Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Scud Shellback

Flexible, translucent saltwater fly tying material is great for creating scud backs, wing casings, shrimp backs, and hopper wings. 2.5 yards per bag. Approximately. ⅛" wide. In clear, olive, tan, amber, brown, black, pink. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Scud Shellback
Review 1 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scud shell back,
April 1, 2014
By: schroon
"I used this product to make wing cases on stone flies an excellent product ."
Review 2 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
scud skin,
March 28, 2014
By: agile1
from Houston, texas
"the product is just as i expected and perfect for the use of making scuds."
Review 3 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatille - works great,
March 24, 2014
By: LuisL
from Las Vegas, NV
"This shellback has plenty of stretch and the brown color works great for a range of dubbing colors, particularly with red/rust colored antron to make one killer scud pattern."
Review 4 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifelike Scud Shellback,
February 13, 2014
By: 123bar
from Polonia, WI
"I used the Tan colored shellback. I put it on a cardboard first so it would not tend to tangle. It has a indentation running right down the middle and makes it easy to center the shellback on the hook.. The tan is light so I color the dubbing with a sketch pen prior to puling it over the body. Works great very lifelike."
Review 5 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best material for scud backs,
March 22, 2013
By: bamboo
from Virginia
"Put that sandwich baggie down and give this stuff a try! It is a fantastic stretchy translucent material that comes in so many colors and holds up to years in fly boxes. That other plastic you were using? It will last maybe a year before it starts deteriorating. That is because most of those plastics are designed to break down over time. Nobody wants that in our landfills forever. This soft material was designed for chemical and UV resistance. The fact that it is soft, see through and takes colors well works in favor of the fly tyer. It stretches like a rubber band over your fly for a shell back or wing case. Pick some up, you won't regret it."
Review 6 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decent buy,
February 27, 2013
By: Redbarn
from Hollis, ME
"My local shop sells this stuff but in limited colors and in tiny proportions. I thought Orvis did pretty well with this. The price is reasonable as is the ammount of material you get. If you are like me any time you buy material like this you wonder if you couldn't just buy a big sheet, roll, or spool of it. But hey, no real complaints here & I picked up enough that it ought to last a while."
Review 7 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scud Shell Back,
October 22, 2012
By: Bishthefish1
from North Yorkshire
"Very easy to use, gives a good segmented effect on czech nymphs and shrimps when tied in with mono and so far it appears fairly resistant to trout teeth (makes my flies last longer which I like)."
Review 8 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best material I have found for shrimp backs,
August 19, 2011
By: zelon
from Twyford, Berkshire, UK
"I have used many materials in my fly tying time (which is considerable) and I love this stuff. If for instance you are tying a shrimp just cut a v-shape at the rear of the hook and tie in and when it is time to tie down at the head do so with your thread and then use something like 6X tippet material to make a rib. It digs into the back making it look very segmented. Great material always in my kit."
Review 9 for Scud Shellback
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for scuds etc.,
March 13, 2011
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bought these to try out some new techniques when tieing scud shellback flies as well as some other types of flies. The lighter ones tend to not look at good as the darker colors in my opinion, but they definitely make your fly look buggier in that small aquatic insect sort of way. Overall, I'm very happy with their price and ability to be used in my tieing. Very easy to tie in over traditional hare's ears etc. to give them that scud back look, and using a little ultra wire or very fine wire to tie them in place adds nice segmentation to the look of the fly. We'll see how the trout like them when the winter finally breaks here in Minnesota!"