Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Griffith's Gnat

The Griffith's Gnat imitates a lot of different insects. Created by George Griffith, one of the founders of Trout Unlimited, it's a buggy dry fly and can be fished a number of different ways. It looks like a tiny woolly bugger with no tail and has the same effect on fish. One of the best all-around Midge flies to have in your box. Tip: Fish this midge dry fly behind a larger dry. Color, NaturalSizes: 16, 18, 20, 22.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Griffith's Gnat
Review 1 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convincing gnat,
December 18, 2014
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"Great fly, got it in a 20-26 and I'm looking forward to snagging some hogs with it"
Review 2 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have fly! Griffiths gnat,
July 4, 2014
By: Troutman67
"This is a must have fly for any situation when trout are eating midges, gnats or any other small insect or cluster of bugs. East to see even at size 20 and these flys hold up well."
Review 3 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Griffith’s Gnat,
January 11, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I first learned of this fly during an Orvis Days presentation at the Tysons Corner, Virginia store several years ago. Well tied and versatile, this fly has consistently produced on waters all over the country."
Review 4 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality fly,
July 23, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Missouri
"My recent purchase of the Griffiths' Gnat did not disappoint. The flies were a quality tie and as advertised. Very pleased since I can no longer tie the small ones."
Review 5 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile Fly,
June 3, 2012
By: DblRedRider
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Caught a notable sized brown on the Oywhee River, OR on this fly when nothing else was working."
Review 6 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fly,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"This is a great little fly. Resembles little clusters, trout love it. Have purchased multiple sizes."
Review 7 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly. Very tough to tear up,
November 6, 2011
By: Wannabe
from Southwest va
"I use these locally. Great product. Catches fish from the smallest sucker to big trout."
Review 8 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excelent quality,
June 9, 2011
By: Jpizzle
from Collegeville, Pa
"Awesome little fly! Well built and great value. Works great when fish are sipping on the water surface."
Review 9 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 7, 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I turn to the Griffith's Gnat with confidence when I nothing seems to work. The flies from Orvis are always well-tied. I fish it as an emerger in a slow to moderate current, and it seems to be especially effective when it is sent drifting under overhanging tree canopies, bridges and embankments. I typically fish the smaller sizes 16-20. This presentation has saved many a day for me! I have never used it as a dropper, as others have, but that is a good idea and I am looking forward to giving it a go this spring."
Review 10 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Submarine Gnat,
August 2, 2010
By: Sibby
from Buffalo, NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Fly ... on a whim I used a 16 yesterday as the second fly following a Copper John on a small stream. So, it was trailing the weighted CJ underwater. A little unorthodox but very effective. The small rainbows ate it up."
Review 11 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When nothing is working,
February 16, 2009
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On a particular stretch of southwestern Ontario's Grand River the water is smooth as glass and the browns rise consistently, but for what? When I can not identify the hatch, I tie on my smallest one of these. It can be fished as a dry or as an emerger if you wet it a bit. Either way works."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Little Fly,
May 27, 2008
By: Johnny
from Wisconsin
"I recently went fishing on the Kewaunee River (WI), and I caught my first trout on this fly. I caught a 6 to 7 inch Brook trout with this fly (average size as Brook Trout go). The fly was a size 18. This fly is INCREDIBLY easy to tie. This is my favorite fly, and the fly that caught my first trout on with will be going on my fishing hat."
Review 13 for Griffith's Gnat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first 3 trout on this fly,
February 18, 2008
By: Riverrat
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"this fly is excellent, i caught my first 3 trout with the same #16 griffith's gnat, and got many strikes. as a rookie, i highly recommend!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Griffith's Gnat
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3