Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Crystal Dumbell Eyes

Recessed brass hourglass with highly realistic clear resin fly tying eyes impregnated with glitter on a holographic background. Black pupils. In green, silver, red, yellow. Sizes: medium, large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Review 1 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
January 21, 2014
By: Hawaii808
"I Have ordered and used this product just recently. Using them to make salt water jigging lures. To my surprised they really worked well.
I have caught big eye tuna ranging from 8 lbs to 30 pounds . Also Orvis shipped everything very fast. Great service and Great Products.
"
Review 2 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Eyes,
October 25, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"These eyes look awesome. The little extra flash adds a good look to the fly and will catch the fish's attention better in darker or more turbulent water conditions. I use them on a lot of saltwater flies for surf fishing. The mediums work well on hook sizes 8 - 4 and the larges work well on hooks 4 - 2/0, though I have used the large on size 6 and they work fine. Just make sure the hook shank is long enough to accommodate it."
Review 3 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great looking eyes,
April 24, 2013
By: gps2388
from Blacksburg, VA
"I bought some of these eyes on clearance and could not be happier. They practically glow when they catch light and it is even more pronounced in low-light conditions. Only downside is at the regular price they are a little expensive for the quantity received."
Review 4 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extra Flash,
April 11, 2013
By: Mikey2
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
"I found the crystal eyes add a little extra flash to my flies, that seem to attract the fish a little better."
Review 5 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyes,
March 1, 2013
By: mcuzino
from Fort Mill, SC
"They are exactly what they were described as in the description"
Review 6 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crystal eyes,
November 20, 2012
By: elkcamp1
from Northwest US
"These dumbell eyes are nice quality and attached to the hook nicely. Perfect for clouser minnows and salmon flies."
Review 7 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Quality Eyes,
October 1, 2012
By: MidwestFishingAdventures
from Rockford, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this to tie the Frosty Minnow and they work excellent. I mostly use the red as there is something about the red eyes that seem to drive the smallmouth crazy. They are pretty durable and I have even smacked them against the side of a bridge pillar when casting and they seam to hold up pretty well."
Review 8 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bulging eyes,
February 27, 2012
By: BigNertherns
from Oostburg, WI
"Eyes work great for tying northern streamers and big clousers. Fit hook sizes 4-1/0"
Review 9 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice for eyes,
November 23, 2011
By: Backflyfishing
from South Louisiana Fly Fisherman
"I have been using these eyes for several months now and I use them every chance I get, instead of chain eyes. The only other time I don't use them are for shrimp for obvious reasons. These eyes are easy to use, look great and professional and are very effective. I'm just about ready to make a re-order so that I can keep plenty in stock. Well worth the money."
Review 10 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good product,
January 7, 2011
By: BlueHeron2
"Weigh the same as medium lead eyes but are much brighter"
Review 11 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great eyes,
November 16, 2010
By: kukukachoo
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These are great...but no quantity count in description. There were 10 eyes in the medium pack."
Review 12 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 29, 2010
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great improvement over standard lead eyes. These are now the only eyes I use."
Review 13 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THEY CATCH THE FISH,
November 25, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"VERY COOL EYES TOU CAN SEE IN THE OHOTO I HAVE A COUPLE DIFFERENT KINDS THESE THE RED EYES SEEM TO WORK THE BEST FOR SNOOK I THINK THEY INTERPRET THEM AS GILLS ON MY SECRET SNOOK FLY WHICHEVER THE CASE THEY LOOK GOOD AND I ALWAYS CATCH THE SNOOK GREAT PRODUCT VERY TOUGH IVE HAD SOME ROUGH LANDINGS AND THE EYES AND THE ORVIS HOOKS ARE THE ONLY THING THAT SURVIVED TO FIGHT ANOTHER DAY."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size Info,
February 24, 2009
By: Siesta
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I ordered the medium size and it fits hook size 1/0 and larger. A small size ( which is not available) is needed for hook size 1 and smaller."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Crystal Dumbell Eyes
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1