Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Easy-On Brogue

The easiest on-and-off boot—now upgraded for more comfort and stability than ever. The same great fit and sizing now constructed with a more flexible, lightweight yet rugged material; plus a padded collar to fit snug around your ankle. The same durable zipper means you get in and out of the boot faster, especially handy when you fish in cold wintry conditions and the laces ice up. Felt sole recommended for use if you fish the same waters, or have time to clean felt soles in hot (>104º) water and let the soles dry completely. In gray/olive. Imported. Men's whole sizes: 6-7. 58.6 oz. in size 10.If you are a half size, or prefer heavier socks, order the next larger size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
33 of 38(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Easy-On Brogue
Review 1 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buying Easy-On Brogue,
May 1, 2013
By: RonSF
"A well made boot for the price. Material looks to be capable of taking on extreme use. The on line shopping experience was outstanding."
Review 2 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them,
June 24, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I had to go down a size. Pretty snug fit. 7.5 hrs of hiking steep creeks in them no blisters. They are strong built shoe and felt is the best way to go- just clean them!"
Review 3 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit,
March 13, 2012
By: NLSalmonFisher
from NL, Canada
"After receiving my "Easy on Brogues" I was quite surprised at their comfort and stability. They are very easy to put on and take off, which is a great bonus after a long day on the river. It is a great product at a great price."
Review 4 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good solid wading boot,
February 19, 2012
By: Teflon
from Colorado
"I finally had to replace my 10 year old pair of Orvis wading boots, and these were the only boots I could find in my size (15 wide) from any manufacturer. I've used them for a year now and overall I'm happy with them, though there are a couple of areas that could be improved. The sizing on these is very generous, so even though I wear a 15 wide and I'm using stocking foot waders, if I go back in time I'd prefer to have a size 14 instead.
The good:
Very solidly made. Very heavy stitching and materials in every aspect. Great ankle support. Great protection for your feet from sharp rocks hitting your ankles, or kicking things, or really from anything that could hurt your feet. They also offer great support for hiking.
The bad:
In my large size, the zip on/off feature doesn't allow you to get the boot tight enough with just the zipper. In order to use just the zipper so they're easy on/off, you have to leave the laces loose enough that the boots feel loose when you pull them on. Also, 10 metal cleats per boot isn't nearly enough in larger sizes. I ordered two extra sets of studs so I can put 20 in each boot instead of just 10. With just 10, there's way too much space on the bottom of the boot where you can step on rocks and not have a cleat touching the rock. If your feet are a size 9 or larger, I'd recommend getting at least one extra set of studs. If you wear 13 or larger, I'd order 2 extra sets of studs when you order the boots.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Value,
February 13, 2012
By: JJK1
from CO
"These boots look good and are so easy to put on and take off with the side zipper feature. They are also well constructed."
Review 6 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usual Orvis Quality,
January 19, 2012
By: caafisher
from UK
"I use Orvis wading boots exclusively and have previously owned Henry's Fork and the older style Brogues (which are still going) with no issues. However I purchased these Easy-On Brogues as replacements and am pleased I did. What struck me is the extremely comfortable fit and literally the ease with which they can be slipped on and off due to the zip feature. Certainly a strong point at the end of a long session when climbing out of waders with tired limbs is hard work - the Easy-On (and off) Brogues makes that task a lot easier. As an added bonus I managed to get them on sale with the usual heavy Orvis discount. A win/win for sure."
Review 7 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First try with boots,
August 21, 2011
By: CohoSammi
from Pulaski, NY and Chatham, MA
"Over the last twenty five years, I have always utilized waders with the built in boots for the convenience factor. My old waders leaked and I always suffered from lack of support with sore ankles after a day on the stream.
These are my first boot products purchased from Orvis and I have to say they are the most convenient boots for waders I have ever seen sold. They offer the support I was looking for and the convenience all in one. Good design and quality you come to expect from Orvis.
I recommend them to anyone who is looking to upgrade their waders.
