Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Everyday Silk Shirt

An elegant wardrobe basic in pure silk. Silk is extremely versatile and comfortable to wear year-round. Naturally breathable and absorbent, silk fibers take dye very well, resulting in a rich depth of color and a lustrous sheen. Our silk shirts for women have a point collar, button cuffs, and shirttail hem. Pure silk. Hand wash or dry clean. Imported. Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20), about 27" long.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (311 reviews)
5 stars
202
4 stars
65
3 stars
24
2 stars
10
1 star
10
277 of 311(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Everyday Silk Shirt
Review 1 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
disappointed,
April 22, 2015
By: Imadoglover
from Los Angeles area
"I returned this silk shirt because the fabric wasn't the type of silk I wanted. The collar didn't fall open the way I like either. That might have been cured by ironing, but since I'd already decided I didn't want to keep it because it didn't have the look or feel of silk that I wanted, I decided not to risk ironing it. It was well made and a good value for the price if you like the fabric."
Review 2 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Blouse,
April 6, 2015
By: prairiegirl
from Arlington VA
"This is a lovely silk blouse of excellent quality. The fabric is a nice weight and drapes beautifully. I like Orvis blouses that are sized S, M, L & XL because I fall between sizes and these tend to fit me better. I ordered the blouse in both the black and the dahlia colors. The black is not as dark as I had hoped, but I plan to keep it anyway. The dahlia is a deep, rich pink which will really pop when paired with black or navy. The blouse can be dressed up or adds a lot of class to jeans or casual outfits. I will be packing these blouses for a trip to Europe and hope they survive the suitcase without wrinkling. I haven't washed them yet to see if they are easy care, but based on other reviews I expect them to last a long time and look great."
Review 3 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 6, 2015
By: Veggiemom3
from Coastal calif
"Nice quality shirt both in material and construction. Fits well."
Review 4 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful silk shirt,
April 3, 2015
By: desertlady
from Tempe €, AZ
"This silk shirt is very nice, but I had to return it due to being too large in size for me."
Review 5 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely silk blouse,
March 31, 2015
By: Merrybe
from Mississippi
"This is a well made silk blouse. The weight of this silk fabric is perfect. I bought a size small. The sleeve cuffs dropped to the knuckles of my hands, the top of the blouse and shoulder seams were just right, but the bottom of the blouse was too snug. So disappointing! I would have purchased this blouse in several colors. I would rate this blouse excellent except for the fit on my body. It is a lovely blouse for someone with smaller hips and longer arms. I am 5'4" tall, weigh 125 pounds, and wear a size 10 pant."
Review 6 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good,
March 30, 2015
By: rshr
from w'brook, TX
"I love this shirt. It is light weight and jusst the right feel to it. Very confortable."
Review 7 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks good, comfy, easy care,
March 23, 2015
By: LisaWhoKayaks
from San Jose, CA
"Short version: this shirt has good 'use value' and if you are worried about caring for silk-don't be, as this shirt is little more picky than cotton. Just pick appropriate settings on your washer, dryer, and iron, and you're good.
I purchased two of these shirts (dahlia/dark pink and pearl) during a sale, and plan to purchase more later; I'm dieting and don't want to invest too much in clothes at this weight.
Some have said these are large-for-size; I think they have some room to allow the silk to drape. This works to my advantage because for some reason I gain weight in my upper arms, and often have issues with arms being tight while the body of a shirt is a tent. I don't have that problem with this shirt (XL). The body is to-size, and the arms have some extra room to display the silk's flow on the thin--but coincidentally allowing larger people to also enjoy the shirt.
Some other reviewers have mentioned things about fabric care. I have a front-load washer with a 'hand wash' cycle. So far the shirts have done well on this gentle machine cycle (washed without other laundry to avoid abrasion, and separately to avoid risk of color run from bright pink to pearl. I don't know if the colors will run but don't want to find out!). I also have dried them in a dryer an 'extra low' heat; the only issue is minor tucking along the seam threads (which I assume are cotton and may have shrunk?). An iron set on "silk" temperature, and a gentle misting of water from a sprayer-bottle just ahead of the iron--these shirts iron crisply more quickly than anything I've ever ironed before, obliterating the afore-mentioned seam-tucks.
