Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case

Protect and transport your rods and reels easily, and carry them onto the plane worry-free. Die-cut foam secures your 4-piece fly rod and reel. Inside flap with zippered pockets organizes leaders and tippet. Shoulder strap makes transport even easier. Fits BBS, BMA and BLA reels in III and IV sizes, only. 4"H x 32"L x 7"W; 896 cu. in. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Travel Case,
December 4, 2014
By: DonBarks
from Chesapeake Bay
"This is a very nice travel case, but the reel cavity is too small for modern large arbor reels. I am a saltwater fisherman not a trout guy with tiny reels."
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great gift for my son,
October 7, 2014
By: BigMusky
from Rensselaer, NY
"I had purchased a Safe Passage Rod and Reel Case for myself over a year ago. My rod, reel, and other supplies fit perfectly in the case and are very well protected. My Son liked my case so much that I purchased this one as a gift for him, He was very impressed with the quality of this case."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for airline travel,
September 16, 2014
By: HoustonTxMike
"I bought this to carry my fly rod and reel on plane trips so as to avoid having it in my checked baggage. It serves that purpose well.
The nylon cover is densely woven, seems sturdy. The foam liner is stout and well fitted to hold the rod and reel. The reel doesn't touch the rod, so no worries about damage.
There is a removable foam piece so that it can accommodate both small and large reels. I have a 4/5/6 weight reel which fits snugly with the foam piece removed.
Nit picks include the no name zipper, which could be sturdier. Also, the foam liner is held in place by Velcro. Not a deal killer for me, but not up to par with what I would expect for the price."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rod and reel case,
September 16, 2014
By: corky4664
from Glen Arbor, Mi
"An excellent why to transport a single rod and reel to insure protection."
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Great Travel Case,
September 15, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"I love my new Safe Passage Case. The foam interior takes care of your rod and reel keeping them safe and secure. The top has a zippered pocket for holding other goodies. All wrapped in a durable outer material with a nice strap. Great quality and value!"
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage for my gear!!!,
September 11, 2014
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Love my new safe passage case. The foam insulation is bomber. There is a zippered area running the length of the case for goodies,flies, etc. I bought it on sale it was a great deal and the quality is usual Orvis good. The zippers are also good quality!"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice case,
September 11, 2014
By: corky4664
from Glen Arbor, Mi
"If you are trying to protect only one rod and reel for a trip into the bush this is the way to get it there safely."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better Than Picture,
September 10, 2014
By: kobymadfly
from woodstock,il
"Great construction, light weight and cut outs for a four piece rod are very snug. Carried on the plane , it lifts and fits easily in overhead. Stored several saltwater flys, tapered leaders and extra tippet material in netted pocket (ready to fish even if luggage meets me later).
Although probably not needed, I cut out a circle from a piece of neoprene to cover the reel to avoid any contact with the rod sections. A+
"
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent Rod Reel Case,
September 8, 2014
By: MikeC53
from Jacksonville, FL
"Very thick inner walls to protect both rod and reel!! I would have given the case 5 Starts, but my size 9 reel would not fit in the case.."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You buy with confidence at Orvis,
September 1, 2014
By: USNSkipper
from Annapolis, MD
"Whether it is a gift or an item for myself, I know it will be an excellent choice when I buy from Orvis. This fly rod and reel case is for my son, an Iraq war veteran; he deserves the best"
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Value,
August 27, 2014
By: Vaneyes
from Tulsa, OK
"The travel rod and reel case exceeded my expectations. It is also a great value for the price. It passed my durability test! Love it!"
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Rod and Reel Case
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
June 11, 2012
By: finchaser
from Brooklyn, New York
"Got this case to transport my fly rod and reel. It is beauifully made, fits my gear like it was custom fitted, and keeps it snug and safe. Thank You! to Orvis for a great product and great service."