Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Summer-Weight Quilt

We removed just enough batting from this quilt to make it the perfect weight for summer. Pieced in a subtle patchwork of triangles, it offers a refreshing take on traditional quilt design. Allover popcorn stitching adds a textural look and feel. Finished with a floral border and solid back. In pale blue. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
25 of 28(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summer-Weight Quilt
Review 1 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost like Nana's !,
June 16, 2014
By: ChloeCovers
from Big Island of Hawai'i
"Was pleasantly delighted when I received this quilt. Unlike many modern quilts which are basically one piece of fabric with stitches sewn on, this one's almost like the one's Nana made. There are small squares and triangles sewn together in a flying geese pattern and then it's quilted together. Color is like the photo. Love my summer quilt."
Review 2 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally - a summer quilt,
June 10, 2014
By: ElversonWalker1
from Elverson, PA
"This is a beautiful, well-made quilt. I have been looking for a true summer-weight quilt for years and finally found one. The only disappointment was that the shams were back-ordered, but they are well worth the wait."
Review 3 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colors of summer,
June 4, 2014
By: Retiredteacher13
from IL
"This quilt has the beautiful soft colors of summer, with a lightweight softness. It's a lovely change from the quilt I use in the winter. This one makes the whole room feel light and breezy. It changes the feel of the room completely!"
Review 4 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quilt!,
April 30, 2014
By: RJmidwest
from Midwest
"Absolutely beautiful quilt. The colors are tranquil, and I did not notice any unpleasant smell upon opening the packaging. It also seems well-constructed."
Review 5 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this quilt!,
November 6, 2013
By: RTF1
from Southern US
"I love this quilt and bought two of them for one of my bedrooms! The quilt is even prettier when you see it on a bed, rather then in a picture. I would not actually refer to it as, "summer weight," but still, I absolutely love it! I have a number of handmade quilts, yet this one is probably my favoite!"
Review 6 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Quilt,
August 24, 2013
By: Iceage
from Gettysburg, PA
"My only regret is they no longer have it in the other colors. I bought it in yellow several years ago and it is my favorite quilt (I have 20 or so). The colors are so soft and it's the perfect summer/fall weight."
Review 7 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
not the color in catalog,
June 26, 2013
By: Rhinomomma
from Plover, Wisconsin
"Loved the quilt in the catalog and ordered it because of the color. At first I thought they had shipped the wrong quilt but no, it is really more blue than green and has lots of yellow in it. It still went well with my room and is the perfect weight for summer."
Review 8 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Summer colors,
June 24, 2013
By: Lakelady46
from Lakeside Missouri
"The weight of the quilt was fine. The stitching way below par, puckered. It would have been nice to have a bed skirt available to go with it, an easy on style since king sized mattresses are impossible to lift! It is a good enough quilt for the lake."
Review 9 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
May 1, 2013
By: Dreamqueen
from Reading, PA
"Love the summer-weight quilt! It's colors are muted & looks more sophisticated than "country", which is exactly what I wanted. The quilt washed well and has a great feel.
Some reviewers mentioned the size. Well it is a quilt, not a bedspread, so it comes a short distance down the sides of the bed. This is what I wanted, but if you are looking for something to come halfway or more down the sides, you will be disappointed."
Review 10 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Quilt,
July 25, 2012
By: JudiB
from Alton nh
"Love this coverlet. It arrived quickly. The ordering of the shams was a little confusing for me since they were not distinguished from the quilt in the process. Company said they would look into the matter"
Review 11 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Quality,
July 10, 2012
By: careergal
from Eureka, CA
"We are very pleased with this Summer Weight Quilt - the color is great and it looks very nice on our bed. Also is perfect weight for summers here on the North Coast of California. I did wash it before I put it on the bed (in my home washer and dryer) and it came out beautifully!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smelly Quilt,
July 10, 2012
By: freshair
"When I opened the plastic zippered package that wrapped the quilt, I was almost overcome by the odor of dry cleaning solvent. The material of the supposed cotton quilt was very slick and shiny, like it was coated with something. I would have returned it, but I live in a very rural area and needed the quilt for arriving company. I washed it in very hot water several times to get rid of the smell and shiny finish and was left with an acceptable cotton quilt. You should really check out where these quilts are made and make sure that the chemicals used are not a health threat"
Review 13 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful quilt!,
July 6, 2012
By: youngatheartGrandma
from Grand Rapids, MI
"I was hesitant to order this quilt since the color had to be just right. I was so pleased when it arrived - it is perfect! Well made and soft, subtle colors. I couldn't be more pleased. Thank you, Orvis!"
Review 14 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice,
June 12, 2012
By: csmith
"thought quality was nice, and price on sale ressonable"
Review 15 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty and Light,
May 31, 2012
By: AuntNeen
from Bucks County, PA
"The quilt and shams look great in my guest room: they are prettier than pictured and the light weight is just right for warmer weather. One problem: they gave off an odor after I took them out of the plastic wrapping. This was due, I believe, to the sizing on the fabric. It was unpleasant but wore off after I kept them in the room with the windows open for a few days."
Review 16 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow ! The Best ! ! !,
April 13, 2012
By: ellenb3
from San Antonio, TX
"I live in San Antonio, TX where it is hot 11 months out of the year. Not really but almost...ha ha. This quilt is wonderful. Just the right weight for me to use during our really hot months but great with a blanket during out cooler months. This the very first "summer weight" quilt I have ever found and it is really, really great ! Thanks Orvis"
Review 17 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cottage Quilt,
August 22, 2011
By: NewBuffaloBB
"Love the quilt. Very pretty and a perfect weight for summer. Reverse side is a nice cream color. Nice cottage look to it and well constructed.
We are very happy with the purchase.
"
Review 18 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quilt but not for Summer,
July 23, 2011
By: Wetpuppies
"I was pleasantly surprised. The quilt is very well crafted and does match the color shown in the pictures. The only complaint, if you can call this a complaint, is that it is not a summer weight quilt. I pulled it out of the bag, let it air, and its on our bed right now."
Review 19 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snug as a Bug in a good Welsh rug,
July 4, 2011
By: WestDerbyReporter
from Salop UK
"On the butter quilt,
No cream may be spilt;
It says summer weight
But it suits any date;
I slept like a top
And I'd not touched a drop;
Be sure to buy one
before they're all gone;
Then you will have sweet dreams
Of honeysuckle and moonbeams.
"
Review 20 for Summer-Weight Quilt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love it,
June 8, 2011
By: snook
"This quilt is wonderfully made and very pretty in the pale blue. My only disappointment is i wish the backing was the blue color on the border instead of the off white. It would be prettier when the top is folded over."