Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
5 stars
107
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
140 of 150(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep your Panama Hat on,
April 13, 2015
By: RobertBG
from Sacramento, CA
"Stylish, functional and daring. Riding around in a convertible with the top down has never been better. Quality construction. Water resistant. Useful and durable. Keeps me cool headed when seasinal temps begin to rise. Adjustable cord keeps my head covered no matter what happens."
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
packable fadora,
March 31, 2015
By: dahatter
from fairlee vt
"i got it before I left and wore it the entire time I was under the sun worked great very pleased"
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Panama hat,
March 30, 2015
By: ChristopherA
from Annapolis, MD
"I had a real Panama hat that I accidentally wore in a rain storm. It lost its shape and never looked the same. You would think that a straw hat would do okay in the rain. My Orvis hat looks just as good as my original and because its synthetic, it works in adverse weather, which has made me really happy. Thanks Orvis for a great looking hat!"
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Man in the Hat,
March 25, 2015
By: Boulevardier
"This hat is one of my favorites. in fact, I own two of them, one for home and travel, one for the office. They are cool in warm weather, keep off the sun, pack easily, take a beating and still look great (I travel a lot). I have lost count of the number of compliments I get -- from women, mostly -- on how good this hat looks. An added bonus!"
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
March 25, 2015
By: gottaloveit
"Exactly what it says. Perfect travel hat."...takes up minimal room in my pack, no problem in the wind and protects from the sun.....and looks good!"
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase I do,
March 6, 2015
By: CIDIAZL
from Pompano Beach,FL
"Best hat you can have for all seasons,outdoors an all,you can be in the water because is watherproof,clean and good for all
We love this hat all my family have one now because mine.
Thanks
CID
"
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Product,
February 26, 2015
By: EDJHelerix
"The Packable Fedora is exactly the product that it is stated to be. It is a polished product."
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Almost Perfect,
December 5, 2014
By: kenx
from Napa, CA
"This hat looks great, it has great style. Plus it has a strap for those windy days.
I really liked it, but it has a major flaw because when the sun is coming at you at certain angles the sun slices into your eyes, making the hat useless.
The brim has lots of holes in the weave, thin sections that allow the light to hit the side of your face.
This is not a good hat for relaxing in bright sunlight, other than that it looks really fine."
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hat ever,
December 4, 2014
By: Grandmasterlax
from Myrtle Beach, SC
"This hat is perfect! It offers protection from the sun, it's packable and the chin strap keeps it on your head on windy days."
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too warm,
November 18, 2014
By: DoctorD2U
from Northstar and San Juan Capistrano, CA
"This hat is made from a tightly woven nylon material. It absorbs heat and doesn't breath. I've had to take a hot soldering iron and melt holes in it to get some ventilation."
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
October 21, 2014
By: jesatty
from bossier city, la
"Actually the third one I purchased--lost the first one in the East River in the Big Apple. Gave the second one to my grandsonl Good looking, holds up well, and can be folded for traveling. And not as big as some that over-shadow your face"
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Totally misrepresented,
August 21, 2014
By: DislikeOrvisProducts
"Hat only had vague resemblance to product described. Was more like a boller. When folding brim to look like a Fedora the hat looked stupid. Was returned.
With high price and high cost of shipping I will not be purchasing from Orvis again.
"
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 years and still going strong,
August 17, 2014
By: mgbob
"I purchased this hat in Manchester VT when I was at a car show,and had left my Panama home. 5 years later it is still going strong. I have worn it in an open car on the highway, I drive a convertible weather permitting, and really like the chin strap, It does not pack as easily as the ad would have you believe, but by placing it in the top of a duffle and stuffing the crown with clothing it survives remarkably well.My original, genuine panama made in Guatemala, suffered from a crack in the crown a few years ago and this hat is now worn all summer. It still retains its new hat looks. I will buy another if this one
ever wears out.
"
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essential article of clothing,
July 31, 2014
By: chuck98
from portsmouth,va.
"a great hat; very comfortable,lightweight. you hardly know you have it on. an essential addition to your wardrobe when your barber is mr. mach 3."
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchases,
July 30, 2014
By: linlou800
from Bristol, CT
"When I received this hat it became immediately apparent that this was just what I was looking for. The color and weave of the hat was great. Did not know that it came with a tie under the neck, which snaps perfectly to be out of the way. The ribbon band is adjustable so that the hat may be tightened. Size was right on, and of course being able to pack this hat for traveling is the best. You can't damage when rolling it up to fit in your suitcase. Wonderful"
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the hat it used to be,
July 17, 2014
By: Soloviajero
from Colorado, USA
"I bought one of these two years ago and loved it. It was the best hat I ever had and I received many compliments and inquiries about it. I lost the hat recently to an angry sea and replaced it with the current model, which is very disappointing. The material is the same, but the new model (NOT as pictured on the website!) actually has a wider and more "belled" brim, and it now looks more like a Chinese rice paddy hat than a fedora. I'm supposing that the manufacturer had to add more belling to keep the wider brim from flapping in the wind, however in doing so, they lost the aesthetic sense of the "fedora" style. The hat is functionally the same, but I'm disappointed by the wider brim and the excessive belling. I bought two new ones, and I'm returning one (and keeping the other because I've already worn it.). Don't trust the photo on the website; it's an old photo and the brim on the hat you actually get is unnecessarily wider, more curved (belled) and the fedora look is now gone except in the most rudimentary sense."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great packable hat,
July 15, 2014
By: MattK
"Hat "crushes" and packs easily. Brim returns to original condition in a few hours. Lightweight, feels good, looks great. Perfect warm weather hat for those of us that are thinning up top and need stylish protection."
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best fedora,
July 15, 2014
By: Dickiebird
"Other Panama hats get destroyed in the rain. Orvis' looks good, fits well, is packable and reasonably priced."
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If the summer fedora fits....,
July 14, 2014
By: RobertBG
"Great buy for a very fine fedora. It's not ultra fina or fina straw. It's made of plastic, not straw. Looks like, but it is not a Panama Hat. So pay twice as much and get yourself a real one. This fedora, nonetheless, is well sized, nicely made and stylishly presented. The hat band is adjustable for rakish positioning. If It weren't for a fedora strap, useful for high winds in an open car, I'm sure my daughter would give it back to me more often."
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fedora,
July 9, 2014
By: wolfpine
"This's fedora meats all my needs-- style and utility. It folded in my suitcase and comes out looking new. I have no use four the chin strap which is cumbersome IMF you want to hide it. It fits perfectly. If it didn't the band is adjustable. However if you tight nit it leaves a visible ripple. In the side of the hat"