Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (183 reviews)
5 stars
133
4 stars
33
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
4
172 of 183(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Prefer the older style,
August 28, 2015
By: RandAlThor
from Athens, GR
"Purchased recently my second Fedora, few years after my first one.
Although was more or less the same quality, for some reason the brim was a little wider than the old one, which makes it look a bit funny wearing it. I personally, do not feel "comfortable " in it.
Would gladly change it.
"
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pleased,
August 20, 2015
By: whdamon
"Exactly what I expected. Fit like a glove. very happy with this hat"
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Fedora,
July 18, 2015
By: RichardR
from Kaneohe, HI
"This is my 3rd hat from Orvis, all of great quality and style. The fedora is no exception. I needed if for the really hot summer days. It fit perfectly when I got it, it is very stylish and holds its shape nicely. I like the strap which can also be used to shape the hat; however, I like the original shape, which it holds well. Great hat."
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Really Like This Hat,
July 16, 2015
By: Shlomo
"I really like this hat. It is stylish and packable. The way they designed it to keep the string out of the way when not it use is very clever.
The only downside is that it is heavier and hotter then a hat made from real straw. Still it is a good traded-off to have the hat nearly indestructible."
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not Straw But Just Right,
July 11, 2015
By: GeoP
from Midwest
"This is not a small hat as it has a good brim for sun, it is not a straw hat. From the point of view of a guy who wears hats and dress hats year round, this is a perfect hat for the day that it may rain because it is a plastic straw that is not affected by rain, sweat or being crunched.
It is not a fancy straw hat - it is not the most breathable hat - but it fits perfectly in the niche of a solid hat that is not affected like a real straw.
"
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perferct,
July 10, 2015
By: Convertible
from Chicago, Il
"This hat has all of the features I was looking for in a Summer hat: attractive, adjustable band, chin strap, packable, medium brim. It's also washable and I've gotten several compliments when I've worn it!"
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel hat,
July 8, 2015
By: ADPB
from Raleigh, NC
"We haven't used it yet, but I gave it to my husband for a gift and it looks and fits like it will be perfect for traveling."
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat fo the Beach or Backyard,
June 29, 2015
By: DocTFB
from Albany, NY
"This hat is elegant and casual. Take your pick. It packs well and the 3 inch brim provides plenty of protection from the sun. The chin strap is essential for times on windy beaches."
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
on second thought,
June 28, 2015
By: olderguysrule
from Minnesota
"I purchased this fedora last fall. Didn't really like it at first. The brim seems a bit big. I would have given it maybe 3 stars last fall. Then, I wore it a few times this spring, and one day I picked it up and the brim had been turned up all the way around. This gave it a completely new look. That I do like. The quality is typical orvis, that being very good. So my 3 star rating gets changed to a 5 star. It seems to be indestructible."
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardwearing Friend - that looks good too.,
June 28, 2015
By: JIFFIJAW
from Brighton, England
"This is my second one - the first finally gave up after about 4 years continuous use. Good looking enough to wear to a garden party, tough enough to pack in a knapsack, resilient enough to swim in! My initial doubts about a synthetic-straw fedora are long gone. The sensible stow able chinstrap means this hat stays put when all around are losing theirs."
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable fedora,
June 23, 2015
By: Veteran1
from Susquehanna River, Pa.
"Great design and a perfect fit for hiking, camping or dinner parties 1"
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Hat,
June 19, 2015
By: Dudeboy
from Kansas
"This hat met my expectations for a packable hat that looks good when it is worn. Traveling with headgear is problematic for me unless I wear it. Even if I do wear it, I have to keep up with in airport terminals and other inconvenient places. This hat is excellent!"
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and nice looking!,
June 18, 2015
By: VandyFan
from Venetia, PA
"Very comfortable and functional hat, as I need to keep the sun off my ears and nose these days. I have several other hats that are very functional but look like "fishing" hats. This hat is nice enough looking that I can wear it with a pair of khakis to eat or attend a party and not look as if I am ready to make a roll-cast."
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Delighted.,
June 18, 2015
By: sinclair52
from West Sussex
"Excellent quality,and ideal for using in my Convertible car as it will not blow away !"
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Perfectly,
June 15, 2015
By: BillS1940
from New Hampshire
"The fit was just right for my head (it's adjustable), and the leather strap makes sure it stays on in convertible winds. But best of all, it provides the sun screen for my head, ears and neck. And it looks stylish, too! Definitely recommended."
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
June 12, 2015
By: Stfdmike
from Richmond, VA
"I was looking for a stylish hat to protect my face from the sun and this product is perfect. As an added benefit, it folds up and I could stash it in my luggage. I looked for a long time to find a hat that adequately protected my entire face, and look good, and Orvis delivered."
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fedora,
June 9, 2015
By: Irmagay
"Great hat! Husband love the feel. Size was perfect ."
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for hiking,
June 9, 2015
By: eugene30
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I've had a hat like this before and wore it out! My wife and I are hikers, and this hat gives me shade as well as air circulation around the top of my head (which doesn't have much hair left). Good value for a good price."
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
June 3, 2015
By: Jutta
from Fresno, CA
"My husband loves this hat. Not only looks good on, it is easy to pack for a trip. And looks expensive."
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PACKABLE FEDORA,
June 2, 2015
By: 603DUKE
from DUNBARTON, NH
"WONDERFUL, JUST ENOUGH BRIM TO KEEP THE SUN OUT OF YOUR EYE'S WHEN OUTDOORS ENJOYING THE DAY."