Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 characters; medium and large with up to 24 characters. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (220 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
45
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
6
187 of 220(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Idea,
April 17, 2014
By: SuperJaws456
from California
"I choose to order this collar because the other day at the local dog park, someone had just left an older dog in the park. No one around - none of us knew what to do with him. The hard part was - he had tags - but I could't read them. They were very worn and very small. I got to thinking my dogs tags were in the same shape - what would someone do if they got lost. Now they have their names and my phone number in big bold letters and numbers on their collars - so anyone can read them - even an older person (like me) who doesn't take their glasses to the dog park.!"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long time user,
March 26, 2014
By: CandO33
from San Antonio, TX
"We have used Martingale collars with 5 or 6 dogs for 20 plus years.
Obviously they work well for us.
"
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well Made,
March 13, 2014
By: JP93
from Texas
"I ordered the standard collars first and then these to making walking to large dogs easier. Very well made, good fit, easy on & off.
Perfect!!
"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I ordered!!,
March 4, 2014
By: RallyDog
"Martingale collar came just as ordered with correct call name of pup and correct telephone number. Delivery was prompt. Fits as expected. I am pleased with my order and would order product again if necessary."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Only one problem,
February 20, 2014
By: Harlasmom
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I love this collar, and have purchased many. My only complaint is with the pink color fading to light blush."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tough to get on and off,
February 19, 2014
By: Awal
from Denver, CO
"This collar is well made and the monogramming (optional) looks good. The Martingale cinch gets the dogs attention and seems to reduce pulling.
The fatal flaw, however, is the lack of a snap buckle for quick on/off. Without it, you have to continually loosen the collar with the series of sliders and stays, remove it, and then reverse the process when you want to put it back on.
This is compounded by the fact that the advice is that the collar should only be worn when walking the dog and not as a permanent collar. Having to remove and resize that collar three times a day is untenable. Look for something different."
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best collar,
February 17, 2014
By: barbieg
from Palm Beach, FL
"Great way to identify your precious pet--makes ID easy to be seen"
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality and Works Well!,
February 17, 2014
By: BudewskisMom
from Boston, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Well made, strong collar. Easy to slip on and off. Walks are much easier. Would recommend for dogs who pull and slip their collars."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just right,
February 14, 2014
By: Rescued
from Del Mar, California
"We recently adopted a rescue dog what a love. He came with a martingale style collar. It was OK but not a good fit. I decided to order two new Martingale Collars with name and phone number on for both my dogs they are just right. Give freedom on a walk but if you need more control it tightens just the right amount no choking!! Excellent quality. Good buy."
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar for Our Pup,
February 6, 2014
By: IngoFamily
from Minneapolis, MN
"We love this collar and so does our puppy!
Having our dog's name and our phone number woven right into the nylon collar is fantastic. I had riveted an engraved metal plate onto his old collar and it quickly came loose.
The martingale feature is a great way to help a dog learn how to walk on a lead without the discomfort of a choke collar.
"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar!,
February 4, 2014
By: jcsporthorses
from Clayton, NC
"This is a great collar for dogs who like to try and pull back and out. It prevents them from pulling out of their collar and trying to run away! I will be purchasing more for all of my dogs."
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
February 4, 2014
By: crmw
from St Louis, MO
"Have had these collars for our dogs for years. Good quality"
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collars,
January 28, 2014
By: ChampAce
from Bastrop,TX
"Love the no-slip collar feature. Works like a charm. Names and Ph.# on the collar is huge! No more lost tags. My new puppy bolted out the door the same day I put on his new monogrammed collar. I was so relieved he was wearing it. I knew it would help him get home safely. I was right."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
January 22, 2014
By: ajtk
"We had previously used the conventional Orvis collars on our dogs and were pleased with them. When "Harry" adopted us just before Christmas, the shelter sold us this type of collar. When I saw it in the catalog, ordered it with "Harry" and phone embroidered on it. It fits great and works well with the training him to walk with us."
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Happy Dogs,
January 22, 2014
By: Patiently
from Setauket, NY
"I bought two monogrammed Martingale collars for my grandogs, Hawkins and Chamois. They both settled right into the collars and look adorable in their pink and red collars with contrasting monograms. Best part is that the phone number is on the collars just in case they get lost. Priceless investment!"
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Control Collar,
January 16, 2014
By: BaileyDogOxford
from Oxford
"Purchased to use just as a collar for walks - fits over head easily and doesn't go too tight - doesn't stop pooch from pulling, but I know he won't hurt himself - made from decent strong materials"
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent product,
January 16, 2014
By: RobbieL
"The idea is nice...name and contact info stitched on collar. Martingale collars are great.
The "quality control" of stitching could be better. Once adjusted to fit my dog, part of the phone number is not visible. All parts of the stitching should be visible within the adjustable size of the collar.
Also the collar could be a little heavier material."
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was what I wanted and needed,
January 15, 2014
By: libbydibby
from Marin, CA
"Our dog runs off and this collar has her address on it and cannot come undone.
It proviides a clear message to her when we need her to heal as it tightens, but not too much.
Lasts a long time too. Good price."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Collars,
January 14, 2014
By: sammypantz101
"These are wonderful collars. I bough the mediums for our Goldendoodle last year with his name and our phone number embroidered on after he lost all of his tags. Twice! They fit him well and have held up very well over the past year.
My most recent purchase was of the large collars for our Newfoundland. He's only 6 mos old, so I'm not sure if this collar will fit when he's full grown, but there's definitely a lot of room for growth so we'll see.
My only issue is that I wanted the 2 new collars also embroidered with his name and our phone number. I thought I did this, but they came blank and when I check my receipt I can't find that the personalization was ever added. I'm sure it's my fault, but just a word to the wise to double check when you add this collar to your cart."
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Secure collar,
December 26, 2013
By: Illinios59
from Illinois
"Great collar. Had problems when taking the dogs to the vet. As soon as they saw the door, they wanted to go back to the car. This collar doesn't choke or come off of their neck which makes me feel better that I know they won't get loose."