Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe

Forward–thinking European styling and soft, burnished genuine leather come together in a men's flexible walking shoe you can wear with a wide range of casual outfits. The removable leather–covered comfort insole cushions each step. This shoe is well adapted to driving duty, as well—the high–traction outsole wraps the heel to protect the leather upper when you're behind the wheel. Men's comfort walking shoes in brown. Imported.European sizes 41(7½-8), 42(8½-9), 43(9½-10), 44(10½-11), 45(11½-12), 46(13).
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
23 of 29(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Review 1 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Walking Shoe,
April 12, 2014
By: Maxdor
from San Jose, CA/
"Good looking shoes but have to return them. To narrow for me."
Review 2 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unexcelledd comfort.,
April 9, 2014
By: Riccardo8
from Modesto, CA
"This shoe is one of the most comfortable shoes that I have ever worn. It is a very snug and exact fit and goes well with a number of different color schemes. If someone is in to walking outdoors on a regular basis this would be a perfect investment."
Review 3 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vacation shoe,
March 17, 2014
By: redfox
from Santa Barbara, Ca
"Good leather, good color and a great fit. Shipped and delivered on time"
Review 4 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Italian walking shoe,
March 10, 2014
By: beachcombers
from Moncure NC
"Beautifully made walking shoes that fit like a glove."
Review 5 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased I Purchased,
March 1, 2014
By: mustangcb
from Tulsa, OK
"A very comfortable and stylish shoe. I wear as a casual shoe all day long and my feet feel fine. Love the color and soft leather."
Review 6 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
sorry to say a dissapointment,
November 29, 2013
By: Norbu
from Branford CT
"saw this in NY store - but they didn't have my size, beautiful and well made shoe. Sadly once I started to wear it I developed horrible blisters at the back of my foot - turns out the rubber sole extends up as a 'spine' in back of shoe - caused me horrible trouble and I had to return - fortunately Orvis has a great return policy"
Review 7 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shoes Are Too Narrow,
August 15, 2013
By: Micron
from San Diego
"The shoes were beautiful and soft as advertised. They are extremely fashionable and sophisticated. However, they were WAY too narrow for the average middle-aged American foot. So, narrow that they hurt my feet and regretfully I had to return them (still waiting to hear from Orvis on the return after more than a week). The shoes themselves are very high quality and snappy looking and if you have a narrow foot, I would recommend them. If your foot is even a tiny bit wider than normal, I believe the shoes will be uncomfortable especially at front part of your foot. Your little tow is going to cramped back inside.
I really am impressed by the Orvis product line and wish that they had a broader selection of sizes such as wide shoes (D,E, EE) and odd waist sizes (31, 33, 35, 37).
"
Review 8 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truth in advertising,
June 9, 2013
By: doughboy
from St. Louis, MO
"I'm not a fan of the Pikolinos look (nothing personal, most of what I've seen just look odd for some reason; perhaps it's the uncultured American in me ;) ... but ... something struck me about these shoes and I'm glad I bought them. I'm used to wearing MBT's, which is a rocker-type shoe that provides great support. So I'm hesitant to try others soles. While these don't give the same kind of support, they are amazingly comfortable and super stylish. A female co-worker remarked how she thought they looked like bowling shoes (a compliment btw) and asked if they have women's sizes, too. I'm a wide 12, and they fit perfectly right out of the box. I'd recommend them to anyone, even if you have orthopedic needs like I do (sore knees)."
Review 9 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort with style,
May 7, 2013
By: civileg
from AL
"These shoes are one of the most comfortable that I have ever owned. They are so lightweight, but provide a lot a support."
Review 10 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Walking Shoe,
April 2, 2013
By: Keller90
from San Francisco, CA
"I have been looking for a casual leather shoe for jeans and cargo pants. This shoe is buttery soft, comfortable and, I think, looks great. I have only had them for a couple of weeks so I can't comment on their longevity. I can only say, as of now, I love 'em! Only negative comment was from a jealous brother who said they looked like bowling shoes! Which is probably a good thing."
Review 11 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice walking shoe,
February 26, 2013
By: Traveller48
"Very comfortable except take care not to tie the laces too tight. This shoe will not mark you as American when you're in Europe like sneakers do. It's a great urban walking shoe but is too light for hiking. I would certainly buy this product again."
Review 12 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
do not post -- just comments,
February 19, 2013
By: cetwo
from Long Beach, CA
"the shoe was well made but the photo id inaccurate-- the shoes are very long and skinny (very European) I think the photo was horizontally scaled so the shoe looks more normal -- also there is a hand sewn seam that actually runs under the arch of the shoe -- very susceptible to wear-- also fit was very narrow -- also pricey"
Review 13 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very good quality shoes,
January 31, 2013
By: Saucepan
from Narberth. U.K.
"Very very pleased with this walking shoe, a good fit using the U.S. sizing chart. wore them at The Hungry Trout restaurant, New Quay, Ceredigion last weekend, felt very smart. Ordered from America on a Friday and delivered to Narberth West Wales U.K. on Tuesday, good product, good service."
Review 14 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 30, 2013
By: DBS1950
from Buckeye, Arizona
"I purchased these shoes for a five week trip to Europe later this year. I found that they have little or no arch support and are hard on my lower back. I considered returning them but then I purchased some insoles that provide greater arch support and used those to replace the insoles that come with the shoes. Problem solved. Once I put in the new insoles the shoes were much more comfortable and placed little or no strain on my lower back. That said, given the price and that they are sold as "walking" shoes I think they should have come with greater arch support.
They look very much as they do in the catalog. I have received compliments on their styling. Aside from the arch issues the shoes are comfortable in every other respect. The soft leather breathes well and seems to shape to my feet.
I would recommend with the caveat regarding arch support."
Review 15 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Shoes,
December 28, 2012
By: TheSilverFox
from Pawleys Island, SC
"The shoes fit well, they are comfortable and they are stylin'."
Review 16 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Expensive and Uncomfortable,
September 7, 2012
By: Pulte
"I purchased these shoes for my husband before leaving for Ireland. On the third day in Dublin, he bought another pair of shoes because of two blisters on his feet. Because my husband is diabetic, his footwear is very important to his overall health. The shoes (Clarks) that my husband purchased in Dublin were more than $100 less than the shoe I purchased from Orvis, and they were vastly more comfortable."
Review 17 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good quality,
June 30, 2012
By: Picadilly
from Charleston, AR
"I was concerned about the fit. I wear a 10.5 and the Euro 44 was a good fit. No break in necessary, very comfortable."
Review 18 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shoe size,
June 15, 2012
By: jack48
"great shoes, i had to reorder a smaller size because i wear an amer. size 8 and the 42s were just to big, so i got the 41 and i am very happy with them. its almost a shame to wear them because they
are such a beautiful product.
"
Review 19 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not fit properly,
June 7, 2012
By: rafluby
"The shoe was too narrow in the toe box for my feet."
Review 20 for Hand-Sewn European Walking Shoe
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit Like a Glove,
February 21, 2012
By: Tuffgong
"The shoes fit like a glove. Extremely comfortable and supportive. I was worried about ordering the wrong size, but it turned out to be perfect. Very easy in-store ordering process."