Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.58 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
3
130 of 138(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Totally misrepresented,
August 21, 2014
By: DislikeOrvisProducts
"Hat only had vague resemblance to product described. Was more like a boller. When folding brim to look like a Fedora the hat looked stupid. Was returned.
With high price and high cost of shipping I will not be purchasing from Orvis again.
"
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 years and still going strong,
August 17, 2014
By: mgbob
"I purchased this hat in Manchester VT when I was at a car show,and had left my Panama home. 5 years later it is still going strong. I have worn it in an open car on the highway, I drive a convertible weather permitting, and really like the chin strap, It does not pack as easily as the ad would have you believe, but by placing it in the top of a duffle and stuffing the crown with clothing it survives remarkably well.My original, genuine panama made in Guatemala, suffered from a crack in the crown a few years ago and this hat is now worn all summer. It still retains its new hat looks. I will buy another if this one
ever wears out.
"
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential article of clothing,
July 31, 2014
By: chuck98
from portsmouth,va.
"a great hat; very comfortable,lightweight. you hardly know you have it on. an essential addition to your wardrobe when your barber is mr. mach 3."
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases,
July 30, 2014
By: linlou800
from Bristol, CT
"When I received this hat it became immediately apparent that this was just what I was looking for. The color and weave of the hat was great. Did not know that it came with a tie under the neck, which snaps perfectly to be out of the way. The ribbon band is adjustable so that the hat may be tightened. Size was right on, and of course being able to pack this hat for traveling is the best. You can't damage when rolling it up to fit in your suitcase. Wonderful"
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the hat it used to be,
July 17, 2014
By: Soloviajero
from Colorado, USA
"I bought one of these two years ago and loved it. It was the best hat I ever had and I received many compliments and inquiries about it. I lost the hat recently to an angry sea and replaced it with the current model, which is very disappointing. The material is the same, but the new model (NOT as pictured on the website!) actually has a wider and more "belled" brim, and it now looks more like a Chinese rice paddy hat than a fedora. I'm supposing that the manufacturer had to add more belling to keep the wider brim from flapping in the wind, however in doing so, they lost the aesthetic sense of the "fedora" style. The hat is functionally the same, but I'm disappointed by the wider brim and the excessive belling. I bought two new ones, and I'm returning one (and keeping the other because I've already worn it.). Don't trust the photo on the website; it's an old photo and the brim on the hat you actually get is unnecessarily wider, more curved (belled) and the fedora look is now gone except in the most rudimentary sense."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great packable hat,
July 15, 2014
By: MattK
"Hat "crushes" and packs easily. Brim returns to original condition in a few hours. Lightweight, feels good, looks great. Perfect warm weather hat for those of us that are thinning up top and need stylish protection."
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best fedora,
July 15, 2014
By: Dickiebird
"Other Panama hats get destroyed in the rain. Orvis' looks good, fits well, is packable and reasonably priced."
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If the summer fedora fits....,
July 14, 2014
By: RobertBG
"Great buy for a very fine fedora. It's not ultra fina or fina straw. It's made of plastic, not straw. Looks like, but it is not a Panama Hat. So pay twice as much and get yourself a real one. This fedora, nonetheless, is well sized, nicely made and stylishly presented. The hat band is adjustable for rakish positioning. If It weren't for a fedora strap, useful for high winds in an open car, I'm sure my daughter would give it back to me more often."
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fedora,
July 9, 2014
By: wolfpine
"This's fedora meats all my needs-- style and utility. It folded in my suitcase and comes out looking new. I have no use four the chin strap which is cumbersome IMF you want to hide it. It fits perfectly. If it didn't the band is adjustable. However if you tight nit it leaves a visible ripple. In the side of the hat"
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect hat,
July 3, 2014
By: rkb1
from texas
"just what i expected, fit great, looks great, very well constructed."
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it is supposed to do..,
June 17, 2014
By: MrWoodie
from Santa Clara, CA
"I purchased this hat for my daughters college graduation. We were in the hot sun for several hours and I needed to wear something a little dressier than a baseball cap that would keep the sun off my head and neck. This hat did the trick. It has a fairly wide brim, the strap keeps it from blowing away and it breathes to keep your head cool."
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, Crushable Fedora,
June 15, 2014
By: unigeek
from Ohio
"I had remembered this hat from an earlier visit to my local Orvis store but when I went back (months later) to purchase it, I found they were sold out. Spoke with a salesperson and he felt certain he knew which hat I wanted and he offered to order it for me and have it shipped to my address. The hat arrived quickly and it looks great and fits very well (size L--I usually take a 7 and a quarter). I plan to roll it up and stuff in a backpack for a trip later this summer--it springs back to original shape very well."
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Hat,
June 11, 2014
By: Flashheart
from Texas
"An excellent choice for someone who needs a pack-able travel hat.
The plastic material feels classy and it fits well."
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveling Hat,
June 10, 2014
By: Ricardophotoman
from Tucson, Arizona
"This is a great Fedora! I have been playling golf in it and it works well. It is terrific in the wind due to the cord around ith bottom. I am bringing it to Italy this summer. It is very easy to pack and seems to retain its shape very nicely. It washes up very easily."
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tried It,
June 9, 2014
By: east1
from Northen California
"Being sensitive to the sun and as my bald spot continues to increase I need the protection of a hat. I liked the style and wore it on a day trip to test it out. I found that the hat did not breath (have good ventilation). It was a hot day and this just added to the heat. I have returned the hat."
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable and Great Look,
June 6, 2014
By: Macius
from Arlington Hts., IL
"High quality and durable. Goes great with my cigar and a cold one."
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
does not pack like picture in the calog,
June 6, 2014
By: jhbk
from Los Angeles
"The picture showed the hat "rolled". It won't do that. The instuctions on a tag say tofold brim upward over crown and retain with chin strap. It will do that, but not as compactly as rolling it would do.
I'm disappointed,but it wwill have to do."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hat Trick,
June 3, 2014
By: Quig999
from Quakertown, PA
"This hat will help the bald man in my life - my husband of 46 years - by protecting him from the sun when we get off our Harleys and take off our helmets!"
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
June 2, 2014
By: bronco55
from Brentwood, CA
"Exactly what I was looking for. I am wearing it every day and it is perfect. I am anxious to pack it for a upcoming trip as it is crush proof."
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Practical Hat,
May 29, 2014
By: Oxy65
from Duarte, CA
"This is a remarkably well-thought through hat with terrific features for outdoor pursuits. My one criticism is that in the photo it looks like a fedora but it is not. I prefer a more classic fedora style. A great hat for all of that."