Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
103 of 106(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hat for the Beach,
April 23, 2014
By: Lyndell
from Arlington, Virginia
"I bought one last week before going to Playa del Carmen to the beach, sailing and snorkeling. The hat fits great and provides good shade. It is light but sturdy in construction. I am a straw hat guy and this holds up exceptionally well in the salt and spray and even light breezes on the boat. It retains its shape after wearing it all day, packs well and gets lots of compliments. Washes off in the shower. Nice job Orvis."
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Summer Hat Ever,
April 16, 2014
By: Jason54
from Santa Barbara, CA
"This hat has a tight weave and is stylish. Every time I wear it I am complemented on it and asked where it can be purchased. You will not be sorry that you bought this fedora."
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific hat!,
April 9, 2014
By: Morris1
from Oklahoma
"I'm a hat person. Summer or winter, I almost always wear a hat. This packable hat, with its SPF 50 protection and perfect fit (the band is adjustable), is now my favorite warm weather hat. And...my wife says it looks good as well.
Thanks, Orvis. You've got a winner here."
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool Hat,
April 9, 2014
By: public
from Houston, TX
"A hat that looks so cool...and its packable as well. What a deal!!!"
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for travelling,
April 4, 2014
By: hikerone
from catalog
"I never thought that I would find a good-looking hat that could stand the abuse of travel. Roll this baby up, tuck it in the bottom of your suite case, then later pull it out and watch it immediately unfold to its original shape. Unbelievable! This beauty even has a tuck-away chin strap. Perfect for being sure you don't lose it while strolling a windy coast line or on the deck of a cruse ship."
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Light & cool,
April 3, 2014
By: Ageo
from Central Texas
"This hat is nice improvement over fake "straw" hats and heavy fabric hats. It's light, comfortable to wear. Great feature that it holds its shape even when wet. Adaptable to any occasion."
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice hat,
April 2, 2014
By: jo3169
from Angels Camp. CA
"Nice hat. Returns to form nicely after rolling up for packing."
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad loved it!,
March 20, 2014
By: dglv
from SF, CA
"I purchased the packable fedora for my father on his 80th birthday. It was a huge hit! The quality is remarkable and the fact that he can pack it is a huge plus!"
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Packable Fedora,
March 14, 2014
By: Shutterbug20
from Bradenton, Fl.
"Size was true fit. Nicely made. My only deduction was for size of brim, a little bit larger than I would have liked. A Quality product!"
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Fedora,
October 6, 2013
By: Mikk
from Central Texas
"Excellent product; it is light, cool and wears well. This is my second hat. I passed first one along to my son; he uses in the field while surveying. I'll have to get him another for Christmas. The only con is the sizes are not specific enough; I have to add a little stuffing for a comfortable fit. I've carried to Europe on two separate occasions, out of the suitcase; let it hang for a few minutes and its ready to go."
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sucker won't die. Great hat!,
September 30, 2013
By: greyhackle
from Auburndale, Florida
"Finally, after nine years, it developed a fissure on the crown. I'm going to order a new one today! This hat exceeds expectations. I've really beat the daylights out of it playing golf, fishing the flats and the mountains and just bumming around. I've worn it in rainstorms and 100 degree sun. Only minor complaint is that the inside headband got kind of ripply."
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great beach hat,
August 29, 2013
By: Jahoed
from Bay Area, CA
"This is a rebranded version of the Joe Fedora hat made by the San Francisco Hat Co. It's made in the USA. The Orvis version has a black strap -- something I like -- and it's a strap color that does not seem to be available elsewhere.
It's a great beach hat and a good travel hat. It can get wet, you can rinse it off when it's dirty. It does roll up as shown in the picture, but it does not unroll instantly or happily. I rolled it up in my carry-on for a flight home. It takes a while to return to it's natural shape and even then the brim is no longer crisp-looking. But overall a great hat.
"
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish but very practical,
August 4, 2013
By: DavidinMinn
from Minnesota USA
"On a trip to Europe, I rolled this up and put it in my duffel. It came out looking very out of shape, but overnight, it recovered 95% of its shape. Next day, it returned to 100%. I since give it a fair amount of space by packing it in the top of the duffel and don't let it get squashed. If I'm not wearing it and don't wish to carry it in my hand, I hang it off the back of my neck and put one of my shirt buttons through the small black ring on the chin strap, so that the chin strap doesn't chafe against my throat. Chin strap comes in handy on a boat or by the seashore. It's a classy hat that looks very stylish but has many practical qualities."
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hat,
July 29, 2013
By: anthonyo
"this hat fits perfect, plus it looks great either on me or my wife, great quality, it will last me a long time."
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hat size,
July 10, 2013
By: anthonyo
"beautiful hat , well made , but it was to big for me, returned it to store, I have bought another hat from Orvis and had compliments on it, thanks Orvis"
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
a plastic hat,
July 10, 2013
By: ukgent
from uk
"Very stylish and practical, but not sure I can wear a plastic hat to a wedding - looks great for outdoor pursuits. Folding instructions unclear, afraid to try in case I damage - a schematic would help."
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hot weather hat,
July 9, 2013
By: Bluenose
from Belfast, Northern Ireland
"I bought this hat to wear whilst supporting my wife at a lawn bowls championships in case it was hot. It was roasting; the hat was a lifesaver!"
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
terrific hat,
July 3, 2013
By: merrybixx
from Las Vegas, NV
"This is the second one of these hats I've owned, and when I wear this one out, I'll get another. It is just the perfect summer cover, with plenty of style."
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GOOD SUN HAT,
June 25, 2013
By: GILLL
from NORTHERN NJ
"GOOD SUN HAT.
BRIM IS TOO WIDE FOR SHORT MEN, HOWEVER.
"
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great addition,
June 10, 2013
By: Rentonman
"The hat is what is advertised and looks great on many occassions: good looks andfits well."