Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Easy Cast Floating Spey Line

A truly versatile line, its mid-length belly gives the easiest casting line for anglers of all levels. The choice for fishing bomber and other floating salmon patterns, for fishing in the top of the water column, and for low water conditions. 57-71' head length, depending on the line size. In chartreuse.Spey fly line sizes: are 7, 8, 9, 10. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Review 1 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value!!,
November 13, 2014
By: 64flyguy
"In my first experience with a spey setup, this line proved itself as a great line to roll cast. As I picked it up on sale it has been one of my better line buys and I believe it helped make my first spey fishing experience less intimidating."
Review 2 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent spey line,
September 4, 2014
By: kzin
from houston, texas
"this is a nice mid-belly line for the traditional spey caster. I highly recommend it."
Review 3 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
July 22, 2014
By: Morgan0000
from NS Canada
"This is an excellent product and would recommend to a friend"
Review 4 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EASY CAST,
July 15, 2014
By: germoe
from venice fl.
"WORLD OF DIFFERENCE,IM A BEGINNER ,THIS LINE IMPROVED MY DISTANCE & ACCURACY.
ALSO YOU CANNOT BEAT THE PRICE.
"
Review 5 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well matched,
July 9, 2014
By: Diggary
from Minden NV
"I strung the line up the same day I received it and found itto match perfectly with my rod."
Review 6 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spey fly line,
June 11, 2014
By: theflyfishingfool
from Fishing the world
"This line us the easiest casting sort line I have ever used. The price I paid was excellent compaired others. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a new or replacement line."
Review 7 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice line,
June 10, 2014
By: beefstu
from Barnegat ,NJ
"Line lays out with very little effort. Great buy at sale price. Used in back bay for blue fish."
Review 8 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Floating Spey Line,
March 24, 2014
By: KevinT
from Beulah, MI
"I have been 'borrowing' my brother's spey rod/reel for 2 years and HE finally broke down and bought me my own so I'd quit using his! I outfitted my new reel with Orvis' Easy Cast floating line and it works like a dream (my brother's reel has the same line). I have hooked, but not landed, 2 nice steelhead in the Betsie River, Michigan this spring so far. Great Line, poor angling. I would recommend this to all fishermen looking for quality floating spey line."
Review 9 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy fisherman,
March 20, 2014
By: Spaymichiganfisher
from Michigan
"I am super happy with my new Spey line it is by far the best casting line I have ever used. I have been Spey fishing for seven years now and I have spent a lot of money on line. The line floats high and cast effortlessly I love it."
Review 10 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New to Spey,
June 3, 2013
By: Dace
from Tallahassee, FL
"Cast it with my 8 wt. access switch rod and it worked well. Tried some basic casts. Since it is a spey line it would work on a rod longer than 11 ft. as well. I will be using it in tidal creeks along the Gulf coast."
Review 11 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 17, 2012
By: SgtFreek
"Just getting in to spey, the price was perfect compared to other spey lines out there, not as much a leap of faith if I will like it or not. Casts well."
Review 12 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: Lotsafish
"A fine spey line for the beginner attempting to learn."
Review 13 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Mid-Belly line,
November 9, 2011
By: Hatatata
from Palmyra, Ny
"I put this on the BLAV with a 13' spey rod. I could easily pitch the fly in pockets as well as roll cast the line for shoter shots. Works well with nymph fihing and indicator. It's a very good line and above intermediate."
Review 14 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line for your switch rod.,
October 13, 2011
By: puddledipper
from Washington State
"This 7 wgt line works great on my 11 foot switch rod when steelhead fishing."
Review 15 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lives up to its name,
October 8, 2011
By: flytyinfreak
"I like the line, like it alot. Very well thought out, well almost but more on that later. I like the taper and the ease of casting this line gives me, It works well with my rod which is no small feat as the rod is finicky. The only thing I think is lacking is that it needs a color change at the end of the head so that its easier to find ones own sweet spot."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3