(One prior reviewer here who hand washed and line-dried said the fabric was less soft--I've experienced this before and it has to do with minerals in your water not the fabric you are washing.)
As others have said, the fabric is thick enough that your headlights or bra or camisole are not on display. As silk (when not wet) is one of the strongest natural fibers known to humanity, barring abuse I expect these to last for years. The style is very "everyday" and classic and for those reasons will not become dated over the long expected-life of the shirt.
You need at least one of this shirt in whatever color most suits you. It is a timeless wardrobe staple that can be dressed up or down by what it's paired with and by accessories--and you don't have to dry-clean it.
They named it well when they called it their "everyday" silk shirt."
Review 8 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite!,
March 10, 2015
By: sburch
from Texas
"I've been shopping for a white or off white silk shirt for several months and was very disappointed with all of them. Even shirts from high-end department and boutique stores were of surprisingly low quality. I decided to try one last time and ordered the Everyday Silk Shirt in pearl. I'm so happy that I did! The material is supple but thick enough that I don't have to wear a camisole underneath, and the fit is true to size. It's just beautiful and I plan to buy more."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love this shirt,
March 5, 2015
By: treez
from Rockville MD
"the shirt is very good looking-will be great with a skirt or slacks,
Can be for casual; and formal times
And it is washable."
Review 10 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shirt Ever,
February 19, 2015
By: greatStyling
from Seminole, Fl
"This shirt has a drape and softness that will make you feel young and sexy at any age. (72) Still looks fabulous after hand washing and pressing with a warm iron."
Review 11 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with item.,
February 17, 2015
By: BJGraham
"Quality product and I'm glad I bought it plus 3 more of different colors."
Review 12 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Blouse!,
February 12, 2015
By: bhamhoney
from Birmingham, AL
"I ordered this blouse in the pearl color and I loved it so much that I immediately bought it in the dahlia and white. It fits true to size and is so comfortable. It looks great with slacks and skirts and jeans."
Review 13 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great shirt,
February 4, 2015
By: MaryFHW
"This shirt is a real wardrobe staple. It can be worn with jeans to silk pants. It is very easy to care for and travels well. I have it in three colors."
Review 14 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the thickness of the silk!,
February 4, 2015
By: LaurieA
from Nashville, TN
"This silk shirt is wonderful! I especially love that the silk is thick and therefore not see through!! No pockets needed to cover up the girls! It does run a little large though, just an FYI."
Review 15 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
unhappy!,
January 23, 2015
By: Thistlepatch
"very dull material for silk shirt ! sizing very generous. Did not keep this shirt ."
Review 16 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the new colours,
January 14, 2015
By: Ulster14
"These silk shirts are a staple in my wardrobe, they are so elegant and can be dressed up or down. The shell pink is a lovely addition to the range - only small complaint is that the small is bigger overall than my previous purchases - it would be great if they could be offered in sizes 4,6,8 etc instead of small, medium and large - this would ensure a better fit."
Review 17 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So versatile,
January 13, 2015
By: Sonia1
from Salisbury
"I have a couple of these silk blouses. They're both cream and are so versatile, able to be worn with anything - dressy or casual.
I love the material and they wash and iron beautifully. They're long lasting too and overall very highly recommended.
"
Review 18 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high return investment,
December 29, 2014
By: meme21
from Ct
"Fit is classic for the weight of the silk-no cling or binding and falls away with graceful lines. Length is very slimming and also tucks in well."
Review 19 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
December 29, 2014
By: SCJane
from State College, PA
"I have had one of the Everyday Silk Shirts for about 2 years and received another for Christmas. The shirt has worn well, laundered well and exceeds my original expectations for quality and fi. Great value."
Review 20 for Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was all that,
December 26, 2014
By: BethAnn29
from Georgia
"My husband had been singing the praises of the high quality of Orvis clothing. I had resisited because it just didn't seem like my usual or favorite store. Well, I am now a believer! The fit and the quality is definitely better than I was used to. This won't be my last purchase."