Orvis Ratings and Reviews

ToughChew® Round Dog Bed

Our version of tough love for the chewer: our ultimate chew-resistant fabric now has an even softer and more supple flocked microfiber surface for your dog's ultimate comfort. Developed exclusively by Orvis, ToughChew dog beds have an outer fabric engineered in a full ripstop weave from incredibly tough and durable 1,000-denier nylon and an inner layer of 840-denier nylon. Even the zipper is tough, constructed of solid brass for long-lasting strength. Inside is filled with super cushy, spun-polyester. All of these features add up to a bed we know your dog will love; in fact, we'll refund your money if your dog chews through it. No questions asked. Cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
7
39 of 52(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Review 1 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well made but too fluffy,
May 11, 2015
By: CatKendrick
"The bed is incredibly well made, as far as I can tell but my dogs haven't used it at all since I bought it. I have a pomeranian, an overweight chihuahua and a miniature dachshund so I bought the smallest size. The bed is so fluffy (tightly woven fabric to prevent chewing means little air escapes) that my dogs refuse to use it. Unfortunately, I got it personalized so I can't return it. If you have a heavier dog, like a beagle, the smallest bed might work but my dogs are too light."
Response from Orvis:By Mark S.Customer ServiceMay 13, 2015
Hello CatKendrick! I’m sorry it’s taking a while for your dogs to warm up to their new bed. One thing that can be helpful with ToughChew beds is to let the air escape by leaving the zipper slightly unzipped by 1 to 2 inches. If your dogs still don’t take a liking to the bed, you can certainly return it for a refund. Everything we sell, even personalized items, may be returned under our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please visit www.orvis.com/returns for more information on how to return an item if the need arises.
Review 2 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Definitely Tough Chew!,
May 8, 2015
By: Rach101601
from Providence, RI
"We have a 12-week mix large breed pup who has made this bed his favorite place to hang out indoors since he walked into our home! He scoops up all of his favorite toys and heads straight to this bed for safe keeping. He has definitely tried tearing it, nearly lifting it from the ground when he does, and there are absolutely no signs of breakdown to the bed whatsoever. No loose fibers, no fringe, nothing. We've only had the pup one week but holding strong so far!"
Review 3 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog bed,
April 27, 2015
By: MoxRegAm
"This is the 3rd bed of this type we've bought from Orvis. We used to have cheaper beds from other manufacturers, but the dogs could tear them up. We first bought one of these and it was quickly the dogs favorite then eventually bought two more so each of the dogs could have one of these great beds. The dogs definitely seem to love them!"
Review 4 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yes and No,
March 31, 2015
By: stepley
from Charlotte, MI
"I thought the cover for this bed was very nice. It seems well made and I believe it will hold up to Max fluffing his bed. The pillow insert was a big disappointment. It has very little stuffing and was flat in a week. The pillow insert cover is some cheap paper-like material that tears easily. Fortunately, I have his old pillow and plan to recover it and throw out the pillow that came with this bed."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely Bed,
March 25, 2015
By: Charlotte87
"I bought this dog bed as so far I have had to replace my dogs bed every 8 - 9 months as by then it has been chewed beyond repair. So far I am very impressed with this bed the dog loved it from the minute I brought it home and currently it is living up to its name - Tough Chew no holes to report."
Review 6 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Deficient Fabric,
March 12, 2015
By: ReturnBed
from Battle Creek, MI
"I have purchased dog beds from Orvis for about 30 years and was purchasing this one to replace the old one which was worn out. The construction of the bed was the usual top quality I expect from Orvis. However, the fabric in the cover was totally unacceptable. The nap made the bed look worn when it came from the box. I suggested that they offer an option of a cover from the fabric like the previous versions of the Tough-Chew bed."
Review 7 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reserving judgement,
March 10, 2015
By: LandD2
from Columbus, IN
"This tough chew bed was recently purchased to replace another which had lasted a few years. The occupants are two dachshunds, one of which is omnivorous.
While I am somewhat disappointed in the new version ("improved" fabric looks and feels unpleasantly synthetic, the bed is much less cushiony and has a weird noise factor), I am prepared to wait and see how it wears. We are using blankets to make the bed cosier.
