Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex

4 7/8 oz. 11', 4-piece, Tip-Flex fly rod for 7-wt. line.We set out on an adventure to make the world's lightest fly fishing rod. Along the way, we also made the world's best. Helios Switch 11-foot, 7-weight - Great Ohio and Erie tributary rod offering excellent mend characteristics for indicators and swinging, and the all around low-water Pacific Northwest rod. Steelhead technique has never been easier or more versatile than now with Helios's new lightweight switch rod that allows you to fish all day and have the best chance for success.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Review 1 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great switch rod!,
August 26, 2013
By: Boloni
"I love this rod from the design aspect to the performance of it. It is such a light rod and has so much power. I am knew to spey casting, but with this rod, it must be making spey casting a bit easier for me. I caught my first summer run steelhead using this rod on August 4th. It was so awesome. I was able to turn the head of the fish with ease and I could feel everything the fish was doing through the rod. I love it and won't be replacing it... ever."
Review 2 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios 7Wt Switch Rod,
May 2, 2013
By: thombui
from Aptos California
"I really love this rod. It is light and versatile. It casts like a dream and will support a variety of scandi and skagit lines. You can load it with additional line weights but i have found this not to be necessary. It is a true 7 wt in my opinoin and a 390 grain scandi line or a 425 grain sakit line is perfect. You can throw this rod all day long."
Review 3 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just do it!,
June 3, 2011
By: berkshiremike
from Ma
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I loved the 11/8wt switch so much I decided to get the 11/7wt.....and happy I did."
Review 4 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful Rod - but breaks easily.,
January 3, 2011
By: maxed
from Northern California
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought a Helios Switch 117-4 earlier this year for smaller river Steelhead applications. It is a beautiful rod - super light, crisp, smooth and an absolute joy to cast. However, on a particular long loading cast that came off the bottom (with a big T-17 head on a Rio Skagit 330 Gr), the rod snapped right at the butt ferrule. Not good. The real tragedy was that I had big steelhead porpoising all around me when it happened... ;("
Review 5 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scary Cost, Great Stick,
June 4, 2010
By: wallin
from North Idaho
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wouldn’t say I’m exactly cheap, but the thought of buying an $850 rod was difficult to conceive of initially (asked when I might expect a Hydros version and was told it might be awhile). I knew I wanted to venture into the world of spey casting while still having the ability to one hand if need be, so I bucked up and bought this rod. The free reel offer was a huge incentive to buy from Orvis.
Because I am new to two-handed rods I have spent a number of days casting my Helios one handed with big flies and sink tips out of spey-based frustration; I can honestly say that with this rod I have been able to fish for 5 - 6 hours before my arm began to feel tired. My local Orvis dealer has been very helpful (and patient) with answering questions and helping me develop my skill in casting with two hands. Now that I can actually spey cast this thing I am even more amazed with the performance. It was worth every penny."
Review 6 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful new rod,
October 4, 2009
By: paulh20016
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this rod to fish for steelhead in BC. I have been a holdout from the spey rod fashion because I prefer the intimacy of a single handed rod and the feeling of connection with a hooked fish. Persuaded by what Lani Waller writes in his new book on steelhead, I decided to try a switch rod for this year. I was uncertain what brand to get and was convinced by my flyshop that I should try this one. I have not used Orvis rods for many years. However, I was thrilled with the way that my new Helios 7wt switch rod performed. It has both the delicacy to fish close in and the power to throw line an amazing distance. By the end of my time, I was spey casting almost all the time, although it is light enough for occasional one handed casts. {Nobody should kid themselves that they can cast a rod of this length exclusively one handed - the leverage on the hand and arm is just too great} The rod also showed its backbone when fighting large steelhead. Not only that, but it is beautiful as well and is unbelievably light. I am now a huge fan of this rod and am going to buy another one in spite of its somewhat eye popping cost."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST ALL-AROUND ROD,
October 2, 2009
By: RBenninger
from Morgantown, WV
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For many, a price tag of $850.00 may leave quite a feeling of hesitation. However, once you feel the "tug" of a fish on this 11ft stick, you will quickly lose all worries. I have been struggling to find a rod light enough to fish all day with bad shoulders from sports, while maintaining enough backbone to land decent sized fins. A fellow guide friend reccommended I look at "switch rods" and it was the best piece of advice I ever received when it comes to fly-fishing. I have now had the rod for approximately 5 months and have had a blast learning "spey' stylistic approaches to local waters. I now mend seams once impossible without a drift boat and find myself not having to apply icy hot patches to my shoulders after a day on the river. Did I remember to mention how much easier "high-stick" nymphing is? Take my advice check out the 11ft 7wt for all your fishing needs. I have always been partial to the T3 series of rods, because that is what I have always used. This new Helios line definitely will continue to make a new for itself. I cannot wait to see what the new Hydros fishes like!!"
Review 8 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Helios Switch Rod,
September 16, 2009
By: duckLips
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I went steel heading with my guide Tommy Lynch March 27, 2009 on the Pere Marquette River… Before the trip I asked if we could avoid the crowds in the best known areas and find fish somewhere else. Tommy took my brother-in-law and I for a 13 mile trip known as the “Big Row.” Only saw three other small groups fishing. Anyway I fished the proto-type Helios Switch back for the day. Anyhow at first I thought he was crazy handing me an 11 foot rod. It took a few minutes to get a good feel for it and by the end of the day I could roll cast and place a mend in my line in he air with ease… Incredible performing rod… I was able drift a drag free presentation 40-60 down the river with ease. Probably tripling my ability with my normal 9’ rod… If you are a serious hard core steelhead junkie I would consider purchasing one of these Rods… Or, do like I did, give Tommy a call and get a real demo and catch some fish before making the decision…"
Review 9 for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't be intimidated,
May 18, 2009
By: Thom
from Buffalo
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Those of you who have used single handed rods only and never used a spey rod need not be intimidated here.
1) Despite that longer cork, look carefully at the weight of the rod. My 11 ft 7 wt, is 1 oz lighter than my one handed ZeroG 10 ft 7 weight. You read it right, lighter.
2) So, the rod is certainly light enough to cast one handed easily if you choose to do so and I certainly do. I use a spey cast when windy, or if the distance is needed and other than that cast traditional one-handed.
3) But, on that windy day, which we get on the Great Lakes streams, or that very wide run where you need power, the rod casts rather incredible distances and has great power.
4) As a "switch rod", it is not as unwieldy as a true spey rod and you can pick up the basics watching free videos on the internet to learn casting spey style and I recommend either doing that, and a little practice, or get a lesson.
5) The extra length, without the wieght give you incredible ability to mend your line and get the perfect drift. The first outing with the rod, I got a fish for this reason, that I do not believe I would have otherwise gotten.
6) The extra length does give you extra power with large hot fish. But, check your drag as the rod will absorb a lot more strain and the drag will engage a bit more slowly. You may want to lighten your drag just a notch.
7) With the longer grip, you can lay the rod against your forearm on the drift and the rod is not the least tiring to fish. Remember, it is VERY lighy.
One final comment would be to look at the quality of the cork in these rods. Very minimal filler, and the quality of the workmanship on my rod was very pleasing indeed. I may migrate to a full spey rod at some point, but think this is a good transition, and in fact, I may never really need the full spey. Very happy with this rod. If you have access to a store near you, try one. You will be amazed at the line (all of it) that this rod will put out."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Helios™ Switch 7-weight 11' Fly Rod—Tip Flex
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1