Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)

Hellgrammites are big, ugly and mean, but the trout love them. They live on the bottom and this hellgrammite fly is designed to sink fast and ride hook-up to prevent snagging. It's not pretty, but it's effective. In black.Size: 8.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Review 1 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Smallmouth,
September 27, 2014
By: eighthmileman
from Castlewood, Va
"Haven't had a chance to try on trout yet but will soon. I fish the Clinch River in Virginia. Large small mouth and big red eyes love them. I only bought two to try but will be getting more for sure. Highly reccomended."
Review 2 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
true to life,
January 28, 2014
By: grunt0331
from charleston,wv
"these things are life like, haven't had a chance to use them yet but
if trout are feeding on hellgrammites
I'm sure I'll have trout in my creel.
"
Review 3 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deadly on trout,
April 9, 2013
By: lou19902
from Eastern PA
"I fished yesterday to some trout that did not seem hungry for anything. I tried this Ez Mite, and hooked up 10 times over the next hour. I also used this last fall and was successful. Love this pattern"
Review 4 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
July 1, 2011
By: coptrtassoc
"This is a great product and good for attracting those brown trout on the bottom of rivers."
Review 5 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dissapointed,
August 23, 2010
By: 1Eye
from Richmond Virginia
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"These looked so good in the store I bought eight. They were so good on Smallmouth my friends begged me to share. I did and we wanted more, so I ordered fifteen more from the website. I have never been so upset with an Orvis product. The flies were JUNK compared to the originals. They were not even the same material. Bottom line- great fish catcher but see them before you buy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing this quality concern with these flies. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 6 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+,
August 16, 2010
By: FishinTerp
from Arlington, VA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Best Hellgrammite pattern I've found yet after lots of searching. The yarn being free past the hook bend creates a bending and wiggling which is very similar to the actual way a mite acts when it gets swept away in the current. The medium weight of the mid-sized lead dumbbell eyes allows a slow tumbling, which again mimics a mite begin swept in current and trying to catch itself. Fish this is medium current with slight twitches, or strip very slowly through still waters of eddys."
Review 7 for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy,
February 18, 2010
By: HookEm97
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"i have never used this but i have used the real not fake hellgramite it works good on bass and trout also perch to"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for EZ Mite (Hellgrammite)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1