"
Review 8 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not for chewers,
March 2, 2015
By: mjs628
from Washington, DC
"I was very disappointed with this bed. It took my bichon mix less than 2 hours to chew a hole in it. A record for her. And the shape doesn't seem to be comfortable. On the plus side I was VERY pleased with Orvis because upon reporting my disappointment they refunded my money. We will definitely continue to shop at Orvis."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bed and customer service,
February 12, 2015
By: Merari
"I highly recommend these toughchew beds for dogs who LOVE to chew constantly. I purchased it around Christmas 2013 and even though my dog eventually managed to tear it after a long period of time Orvis stood by their guarantee and sent out a replacement. Worth the splurge for such a great product and service."
Review 10 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a bed. It has not been destroyed. Yet.,
February 6, 2015
By: JohnG12345678
from Brooklyn, NY
"Walter the chewy lab has not destroyed his bed yet. Thank you."
Review 11 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snuggle indistructable bed,
February 6, 2015
By: Anneeliza
from Oahu, Hawaii
"The boxer in our family of three has decided this bed is better than the couch! The young 2 yr. old Catahoula has yet (fingers crossed) done any damage to it. I just bought a second one for the older short haired pointer that we found in the woods. He is a love but has had a rough life and needs a snuggle bed. This bed does it all!"
Review 12 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tough Chew Round Dog Bed,
January 27, 2015
By: CAOrvisFan
"We just got the bed so we will see how long it last with our two puppies. I wish it had more cushion in it. The quality doesn't seem as good as it use to be. It's to expensive for the quality. But then again, we shall see if it truly is a tough chew bed."
Review 13 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tough Chew not Tough Enough,
January 27, 2015
By: PFMTX
from TX
"Our one year old Brittany puppies chewed through the outer layer of the beds and scattered the filler all over our yard within 2 hours."
Review 14 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToughChew,
January 23, 2015
By: RodHughes
from Churt Surrey
"This circular dog bed is made from a high quality fabric that feels luxuriously soft to the touch. It has an expensive tartan look yet is tough enough to withstand any canine teeth. Maybe it's because she has her name smartly embroidered on the front that it has taken over from the front of the Aga as top comfort spot. If I was a dog...."
Review 15 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Purchase,
January 22, 2015
By: Balones
from Fort Worth, Texas
"Our puppy Forrest quickly grew into an adult and at 60 lbs is no longer able to sleep in our bed without disturbing us. We bought the XL and its a perfect fit! It's large enough for him to splay out in just like he used to on our bed. The ToughChew is great too. When he first got the bed he wasn't sure what to make of it, so he naturally gnawed on it. He didn't make any progress and it actually deterred him from wanting to chew on it any more!
Great purchase definitely would recommend it to anyone interested in buying it.
"
Review 16 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the only survivor,
January 21, 2015
By: quilter4
from south yorks
"this bed is the only one that my Springer spaniel Poppy has not been able to distroy.I also find that the bed wicks away any moisture so that Poppy stays warm and dry even if she has been out swimming"
Review 17 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
January 8, 2015
By: jaknut
from NJ
"So far so good! I bought this based on the other reviews and the few people that did need to return it for $ back were able to with no questions asked. Orvis stood behind their offer."
Review 18 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tough But Thin,
January 6, 2015
By: sdhillman
from Salt Lake City, UT
"Well constructed and extremely durable, but filling is a bit too thin/compresses too much. No complaints from the dog, but could be more "comfy.""
Review 19 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for a Maltese,
January 5, 2015
By: nnjflyguy
from New Jersey
"Murphy can chew through any toy in about 5 minutes. Really. Most Maltese have this habit. Murph has tried digging though it, shaking it, even went after the zipper. No luck for him. Oh, delivery was on time and it looks great"
Review 20 for ToughChew® Round Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lives up to the name,
January 2, 2015
By: ABetz88
from Louisville, KY
"So far, the dog who has chewed up everything has not been able to damage this product. He seems to have given up after several persistent efforts. Fingers crossed! Only downside is that hIs house-mate, the chihuahua, really doesn't like to share the bed so we may have to buy another one."