Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Stimulator

The Stimulator dry fly is a go-to attractor dry fly, particularly when you're dry fly fishing during a big stone fly hatch or salmon fly hatch. This dry fly sits up high in the water, even in faster water. Its "bugginess" also makes the Stimulator one of the very best dry flies to use as an attractor dry fly pattern "prospecting" for trout when there is no hatch.Sizes: 8, 10, 12, 14, 16.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Stimulator
Review 1 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Dry Dropper,
July 27, 2014
By: WisFly79
from River Falls, WI
"Love this as a dry dropper when there's no hatch. Very well made and love the way it sits on the water. Lost it on large brown last night and will be ordering more."
Review 2 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
May 22, 2013
By: OldManfromGeorgia
from North Georgia
"Great fly pattern. I guess Orvis doesn't get the credit for inventing the pattern but it is a well tied fly on a strong hook. A must for every fly box."
Review 3 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a Go-to Fly!,
February 22, 2013
By: hughgfish
"This is my go-to prospecting fly for just about any stream/creek/small river. It mimics so many species of insects that trout prey upon it is pretty much universal. Not only can you fish it dry, I have often caught fish while stripping the fly in for another cast. I've compared this fly to other stimulators tied by other online fly stores, and there is no doubt about it. These flies stimulate a strike where others do not. Try it for yourself. These flies last longer and yield more strikes. There's really no substitute."
Review 4 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dry Dropper Choice,
February 21, 2013
By: simslax
from Avon CT
"Although listed under stoneflies, a yelllow or orange Stimulator in size 12 or 14 is my go-to choice for my dry-dropper rigs. In smaller sizes it can imitate a caddis or small hopper. But it really shines as an indicator with a dropper and every so often the Stimulator gets nailed too- especially in broken faster water. Don't fish the dry / dropper on too fine a tippet though or you will just twist yourself into frustration."
Review 5 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Imitation,
October 8, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Well tied. Durable. Good for prospecting when you don't know what else to use."
Review 6 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bugs,
September 12, 2012
By: Fatboy1519
from Manchester NH
"High quality flies, I am impressed. Stand up to all of the abuse a newbie like me can give them."
Review 7 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stimulator,
May 25, 2012
By: Becket
from Southern Virginia
"Have yet to fish this fly. Appears to be well tied, a quality Orvis product.
Expect very satisfactory results based on history of the pattern.
"
Review 8 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great go-to fly,
January 5, 2012
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"When nothing else seems to be bringing them to the surface, try tying on one of these. Excellent attractor fly."
Review 9 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly,
December 31, 2011
By: cedarriverflyguy
from Washington State
"These are high quality flies, great for new water or when there is no hatch going on and you're not sure what to use."
Review 10 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made fly,
November 17, 2011
By: FlyFishingDentist
from Long Island, NY
"While I have not yet had the opportunity to fish with this fly, I can tell you that it is well made and constructed of quality components. It should prove to do the job once the Catskills Spring trout season opens. Thanks Orvis for consistently providing quality products."
Review 11 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just buy one! or......50,
August 23, 2011
By: TheNewLushLife
"As you can see from the other reviews this fly is a winner. Im here to say, if you can't catch a trout w/ this fly, switch rivers. No hatch, during a hatch, warm or cold day this fly just pulls the big boys up from the deep. Enjoy"
Review 12 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Serious hook issue,
June 20, 2011
By: DJag
from New Hampshire
"I purchased two of these over the winter months (along with many other flies) and finally got out onto the water this past weekend. As I placed the first one into my foam Orvis fly box, the hook broke off in the foam! "Dissapointing", I thought, but no problem because I have a backup. As I tied on the 2nd one, the hook broke off while snugging up the knot! So, I guess my review is, "This is the best fly I've never fished". Whoever tied these needs to loosen up their vice a bit! Very shocked and disappointed as this has NEVER happened to me with an Orvis fly before. I assume it was just a fluke or a bad series of hooks. I would love to fish this fly sometime, but I'm a bit weary of re-ordering."
Review 13 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great searching fly,
June 20, 2011
By: tonster
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a great fly to drift with a dropper on the trout rivers here in western Massachusetts. I almost always start with this fly."
Review 14 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maybe the best...,
June 12, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I have to say this might be the most productive fly I've fished to date. Whether fish seem to be rising or not I've been able to land trout over and over with this fly. I have it in several colors and love them all. I simply wouldn't go fishing without a few in my fly box."
Review 15 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dry fly,
April 14, 2011
By: sniperfreak
from Ransom, PA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is, in my opinion, one of the best dry flies ever. It's considered an "attractor", but in various sizes and colors, it's a great imitation of everything from grasshoppers to crickets to stoneflies to cicadas to caddis in smaller sizes. Also a great indicator fly ahead or a small nymph for searching new waters."
Review 16 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stimulator,
March 16, 2011
By: BPR1
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have caught more trout on this dry fly than any other dry fly. When fishing at home in the Dacks the brookies usually hit this fly so much I've barely gotten one fish off the hook and placed it back in the water before it gets hit again."
Review 17 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite, go-to dry fly,
March 5, 2011
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This fly fishes exceptionally well. The bigger hackle in the body give it good action and keeps it high in the water. Trout usually hit this fly hard. Is also makes a great strike indicator if using a nymph trailer."
Review 18 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brook Trout Candy,
November 20, 2009
By: MrPebbles
from Roanoke, Va
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use this fly year round. Is it because I'm lazy? No. It's simply because the Stimulator works! I use size 16s for small streams in the Blue Ridge Mountains and use size 12s for indicators when fishing with dropper rigs on rivers. This fly is is hands down the best dry fly."
Review 19 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My #1 go to fly,
June 10, 2009
By: odoylerulez2
from Northville Mi
"The stimulator is my #1 choice of flies. I use for imitating just about any bug showing up on the water by selecting a different color. During a sulpher hatch on the South Branch of the Ausable I used a #16 yellow and caught a nice Brook Trout on my third cast!
This fly is also an excellent choice for dropper combinations.
"
Review 20 for Stimulator
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a supremely durable fly,
May 26, 2008
By: JMBdigger
from santa fe, NM
"I have put this fly in many emabarrasing siuations. I have put it on a raft of dryfly floatant an sent it down riffles, into rocks and even nudged it over a waterfall. I have compromised its integrity by leashing it to a haresear dropper and have watched it go to the chilly depths like captain Ahab, pulled down by an angry fish. But this fly is resilient and after many fish attacks it is still in command of its gorgeous hackles."