Tightlines,
Mark A (NH)"
Review 8 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance!,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"These just work, and work well. Like others have mentioned the easy of putting on and taking off due to the side zipper is wonderful. I've waded in some very slick, mossy rivers and never had any problems. They work perfect."
Review 9 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good service and best purchase,
June 9, 2011
By: vacances9
"the shipping was short and exactely like you told us.
thank you for the great and fast service!"
Review 10 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
May 28, 2011
By: Hardy1
from New Brunswick, Canada
"Just recently received these boots, have fished them half dozen times.They are by far the easiest boot to put on and take off after a long day of fishing that i have ever owned. Typical great Orvis quality and at this price can't imgaine not buying."
Review 11 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not so easy on,
May 19, 2011
By: fatmike
"The boot itself is alright but the zipper doesnt make it any easier to get on or off with waders on. I can see why this boot was on sale but i still think i overpayed."
Review 12 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellant value for the ease of use,
May 11, 2011
By: pstbl
"I purchased these wading boots on sale because of the side zipper, feeling they would be easier to put on and take off. They were an an excellant choice. They are easier to take off and put on with the side zipper. In addition the workmanship is very good, they are comfortable, and as I will use them in one watershed only, the concern with felt and transfering micro-organisms is not an issue. They are not super light and yet the weight seems light for what they are. I am very satisfied with these wading shoes and feel they are a good value. I would make this choice again. pstbl"
Review 13 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
April 27, 2011
By: Bif60
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It has always been a problem getting boots over stocking foot waders, the side zippers are a true bonus."
Review 14 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good value,
April 22, 2011
By: bird2win
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The reason I returned these boots is there were no half sizes. when the boots came the size I had to choose was a very large size 11. I didnt want to take a chance of a fallen arches..."
Review 15 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zipper needs improvement,
March 12, 2011
By: hunter9
from Northcentral Pa
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The boots themselves are great but the nylon zipper is so hard to pull at the top that I am afraid that it might soon break. I even put lubricant on it but it did not help.
They were worth the $79 but not even close to worth full price.
"
Review 16 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boots,
February 22, 2011
By: 3WTCane
from Northern Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Got the felt sole unstudded version as a Christmas present, and fished them hard for a season in all sorts of streams. Had a little problem at first getting the zipper to work smoothly until I discovered the trick of wetting the boot before putting it on. Then all was great - the boot developed a problem with the liner, and the local Orvis store replaced them with no problems. Now, I'm getting ready to switch to the rubber soles and expect the same good results."
Review 17 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shoes,
January 26, 2011
By: Wineplyr
from Essex, Connecticut
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been flyfishing for 40 years and finally found a wading shoe that meets all my needs. I have two hips that were replaced and getting my waders on has always been a challange. These shoes are very easy to put on and take off. The side zipper needs a shot of WD-40 once and a while and the laces could be stiffer but all in all its a great shoe."
Review 18 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For my niece,
November 30, 2010
By: Popsicle
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Like my niece, I have larger ankles than I would wish, along with a plate and 8 screws in my heel. My ankle does not bend like a normal ankle, and this particular boot does the magic! - I have the heavier version with the heavier studs, which I need for more traction and the ability to keep me "glued" to the river bottom. My niece, on the other hand, fits perfectly into this boot, and is grateful for the traction, also. Great boot, well constructed. Would highly recommend. And, unzipping after use works great!! Actually easier than when zipping up when dry."
Review 19 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love 'em. My guide doesn't.,
September 1, 2010
By: DCon
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really like these boots. The are light weight and comfortable, the zipper is great. The only problem is that the studs cannot be removed. My guide won't let me wear them in his boat because the studs scratch his boat deck. So now I need to get another pair of "boat" boots."
Review 20 for Easy-On Brogue
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
June 17, 2010
By: Chris62
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great comfort and stability. The felt soles provide great traction on eastern streams and rivers. Easy on easy off with the side zipper. Light weight and durable. Best wading boots I have ever purchased."