Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cable–Knit Aran Sweater

Aran sweaters were created in response to the cold, damp weather of the Aran Islands off Ireland's western coast. Inspired by these original sweaters, our pure cotton cable knit—lore holds that the cable design was a wish for safety and good luck at sea—wears comfortably indoors, too. Perfect with jeans or chinos. In natural. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Review 1 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This sweater is areal eye catcher,
November 22, 2011
By: lafayette
from Hawley,Pa.
"One of the most comfortable sweaters I have ever purchased. A smart looking garment that is well made. I wore it at a gathering last weekend and received many favorable comments."
Review 2 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
August 19, 2011
By: Greatstuff32
"I love this sweater. I am slightly between a Large and X Large so I ordered the X large. With one wash it fit perfectly. I can't wait for cooler weather to wear it."
Review 3 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good sweater,
August 16, 2011
By: Viv1
from Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
"Nicely made. Fits well. I just love how it looks and feels."
Review 4 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
August 11, 2011
By: DSPSR
from Lexington,KY
"This product like most Orvis products represents not only quality but a product that lasts and is not a fad that goes out of style quickly."
Review 5 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy duty warmth,
August 4, 2011
By: Beleiver
from Chicago, illinois
"This is a well made sweater, heavy with intricate designs, an eye catcher, the Double X fit with room to spare and I have long arms 6 02 height with 37 sleeve length it is well fitting and beautiful. Thanks Orvis"
Review 6 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
July 18, 2011
By: JacknKY
"Ordered this sweater in the middle of summer; great buy! The cotton is well-woven and durable. It feels great on, and instantly warms. It is one of the best sweaters I've bought ever."
Review 7 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even better than I expected,
July 15, 2011
By: Orgonian
from Eastern Oregon
"I found the over all quality excellent, and the design on the back of the sweater to be the same as the front which is often not the case. As in other reviews I found that it runs small, so you may want to order the next size up, unless like myself a small medium, the sweater fits me just fine. I can't wait until it gets cool enough to ware it."
Review 8 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tastefully Elegant,
July 15, 2011
By: orangepeel
from Portsmouth , R.I.
"In a social setting , an attractive woman who I just met
sad this to me. "That sweater has more class than anyone at this Party " It was a nice compliment ,but it reflects how I feel about this sweater. It looks and feels exquisitely made.It is tastefully elegant !
"
Review 9 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Beautiful Sweater,
June 6, 2011
By: Bmgm
from Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
"The Cable-Knit Aran Sweater is one of those rare items of clothing that you purchase and it makes you feel absolutely wonderful wearing it. Just love it!"
Review 10 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding value,
June 3, 2011
By: Prof904
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
"I read reviews that said the product was running smaller in size so I ordered a size smaller (XL) , I normally wear XXL. Well I received the sweater in a timely fashion and found that the size runs true. I returned the item and the folks at Orvis were helpful and immediately sent me the size I needed. Great job, wonderful product and I love doing business with Orvis!!!!"
Review 11 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aran sweater,
May 26, 2011
By: Tinka
from Pensacola, Fl
"sweater is too small for sizing as stated.
Somebody at Orvis ought to try things on before catalouging.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 21, 2011
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the Cable–Knit Aran Sweater didn't fit as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 12 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Sweater,
April 20, 2011
By: flyfish7
from Hudson, OH
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was very impressd with the quality and appearence of this sweater. It is very soft, thick, and warm. I orderd both the large and the medium.
Unfortunately, the large was too large and the medium was too small, so I had to return them. There seemed to be a bid difference compared to most Orvis large vs. medium."
Review 13 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Sweater,
January 1, 2011
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I agree with one of the reviewers that this sweater is much whiter than it appears on-line and in the catalog. Make no mistake - it is white! I was hoping for more of an off-white or ivory color. Nevertheless, it is a very attractive sweater. I disagree with the reviewer that said it runs large. I ordered a medium, and it fit true. The sleeves were slightlyt snug, but keep in mind, it is cotton, and it will give and stretch a little. I would recommend it with a sport coat."
Review 14 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice sweater,
December 11, 2010
By: mrlouis360
from new york, ny
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"this is a very rich looking sweater. its looks a feels like it was hand knitted. the first one that i got i bought in a xxl and it was way to big i am 5 9" and i am 235.
i called and got free shipping back and ordered a new one in an xl. when i received my xl sweater as soon as i took it out from the bag it had a very strong odor something like lemon or sometype of strong smell. the size was ok but the smell was just to strong. i also noticed that there were quite a few pulls in the stiches and i wasnt going to deal with pulling them through.
i would like to order another and hope it comes in better shape.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 17, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review—these hard-working folks are always striving to improve our products, and comments such as these help guide that process. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any purchase; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis items.
Review 15 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Oversized,
September 7, 2010
By: BikerBlues
from Cornwall, England
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This sweater looks even better than the photographs, and soft to the touch, but it is OVERSIZED. I ordered the XXL, as I am a 6'3" with 54" chest, and it was way too long in the sleeves, they were also too baggy. I returned it for a refund, a shame ORVIS got it wrong on size."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamSeptember 10, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We are sorry to hear that the fit of this sweater wasn't as expected. We let our customer know our customer service agents would be happy to go over specific measurements for any of our garments before he places an order. And, of course, Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all of their Orvis purchases.
Review 16 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfy & Classy,
December 14, 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The sweater is soft and comfortable. It looks and feels rich. The quality is great and I am very happy to have it in my closet."
Review 17 for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater is a stand-out.,
February 23, 2009
By: SteveK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Sweater is very well made and of top quality. Actual color of sweater is a bit whiter than depicted on internet. Also, sweater is tight for size, so be sure to order one size up from what you normally wear. Overall, a very comfortable, rich looking sweater."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cable–Knit Aran Sweater
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2