Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual

A great gift or the perfect starter fly-tying tool kit for any angler. This all-inclusive kit contains the Orvis Fly-Tying Manual, a cam-action vise, scissors, whip finisher, hackle pliers, dubbing needle, bobbin, bobbin threader, and hair stacker. Materials include: assorted hooks, dubbings, threads, dry fly saddles, head cement, wires and tinsels, beads, dumbbell eyes, chenille, marabou, hare's mask, mottled turkey quills, Hungarian partridge, peacock herl, muskrat fur, deer tails, and Krystal Flash—essentially all the fly tying materials you'll need to tie the following 8 flies: Wooly bugger streamer, chartreuse/white Clouser minnow, Adams dry, emerging X-caddis dry, flashback, pheasant tail nymph, hare's ear nymph, Letort hopper, beadhead soft hackle nymph. Made in USA/imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
3
32 of 43(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Review 1 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not great for the price,
December 9, 2014
By: Oonid
from California
"Book is good, but not all materials are provided exactly - many are substituted (for cheaper alternatives like the turkey quill in my kit).
BOBBIN DESTROYS THREAD, many times per fly. Very frustrating.
Overall I am left convinced that buying quality items seperately must be a better option"
Review 2 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Son-n-law B'day gift,
February 26, 2014
By: cvcc
from Lynchburg, VA
"This is a beautiful gift for any angler or sportsman. I was thrilled to find it because now, my angler with everything, can create his own flies. He can also teach his son (my 10-y grandson) and then they can fish fly fish together. A win-win gift."
Review 3 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First effort at fly tying,
February 26, 2014
By: Chopperdoug
from Colorado
"After becoming an avid fly fisherman, this was my first effort at my own fly tying. A little challenging (perhaps daunting) at first, but following the step by step directions has give me the foundation and built my confidence. After my last couple of successes, I can't wait to get to my favorite trout lakes to see if the fish are as enthusiastic as I am. Thanks for "hooking me" into challenging fish in new ways."
Review 4 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Kit,
February 25, 2014
By: FlyFanatic85
from West Jordan, UT
"I bought this kit as my first foray into fly tying. The kit was great. There are a lot of materials and the book is very handy with teaching how to use the tools. The vise is a little subpar but it gets the job done. Other than that, I could not have asked for a better way to get started in my fly tying career."
Review 5 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovin' it,
February 8, 2014
By: poudreDAN
from fort collins colorado
"I have wanted to learn to tie my own flies for years and this is a great way to get started. Very high quality tools and materials. Most solid is how well the materials fit the instruction book. Book is quite good, with most of the details a beginner needs. I have had to supplement the book with some Youtube videos, but overall a great beginners guide. I am very satisfied with this purchase and it has allowed me to pursue a life long dream. I am already modifying some of these basic patterns and making up my own. You wont be disappointed if you buy this. BUT be prepared for a bit of a learning curve!!"
Review 6 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Skip this and build your own!!!!,
January 21, 2014
By: DanieF
from Below the the Deleware
"I received this kit as a gift. The minute I opened it up and looked at the vice I could tell that I would be replacing it. There was a pretty good variety of materials that came with the kit, however they were not the best quality materials but can be used with some fine tweaking. The tools accompanying the kit were subpar as well. The bobbin frayed the thread and sometimes cut it in two. I ended up having to take my dremel and buff the tip of the bobbin. The scissors were not as sharp as they should be for new scissors. The bodkin was okay but lacked the half hitch on the end. The hackle pliers are terrible, hard and awkward to open. The hackle consistently slips out of the pliers. The whip finisher is sufficient and gets the job done. The hair stacker is of poor quality and is so small at the open end that its difficult to get the hair in. Sad to say the vice is complete garbage. It is very difficult to use and minor adjustments are near impossible. I've also noticed that the vice jaws are jacked up and don't hold the hook completely straight. It always looks as if my hook is bent to one side when in the vise. I've had plenty of hooks just fall out of the jaws. I tried very hard to like this kit because I'm usually impressed with what Orvis sells. Bottom line is if you buy this kit be prepared to buy some more as you will have to buy all new tools as I have, the materials are usable but be prepared to search for good quality hackle and feathers with whats provided. As far as the vice is concerned, they should take the vice out of the package or sell a better quality vice with the kit. I'v had this vice for a less than a month and have replaced all the tools that it came with and will be replacing the vice with a Renzetti Traveler series. Save $200.00 and buy a good vice with a rotary (you'll need it) and build your own fly tying kit. Go to your local fly shop and buy their tying materials you'll be much happier with them."
Review 7 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good tying kit for beginners,
December 26, 2013
By: SaltyFish
from Florida
"Kit has everything you need to get started tying flies. Book gives step by step directions when tying one of the flies listed. Do mostly salt water fly fishing. Kit has many of the materials needed for tying some of the Deceivers and Clouser Minnows."
Review 8 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Expensive,
December 24, 2013
By: LesNic
"Expensive for beginner kit. Vise is difficult to use and expected more fly tying material for the price."
