Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Woolly Bugger

The most recognizable, and likely the most commonly fished streamer fly ever tied. The wooly bugger attracts fish in fast or slow water, rivers, ponds, and lakes, in dirty water or spring creeks. It imitates crayfish, minnows, sculpin, leeches, and many other natural foods trout love. This streamer fly pattern is a classic that you simply can't be without. Sizes 4, 6, 8, 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Woolly Bugger
Review 1 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product!,
March 20, 2014
By: JFlyFisher4
"As excpected, Orvis delivers another great design. Very happy with this purchase and highly recommend!"
Review 2 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wooly Bugger,
January 4, 2014
By: RicOShay11
from South Carolina lowcountry
"Even though this winter has seen the strangest weather, in some cases (temperatures varying one day from 78 degrees followed by lows in the mid 30's), the Wooly Bugger remains a staple for attracting and catching fish. Whether it be the sluggish largemouth to the voracious bream, it never seems to fail. Of course, presentation is important and the much slower retrieve is necessary. Having purchased the Wooly Bugger assortment, the darker colors 9aprticularly black) seem to be the most effective. Overall, this fly is extremely effective no matter what the climes or season. on a side note, the method of tying seems far superior to other flies on the market and I would highly recommend. I prefer the warmer weather and anxious to try out the entire assortment as I know from experience how deadly they can be."
Review 3 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good flies,
December 25, 2013
By: TerryH
"Flies seem well made and ready to catch some trout."
Review 4 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Bugger Streamer Fly,
December 7, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I fish the olive and black colors for both trout (on local streams) and bass (in a neighborhood pond); this is a very productive fly. I have recently begun tying this pattern and my appreciation for it has grown."
Review 5 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Fly,
November 6, 2013
By: GSGAR
from Lima, OH
"Impossible to go wrong with a Woolly Bugger. Versatile and another quality product by Orvis."
Review 6 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT FLY,
October 18, 2013
By: TROUT69
from GRAND LAKE CO.
"HAVE ALWAYS HAD GREAT LUCK WITH THIS FLY IN THE FALL!"
Review 7 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Value,
August 14, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Well made. Only slight variation in color between flies. Construction was the same or better than I've done myself. From now on I'll buy these Woolly Buggers and save my bench time for tying other flies."
Review 8 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bass Streamer,
May 4, 2013
By: LCStan
from Okatie,SC
"Never tried streamer pattern for largemouth bass. What a great surprise. Used this pattern to catch a 5lb largemouth the first time used in local pond."
Review 9 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
December 31, 2012
By: texasonthefly
"This is a classic fish stopper. I keep the black pattern in my fly box at all times. Great for bass."
Review 10 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wooly Bugger,
December 13, 2012
By: KevinAZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"Used the Tan Wooly Bugger to imitate a crayfish (crawfish) in muddied water. Hooked into a big brown. What's not to like?"
Review 11 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most popular streamer for a reason,
November 28, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"This bugger is a killer fly. In the winter I almost exclusively fish the black/olive combo (both with and without bead heads). Big rainbows just love these flys. I like to fish them deep on the bottom and sometimes fish the size 10's closer to the surface and fish them almost as a wet fly (depending on the water temps). At a buck fifty you absolutely cannot go wrong with this fly."
Review 12 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all around fly,
October 11, 2012
By: benh
from Augusta, GA
"This fly is perfect for catching just about anything. Its durable and looks great in the water. Everyone should have a handful of these in your arsenal."
Review 13 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fly,
May 15, 2012
By: dred
from Madison, MS
"The woolly bugger is a great fly that always produces result with trout. You can never have enough woolly bugger, esp green."
Review 14 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome Woolly,
February 13, 2012
By: ShaneN
from Tulsa, OK
"Great for any stream or river.. You can never go wrong with black or green IMO. I prefer it with a gold or silver beed. But it's a great size for my 5 Wt rod."
Review 15 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value,
January 31, 2012
By: strapman
from Eugene, OR
"Orvis' new $1.50 policy has me fly fishing again, exclusively. Being on a limited budget, I really appreciate the excellent value in these flies."
Review 16 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yes Please,
December 7, 2011
By: ENadeau
from New Hampshire
"What else needs to be said about a fly that catches all types of fish in all environments and conditions..."
Review 17 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
September 6, 2011
By: davidc9057
"Great Quality fly. I would expect no less from Orvis. Their products are well made."
Review 18 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great!!!,
July 9, 2011
By: NYFly
"Excellent! I tried it out in a pond and nailed 2 nice Largemouth in 5 minutes! Unfortunately, I ended up losing it to a giant about 10 minutes later. This pattern attracts just about anything! Loses a star because the outrageous price and shipping charges. Flat rate costs them 1/5 of what they charge for standard shipping and I can get this item locally for half-price."
Review 19 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my go to fly,
April 2, 2011
By: walleye04
from burlington, vt
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just started fly fishing spring of 2010. The best fly I have in my box. I fish a back mountain crytal clear stream in central vermont and hammer wild rainbows all day with this little bugger."
Review 20 for Woolly Bugger
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great trout fly,
March 5, 2011
By: FlyFiend
from St. Louis, MO
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A great looking fly that catches fish. I was expecting the entire fly to be green, but instead only the body is green and the hackle and tail are black. No problem--it still fishes well. The material and workmanship are very good."