Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater

An updated version of our classic Scottish tweed sweater and winner of the 2007 Gray's Best Award. The front features a tight weave of pure Scottish wool tweed, while the back's Jersey stitch knit stretches for easy movement and comfort. A ribknit bottom for comfort, and faux suede piping, zipper trim, and elbow patches that resist wear and lend a handsome look. Cotton moleskin piping trim. Perfect alone or with our Ventile Field Jacket. In heather green. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.517 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Review 1 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Sweater!,
May 4, 2015
By: FlyboyII
from Kansas City, MO
"I received this sweater last week and have worn it several times receiving many compliments on its classic, old-school appearance. The large size fits me perfectly and i like having no pockets, which i would use if they were there. I would recommend this sweater to family or friends."
Review 2 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great zip cardigan,
April 5, 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Wore this again yesterday, and it reminded me of how functional and versatile a piece this is in Spring, Winter, and Fall variable weather conditions. Have had it for two or three years, now, and it gets lots of compliments and lots of wear, and has held up very well. The two-way zipper adds to the functionality and comfort, and the liner allows it to serve as a jacket without an outer layer (but under a Beaufort it is very warm!). Cheers!"
Review 3 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely,
January 20, 2015
By: thistle93
"Extremely comfortable. Extremely well made. Extremely good looking. What else can I say?"
Review 4 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy,
December 29, 2014
By: MaggieMayyy
from Upstate NY
"Very, nice, classy piece. Versatile and well made."
Review 5 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater,
December 18, 2014
By: Gibou
from Cornwall, VT
"The sweater is true to size. I ordered a size smaller than normal but had to re-order to get one that fits. It's very warm and comfortable. It looks better without pockets and feels better too.
The zipper is a little fussy but with minimal care it works fine. I like the sweater and will keep it.
"
Review 6 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Young Man's Oldie,
December 1, 2014
By: Manny06419
from CT
"The cardigan is an older guys style, but has been updated with this product and should appeal to younger dudes. The fit is a little tight, especially around the mid section. But the subtle tones on the base color are real nice. The leather-look trim and patches really complement each other. Might be a bit difficult to wear over a heavy sweater for a mature-sized guy like me, though. Again, please offer some additional color/pattern options."
Review 7 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater--classy,
December 1, 2014
By: dockiwi
from UT
"This is a high quality garment that fits slightly on the small side but works well for me. Miss not having slash pockets on the side, but not a big deal. Elbow patches are great. Craftsmanship is excellent and seams are well aligned. Looks as if it will be durable, but I've only worn it 2- 3 times, so too soon to tell. This is warm enough to substitute for a light jacket. Will be great for layering."
Review 8 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 22, 2014
By: FoxHunter74
from Central Pa
"This is a great jacket that fits well and looks wonderful. The only thing that would make it better would be pockets."
Review 9 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfict,
September 16, 2014
By: Pacundo
from Del-A-Ware
"Nice looking sweater that has a great fit. Quality made and nice zipper that I believe will last without any issues . The inside has a nice lining so its not itchy. The tall collar will keep my neck warm on cold days. One bad thing is there are no pockets, I know its a sweater but a pocket is always nice . I would recommend this sweater."
Review 10 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scittish Tweed Sweater,
June 17, 2014
By: JohnChesapeakeCityMD
from Chesapeake City, MD
"I absolutley love this sweater. The color is great, it fits great and I love the silk interior lining. Am looking for years of good wear."
Review 11 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine sweater,
January 17, 2014
By: SamTO
from Toronto, Ontario
"This is a very fine sweater. Soft, comfortable and very warm. A light jacket will be all you need for days when the temperature is several degrees below freezing. Large is quite roomy. Medium is a much leaner fit."
Review 12 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well made,
January 15, 2014
By: Mutsy
from Sedona, AZ
"I bought this for my husband. It was nice, however, it was for a much shorter man."
Review 13 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this sweater,
January 14, 2014
By: Cuseman
from Syracuse NY
"I have wanted to order this sweater for a long time and finally saw it on sale. I am happy to report that it is as beautiful in person as it is in the picture. Just great style, color, quality. Unfortunately it was short in the torso on me (6'3" and 215 lbs in XL) so I sadly had to return it. A Tall option would have been nice! So 5 stars for style and quality and 1 for fit, average to 3."
Review 14 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice but...,
January 6, 2014
By: brodhead
from Bucks County PA
"nice sweater jacket... high points for the colors... however, after the first couple of wearings it already is showing signs of pilling and wear... like it, but don't love it... a keeper but..."
Review 15 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 28, 2013
By: crpnola
"This sweater was a Christmas gift to my dad. He loved it. The sweater is well-made. I know it will be a staple."
Review 16 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Slam Gift,
December 21, 2013
By: Shamrocks
from Lorain County, OH
"My grown son & I shop for each other together each year followed by lunch. This year he asked to shop on line with him for his gift. He chose this sweater which he loved. He prefers Orvis clothes and this is my first purchase. It is of great quality and unique. I'm so happy to know he will enjoy this sweater from me!"
Review 17 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy but not beyond my $$$,
November 29, 2013
By: kipka
from saint paul, mn
"Thought about this sweater for several months before it went on sale. That clinched it, but I intended to pay full price anyway.
It fits nicely, no bagging & it is not stiff in the front. Size is as stated. Color is true; no mixed dye lots in the yarn. Zipper is whisper smooth. Quality product."
Review 18 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique and handsome sweater,
October 28, 2013
By: Idries
from Santa Cruz, CA
"The sweater looks just like the photos on the website. It seems to be well made (time will tell regarding durability) and the sizing and fit is perfect for my body. I have received a large number of clearly sincere compliments while wearing it.
The one negative, and something that completely surprised me, is that there are no pockets!"
Review 19 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A classic!,
June 17, 2013
By: Dudesir
from Westmount, QC
"I am still wow about this sweater. I love the pale olive tone, the scottish style plaid, the full front zipper, the sweater's inner lining, the elbow patches...
I tried it on when I received it. I bought a M and it fits just right. I am 5'6'' and the sweater is perfect as long as I don't eat any heavy meals while I am wearing it. A size L would have covered me a little more, but would also admit to a weight problem. I hope this sweater will be around the day I need a new one.
"
Review 20 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart and Traditional,
May 21, 2013
By: Minny
from Mail-Order
"This sweater is awesome. I'm just sorry that I ordered it in May; I'll have to wait until fall to wear it."