Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Gokey® Snakeproof Boots

These snakeproof leather boots come in a lighter-weight Cordura® model or an all-leather custom model, both with easy-entry full-length zippers in back. Proven snakeproof with over 100 strikes on a single pair. The 17" Zip-Back Lightweight version is just as fang-proof as the original, with an upper of the same ballistic cloth used in many bulletproof vests. Cinch straps at the top and the ankle for fully adjustable comfort and support. Snake proof leather boots are brown with green ballistic cloth uppers. Made in USA.Light cordura zip-back boots sizes: 8-12½, 13. D, E widths.All-leather non-zip-back boots sizes: 8-12½, 13. D, E widths.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Review 1 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
January 15, 2014
By: Birchwood
from Minneapolis, Minnesota
"Love these boots - just what boots should look like. I still have a pair from 30 years ago. Great in the snow, handsome to wear in town, and a warm pair of socks is all that is needed for Minneapolis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
poor purchase,
January 15, 2014
By: afd2131
"The back zippered boot was impossible to get on....I returned.
note: it was ordered in my normal size."
Review 3 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots,
January 28, 2013
By: Queenie9
"I have these boots for myself, so I ordered a pair for my husband. They are great boots, durable, and perfect for walking in the woods hunting. They do run narrow, so I had to send these back for a wider pair. Those came in and are just right."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Gift,
January 1, 2013
By: Retep
from Vancouver Island, Canada.
"Seldom does a product live up to its hype. These boots do.
When I was in college in the United States my good brother asked me what I would like for my birthday. I said a pair of Gokey snake proof boots since I collected snakes.
As foreign students we were short on cash so he said he would pay for one boot if I paid for the other. I paid for the left he paid for the right.
I still have the boots which have remained in good condition.
"
Review 5 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT BOOT, JUST GET LARGER SIZE!,
December 14, 2012
By: CAHunter
"I first ordered these boots after seeing a buddy of mine wearing his that he bought in the 80's. So I ordered a pair thinking they would be great as well. I normally wear a 10.5 boot with a normal width. So just to be on the safe side I ordered a 11 with a normal width. The boot itself is made from great material. However, it was waaaay to narrow! I couldn't even get my foot all the way in to the boot because it has a VERY narrow neck at the point where the zipper ends at the base of the boot. So be wary of this. I returned the boots without a problem and ordered a 11.5 E and love them! my foot easily fits into the boot, and is properly snug with the right pair of socks. I use them for hunting and riding the trails with my horses. I would recommend them to anyone, but be sure to get a wider size than normal!"
Review 6 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable and Functional Boots oddly cut,
March 14, 2012
By: abunburyist
from Virginia
"These are excellent boots. The quality of the leather is unrivaled and they are well made. They are attractive and functional. I was amazed how well they fit, they are cut with wide toes which makes them very comfortable.
The only thing I would question about these boots is the cut. The top of the high snakeproof boots are cut twice as large as my calf and I have rather large calves. It seems unnecessary, somewhat bulky, impractical, and not particularly attractive.
I went with the Sandanona Pull-On Boots instead and I feel less awkward if I wear them on my way in or out of town.
"
Review 7 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gnarly Boots,
March 6, 2012
By: GnarlyJoe
from gnarlyville
"These boots are gnarly dude - I'm using them when riding my Triumph gnarly dudes!!"
Review 8 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hard to get correct fit,
July 19, 2011
By: Landis
from Texas
"I ordered a pair of 12 D's and they are way small. Took them to the local Orivis store who ordered a 12 EE, better, but still way small....narrow and too short. We even put my foot in a measuring machine and it came back 11 1/2 medium. I wear a 12D in everything else so the message is order a whole size larger than you think you wear. Boot is nice looking and you don't have to wait six months to get them like with Russell. My only complaint is having to send boots back and forth for correct fit."
Review 9 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight - Great Quality,
February 25, 2011
By: 123sweetpea
from Tipton, MO 65081
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This pair of boots where ordered for a family member as a gift and they where so happy with them."
Review 10 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
September 6, 2010
By: Roosterman
from Texas
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brothers feet were better suited to inherit my fathers Gokeys from the early sixties which were used both as hunting and motorcycle boots. I'm sorry they are not mine because they are finally broken in. There was no need to justify spending the money on my own pair as they will still be around in one hundred years, so they are really quite a bargain. They are a bear to break in, and I hope to accomplish this within the next decade but they have already saved me from a prairie rattler bite this summer. I was dove hunting and stepped on the rattler going after a downed bird. Only after I was firmly planted on it did it start buzzing. I did not react calmly and as I jumped off it struck my ankle. Not having my gun with me I was able to dispatch the snake by stomping it to death with my Gokeys."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peace of mind comes with a price,
September 14, 2009
By: Dogbum
from Tempe, Arizona
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After trying several other brands, I purchased the Gokey light cordura zip-backs about two years ago.Both work and sport take me into snake country, primarily big aggressive Diamondbacks, and the boots allow me to enjoy my surroundings without constantly scanning the ground for buzztails. These boots aren't cheap and they do require some break-in, but they're the best I've found to date."
Review 12 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best boots I have ever owned,
August 2, 2009
By: Selma
from Selma, AL
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have 3 pairs of Gokey boots, the Snake boots, pull on boots and hikers and they are all the most comfortable boots I have ever put on my feet. Their quality and comfort are well worth the money. I would recommend Gokey footwear to anyone. I look forward to my next pair of Gokeys. Thanks again for a great product."
Review 13 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boots...wish they came in black,
October 10, 2007
By: Ihatenicknames
from Cary, NC
"These are an incredible pair of boots. Very well put together and give you confidence in snake prone areas. Wish they came in black....."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gokey® Snakeproof Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Brush Boots Made!,
September 4, 2007
By: Cutter
"I received these as a Christmas gift one year, but they did not fit. No problem there. I took them into the Austin, TX store and paid a small fee to have them custom made. Heaven! I have very large calves and big feet. These were perfect out of the box. They literally required almost no break in. I hunt in west Texas where it seems like every plant and bush is poking at you with a three inch thorn, and the threat of a snake bite is a very real one. These boots take all that away. I have literally walked through patches of cactus and mesquite with out so much as a scratch. They breathe incredibly well, and if you enjoy being complimented on your choice of foot wear during a hunt, these are for you as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.