Review 9 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
November 30, 2013
By: Miguel417
"this kit is good for the beginner, but it is not durable, the materials are fair and the tools (except the vise) were great but the vise is horrible i felt it was not going to last since the first fly i tied. after 20 flies it was unusable, it hurted the hooks and you couldn't tie good or as it is supposed to be.
i was really disapointed since orvis is one of the best (or if not the best) brands in the flyfishing industry i love everything you do but this really is a thumbs down :(
"
Review 10 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointing & Misleading,
October 23, 2013
By: AdmirAckbar
from Huntsville, AL
"I bought this kit in February 2011, and wanted to wait to review it until I had learned more about fly tying and had used tools and materials from other sources. The quality of the tools is acceptable, with the exception of the bobbin: The processes used to manufacture it leave a metal barb in the cylinder, right inside the tip where the thread exits. It broke my thread halfway through my first fly and I haven't used it again since (I'd already bought a better one). The picture of the kit is misleading about the quality and quantity of materials included: The quantity of fur and feathers shown in the picture is more than twice what comes in the kit, the dry fly feathers are on capes, not saddles, and the Hungarian partridge soft hackle feathers come loose in little bag, most being too torn up to actually use. The claim that the kit is built around the book is definitely true, but also misleading. In the book, each fly pattern has a list of recommended materials and substitute materials. Most of the materials, hooks, and thread in the kit match up with substitute materials, so that a single material (usually hooks or thread - one particular hook in the kit is used for 4 of the patterns) can satisfy the needs of multiple patterns in the book. This would be okay, except the book is written very precisely, and assumes the tier is working with the exact materials from the recommended list, even going to far as to say "wrap the chenille 4 times", etc. When the substitute hook has a shorter shank than the recommended hook, this leads to crowding the eye, which meant that several of my earliest ties weren't fishable specifically because I had followed the instructions to the letter. This kit is a waste of time and money. Someone interested in getting into fly tying is better off joining a local flyfishing club and getting instruction and recommendations on tools and materials from the more experienced members of the club."
Review 11 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good kit, dump the vise,
October 13, 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"This is an excellent kit for beginners: plenty of materials, a great instructional book with awesome step-by-step instructions, and the essential tools. However, the vise that it comes with should really be upgraded. It's a halfway decent C-clamp, rotary vise that will serve the needs of the most beginner of beginners, but if you are interested in being even a casual fly tier, upgrade it. Even an inexpensive Super AA vise is an improvement over the one in this kit. Unfortunately, this is usually the case with all tying kits."
Review 12 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Look elsewhere,
July 29, 2013
By: DannaMontana
from Boston, MA
"Having purchased an Orvis kit many years ago I thought I knew what to expect, but was disappointed when it arrived. Your first hobby won't be tying flies but removing all the staples from each and every little bag! Once that's done everything in the kit was there but the quality of tools and materials wasn't near the old kit. The hackle pliers don't hold, the vise is poorly machined and difficult to accurately tighten, clippers aren't sharp enough for smaller hackles, the glue bottle with no applicator and a clumsy dropper, etc. Fly tying for beginners is hard enough without having to use inferior tools. As for materials, the hackle capes are okay, but the other feathers are poor quality and they didn't bother supplying a real quill, only a piece of paper with a printed quill pattern- really? Do yourself a favor - skip this kit and slowly build your collection with some good tools, buying only the materials you need for the flies you want..."
Review 13 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Cost/Benefit,
March 6, 2013
By: paulhsbr
from Aurora, OH
"This kit is great for begginers like me. The materials included have great quality, and the book (manual) contains photographic step-by-step instructions on how to tie the flies.
It also helps on where, how and when to use the different types of flies.
I considered it a great Cost/benefit product!
"
Review 14 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For Beginners,
March 4, 2013
By: joeyann
from PA
"I'm a beginner at tying flies, and this kit has everything you need to get started. It has the tools, materials, instructions and carring case."
Review 15 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Starter Kit,
January 1, 2013
By: ADKtrout
"I recently received the Orvis Fly-Tying Kit as a gift and I am rather pleased with it. I find the manual easy to follow and its instructions well-paced for the beginner. The materials seem to be of good quality and the tools are very nice. The vice is certainly not the finest on the market, but is entirely functional and well-suited to those just learning to tie. The only reason I would give this kit four in stead of five stars is that my kit did not include either a dubbing tool or dubbing wax, both items the book uses constantly and assumes the reader has and because the kit came with a synthetic turkey quill patch that had adhered to the packaging and was therefore damaged. I don't know if the kit was supposed to include either of the two dubbing items since there is no materials / tool checklist (perhaps Orvis could include one in the future?), but it would be nice if they came with it. Overall I would recommend this product, just beware that, as you progress through the manual, you may need to add some tools or materials that are not included in the kit, a shame considering the kit's price."
Review 16 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good starter kit...,
December 28, 2012
By: Limestoner
from Bucks County, PA
"Good starter fly tying kit. Mostly high quality tying supplies. Gives you everything you need to get started tying some popular patterns. If you would like to tie a larger variety of flies you will have to purchase more hook sizes and shapes as well as various materials that are not included with this kit. Overall though, it is probably the best starter kit out there."
Review 17 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very nice,
December 17, 2012
By: Smax
from AR
"purchased this for my husband for christmas, he loved it. Perfect!"
Review 18 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Im lovin it,
December 11, 2012
By: willtag
from Lexington,Ma
"I have been tying for a few monthes with incorrect tools and substute materials. so the kit has been great to realy tie great quality flies I feel confedent fishing with."
Review 19 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mediocre quality,
November 20, 2012
By: Alcat
"The quality of the tools included in the kit was mediocre. For example, the whip finisher was not machined to close enough tolerances and tended to stick a bit and not always turn freely. The finish of the hair stacker was very poor and the insides had to be carefully cleaned up to function properly. However, all the items promised were included in the package. For the price, the quality should have been higher."
Review 20 for Orvis Fly-Tying Kit with Manual
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Starter Kit,
November 8, 2012
By: hogroper
from Denver, CO
"I recently received this kit because I really wanted to start learning how to tie my own flies. It is perfect for a beginner with all the tools and materials needed to get started and step by step detailed instructions. I'm completely hooked to tying and this kit is the reason why."