Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Carlow Wool Walking Hat

Protect yourself from the elements in a walking hat that keeps its shape no matter what Mother Nature has in store for you. A 2¼"-wide brim with a specially stitched edge won't sag when wet; grommet holes promote air circulation. Soft twill interior headband. 4½" crown. In dark olive. 100% wool. Dry clean. Sizes: M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 of 35(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Review 1 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like it too!,
May 5, 2013
By: hoosierboy
from Indiana
"This is one of my favorites that I keep in the semi all season long. It has a great fit and always looks good no matter how much it's tossed around or squashed. It has a distinct style that will set you apart from the other guys in the ball caps and cowboy hats. It kinda reminds me of the old guy I noticed years ago and now I've become that guy in the wool fedora hats."
Review 2 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Hat,
March 11, 2013
By: robtee
from New York City
"After looking at a lot of hats and reading a lot of reviews, I chose this one and couldn't be happier. It's not only stylish, but also warm and protective. I got caught in the snow without an umbrella last week and not a single flake landed on my neck or ears. And the dark olive color goes well with just about all my outerwear.
I've already received several compliments, and I don't have to recommend it to my best friend: he tried mine on and wants one of his own!
"
Review 3 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luv the hat,
February 26, 2013
By: Mxyzptik
from Alberta, Canada
"I have many hats in a variety of styles. I suspect that like me, folks that enjoy hats are always looking for the next great one.
What attracted me to this hat was the width of the brim, at 21/4" it is a little narrower than many similar styled hats and I like that style. It makes it look a little less " cowboy" IMO.
Nice quality wool, accurate fit , good sweat band and grommets to help it breathe. It's already a favorite."
Review 4 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase,
February 15, 2013
By: casualD
from Saint Louis, MO
"This is a nice hat. I did note some of the reviewers indicated it was sized large so ordered one size smaller than usual. It was still a bit large but added a hat sizer inner band to the front and it is a perfect fit. Looking forward to wearing on a European river cruise in September."
Review 5 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More casual than dress,
January 16, 2013
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"nice shape and form. Material is more casual than dress. Fits true to size"
Review 6 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat has real character!,
January 16, 2013
By: pleinairepainter
from Honolulu
"Great hat for keeping warm in really cold weather. I'm a 73/8 so the large fit well although it could come off in a hard gust of wind. It pulls down on the head though and really takes the shape of the head. With the funky lid, it really takes on a character of it's own. It has a real personality!"
Review 7 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
missing in action,
January 11, 2013
By: arboona
from College Park, MD
"At first sight, I knew this hat was for me. The style and durability were prefect. The only problem - the hat was too large and smaller not available.
This too shall pass! Arboona
"
Review 8 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best packer hat ever,
January 10, 2013
By: Kubotaking
"Quality, fit and price.
Great buy!
Looks great too.
"
Review 9 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Review,
January 4, 2013
By: Trekman
from Jackson Hole, WY
"Nice hat. Decent quality for price. Warm and nice to the touch. I ordered my regular size and hat was too big. Returned it for smaller size but that was too large also. I didn't want to go through returning the second time so I added padding to the band."
Review 10 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but didn't fit,
January 2, 2013
By: Skip111
"Nice hat but a size to big. Had been given another hat earlier this year from Orvis that was a XL. This XL was just slightly too big. We anxiously wait credit for the purchase to order a smaller size"
Review 11 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Picture much better than product,
December 29, 2012
By: Titaniumman
"The look of the hat is different than the picture on line. Didn't like it. The fit was all wrong as well. I would like to think Orvis would find a better quality hat of this style that was actually sized rather than "small, medium, large."
Review 12 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart buy for a smart looking guy,
December 28, 2012
By: Pida
"I bought this for my husband and he likes it a lot He usually wears it on daily walks in the woods and and around town as it keeps his head nice and warm. I think he looks quite handsome in it."
Review 13 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My walking friend,
December 7, 2012
By: Moonstonebob
from SLO County
"This wonderful hat is my beach and coastal walking friend. Keeps me warm and dry in the rain and fog. Keeps me looking good by keeping its shape no matter how abused.
Have this hat for several years and still looks new with simple care.
"
Review 14 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever,
July 11, 2012
By: ljoe3
from Hot Springs, AR
"Orvis hits another home run with this product. Regardless of the seasons, it keeps the rain off my big ears & retains perfect shape. Taking it to Paris France soon for yet another trip. Would not travel without it!!"
Review 15 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
carlow wool walking hat,
January 26, 2012
By: snowperson
from syracuse ny
"since wearing this hat I have nothing but complments,I am very happy with the fit and construction, the price was fair."
Review 16 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
January 17, 2012
By: coolea
from Roanoke, Va.
"Looks altogether genuine as a hat to go miles in all sorts of weather.
Has a travelled appearance and it is still tidy looking."
Review 17 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome hat,
January 6, 2012
By: CPTRon
from johnson city, TN
"Ordered this hat to wear as an adjunct to my raincoat on days when it rains and I have to be in formal/semil formal attire as I hate carrying an umbrella. I was extremely pleased with the look and styling, it sheds water exactly as advertised, and I have recieved numerous compliments even thought have only had the item a couple of weeks. Would reccomend and would definately buy again"
Review 18 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dale's Hat,
January 3, 2012
By: ymischele
from Tracy, CA
"Excellent quality, beautifully made and will order again!"
Review 19 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat,
December 29, 2011
By: Michael2
from Lancaster, PA
"This may be the best hat I have ever bought. It is attractive, stylish, but not overly formal looking. It is well-made and sturdy."
Review 20 for Carlow Wool Walking Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style AND Comfort!,
December 29, 2011
By: Reinie
from Worcester, MA.
"I've worn the Carlow Wool Walking Hat several times since purchasing it and I must say I'm more than pleased with the comfort and warmth it has afforded me - as well as the compliments I've received from folks regarding it's stylishness!
A "five-star" product if there ever was one!"