Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame

You own different rods and reels for particular types of fishing, so why not different sunglasses? After your rod and reel, your sunglasses are the one piece of gear that can make a real difference between a good day and a fantastic day. That's why Tri-Spectrum polarized sunglasses come in three lens colors: brown for everyday and deep-water angling; rose for spring creek and flats fishing; and copper for freestone fishing and fast-changing light conditions. Think lens color doesn't matter? Consider that rose lenses let you see bonefish on the flats or a big brown trout on spring creeks far better than any other color because of the way they accent blue and green colors. You see more fish and you see them sooner. That means more shots. Period. Same holds true with copper lenses on freestone streams. They pick up trout in that kind of cover better than do the rose glasses. But the reason the different colors make such a big difference is because Tri-Spectrums are the best angling sunglasses made, period. Unlike most sunglass lenses, Tri-Spectrum lenses are true de-centered lenses of prescription glass quality. Each lens is ground and polished from a solid block of minerals for consistency of quality and for far less distortion and greater peripheral vision than with other sunglass lenses. The lenses transmit more light at the three bands of primary colors so the contrast between each color is sharper and clearer for the utmost definition at the edges of object and improved ability to distinguish fish from objects underwater. And the lenses are set into the Italian-made frames to all but eliminate lenses popping out. Midway style tortoise frame now with new blue mirror coating to further reduce glare. Not available in Rx.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
15 of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Review 1 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor frames,
November 10, 2012
By: tlvinco
from Colorado
"After wantign a pair of these for several years I fanally broke down and bought some. I loved the glass abut after about 4 months of wear the finish on the tortise frame began peeling and after 6months they look terrible. I've had cheap sunglasses that lated much better than these. Nowhere near the quality that I would expect from glasses this expensive."
Review 2 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Glasses and Great Value,
July 13, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"These glasses work well to spot trout. This is actually my second pair. I live and fish in the Smoky Mountains and find them as important a tool as the flies I use. It is indeed a shame that they are being discontinued."
Review 3 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Sunglasses,
June 18, 2012
By: ElMagnifico
"High quality in the lenses and the frames. I fish a lot in spring creeks and other very clear water. The rose tint gives high contrast and great visibility without darkening the image."
Review 4 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fishing sunglasses,
March 10, 2012
By: Tigertrout
from Toledo, OH
"These glasses cover your eyes well from wind and I wear contacts so that's important. Glare significantly reduced."
Review 5 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loving Em!,
March 9, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"First time around for the wrap frame and boy what a difference. It really blocks out the side view nicely and the style is excellent. Hitting the river with these soon to test the visibility in the water. So far, thumbs up!!"
Review 6 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality optics,
February 21, 2012
By: SoxFan
from SE Massachusetts
"This is my second pair of Tri-spectrum glasses. High quality and great visibility and sun protection. I like the Pano Wrap for the good sized lenses and wrap feature that shade the entire eye. You can see under the water extremely well and my optometrist will be happy with the protection for my eyes. I am used to these and was fishing and kept referring my partner to the rising trout in an area, but he could not see them. I couldn't understand why, but then I realized he didn't have the Tri-Spectrum lenses. A sale price made these a bargain for the quality of the product."
Review 7 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shades of Christmas past...,
February 13, 2012
By: anonymous19
from Connecticut
"These sunglasses did not properly fit my face; they fogged up as they fit too closely. My eyelashes kept bumping the lenses and this is not conducive to the crackerjack vision needed for fly fishing. Sorry, but they've gone back to their warehouse to wait for another, smaller faced home"
Review 8 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sunglasses ever,
February 9, 2012
By: Counselor
from North Carolina
"Great optics. Vision on the stream is enhanced. The frame design also does an excellant job of blocking the light from the side."
Review 9 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best sunglasses ever.,
December 30, 2011
By: hogcatcher
"real simple. most comfortable, best sunglasses ive ever had. use them for fishing and everyday activity."
Review 10 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the lense color but not the fit,
October 31, 2011
By: BobDeV
from Rye, NH
"I like the lenses color, but the fit is too tight on my temples. Have taken the glasses to an eyeglass shop to have the side pieces bent. They tell me it will take several tries. Jury still out, but worth the effort because I like the overall eye coverage and definitly the lenses color. Would appreciate any advice to gain a better fit. It is one of the reasons I am reluctant to order sunglasses over the web.
Stay tuned.
"
Review 11 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pefection at last.,
September 21, 2011
By: Vicpapa
"These sunglasses give superb penetration. Having tried many others, I would highly recommend these for spotting well camouflaged fish in bright conditions, especially bonefish on the flats. Very comfortable to wear for long periods, they are admirably suited to tropical saltwater fly fishing."
Review 12 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent product,
September 6, 2011
By: LindeanFisher6
from Selkirk - Scotland
"Was a bit sceptical about these glasses but when i tried them on our local river - the salmon can be clearly seen!
They have boosted my confidence as i know the fish are there - best buy ever.
"
Review 13 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Shape for Sunny Days,
August 29, 2011
By: ericd
"The lens frames are large and cover your entire field of view without blind spots. I fished on a hot day when normally my older frames would condense and frustrate me. These did not. The rose colored lenses give me a great view of the structure and fish. The finish on the frames however began to flake off after one weekend."
Review 14 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great glasses,
March 9, 2011
By: rudyd
from missouri
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"when i lost my other glasses from company "a" i was having a difficult time finding glasses-many times for me the view is distorted through sunglasses-i tried these and am now wondering why i thought they would be anything less than great-orvis is the best once again-i was amazed at how clearly i could see the bottom and more importantly for me the fish-great glasses-highly reccommended"
Review 15 for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 30, 2010
By: Ghostrider
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The lenses are excellent and provide superior viewing in bright light. The fit though snug, is solid. The only thing I was not fully enthralled with is the tortoise color. It is a subdued coloration, almost a camouflage, and I prefer a more pronounced tortoise with the lighter portion being more clear and less creamy."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Tri-Spectrum Glass Sunglasses Pano Wrap Frame
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2