Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Pocket Buddy Fly Box

One-handed operation for quick, easy-open on stream. Saves time fiddling with your fly box so you fish more. Spring-loaded, the lid eases open with a push of a button so you get at that urgent selection faster. Lid locks back in place with a click, so you know it's shut. Durable ABS plastic and the stainless steel hinge. Fly box is ultra-lightweight. Buoyant. Dimensions: 4⅝"L x 3⅜"W x 1¼"D.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Review 1 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product is fine,
February 26, 2013
By: Ocotillo
from Pacific Northwest
"I am an absolute beginner, feeling the water for whether or not I'll become a fly devotee, and the Pocket Buddy Fly Box, small size, is a great, compact, fly box for me. I truly appreciate the spring-hinge so I'm not stupidly opening the box upside down.
However, Orvis shipping costs are unrealistic. Shippng costs too much, and it took 10 days to arrive via UPS.
I believe Orvis carries the finest gear and accessoies, but I expect I won't be buying much from Orvis.com in the future.
IMHO, there are too many online merchants offering free shipping, or much less expensive shipping with far faster delivery."
Review 2 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice construction,
May 31, 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"Although light, this is a solid box with efficient and easy open/close mechanism. More than sufficient room for a good selection of flies."
Review 3 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pocket fly box,
April 23, 2012
By: victanney
"Perfect fit for my vest. Holds an adequate number of flies for the day, or weekend."
Review 4 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alaskan Adventure,
April 9, 2012
By: Mysport
from Ft. Worth, Tx
"First review ever: Trout fishing adventure for our family of 4; all equipped with Pocket Buddy Orvis fly boxes (one Midge Buddy). Just wanted to say thanks to Orvis for offering the best top quality products! I would not do this review, except our guide was surprised and said he had never seen these flyboxes and plans to order the same and provide them to his customers as they work really well when really cold hands are problematic. I gave him mine and will order another."
Review 5 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Box,
April 5, 2012
By: browntrout17
from Augusta,Me
"It's simple and compact. Fits in a smaller pocket. I use it for smaller specialty flies. The spring loaded clasp to open the case is a nice touch. Thanks Mom!"
Review 6 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An adventure to say the least!,
March 12, 2012
By: sportfishing
from Ok City
"We were fishing the Blue River in Southern Oklahoma for rainbows and my husband fell into a hole from knee deep water, his hip boots filled with water and he dropped his gear and scrambled again to knee deep cold water. We could not find his new Orvis clearwater fly reel with an old family bamboo rod and some of his gear. The next morning we located floating fly line around a rock and retrived the rod and reel and also the Orvis Pocket Buddy fly box floating against some weeds 100 yards downstream. Also found his cap. Glad we found the fly box because I had it engraved with his name for a birthday present. Cleaned and lubed the reel and no problem with the flys as they were all there and dry."
Review 7 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Small Box,
December 29, 2011
By: IcyWaters
from IL
"Great small box, the latch is easy to use when your hands are cold. Purchased 2 boxes, one for each of my girls to hold there nymphs. Planning on getting another for myself."
Review 8 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay...but...,
November 16, 2011
By: JeepJr
from Western NC
"Holds flies just fine...but, I expected it to be water resistant, and it is NOT. So, it must be carried high in your vest. Cannot carry it in a sling pack or chest pact unless you carry the pack VERY high."
Review 9 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks for a first class qualtiy fly box,
October 19, 2011
By: Troutbait
from Norfolk, Va
"Purchased 4 for my fellow flyfishermen. Great product. Great company Orvis!"
Review 10 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pocket buddy fly box,
September 24, 2011
By: Westslope
"Nice fly box and I like the latch. The only thing that would be nice is a softer foam."
Review 11 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pocket Buddy Fly Box,
June 20, 2011
By: BarreMike
from MA.
"Just got this one. Nice size box,holds lots of flies, easy
"on river " access.
"
Review 12 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits his wish to a "t",
June 20, 2011
By: ChicagoFlylady
"One hand convenience. I will be buying this pocket Buddy for my son who is an avid fly fisherman."
Review 13 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the outdoors woman,
June 13, 2011
By: FlyLady
"Just received as a gift from the love of my life, a Pocket Buddy (engraved) and a Midge Buddy fly box. I love fly fishing since I began 4 years ago, primarily in streams west of Durango. I really like the one hand opening latch on both simply because it does not split my nails trying to open them as other boxes have done. What I also enjoy is the dual purpose of taking them on trips in my purse with jewelry. I recommend both very much."
Review 14 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pocket Buddy is perfect,
August 20, 2010
By: FlyFishermanFlorida
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""Great product. Very simple, but tough and fits in my shirt pocket. No problems and will probably buy another soon.""
Review 15 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Love It!,
August 19, 2010
By: RogerM
from Dallas, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really like the Pocket Buddy, easy to open with one hand. A terrific solution to a problem I did not realize I had. Makes changing flys (and lures) one step easier. Very convenient and a great low cost gift"
Review 16 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
unglued,
August 11, 2010
By: charteroak
from Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"What should be a nice, simple box completely fails when the foam comes unglued and goes floating down the stream with half your flies...
I returned one box to my local fly shop for failing glue, only to have its replacement come unglued in my truck less than 24 hours later.
Otherwise this is a great box. Please research an adhesive that stands up to extremes in temperature..."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing this quality concern with the fly box. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 17 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New style,
November 14, 2009
By: Wade
from Austin, Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I've always been a fan of fancy fishing gear, and enjoy complex gadgets. I was suprisingly humbled by the simplicity of this fly box. What is deceptive about this product is when you first look at it. I first thought, "Yeah yeah, another fly box..." from it's modest appearance. Once you open the clasp, with one hand, and the spring assists, it becomes clear that what this little box hides with it's sleek durable shell is the ingenuity of it's purpose. This box is perfectly attuned for it's role. It hides in your pocket, fits perfectly in your hand, and is easy to use while holding other items. To me it simply embodies the age old saying, "Sometimes less really is more.""
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy,
November 13, 2009
By: ebassm
from Round Rock Tx.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I found this box to be the best thing since sliced bread. Easy one hand operation took the akwardness out getting another fly with all my gear in hand. So far it has held up well and done all it said it would. For the money you cant beat it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pocket Buddy fly box,
February 13, 2009
By: AverageJoe
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I need to be honest up front. I am an older average Joe (actually James) type fly fisherman who does light pond, very light salt water coastal fishing whenever I get the chance; from the Blue River in Southern Oklahoma to various trout stocked ponds and rivers and coastal waters of Texas. I was asked over 18 months ago to do a years test and evaluation of an original un-named prototype of the Pocket Buddy Fly Box. At first I was skeptical due to the light almost fragile feel of the box, but soon realized this is one tough little box that can be handled like any other on the market, dropped in the water (it floats, don't ask how I know), loaded with dozens of assorted flies (I am fond of black bead head wooly buggers) and carried in a shirt pocket which to me makes it worth the purchase. Intially I was surprised how effective the one hand thumb release allowed the lid to rapidly pop open...I actually dropped it, twice. It took some getting used to but after opening and closing several times, it became second nature. With the fly rod stuck under one arm, opening the box with the off hand is great advantage. This box does the job it is expected to do and after 18 months of use, it still looks and operates as new. I am happy it is now available to anyone. Highly recommended and very shirt pocket handy. I am going to buy one for each of my children and grandchildren..all avid fisherpersons....maybe even my wife if I can get her outdoors!
James
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Pocket Buddy Fly Box
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2