Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cartoon Hopper

A big ugly and funny imitation of a hopper that will work like a charm, this fly pattern has a foam body for buoyancy and lots of silly legs for movement. Big cartoon eyes will draw a strike. Fish don't like being looked at. Sizes: 6, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cartoon Hopper
Review 1 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
eyes popped off on first cast,
July 7, 2014
By: cschaberg
from northern Michigan
"I was excited about the look of these hoppers, but disappointed to find that the little goggly eyes popped off on the first cast. The eyes are crucial!"
Review 2 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubba Smith Does it Again,
March 1, 2014
By: NINJA2885
from Oslo Norway
"I fished this fly right after Bubba designed it. It and he are one of a kind and both of them catch big fish."
Review 3 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fly,
August 6, 2013
By: Redbone13
from North Carolina
"Great fly! Just fished it in western North Carolina and had the largest brown I've ever had. The fish never turned it down. I won't be on the water again without it."
Review 4 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad skills,
July 20, 2011
By: TheSanJuanKid
"Bubba smith wouldn't know how to tie this fly if it wasn't for raymond at float N fish!!!!!!! Come up with something someone hasn't already tied before!!!!!!!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bug and new one coming?,
July 3, 2011
By: outfitter
"super bug;Bubba is now tying a "minitoon" ; great when fish looking for something a little smaller;hopefully Orvis will stock."
Review 6 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubba Smith Cartoon Hopper,
January 24, 2011
By: FLYGal74
from San Juan River, NM
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have fished this fly from New Mexico to MN and landed so many large trout it is sick!! After being introduced to this fly from Bubba Smith, the fly creator and guide with Fishead of the San Juan Lodge in New Mexico, I will never not have this fly in my fly box. Be sure if you ever plan to fish the San Juan River contact Chris or Bubba at Fisheads and you will not believe the number of large trout you will catch!!"
Review 7 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Hopper,
August 25, 2010
By: mccjames
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just used this for the first time on the San Juan, everybody was going ultra small so our guide said lets toss some "toons". Boy was he right we got hits all day, now it is my go-to Hopper!"
Review 8 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Fly,
August 23, 2010
By: fang
from Willsboro NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've had lots of fun skittering this fly in the Boquet River in Willsboro. Causes a boiling feeding frenzy of little fish and I always catch a brookie or smallmouth bass, depending on whether I'm fishing above or below Willsboro fish ladder."
Review 9 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Funny but works,
August 13, 2010
By: Cmcreynolds
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just got back from fishing the San Juan river in New Mexico. We used these flies all day and caught some great fish. (thanks to Fishheadsofthesanjuan) I will definately keep these flies in my arsenal."
Review 10 for Cartoon Hopper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome new fly,
June 1, 2009
By: creck01
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love this fly. I threw it on the other day just fooling around thinking that there was no way the trout would go for it this early in the season. My friend who i was fishing with did not catch a fish. I stopped counting at 20. This fly is great."