Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.563 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (158 reviews)
5 stars
113
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
148 of 158(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practical Hat,
May 20, 2015
By: mikephoto5
from UK
"A great hat that is tough. Comfortable to wear and adjustable so can be customised, very practical"
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very practical,
May 19, 2015
By: SunsetBrae
"Folds comfortably for travel. Good brim. Consider whether crown size is right for shape of your face."
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Fedora - a winner!,
May 18, 2015
By: DanaG
from Houston, TX
"Ordered the packable fedora before a recent trip and was very pleased that it is truly packable! Being woven of a synthetic material which is not damaged by rain or humidity is a big plus. Hubby likes the way the chin strap can be secured to the band when not needed. This one is a home run, Orvis!"
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Super Model,
May 13, 2015
By: Fedora7
"This is why I should win the review contest. I have always thought it presumptuous ot Orvis managment to appear in your advertising. Now, I can dress in Orvis from head (fedora) to shirt (Orvis gofl shirt) to nearly toe (sailcloth shorts)! I wear all those wonderful clothes ensemble and have bcome presumptuous myself! THE ORVIS MAN!"
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 8, 2015
By: Tterrab
from Los Angeles
"Excellent hat at a good price and well-packaged for delivery."
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
April 28, 2015
By: birena
from Midlands
"Given the brilliant weather we've had recently, I've taken my Feodora for several walks. Simply love the peace of mind that the adjustable strap gives me when breezes blow - and it can be tucked away, out of sight too."
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looked all over for this hat!,
April 27, 2015
By: claires
"After looking at much more expensive Panama hats, I found this one. It is extremely well designed...the cord hooks out of the way in back, the band is adjustable, and it is waterproof and packable. It is the perfect city hat!"
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep your Panama Hat on,
April 13, 2015
By: RobertBG
from Sacramento, CA
"Stylish, functional and daring. Riding around in a convertible with the top down has never been better. Quality construction. Water resistant. Useful and durable. Keeps me cool headed when seasinal temps begin to rise. Adjustable cord keeps my head covered no matter what happens."
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
packable fadora,
March 31, 2015
By: dahatter
from fairlee vt
"i got it before I left and wore it the entire time I was under the sun worked great very pleased"
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Panama hat,
March 30, 2015
By: ChristopherA
from Annapolis, MD
"I had a real Panama hat that I accidentally wore in a rain storm. It lost its shape and never looked the same. You would think that a straw hat would do okay in the rain. My Orvis hat looks just as good as my original and because its synthetic, it works in adverse weather, which has made me really happy. Thanks Orvis for a great looking hat!"
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Man in the Hat,
March 25, 2015
By: Boulevardier
"This hat is one of my favorites. in fact, I own two of them, one for home and travel, one for the office. They are cool in warm weather, keep off the sun, pack easily, take a beating and still look great (I travel a lot). I have lost count of the number of compliments I get -- from women, mostly -- on how good this hat looks. An added bonus!"
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
March 25, 2015
By: gottaloveit
"Exactly what it says. Perfect travel hat."...takes up minimal room in my pack, no problem in the wind and protects from the sun.....and looks good!"
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase I do,
March 6, 2015
By: CIDIAZL
from Pompano Beach,FL
"Best hat you can have for all seasons,outdoors an all,you can be in the water because is watherproof,clean and good for all
We love this hat all my family have one now because mine.
Thanks
CID
"
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
February 26, 2015
By: EDJHelerix
"The Packable Fedora is exactly the product that it is stated to be. It is a polished product."
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Almost Perfect,
December 5, 2014
By: kenx
from Napa, CA
"This hat looks great, it has great style. Plus it has a strap for those windy days.
I really liked it, but it has a major flaw because when the sun is coming at you at certain angles the sun slices into your eyes, making the hat useless.
The brim has lots of holes in the weave, thin sections that allow the light to hit the side of your face.
This is not a good hat for relaxing in bright sunlight, other than that it looks really fine."
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hat ever,
December 4, 2014
By: Grandmasterlax
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"This hat is perfect! It offers protection from the sun, it's packable and the chin strap keeps it on your head on windy days."
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too warm,
November 18, 2014
By: DoctorD2U
from Northstar and San Juan Capistrano, CA
"This hat is made from a tightly woven nylon material. It absorbs heat and doesn't breath. I've had to take a hot soldering iron and melt holes in it to get some ventilation."
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
October 21, 2014
By: jesatty
from bossier city, la
"Actually the third one I purchased--lost the first one in the East River in the Big Apple. Gave the second one to my grandsonl Good looking, holds up well, and can be folded for traveling. And not as big as some that over-shadow your face"
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Totally misrepresented,
August 21, 2014
By: DislikeOrvisProducts
"Hat only had vague resemblance to product described. Was more like a boller. When folding brim to look like a Fedora the hat looked stupid. Was returned.
With high price and high cost of shipping I will not be purchasing from Orvis again.
"
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 years and still going strong,
August 17, 2014
By: mgbob
"I purchased this hat in Manchester VT when I was at a car show,and had left my Panama home. 5 years later it is still going strong. I have worn it in an open car on the highway, I drive a convertible weather permitting, and really like the chin strap, It does not pack as easily as the ad would have you believe, but by placing it in the top of a duffle and stuffing the crown with clothing it survives remarkably well.My original, genuine panama made in Guatemala, suffered from a crack in the crown a few years ago and this hat is now worn all summer. It still retains its new hat looks. I will buy another if this one
ever wears out.
"