Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater

An updated version of our classic Scottish tweed sweater and winner of the 2007 Gray's Best Award. The front features a tight weave of pure Scottish wool tweed, while the back's Jersey stitch knit stretches for easy movement and comfort. A ribknit bottom for comfort, and faux suede piping, zipper trim, and elbow patches that resist wear and lend a handsome look. Cotton moleskin piping trim. Perfect alone or with our Ventile Field Jacket. In heather green. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Review 1 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fine sweater,
January 17, 2014
By: SamTO
from Toronto, Ontario
"This is a very fine sweater. Soft, comfortable and very warm. A light jacket will be all you need for days when the temperature is several degrees below freezing. Large is quite roomy. Medium is a much leaner fit."
Review 2 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Well made,
January 15, 2014
By: Mutsy
from Sedona, AZ
"I bought this for my husband. It was nice, however, it was for a much shorter man."
Review 3 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Love this sweater,
January 14, 2014
By: Cuseman
from Syracuse NY
"I have wanted to order this sweater for a long time and finally saw it on sale. I am happy to report that it is as beautiful in person as it is in the picture. Just great style, color, quality. Unfortunately it was short in the torso on me (6'3" and 215 lbs in XL) so I sadly had to return it. A Tall option would have been nice! So 5 stars for style and quality and 1 for fit, average to 3."
Review 4 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice but...,
January 6, 2014
By: brodhead
from Bucks County PA
"nice sweater jacket... high points for the colors... however, after the first couple of wearings it already is showing signs of pilling and wear... like it, but don't love it... a keeper but..."
Review 5 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
December 28, 2013
By: crpnola
"This sweater was a Christmas gift to my dad. He loved it. The sweater is well-made. I know it will be a staple."
Review 6 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Slam Gift,
December 21, 2013
By: Shamrocks
from Lorain County, OH
"My grown son & I shop for each other together each year followed by lunch. This year he asked to shop on line with him for his gift. He chose this sweater which he loved. He prefers Orvis clothes and this is my first purchase. It is of great quality and unique. I'm so happy to know he will enjoy this sweater from me!"
Review 7 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy but not beyond my $$$,
November 29, 2013
By: kipka
from saint paul, mn
"Thought about this sweater for several months before it went on sale. That clinched it, but I intended to pay full price anyway.
It fits nicely, no bagging & it is not stiff in the front. Size is as stated. Color is true; no mixed dye lots in the yarn. Zipper is whisper smooth. Quality product."
Review 8 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique and handsome sweater,
October 28, 2013
By: Idries
from Santa Cruz, CA
"The sweater looks just like the photos on the website. It seems to be well made (time will tell regarding durability) and the sizing and fit is perfect for my body. I have received a large number of clearly sincere compliments while wearing it.
The one negative, and something that completely surprised me, is that there are no pockets!"
Review 9 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A classic!,
June 17, 2013
By: Dudesir
from Westmount, QC
"I am still wow about this sweater. I love the pale olive tone, the scottish style plaid, the full front zipper, the sweater's inner lining, the elbow patches...
I tried it on when I received it. I bought a M and it fits just right. I am 5'6'' and the sweater is perfect as long as I don't eat any heavy meals while I am wearing it. A size L would have covered me a little more, but would also admit to a weight problem. I hope this sweater will be around the day I need a new one.
"
Review 10 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart and Traditional,
May 21, 2013
By: Minny
from Mail-Order
"This sweater is awesome. I'm just sorry that I ordered it in May; I'll have to wait until fall to wear it."
Review 11 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very fine jacket,
February 15, 2013
By: ajay
from mandarin florida
"extreme high quality.perfect for jax florida february ciimate."
Review 12 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sizing is way off,
January 13, 2013
By: chief106
from Syosset, ny
"I have taken a XXL in most Orvis sizing. Although this garment looks and feels great, it's fit is at least 1 size smaller. If you take a XL order an XXL."
Review 13 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater!!,
December 28, 2012
By: grousetail
from Ma.
"This is a great looking sweater...Looks sharp alone or when cold I wear under my Barbour..Warm with nice features.."
Review 14 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby LOVES it!,
December 28, 2012
By: JumperDawn
from Carmel Valley, CA
"I wasn't sure about this purchase but knowing Orvis quality, went ahead and purchased. I didn't know if my husband would like the fabric pattern. As it turns out the pattern is very subdued and my husband loves it! He's off to town right now wearing it. I recommend and would buy it all over again."
Review 15 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome,
November 21, 2012
By: tripper
from Toronto Canada
"this is a versatile and handsome sweater.
just wish it had a pocket for my phone"
Review 16 for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
November 12, 2012
By: slider11
from Northwest
"Looks exactly like the photo with the exception that the internal waterproof front lining can make the wool in front look "wrinkled." Not sure why that is, but I suspect it because the wool gives but the lining does not. I am a 44 chest with broad shoulders and ordered a Large. The fit was tight in the shoulders and perfect in the waist, but if true to Orvis relative sizes, the XL will be much too big in the waist. Pity I could not find a fit as it is a nice garment."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hebrides Scottish Tweed Sweater
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2