Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 letters and/or numbers, including spaces; medium and large with up to 24 letters and/or numbers, including spaces. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.413 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (269 reviews)
5 stars
181
4 stars
48
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
8
234 of 269(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST COLLAR,
December 3, 2014
By: BILLC1
from MECHANICSVILLE VA.
"THIS IS THE BEST COLLAR EVER.
I HAVE PURCHASED TWO, DIFFERENT COLORS, IN THE PAST FIVE MONTHS. THEY WORK REALLY WELL WITH MY 90 LB. PLUS LAB. HE ALSO LOVES THE COLLAR. THANKS ORVIS FOR A QUALITY COLLAR.
BILL C.
"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic collars,
November 20, 2014
By: Janineg
from Bristol
"Love these collars,great quality and cool colours. The stitching is great quality and its brilliant having your phone number stitched on as no need for flimsy tags ..which can easily come off(especially an exuberant boxer!!).
Fantastic,worth every penny.
"
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collar is the BEST,
November 17, 2014
By: Puppyboy
from Elgin, IL
"I needed a collar that was approved for Therapy Dog use. This collar was awesome and great for training on or for flat collar purposes. I use this collar when we are working in a Therapy Dog situation. It is awesome and provides perfect control!!!"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Well,
November 16, 2014
By: clevelandoutdoorswoman
from Cleveland, OH
"Works better than a choke collar to control my 38-lb. Brittany on our walks in the city. The orange with black embroidery looks outstanding. But I was surprised to find that size M was barely small enough and, as a result, my phone number is partially obscured by the hardware."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what I expected,
November 10, 2014
By: Brandi15
from Davie, Fl
"Looks good and seems to fit comfortably. If I make it smaller I will lose some of the phone number."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Collar,
November 6, 2014
By: MountainRat
from Pagosa Springs
"Nice collar, fits well, nice aid in lease training."
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these collars,
November 3, 2014
By: dslcj1
from Lyon, MS
"I am very pleased with this collar. I have another one for my other dog. Love the color (pink)!"
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's no gag,
October 31, 2014
By: Babblingbrooks
from Los Angeles
"I have two beagles that eagerly strain at their leashes. This has lead to occasional gagging with a standard collar or chafing when using a body harness. The Martingale collar is simple, easy and effective. Just click and go."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great walking collar,
October 29, 2014
By: cadaeibf
from Alexandria, VA
"This collar is constructed really well and makes for a very secure collar for walking. Note that there is no release for this collar so you do have to slip it over your dog's head for use and removal. This is exactly what we wanted for our mutt who has always been adept at slipping out of regular collars, but be sure this is what you're after.
Getting name and number on the collar itself is just a bonus. Beautiful, simple collar that will last!"
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST ORVIS PURCHASE !!!!,
October 22, 2014
By: janisseward
from Akron, Ohio
"Of the many quality products I have bought from Orvis, THIS ONE is (by FAR) the very best!!!!!!
A soft "choke collar" is a lovely oxymoron!!!!!
I have purchased these for all of my many rescue dogs and nothing works better!
Being able to add the name and contact phone number is the icing on the cake. If tags fall off, the identity remains!
Janis"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything perfect for "Luke",
October 17, 2014
By: GROSMUTE
from Sycamore, Il
"We ordered a collar for our Lab:
the name & phone number and fit for his collar was just we ordered
Thanks
"
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome collar,
October 14, 2014
By: reeves414
from Boston, MA
"My dog loves her new Martingale collar...I did the white stitching on the black collar and it came out very nice. I have a small dog so the thinner collar works well for her. I wish it was just made a little more clear that there is no plastic clip release on the collar. But love it!"
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
October 8, 2014
By: caadam4
from Truckee, CA
"The collar fits perfect, works as good as chain choke collar with the added security of name & number."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Collar,
October 3, 2014
By: newyorker185
from Grosse Pointe Farms,MI.
"I really like the collar for the way it works and providing a strong hold on the dog. I don't really use it as a training tool but is very useful for reinforcement.
The personalization with name and phone number is the best part of all.
"
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great training tool,
September 28, 2014
By: Treybyrd
from Anderson , SC
"This collar is great because it will only tighten so far on my labs neck..I feel it is safer than a choke chain..she does not get short of breath with this new design on her neck..."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
September 25, 2014
By: Labradorfan
from TX
"Have used these collars for years. Have new young dog who hasn't had leash training & this collar allows gentle corrections. Personalization means no jangly tags to lose."
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy these all the time,
September 24, 2014
By: MyHounds
from Burke VA
"These are, without any doubt, the best collars for dogs. I have two stubborn basset hounds and these collars prevent them from slipping out of their collars when they 'put on their brakes' during walks. Nice and sturdy and washable too! I buy these every time I get another hound!"
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collars,
September 23, 2014
By: normw
from Santa Cruz, CA
"My two dogs have about a 20" neck and I was worried that these collars would be too tight. I was happy when they arrived as they were plenty big and they even had more room left when properly adjusted. The colors were bright and vivid and the personalization was perfectly done. Orvis shines as usual!"
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 18, 2014
By: Stoney4wi
"I love this collar for 2 reasons. I can embroider phone numbers on and the colors are great. I guess there is a third, the collar is very durable . I have one that has lasted through three dogs."
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar!,
September 15, 2014
By: OneHappyDog
"Martingale Collar was great for my dog. I could finally do away with the silver dog tag that clanged around and made the white fur of my dog's neck grey. Plus, the information was actually sewn in the collar. Thus, when my lab went swimming, the name and phone number didn't become unglued!"