Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Packable Fedora

Stay outdoors longer and protect your head and face from harmful UV rays with a packable, completely crushable hat that's made to travel. The salt-resistant, easy-care polypropylene weave means this hat will last for years without fuss. This men's fedora travel hat has an adjustable nylon headband for a perfect fit. Tuck-away chin strap for windy days—or fast driving with the convertible top down. Approx. 3" brim; 5" crown. Made in USA.Sizes S(6¾-6⅞), M(7-7⅛), L(7¼-7⅜), XL(7½-7⅝).
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (175 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
4
165 of 175(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Packable Fedora
Review 1 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Hat fo the Beach or Backyard,
June 29, 2015
By: DocTFB
from Albany, NY
"This hat is elegant and casual. Take your pick. It packs well and the 3 inch brim provides plenty of protection from the sun. The chin strap is essential for times on windy beaches."
Review 2 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
on second thought,
June 28, 2015
By: olderguysrule
from Minnesota
"I purchased this fedora last fall. Didn't really like it at first. The brim seems a bit big. I would have given it maybe 3 stars last fall. Then, I wore it a few times this spring, and one day I picked it up and the brim had been turned up all the way around. This gave it a completely new look. That I do like. The quality is typical orvis, that being very good. So my 3 star rating gets changed to a 5 star. It seems to be indestructible."
Review 3 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardwearing Friend - that looks good too.,
June 28, 2015
By: JIFFIJAW
from Brighton, England
"This is my second one - the first finally gave up after about 4 years continuous use. Good looking enough to wear to a garden party, tough enough to pack in a knapsack, resilient enough to swim in! My initial doubts about a synthetic-straw fedora are long gone. The sensible stow able chinstrap means this hat stays put when all around are losing theirs."
Review 4 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable fedora,
June 23, 2015
By: Veteran1
from Susquehanna River, Pa.
"Great design and a perfect fit for hiking, camping or dinner parties 1"
Review 5 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Hat,
June 19, 2015
By: Dudeboy
from Kansas
"This hat met my expectations for a packable hat that looks good when it is worn. Traveling with headgear is problematic for me unless I wear it. Even if I do wear it, I have to keep up with in airport terminals and other inconvenient places. This hat is excellent!"
Review 6 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and nice looking!,
June 18, 2015
By: VandyFan
from Venetia, PA
"Very comfortable and functional hat, as I need to keep the sun off my ears and nose these days. I have several other hats that are very functional but look like "fishing" hats. This hat is nice enough looking that I can wear it with a pair of khakis to eat or attend a party and not look as if I am ready to make a roll-cast."
Review 7 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Delighted.,
June 18, 2015
By: sinclair52
from West Sussex
"Excellent quality,and ideal for using in my Convertible car as it will not blow away !"
Review 8 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Perfectly,
June 15, 2015
By: BillS1940
from New Hampshire
"The fit was just right for my head (it's adjustable), and the leather strap makes sure it stays on in convertible winds. But best of all, it provides the sun screen for my head, ears and neck. And it looks stylish, too! Definitely recommended."
Review 9 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hat,
June 12, 2015
By: Stfdmike
from Richmond, VA
"I was looking for a stylish hat to protect my face from the sun and this product is perfect. As an added benefit, it folds up and I could stash it in my luggage. I looked for a long time to find a hat that adequately protected my entire face, and look good, and Orvis delivered."
Review 10 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fedora,
June 9, 2015
By: Irmagay
"Great hat! Husband love the feel. Size was perfect ."
Review 11 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for hiking,
June 9, 2015
By: eugene30
from Walnut Creek, CA
"I've had a hat like this before and wore it out! My wife and I are hikers, and this hat gives me shade as well as air circulation around the top of my head (which doesn't have much hair left). Good value for a good price."
Review 12 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It,
June 3, 2015
By: Jutta
from Fresno, CA
"My husband loves this hat. Not only looks good on, it is easy to pack for a trip. And looks expensive."
Review 13 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PACKABLE FEDORA,
June 2, 2015
By: 603DUKE
from DUNBARTON, NH
"WONDERFUL, JUST ENOUGH BRIM TO KEEP THE SUN OUT OF YOUR EYE'S WHEN OUTDOORS ENJOYING THE DAY."
Review 14 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a cool hat!,
May 27, 2015
By: JonathanJay
from Boston, MA
"This is my favorite fishing hat, especially in warm weather! Looks and feels like a very expensive Panama, but it is completely crushable so it works great in the overhead when flying to those remote and secret fishing destinations. Just returned from an all day float in Virginia and the hat kept my head and neck from getting burned. Light weight and breathable. A cool hat!"
Review 15 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable stuff is great!,
May 23, 2015
By: Veteran1
from Susquehanna River, Pa.
"This hat will grace many fishing and boating trip where we have to pack small and light. Thanks for offering such a wonderful addition to our traveling needs!"
Review 16 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practical Hat,
May 20, 2015
By: mikephoto5
from UK
"A great hat that is tough. Comfortable to wear and adjustable so can be customised, very practical"
Review 17 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very practical,
May 19, 2015
By: SunsetBrae
"Folds comfortably for travel. Good brim. Consider whether crown size is right for shape of your face."
Review 18 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packable Fedora - a winner!,
May 18, 2015
By: DanaG
from Houston, TX
"Ordered the packable fedora before a recent trip and was very pleased that it is truly packable! Being woven of a synthetic material which is not damaged by rain or humidity is a big plus. Hubby likes the way the chin strap can be secured to the band when not needed. This one is a home run, Orvis!"
Review 19 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Super Model,
May 13, 2015
By: Fedora7
"This is why I should win the review contest. I have always thought it presumptuous ot Orvis managment to appear in your advertising. Now, I can dress in Orvis from head (fedora) to shirt (Orvis gofl shirt) to nearly toe (sailcloth shorts)! I wear all those wonderful clothes ensemble and have bcome presumptuous myself! THE ORVIS MAN!"
Review 20 for Packable Fedora
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 8, 2015
By: Tterrab
from Los Angeles
"Excellent hat at a good price and well-packaged for delivery."