Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 letters and/or numbers, including spaces; medium and large with up to 24 letters and/or numbers, including spaces. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (279 reviews)
5 stars
188
4 stars
50
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
9
243 of 279(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Expected,
January 28, 2015
By: Tomr23692
"This dog collar is great. The size is true and the construction is solid. Much more humane than a choke or pinch collar. You can control your dog with gentle tension."
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
January 3, 2015
By: SueNRacha
"I am very happy with this collar. It is strong yet lightweight. I have a Mastiff that has a giant head and neck. With other collars he is able to back out of them. This has the cinch feature when hooked to a leash, although it is all nylon and not chain at all. He is not able to back out of this one and I can keep it on him loosely 24x7 when not on the leash. Also loooove that his name and my phone # is stitched into the collar and no need for a jangly name tag."
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
customized,
January 3, 2015
By: blan
"The only place that I could find a custom martingale collar that fits my golden."
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collars,
January 2, 2015
By: SKSSO
"I was pleasantly surprised with my recent purchase of two martingale collars. The measurement guidance provided on-site was accurate, and they provide good control of my dogs. Best of all, when I called into Orvis after I made my online purchase and expressed my concern re: ordering personalized collars as a first time order, they assured me of their 100% satisfaction guarantee. Love it! Will purchase from Orvis many times in the future."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar,
January 2, 2015
By: MnMsMom
"I love the ease of adjusting the collar, the fit for my dog, the color, and the monograming. Customer service was great and delivery was prompt."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking, well made collar!,
December 31, 2014
By: TJinNoVA
"This is a wonderful looking collar of very high quality. I like the martingale style as we can just slip it on and off over his head, and I love having his name and phone number so visible. My dog gets filthy at the dog park every day, and I wanted something I could toss in the washer and dryer. It looks brand new after each washing, and hasn't shown any wear at all!"
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not meet my expectations,
December 30, 2014
By: beverlyallen
"This collar is too narrow and small for my boxer and Labrador. Also, when the collr is placed on the dog, the monogramed name of the dog falls 90 degrees to the right and hangs almost under the neck where it can't be seen. I am going to try and send it back to get my money back. Too costly for such a narrow collar."
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fit,
December 27, 2014
By: Rpancho
"Easy to order and it arrived just in time for Christmas. Good quality as always for Orvis. Looking forward to seeing how it holds up under daily use."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
December 19, 2014
By: Amsc
"We already had a blue one for a while and it had held up very well. With Christmas coming up my husband decided a new red one would be nice for our lab. Love the fact we can monogram the dog's name and our phone number in case something happened and his tag was lost (even though he is microchipped)."
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST COLLAR,
December 3, 2014
By: BILLC1
from MECHANICSVILLE VA.
"THIS IS THE BEST COLLAR EVER.
I HAVE PURCHASED TWO, DIFFERENT COLORS, IN THE PAST FIVE MONTHS. THEY WORK REALLY WELL WITH MY 90 LB. PLUS LAB. HE ALSO LOVES THE COLLAR. THANKS ORVIS FOR A QUALITY COLLAR.
BILL C.
"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic collars,
November 20, 2014
By: Janineg
from Bristol
"Love these collars,great quality and cool colours. The stitching is great quality and its brilliant having your phone number stitched on as no need for flimsy tags ..which can easily come off(especially an exuberant boxer!!).
Fantastic,worth every penny.
"
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collar is the BEST,
November 17, 2014
By: Puppyboy
from Elgin, IL
"I needed a collar that was approved for Therapy Dog use. This collar was awesome and great for training on or for flat collar purposes. I use this collar when we are working in a Therapy Dog situation. It is awesome and provides perfect control!!!"
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Well,
November 16, 2014
By: clevelandoutdoorswoman
from Cleveland, OH
"Works better than a choke collar to control my 38-lb. Brittany on our walks in the city. The orange with black embroidery looks outstanding. But I was surprised to find that size M was barely small enough and, as a result, my phone number is partially obscured by the hardware."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what I expected,
November 10, 2014
By: Brandi15
from Davie, Fl
"Looks good and seems to fit comfortably. If I make it smaller I will lose some of the phone number."
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Collar,
November 6, 2014
By: MountainRat
from Pagosa Springs
"Nice collar, fits well, nice aid in lease training."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these collars,
November 3, 2014
By: dslcj1
from Lyon, MS
"I am very pleased with this collar. I have another one for my other dog. Love the color (pink)!"
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's no gag,
October 31, 2014
By: Babblingbrooks
from Los Angeles
"I have two beagles that eagerly strain at their leashes. This has lead to occasional gagging with a standard collar or chafing when using a body harness. The Martingale collar is simple, easy and effective. Just click and go."
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great walking collar,
October 29, 2014
By: cadaeibf
from Alexandria, VA
"This collar is constructed really well and makes for a very secure collar for walking. Note that there is no release for this collar so you do have to slip it over your dog's head for use and removal. This is exactly what we wanted for our mutt who has always been adept at slipping out of regular collars, but be sure this is what you're after.
Getting name and number on the collar itself is just a bonus. Beautiful, simple collar that will last!"
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST ORVIS PURCHASE !!!!,
October 22, 2014
By: janisseward
from Akron, Ohio
"Of the many quality products I have bought from Orvis, THIS ONE is (by FAR) the very best!!!!!!
A soft "choke collar" is a lovely oxymoron!!!!!
I have purchased these for all of my many rescue dogs and nothing works better!
Being able to add the name and contact phone number is the icing on the cake. If tags fall off, the identity remains!
Janis"
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything perfect for "Luke",
October 17, 2014
By: GROSMUTE
from Sycamore, Il
"We ordered a collar for our Lab:
the name & phone number and fit for his collar was just we ordered
Thanks
"