Orvis Ratings and Reviews

ToughChew® Round Dog Bed

Our version of tough love for the chewer: our ultimate chew-resistant fabric now has an even softer and more supple flocked microfiber surface for your dog's ultimate comfort. Developed exclusively by Orvis, ToughChew dog beds have an outer fabric engineered in a full ripstop weave from incredibly tough and durable 1,000-denier nylon and an inner layer of 840-denier nylon. Even the zipper is tough, constructed of solid brass for long-lasting strength. Inside is filled with super cushy, spun-polyester. All of these features add up to a bed we know your dog will love; in fact, we'll refund your money if your dog chews through it. No questions asked. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.68 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
18 of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Review 1 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Indestructible bedcover,
November 20, 2014
By: Alboyler
from North Devon
"Cover quickly penetrated by our dog.Generous offer of replacement met the same fate.This is an expensive, but totally ineffective, dog proof cover."
Review 2 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Absolute rubbish!,
November 17, 2014
By: JamesWaite
from London, UK
"My puggle chewed straight through it on day one. Toughchew!! I wouldn't mind really but this is a really expensive little bed... will be returning"
Review 3 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Bed for Chewing Dops,
November 14, 2014
By: Molly22
from California
"I have purchased the Tough Chew Beds for several years and different dogs. They are really tough and difficult for the dog to chew through--but even when one did chew through, Orvis replaced it without any problem. This is the only bed I would ever buy anymore."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
November 14, 2014
By: AndyJ
"Bought for a Jack Russell with a penchant for chewing. The bed is strong and obviously very comfortable and so far (several months) no sign of being chewed upon."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Last Bed I Will Buy,
November 13, 2014
By: TerribleWalker
from Charleston, SC
"This bed is substantially better quality than any of the others we have purchased over the years. With a dog that would chew through a $70 bed per week, this is a no brainer. We have had it for a couple months now and haven't had a single issue or tear."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Pup Bed,
November 13, 2014
By: DachshundMomma
"My two little guys love this bed! It's very durable, and comfortable for them to snuggle up! One pup chews everything, and this bed has proven to be up to the challenge. I would highly recommend this bed!"
Review 7 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not so tough,
November 13, 2014
By: PEPPER1010
from Atlanta, GA
"We love this bed and have purchased it for all three of our dogs; however, our recent pup has managed to chew through two of them this year. Thank goodness for Orvis' excellent customer service."
Review 8 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Far So Good,
November 13, 2014
By: Frbritt1930
from Wisconsin
"We now have 2 of these dog beds. After several months, they have been pawed and scrambled making nests and gnawed on and are still in one piece. The dogs are very happy to curl up on them and snooze."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trigger Proof,
November 6, 2014
By: BlakeTrigger
"My new black lab pup named Trigger can chew through anything...except this bed! At least not yet anyway. He seems to have given up."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Product,
November 3, 2014
By: Myboyz
from CA
"We love the Tough Chew beds. Every time they have been chewed through (which is 3 now over the course of 8 years and 3 different puppies) we have gotten a new bed provided with no questions asked. What more could you want.....other than the bed being comfortable....which it is!!"
Review 11 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dog never even THOUGHT about chewing this,
October 31, 2014
By: insmom
from West Bloomfield MI
"When our cocker passed away, we got a new cocker puppy. The bed he "inherited" was not toughchew, and he really did a number on it. We've used Orvis dog beds for decades, and never had a dog with a chewing problem til now. So we ordered a new toughchew cover only, put it on the bed, and our pup never even THOUGHT about chewing it. He walked on, laid down, and has been resting comfortably for a month now. No chewing. Whatever the magic ingredient is, Orvis found it for me. We also have no issues with air being caught in the bed."
Review 12 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My dogs love this bed,
October 28, 2014
By: pqrst
"The round shape is nice for 2 dogs to share. My Brittanys love it!"
Review 13 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very durable,
October 23, 2014
By: Amelia4
from Boston, MA
"My dog has yet to chew through this bed, which is saying alot. However, I am a bit confused by the shape that this bed holds. It appears smaller than it actually is because it is constantly filled with air that is very difficult to get rid of. It seems to hold air like a balloon.... my dog lays on one corner of it that she has managed to somehow make flat, and the rest of the bed is constantly inflated. Not sure why this has not been corrected yet, as it is a complete design flaw."
Review 14 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lab Tough,
October 19, 2014
By: phubbard
"We have old Lab and he loves his tough chew. He drags it all over the house. So we ordered second one for the yard. Really brings him comfort for his old bones. I love that I can throw the cover and the insides in my front end washer and dryer and flash clean and dry. Very durable. Most importantly Joe the labs oves it!!!"
Review 15 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
October 11, 2014
By: Minamag
from Columbia, MO
"I'm very disappointed with this product. Wanting to replace an older version of this bed that I've had for many years, and was very happy with, I ordered this bed despite reviews that warned of the puffy - air filling problem. I asked the online chat person if the problem described in the reviews had been addressed and she responded that "improvements had been made." Well, the only improvement I could see was a label on the zipper advising to keep the zipper partially open to offset air build up; which works poorly as a solution, by the way.
My dog loves her beds and will try to lay on this bed, but she stumbles because the captured air does not readily compress. Not sure yet if I'll suffer through this as the bed is expensive, does not function very well due to this problem. And if you look closely, the fabric shown in the catalog picture is not the bed/fabric I received. The one in the picture is the fabric I want."
Review 16 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The good, the bad and the ugly,
July 31, 2014
By: ChrisM1
from Chalfont, PA
"The good - the bed construction and durability are excellent. My dog previously chewed through 3 beds before getting this one.
The bad - the filling traps so much air that the bed feels like a water bed and is very unstable.
The ugly - as a result of the puffy filling my dogs refuse to use the beds. When I pick them up and place them on the bed they fall off and run away. I can't even bribe them to use it with treats.
My next solution is to buy memory foam mattress pads and replace the fillings.
Orvis should replace the filling on future models and provide new (less fluffy) filling to existing customers."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too bad thers is no 0 stars option,
July 26, 2014
By: Chiefo
from Phoenix, AZ
"I have purchased a lot of Orvis products over the years. This "Tough Chew" product is very disappointing. It took my 9 month old Lab puppy less than 15 minutes to chew a hole in the bed."
Review 18 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too much air - had to return,
May 27, 2014
By: Keenca
from Ventura, CA
"I bought the L size round bed for our 50# pit bull/lab mix. Like all Orvis products it is well made and the fabric was comfy. However, even with the cover unzipped, there is too much air which makes the bed wobbly and unsteady.
The air would escape when I would lie on it but it would immediately reform. Every time that my dog stepped on the bed, she felt unsteady and refused to use it. No amount of food bribery etc could persuade her.
Maybe if your dog isn't as skittish as mine, the bed would work. But my dog wouldn't go near the bed! I had to return it."
Review 19 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too rolly,
May 27, 2014
By: Puchetta
"Ordered the medium for 40 lb boarder collie. He tried it but kept sliding off because it poofs too much around him, lots of trapped air. Now he won't go near it. It's going back. Last chew proof I got from Orvis lasted through 2 lifetimes of serious bed destroyers. Disappointed."
Review 20 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality, durable and comfy dog bed,
May 23, 2014
By: nattybest
from bradford, west yorks, uk.
"I purchased the small round bed in the sale, not particularly for the toughness as my dogs don't chew. But for the or is brand and quality I know comes as standard. Both my Lakeland and bedington terriers live this bed."