Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 letters and/or numbers, including spaces; medium and large with up to 24 letters and/or numbers, including spaces. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (291 reviews)
5 stars
200
4 stars
50
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
9
255 of 291(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
March 31, 2015
By: TexasMolly
from Sugar Land, Texas
"This collar works great on my VERY STRONG German Shepherd. So much nicer and safer than a choke chain and much easier than a prong collar. He usually walks well on a leash without pulling, until he sees a cat or a squirrel. This collar has made our walks much nicer!"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Pulling!,
February 26, 2015
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"Bella, our rescue dog, loved to pull on her Orvis collar and leash. When i saw the Martingale collar i thought I'd give it a try. It slips easily over her head and sits above her regular collar. No more pulling! A simple light tug and Bella comes along nicely. Thanks Orvis"
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking collar,
February 26, 2015
By: zebtJ
"I have a small dog that is easily distracted. This collar helps me keep her focused during our walks."
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Walking Collar Ever,
February 23, 2015
By: SWheatieMom
from Odessa, TX
"I bought two of the Martingale collars for my Wheaten Terriers, and they work great! They are easy to slip on for walks, and they are great for gentle correction. Would highly recommend! Love them!"
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alternative trainer,
February 16, 2015
By: Deborahdlevy
from Salisbury MD
"This attractive, well made martingale is sturdy, colorful and VERY effective. The width of the collar keeps you from inhumanely choking your dog while still getting across the message that the pulling behavior is not acceptable."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Collar,
February 12, 2015
By: PDoll
from Eagle,ID
"My dog would pull out of her collar when she didn't want to walk in the direction I was leading her - no more! Collar is attractive and making my dog behave!"
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ND PURCHASE OF MARTINGALE COLLAR,
February 12, 2015
By: JAH21
"THIS IS OUR 2ND PURCHASE OF THIS ITEM. IT IS AN EXCELLENT ITEM"
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 5, 2015
By: CandO33
from San Antonio, TX
"We have used this style collar for at least 15 years. It especially effective with large dogs. It easily adjustable, and is dog and handler friendly."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality collar,
February 4, 2015
By: artrack
from NW Indiana
"I like my purchase. The stitching is very nice. The material seems strong. The collar stays as set. I wish it was wider but it is easy to read."
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft chocked w/ custom stitching,
February 4, 2015
By: Kimiko
from Colorado
"Great product with nice options that allow you to truly personalize it. My girl got all excited when I put it on her, she had never done that before"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these collars,
February 3, 2015
By: Nouna
from St. Louis, MO
"I love these collars because they are so functional and serve many purposes.
They are easy to put on and take off. I take my dogs collars off when they come inside. I have arthritis and the plastic buckles are very difficult for me. These collars can't come apart
I love having my name and phone
number on the collar, no worry of a tag coming off.
The collars are great and so well made
"
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Expected,
January 28, 2015
By: Tomr23692
"This dog collar is great. The size is true and the construction is solid. Much more humane than a choke or pinch collar. You can control your dog with gentle tension."
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
January 3, 2015
By: SueNRacha
"I am very happy with this collar. It is strong yet lightweight. I have a Mastiff that has a giant head and neck. With other collars he is able to back out of them. This has the cinch feature when hooked to a leash, although it is all nylon and not chain at all. He is not able to back out of this one and I can keep it on him loosely 24x7 when not on the leash. Also loooove that his name and my phone # is stitched into the collar and no need for a jangly name tag."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
customized,
January 3, 2015
By: blan
"The only place that I could find a custom martingale collar that fits my golden."
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collars,
January 2, 2015
By: SKSSO
"I was pleasantly surprised with my recent purchase of two martingale collars. The measurement guidance provided on-site was accurate, and they provide good control of my dogs. Best of all, when I called into Orvis after I made my online purchase and expressed my concern re: ordering personalized collars as a first time order, they assured me of their 100% satisfaction guarantee. Love it! Will purchase from Orvis many times in the future."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Collar,
January 2, 2015
By: MnMsMom
"I love the ease of adjusting the collar, the fit for my dog, the color, and the monograming. Customer service was great and delivery was prompt."
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking, well made collar!,
December 31, 2014
By: TJinNoVA
"This is a wonderful looking collar of very high quality. I like the martingale style as we can just slip it on and off over his head, and I love having his name and phone number so visible. My dog gets filthy at the dog park every day, and I wanted something I could toss in the washer and dryer. It looks brand new after each washing, and hasn't shown any wear at all!"
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did not meet my expectations,
December 30, 2014
By: beverlyallen
"This collar is too narrow and small for my boxer and Labrador. Also, when the collr is placed on the dog, the monogramed name of the dog falls 90 degrees to the right and hangs almost under the neck where it can't be seen. I am going to try and send it back to get my money back. Too costly for such a narrow collar."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fit,
December 27, 2014
By: Rpancho
"Easy to order and it arrived just in time for Christmas. Good quality as always for Orvis. Looking forward to seeing how it holds up under daily use."
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Collar,
December 19, 2014
By: Amsc
"We already had a blue one for a while and it had held up very well. With Christmas coming up my husband decided a new red one would be nice for our lab. Love the fact we can monogram the dog's name and our phone number in case something happened and his tag was lost (even though he is microchipped)."