Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mouse Rat

Big browns and big bass feed at night, and big Alaskan rainbows love to whack a lemming or two when they get in the water. The Mouse Fly is the ticket for both. Great realism as you swim this fly pattern across a river. Fish it near banks where the high grass grows when the wind is blowing or at night. Make sure Mouse Fly plops on the water and then swim it across. Just don't freak out when the big hit comes. In natural.Size: 4.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Mouse Rat
Review 1 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
May 28, 2014
By: PJB157
from MA
"Great Purchase, Caught a 5lb Largemouth Bass my first day using it."
Review 2 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mouse Fly,
May 10, 2014
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I picked up a couple of these flies on a recommendation from the helpful team at Orvis, Woodbridge, VA. I have had excellent results on larger bass. I cannot wait to try these on larger trout waters."
Review 3 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great mouse pattern,
May 6, 2014
By: JasonJ
from Tacoma, WA
"Great looking mouse pattern. Going to be using it a lot for bass fishing. Had to shorten the tail. It's a bit long and I was getting some short strikes because of it (at least that's how I felt about it). Overall very nicely made."
Review 4 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Mouse Rat,
December 24, 2013
By: FishinHawk
from Scottsbluff, NE
"I'm going to have to order more of these. Went fishing, meaning to target largemouth bass, ended up hooking and landing three northern pike in a row, first lure lasted through two of them (about five and a half/six pounders) and the third pike (about ten pounds) tore that one up too. Now I've landed largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, rainbow trout, northern pike, a channel catfish and a huge bullfrog on the Mouse Rat fly. I'd say they're pretty effective at catching anything that might swim."
Review 5 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks so real!,
July 22, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Robbinsville, NC
"I was admiring the fine craftsmanship of the mouse rat after opening the package when my wife walked in the room. After a short scream she DEMANDED i throw it outside! I laughed and told her that if she was fooled then so would a big brown! I love the design and can't wait to hook a big one with it."
Review 6 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
nothing to die about,
June 16, 2012
By: brenny
from Manti, UT
"the fly isn't what you expect, it rarely lands upright on the water and swims across the top very very badly, definately choose a different pattern when getting a mouse fly"
Review 7 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mouse Madness,
August 26, 2009
By: JSRR
from Arlington Vermont
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This past summer I took a trip to Labrador in early July. Amazing place I highly recommend Riverkeep Lodge. While there I was fishing a section of river successfully and though I had connected with all available fish in a quarer mile stretch. A buddy tied on this mouse pattern and fished the same section iback to the boat. he proceeded to catch fish in every pool all the way back and they were bigger then the ones I had landed on the way up. From that point forward we were all on the mouse and having tremendous success. I never leave home without it weather fishing local waters in NW, out west or in the great white north country."
Review 8 for Mouse Rat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best mouse fly,
July 20, 2009
By: flyfishingboy
from Michigan
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I use this fly for giant brown trout and they just love it! It also works great for large bass!!"