Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Martingale Collar

This is the most effective, safe, and humane collar we've found that gives you added control over your dog. Safer to use than a choke chain, Martingale personalized dog collars are favored by professional dog-show handlers because they offer much more control than standard buckle collars. Worn loosely, they tighten up only to a certain point to get the dog's attention and then stop—never choking. Nylon webbing. Steel D-ring. Unlike other collars, the measurement taken for the Martingale collar is at the top of the neck, directly behind the ears, to correspond with the size of the collar in the closed position. These personalized dog collars feature quality nylon webbing. Personalize small with up to 15 characters; medium and large with up to 24 characters. Personalization is available on collars only. Choose contrasting thread color: gold, pink, red, purple, green, blue, orange, white, black. Washable. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.372 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (242 reviews)
5 stars
157
4 stars
46
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
7
208 of 242(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martingale Collar
Review 1 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for my Arthritis,
July 29, 2014
By: Nouna
"In addition to being a wonderful and safe collar, I am able to put this on and remove with ease!"
Review 2 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog collar,
July 23, 2014
By: MaineMaggie
from Maine
"This is the second martingale collar we have purchased for our dog. We ordered a second because we were so pleased with the first one. The collar wears well (we have had the first one for 4 years), but the most important part is that the name and phone number are stitched through the collar so they don't wear off unlike some other brands that just ink the information on the collar. We purchased the second collar so that our dog will have one collar with our home phone for when we are local and one collar with our cell phone for when we travel. I would recommend this collar."
Review 3 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this collar!,
July 17, 2014
By: Basha1155
"My 10-year old Golden Retriever started out in life as a leash puller. This collar really helped him - and me - train during out walks. Now, all these years later, we rely on this to guide and correct when needed. The engraving is high quality and SO helpful when he's in a doggie daycare situation. I can always find his leash and collar!"
Review 4 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works very well,
July 15, 2014
By: Bassethoundowner
"I own Basset Hounds and the Martingale collars work so well for them. They don't pull once the collar puts some tension on their neck. I also love the fact that their name and my phone number is embroidered on. No clinging of tags or the chance of the information falling off."
Review 5 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
safe,
July 11, 2014
By: skunky111
from Denver, CO
"Martingale collar is a wonderful system! I know that the collar will not slip over my dogs head and avoids choking."
Review 6 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Martingale Collar,
July 8, 2014
By: AlyPoet
from Medford, MA
"My sweet dog yellow Lab, part Goldie - part pibull - was able to get out of her regular snap collar. Having friends with Greyhounds, I thought trying out a Martingale collar would solve the problem. Goldie loves it and the color and personalization make it extra special. Thank you!"
Review 7 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great collars,
June 20, 2014
By: Meggz
from Fishkill, NY
"I am happy with my purchase. These collars are strong and sturdy. I have also bought a buckle collar for my border collie mixes from
Orvis but they grew out of it. Now that they are all grown up I tried these. They are much thinner but I still have no complaints.
"
Review 8 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT COLLAR,
June 16, 2014
By: BILLC1
from MECHANICSVILLE VA.
"I JUST RESCUED A LAB RETRIEVER MIX ONE YEAR ABOUT 80 LBS. HE IS A HANDFUL OR SHOULD I SAY A COLLAR FULL. THIS IS THE PERFECT COLLAR.THANK YOU ORVIS ALSO IT IS THE BEST QUALITY.
BILL AND ANGEL BOY"
Review 9 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will not have any other collar type.,
June 11, 2014
By: Eightdogs
from Midland, Texas
"My dogs rapidly figure out how to slip out of regular collars usually after squirrels and such. This collar has eliminated their fun. Great collar!"
Review 10 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best collar ever,
June 9, 2014
By: PJLBO
from Columbia,SC
"This is my second one- the only reason for purchasing a second was to get another color(these wear like iron). The added feature of allowing personalization(phone #) was also important given that my friend is partially blind."
Review 11 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale Collar for Puppy,
June 6, 2014
By: Labtails
from Athens, OH.
"Needed a secure walking collar for an active Beagle puppy that would not pinch. This martingale collar fit s the job. Easy to put on & take off."
Review 12 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good collar for all sizes,
June 4, 2014
By: jnzn
from Texas
"This is the 3rd martingale collar we have purchased from Orvis. We never worry about our dogs getting off-leash while wearing this collar since it has our dog's name and phone number embroidered on it. Easy directions for measuring dog for proper fit."
Review 13 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martingale,
May 28, 2014
By: sandyme
from Seattle WA
"It's great for walking our dog! She loves it because we don't pull each other!"
Review 14 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back up puppy!,
May 27, 2014
By: Daisy4141
"The Martingale collar keeps my year old dog from backing out of her collar when I walk her yet it does not chock her. It works so much better than the chocker chain and she now walk with me with no problem."
Review 15 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Full Disclosure,
May 25, 2014
By: GatoMio123
"I bought this martingdale collar and lead to replace the faded orchid one I bought about 3 years ago. The old one is a sturdy fabric, 1" wide. the replacement is a little over 1/2", THIN, and costs the same as the original better quality one. It's okay for a smallish pet, but not for a full grown dog. Very skimpy. I am so disappointed since I love the color and haven't found that same shade of purple anywhere."
Review 16 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great product,
May 14, 2014
By: Christine4
"I have Huskie and this is the only type of collar that I can use on her, because she will slip out of a regular collar. The embroidery is great. I would like it to have been wider, and to have a bigger ring for the lead."
Review 17 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wiggle out of it,
May 9, 2014
By: CocoaBentely
from Lancaster, OH
"Bentley is learning to walk with me without stress as she can't wiggle out of this collar. I like it because it does not choke her like the choker chain does and she responds more quickly when I tug on the collar. Really a good buy and heartily recommend it to you especially if you have a tugger and wiggler."
Review 18 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we needed,
May 7, 2014
By: Carol45
"This collar solves my problem of my dog always trying to slip her collar. I don't like the chain choke collars, so I was so happy to find this collar in your catalog. It works great and is comfortable for my dog."
Review 19 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOOKING ALL OVER,
May 7, 2014
By: EDITHJOE
from LYNDONVILLE, NY
"I have been trying to find this collar for a couple of years. Came across the collar on an adopted grey hound walking my dog. They are so durable and stand up to rain & swimming. You can't find them in any pet store around here. Received a catalog and ordered 2 for each dog right away. A little pricey, but they last forever."
Review 20 for Martingale Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Collar & Effective Collar,
May 2, 2014
By: HannahCVT
from Terryville, CT
"I adopted a 7 week old Pitbull and he has grown to be a very strong dog so I needed an effective and reliable collar that would do the job and serve its purpose. I walk my Pitbull (now 6 months old) with his collar high on the neck so that he doesn't pull and choke himself, and this collar works very well, both for control, comfort, and for identification purposes. I love this martingale collar!!!"