Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 letters and/or numbers, including spaces; medium and large with up to 24 letters and/or numbers, including spaces. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (302 reviews)
5 stars
211
4 stars
50
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
9
266 of 302(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality and nice colors,
May 19, 2015
By: SGDemeria
from Richmond VA
"This is a great collar, very well made, good fit, and great color choices. My dog seems to like wearing it and while it does the job to help stop the pulling, it doesn't make her uncomfortable or hurt her. Definitely recommend it!"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ND TIME AROUND,
May 12, 2015
By: oldcopjim
from Downingtown, PA
"The martindale dog collars I purchased are my 2nd set of collars.
They are excellent in their intent and purpose and I believe they are very comfortable for our "girls" to wear.
The ONLY reason I ordered a 2nd set of collars is that the 1st set are now faded and "a bit" dirty."
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
April 29, 2015
By: luvmeluvmydog
from Horseheads, NY
"Works like a charm to control your dog and keep them safe!"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boxer mom in control II,
April 29, 2015
By: boxermomincontrol
from West Manchester,OH
"Came back for another Martingale collar. Love them! Able to control 90# pup with no problem."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peace of mind,
April 23, 2015
By: TucsonNoMore
from Peoria, AZ
"I've used this collar on my dogs for years. I'm very satisfied with the level of control it provides, the comfort the dog feels and the durability of the collar itself! I moved and so the information on the 1st one was incorrect, requiring purchasing a second collar. It wasn't because it had failed. It is still very usable, and we use it when bathing the dog. By the way, having the contact info on the collar gives me peace of mind. This is one great product!"
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dog Collar,
April 17, 2015
By: MamaLinda
from Memphis, TN
"Wonderful collar. Used it for a very NERVOUS adopted Shih Tzu. He got scared when attaching a leash to a normal collar. We tried a harness, but it was an ordeal to put on. This Martingale is perfect. The collar can easily rotate where leash attachment is on his backside, not hanging below is neck. It gives, so dog does not choke, but stays on dog. The embroidery is fabulous, easy to read."
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar,
April 17, 2015
By: Drtree
from Austin Texas
"Thisvis an improvement on an already good collar. The chain could get caught in a crate, ect. Now the new collar has eliminated the chain part and it's still effective as a martindale that tightens when the dog pulls at leash. We have one for each dog with name and phone number."
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martingdale dog collar,
April 16, 2015
By: megan8
from Cornwall
"A brilliant product and because all identity is emmbroidered on the collar, there is no need for a metal disc. Saves all that annoying clanking on feed and water bowls."
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collar with contact info,
April 6, 2015
By: heatherawhit
"This is a good collar with dog's name and phone number on it so he always can be found - make sure that your dog's neck measurement coincides with the larger limit on the collar (for example, if your dog's neck measures 19 inches, get the one that can go from 14-20 inches, etc.)"
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
April 1, 2015
By: PepsiDog
from Spokane WA
"This is the second one that I have purchased, as well as other previous collars for other dogs. Not that there was a problem with the one I had, just needed a "girly" version since everyone kept calling my dog a "him". Great collar, holds up well and looks nice after 3 years of walks, wanders and swimming!"
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Purchase,
March 31, 2015
By: TexasMolly
from Sugar Land, Texas
"This collar works great on my VERY STRONG German Shepherd. So much nicer and safer than a choke chain and much easier than a prong collar. He usually walks well on a leash without pulling, until he sees a cat or a squirrel. This collar has made our walks much nicer!"
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Pulling!,
February 26, 2015
By: brookie48
from UP of MIchigan
"Bella, our rescue dog, loved to pull on her Orvis collar and leash. When i saw the Martingale collar i thought I'd give it a try. It slips easily over her head and sits above her regular collar. No more pulling! A simple light tug and Bella comes along nicely. Thanks Orvis"
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking collar,
February 26, 2015
By: zebtJ
"I have a small dog that is easily distracted. This collar helps me keep her focused during our walks."
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Walking Collar Ever,
February 23, 2015
By: SWheatieMom
from Odessa, TX
"I bought two of the Martingale collars for my Wheaten Terriers, and they work great! They are easy to slip on for walks, and they are great for gentle correction. Would highly recommend! Love them!"
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alternative trainer,
February 16, 2015
By: Deborahdlevy
from Salisbury MD
"This attractive, well made martingale is sturdy, colorful and VERY effective. The width of the collar keeps you from inhumanely choking your dog while still getting across the message that the pulling behavior is not acceptable."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Collar,
February 12, 2015
By: PDoll
from Eagle,ID
"My dog would pull out of her collar when she didn't want to walk in the direction I was leading her - no more! Collar is attractive and making my dog behave!"
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ND PURCHASE OF MARTINGALE COLLAR,
February 12, 2015
By: JAH21
"THIS IS OUR 2ND PURCHASE OF THIS ITEM. IT IS AN EXCELLENT ITEM"
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
February 5, 2015
By: CandO33
from San Antonio, TX
"We have used this style collar for at least 15 years. It especially effective with large dogs. It easily adjustable, and is dog and handler friendly."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality collar,
February 4, 2015
By: artrack
from NW Indiana
"I like my purchase. The stitching is very nice. The material seems strong. The collar stays as set. I wish it was wider but it is easy to read."
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft chocked w/ custom stitching,
February 4, 2015
By: Kimiko
from Colorado
"Great product with nice options that allow you to truly personalize it. My girl got all excited when I put it on her, she had never done that before"