Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blue Wing Olive Parachute

These trout dry flies are a parachute version of the familiar and common Baetis pattern. Parachute flies make for easy visibility, particularly if there is a fairly prolific hatch or in rougher water. These flies offer an excellent alternative to the common Blue Winged Olive pattern. Often trout will take one version of a dry fly when ignoring the other. Color, Blue Winged Olive. Dry fly available in sizes: 14, 16, 18, 20
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Review 1 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good dry,
December 27, 2012
By: Jmhall
from Beaumont, TX
"Nothing like catching a nice trout on a dry. Not really visible on the water but I suppose thats just the way to goes."
Review 2 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Productive fly,
August 10, 2012
By: Johnny83
from NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The trout seem to always nail this pattern on a dead drift. It is one of my favorite dries. Hatch or no hatch, it works!"
Review 3 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bwo parachute,
April 23, 2012
By: victanney
"Hey, it works, what else does a fly need to do. I love all my Orvis flies."
Review 4 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
November 22, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"This is a very well tied fly. Have not had the chance to try yet."
Review 5 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Have,
July 1, 2011
By: FeatherFly
from Northern California
"I've long fished the BWO as a staple in my fly box. It's a tried and true pattern that delivers. This parachute version is no different with the added benefit of easier visibility on the water. A must have fly!"
Review 6 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Tie,
June 27, 2011
By: GerryVT
from Vermont
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The 14, 16, and 18 Parachute BWO flies are nicely tied, float well, and stand up to hungry fish. I caught some nice 12 - 14 inch rainbows on the #16 on the upper Connecticut River."
Review 7 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have fly,
June 23, 2011
By: Teflon
from Colorado
"If you don't have a few of these in your fly box, then you must not like to catch fish. You can use them anywhere in the world successfully. The parachute design is great for getting the fly to float well versus the traditional tie."
Review 8 for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Slam!,
December 28, 2008
By: Senn
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I used this amazing fly in a size 16 at one of the best landlocked salmon rivers in the world. Seriously, I didn't expect to land 7 salmon in one day in the same pool with this one special fly. All of my fish ranged from 16-8 inches. This is an amzing fly, and anyone that is fishing the West Branch Penobscot River in Maine should drift this in a foam patch in a pool."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blue Wing Olive Parachute
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1