Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt

At last, a short-sleeved version of our most popular silk shirt, perfect for summer. Point collar, rounded hemline, and a back yoke. Pure silk. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 27" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
0
23 of 34(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Review 1 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Excellent,
April 10, 2014
By: Lorrie22
from Fremont, CA
"This is a really great buy!! It is everything it is advertised as. Comfortable and easy to wear. It can be worn tucked in or loose over skirts or pants. The only thing I can say about it is that it runs a little on the large size. I will be ordering more of these in different colors."
Review 2 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stylish but . . . . .,
April 8, 2014
By: Flamingo
from California
"This is the second everyday silk shirt I have purchased from Orvis and was disappointed with the quality of the material. This is very thin silk with very unflattering short sleeves. The workmanship is good, but overall, not up to Orvis standards."
Review 3 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too tapered and too short.,
March 6, 2014
By: Wildflower
from Florida
"I needed a new silk shirt so I was excited to receive this. The fabric is excellent but the sizing is bad for my figure. I used to be able to purchase and keep many items from Orvis. But, lately the sizing is not uniform. And, the cut of your blouses have become very tapered and short. Just not flattering to an older women. I love classic, traditional styles.....not trendy."
Review 4 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silk shirt,
July 9, 2013
By: silverpinny
from Wiltshire
"good quality, good fit, good colour.
I would have liked breast pockets;
hence only 4 stars.
"
Review 5 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointing,
June 13, 2013
By: ValleyCate
"The garment was not as described in the catalogue. Customer Services' response was very poor.'"
Review 6 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
please make size smaller,
June 4, 2013
By: dlb2
"I own several of these and although I love them and wear them they are too big. I don't understand why the smallest size really is not small at all. It is a really BIG 6-8 sizing.
Please please consider making for a smaller woman. I bought a size "4" in a longer sleeve silk blouse and it fits so perfect. Would like to see more of that sizing. I am sure more woman would purchase .
"
Review 7 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
silk shirts,
April 16, 2013
By: Epidemiologist
"Nice shirts....after washing, needed ironing and tough to know what heat setting to us. Looked ok after ironing but not as good as when came out of package."
Review 8 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect !,
April 3, 2013
By: naturegal
from Worcester, MA
"This shirt is the perfect under layer for cardigans and blazers ! The silk fabricc is light for warmer weather as a top, and as a summery layer. Good workmanship as well. Typical of Orvis products."
Review 9 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Another wonderful blouse that's been downgraded,
March 27, 2013
By: Edevonc
"I bought three of these blouses about 10-15 years ago and I stil wear them. The drape is complimentary and you used to have more of the deep rich colors - the two I have are in black and a rich plum.
Now the only deep color this comes in is black and the sizing is too small. I wish you'd put this out in other deep colors (navy, olive green, wine red, indigo purple,..any deep color) and larger sizes again. The XL fits me fine in the older sizing.- in the new sizing I can't even button it."
Review 10 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple Classic Wardrobe Staple,
March 25, 2013
By: LadyYoli
"When I tried to find a replacement for an aging plain short sleeve silk blouse I had, NO ONE carried such an item....until I found it at Orvis! It's exactly what I was looking for!!! Thank you for continuing to carry the 'classics'!!!!"
Review 11 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silk Short-Sleeved Shirt,
March 19, 2013
By: SarahL
from Greenville KY
"This is a shirt that will go with anything and go anywhere. It is soft but holds its shape. I love it."
Review 12 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK for everyday.,
March 19, 2013
By: Pfeffney
"Ok for everyday. I like the boxy style.I think I will not trust washing this, but have it dry cleaned."
Review 13 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sizing,
April 3, 2012
By: Carny
from catalog
"Your sizing is different than other places......I had to return some pants because I didnt know your small was 6-8.......I needed a 10 and without knowing, ordered small.
That explains why I felt the blouse was not very generous for ehat I ordered............"
Review 14 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all round blouse,
March 13, 2012
By: dotanne
from Portland, ME
"This blouse looks good for both casual and business wear. Wonderful quality silk- thick enough to feel rich yet still light weight. I do many hours of charity work and need to be able to look casual enough for clients yet also professional for meeting donors and business contacts. Fit is true to size."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Difficult to Size,
February 2, 2012
By: AnneinSD
from San Diego, CA
"I bought items from the website on a recommendation.
I am usually a size 4-6, but unfortunately this blouse was much too big. I was very disappointed as the quality was really nice.
"
Review 16 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
September 16, 2011
By: FritzD
"Unlike most articles of clothing I've purchased in the past, which have been well made and generous with fabric, this blouse was not comfortable. The sleeves were wide enough, (which I was looking for) but constraining. I was unable to lift my arms comfortably."
Review 17 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shirt,
September 6, 2011
By: CAAB
"I have a long-sleeve and a short-sleeve version of this shirt and decided to order another short-sleeve blouse. They are great for work and look fabulous under a suit jacket. My one recommendation would be for Orvis to offer the same blouse in a washable polyester fabric as well. I wear these blouses twice a week and dry cleaning gets expensive."
Review 18 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice shirt,
August 18, 2011
By: sunberry
from Clearwater, Florida
"I am satisfied with the quality of this product. The fabrick is sturdy enough for all day at work, but still cool enough for Florida heat. The shirt construction has small stiching with french seams, a nice touch. The button holes are well done with no stray threads, and buttons are cross stiched. Not a true black, but goes really well with my dark heather gray pants."
Review 19 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent favorite,
August 1, 2011
By: CoachSara
"I love this shirt - have it in more than one color. It is easy care and looks good enough to be business wear."
Review 20 for Short-Sleeved Everyday Silk Shirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice shirt,
June 25, 2011
By: Lightbulb
"Very comfortable fabric and a good fit. Nice drape."