labradorfan
from TX
"Have used these collars for years. Have new young dog who hasn't had leash training & this collar allows gentle corrections. Personalization means no jangly tags to lose."
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy these all the time,
September 24, 2014
By: MyHounds
from Burke VA
"These are, without any doubt, the best collars for dogs. I have two stubborn basset hounds and these collars prevent them from slipping out of their collars when they 'put on their brakes' during walks. Nice and sturdy and washable too! I buy these every time I get another hound!"
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collars,
September 23, 2014
By: normw
from Santa Cruz, CA
"My two dogs have about a 20" neck and I was worried that these collars would be too tight. I was happy when they arrived as they were plenty big and they even had more room left when properly adjusted. The colors were bright and vivid and the personalization was perfectly done. Orvis shines as usual!"
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 18, 2014
By: Stoney4wi
"I love this collar for 2 reasons. I can embroider phone numbers on and the colors are great. I guess there is a third, the collar is very durable . I have one that has lasted through three dogs."
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar!,
September 15, 2014
By: OneHappyDog
"Martingale Collar was great for my dog. I could finally do away with the silver dog tag that clanged around and made the white fur of my dog's neck grey. Plus, the information was actually sewn in the collar. Thus, when my lab went swimming, the name and phone number didn't become unglued!"
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them,
September 15, 2014
By: Pasty
from Aledo, Texas
"I use these for all my Dalmatians, the personalization is such a wonderful thing , since most tags become scratch hand can not read them. So nice to see the bold writing on the collar if you were to ever lose or find a canine with the Orvis Martingale collar. I have washed mine several times and they look great afterwards. I do wish you would offer brown as a monograph color.."
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collar,
September 11, 2014
By: JoeStRM
from Lacey's Spring, AL
"We have two labs, which I walk on a double lead. This collar works very well, allowing one to maintain control, without choking the dogs. We've been very pleased with both the function and quality of this collar... engraving is also top quality and looks very distinctive. If we had more dogs, I'd order more of these collars!"
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog collar!,
September 10, 2014
By: RickH
from Bend, Oregon
"Having purchased the Martingale Collar for both of our dogs and really like them, we recently purchased them for our daughter's two Goldens. They are equally impressed with them. They are extremely durable and the monogramming on the collars is great for contact information."
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chilico,
September 3, 2014
By: Chilico
"I like the martingale collar as it provides me with adequate control and is comfortable for her to wear. I also like adding her name and my phone number in case she wanders off. Also, the color is great."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Useless,
August 27, 2014
By: MartyF
from Galveston, TX
"This collar is useless. I have ordered collars from Orvis since 1997 and they all have been break away snap on collars. This collar has no snap on so it is a health hazard to leave it on a dog."
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for my Arthritis,
July 29, 2014
By: Nouna
"In addition to being a wonderful and safe collar, I am able to put this on and remove with ease!"
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog collar,
July 23, 2014
By: MaineMaggie
from Maine
"This is the second martingale collar we have purchased for our dog. We ordered a second because we were so pleased with the first one. The collar wears well (we have had the first one for 4 years), but the most important part is that the name and phone number are stitched through the collar so they don't wear off unlike some other brands that just ink the information on the collar. We purchased the second collar so that our dog will have one collar with our home phone for when we are local and one collar with our cell phone for when we travel. I would recommend this collar."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this collar!,
July 17, 2014
By: Basha1155
"My 10-year old Golden Retriever started out in life as a leash puller. This collar really helped him - and me - train during out walks. Now, all these years later, we rely on this to guide and correct when needed. The engraving is high quality and SO helpful when he's in a doggie daycare situation. I can always find his leash and collar!"
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
July 15, 2014
By: Bassethoundowner
"I own Basset Hounds and the Martingale collars work so well for them. They don't pull once the collar puts some tension on their neck. I also love the fact that their name and my phone number is embroidered on. No clinging of tags or the chance of the information falling off."