Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Easy Cast Floating Spey Line

A truly versatile line, its mid-length belly gives the easiest casting line for anglers of all levels. The choice for fishing bomber and other floating salmon patterns, for fishing in the top of the water column, and for low water conditions. 57-71' head length, depending on the line size. In chartreuse.Spey fly line sizes: are 7, 8, 9, 10. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Review 1 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Floating Spey Line,
March 24, 2014
By: KevinT
from Beulah, MI
"I have been 'borrowing' my brother's spey rod/reel for 2 years and HE finally broke down and bought me my own so I'd quit using his! I outfitted my new reel with Orvis' Easy Cast floating line and it works like a dream (my brother's reel has the same line). I have hooked, but not landed, 2 nice steelhead in the Betsie River, Michigan this spring so far. Great Line, poor angling. I would recommend this to all fishermen looking for quality floating spey line."
Review 2 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy fisherman,
March 20, 2014
By: Spaymichiganfisher
from Michigan
"I am super happy with my new Spey line it is by far the best casting line I have ever used. I have been Spey fishing for seven years now and I have spent a lot of money on line. The line floats high and cast effortlessly I love it."
Review 3 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New to Spey,
June 3, 2013
By: Dace
from Tallahassee, FL
"Cast it with my 8 wt. access switch rod and it worked well. Tried some basic casts. Since it is a spey line it would work on a rod longer than 11 ft. as well. I will be using it in tidal creeks along the Gulf coast."
Review 4 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 17, 2012
By: SgtFreek
"Just getting in to spey, the price was perfect compared to other spey lines out there, not as much a leap of faith if I will like it or not. Casts well."
Review 5 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 29, 2011
By: Lotsafish
"A fine spey line for the beginner attempting to learn."
Review 6 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Mid-Belly line,
November 9, 2011
By: Hatatata
from Palmyra, Ny
"I put this on the BLAV with a 13' spey rod. I could easily pitch the fly in pockets as well as roll cast the line for shoter shots. Works well with nymph fihing and indicator. It's a very good line and above intermediate."
Review 7 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line for your switch rod.,
October 13, 2011
By: puddledipper
from Washington State
"This 7 wgt line works great on my 11 foot switch rod when steelhead fishing."
Review 8 for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lives up to its name,
October 8, 2011
By: flytyinfreak
"I like the line, like it alot. Very well thought out, well almost but more on that later. I like the taper and the ease of casting this line gives me, It works well with my rod which is no small feat as the rod is finicky. The only thing I think is lacking is that it needs a color change at the end of the head so that its easier to find ones own sweet spot."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Easy Cast Floating Spey Line
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
3.7 / 5
3.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 3