Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Woolly Bugger

The most recognizable, and likely the most commonly fished streamer fly ever tied. The wooly bugger attracts fish in fast or slow water, rivers, ponds, and lakes, in dirty water or spring creeks. It imitates crayfish, minnows, sculpin, leeches, and many other natural foods trout love. This streamer fly pattern is a classic that you simply can't be without. Sizes 4, 6, 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 46(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woolly Bugger
Review 1 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
September 16, 2014
By: rroberts
"This fly worked perfectly on local waters in Middle Tennessee. I caught 9 rainbows the first time I used this fly. They love the tan color"
Review 2 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Still waiting...,
September 8, 2014
By: Toolmon
from CO
"The Woolly Buggers I received look good,,,I'll test drive them next week and see if the local trout have the same opinion.
The only downside is that I ordered three (3) sets of them about a month ago and am still waiting for 2 of the 3 to be delivered
"
Review 3 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A True Classic,
July 18, 2014
By: truchaloco
from New Mexico
"This fly has long been a favorite of mine. It consistently attracts large brown and rainbow trout in rivers and in lakes.
In recent years, olive and black woolly buggers have not been available locally. Thanks, Orvis! And, thanks for making them available in 4's and 10's!!
"
Review 4 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Purchase,
July 11, 2014
By: Fishlegend
from Brunswick, Ga
"my first order from Orvis and I was surprised and pleased by the obvious quality of the flys I purchased. Since I am new to fly fishing, I am trying to control costs until I learn how to pursue this hobby; this appears to be a great way to accomplish this."
Review 5 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fly,
July 9, 2014
By: Chips23
"I ordered this fly along with a few others and it is definitely worth the money. It is very durable and I have caught a few fish on it each time I used it. Would buy it again if I wasn't now tying my own."
Review 6 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
June 13, 2014
By: Jack2
from Central California
"The Orvis Woolly Bugger is a great deal. While you can buy cheaper flies, you can't beat the Orvis tradition of high-quality products."
Review 7 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handy little bugger,
June 11, 2014
By: BillyJosie
from Enumclaw, WA
"what can I say? This is the best fly in my box for lake trout!!!!!!!"
Review 8 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Held up well,
May 21, 2014
By: Gamquail
from Tucson, AZ, USA
"We were lucky enough to have the timing just about perfect for our last outing. The fish clobbered these buggers. They held up all day without fraying or unraveling."
Review 9 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish producer,
May 14, 2014
By: Pablo2
from Deerfield, IL
"The Orvis wooly bugger is well constructed and produces fish. I caught a 2 pound bass on a black one."
Review 10 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Go to Fly,
May 12, 2014
By: BigErn
from Texas
"I fish mostly for bass, blacks and smallmouths. This is always my go to fly."
Review 11 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good fly,
May 12, 2014
By: vanvan
from Dallas Texas
"Have never received a fly from Orvis that wasn't of the highest quality.
The price is also very good.
"
Review 12 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
March 20, 2014
By: JFlyFisher4
"As excpected, Orvis delivers another great design. Very happy with this purchase and highly recommend!"
Review 13 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wooly Bugger,
January 4, 2014
By: RicOShay11
from South Carolina lowcountry
"Even though this winter has seen the strangest weather, in some cases (temperatures varying one day from 78 degrees followed by lows in the mid 30's), the Wooly Bugger remains a staple for attracting and catching fish. Whether it be the sluggish largemouth to the voracious bream, it never seems to fail. Of course, presentation is important and the much slower retrieve is necessary. Having purchased the Wooly Bugger assortment, the darker colors 9aprticularly black) seem to be the most effective. Overall, this fly is extremely effective no matter what the climes or season. on a side note, the method of tying seems far superior to other flies on the market and I would highly recommend. I prefer the warmer weather and anxious to try out the entire assortment as I know from experience how deadly they can be."
Review 14 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good flies,
December 25, 2013
By: TerryH
"Flies seem well made and ready to catch some trout."
Review 15 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Bugger Streamer Fly,
December 7, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I fish the olive and black colors for both trout (on local streams) and bass (in a neighborhood pond); this is a very productive fly. I have recently begun tying this pattern and my appreciation for it has grown."
Review 16 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Fly,
November 6, 2013
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"Impossible to go wrong with a Woolly Bugger. Versatile and another quality product by Orvis."
Review 17 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT FLY,
October 18, 2013
By: TROUT69
from GRAND LAKE CO.
"HAVE ALWAYS HAD GREAT LUCK WITH THIS FLY IN THE FALL!"
Review 18 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Value,
August 14, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Well made. Only slight variation in color between flies. Construction was the same or better than I've done myself. From now on I'll buy these Woolly Buggers and save my bench time for tying other flies."
Review 19 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bass Streamer,
May 4, 2013
By: LCStan
from Okatie,SC
"Never tried streamer pattern for largemouth bass. What a great surprise. Used this pattern to catch a 5lb largemouth the first time used in local pond."
Review 20 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
December 31, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This is a classic fish stopper. I keep the black pattern in my fly box at all times. Great for bass."